Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rte interviews convicted drug mule - See Mod Post in first post and post #112

• 03-04-2016 9:13am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭CaraMay

Am really disgusted that rte have used tax payers money to go to South America to interview Michaella McCollum. She should not be glorified for what she has done.

Mod:
    OK less of the squabbling please.

If you want to discuss her nationality take it elsewhere. This is the tv forum let's try keep the discussion to the tv program at 9.30pm this eve

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭tampopo

Yeah, what's wrong with Skype?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭CaraMay

She shouldn't be interviewed in the first place. Why does she get to tell 'her side of the story'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Damned if you do, damned if you don't.
    If they didn't cover it someone would be giving out.

I for one am looking forward to watching it to see what fibs will emerge from her little fibby mouth. But that's because sometimes I like watching *trashy tv.

*I am surprised that it's RTE and not Tv3 covering it in this way

I know but I just don't think she should be given the air time and / or the money wasted on her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭micar

Just read a little of the transcript on the indo.

Saying that by getting caught she prevented harm to a lot of people or potentially a lot of people getting killed.

After a few years in prison, this is what she has decided to come out with.

She is a completely deluded moron.

She went there for purely selfish monetary reasons without any care for anyone else.

At least be ****ING honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

Wonder what yarn she'll spin this time. I for one won't be watching some spoilt little cow who was probably offered 10k to smuggle coke and not give a toss about the misery it would cause, not only to users but to innocent people who get mugged and robbed to get cash for the drugs...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭yupya1

Why do you think an interview equals glorification? Id imagine it will be quite the opposite in fact.

There is also big demand so it will most likely make money.

Save your disgust for more worthy causes like world hunger and Ray D'Arcy.

She shouldn't make money from her crime.

CaraMay wrote: »
    She shouldn't make money from her crime.

True. I would think she is not being paid for this interview - or at least I absolutely hope she is isn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

amdublin wrote: »
    True. I would think she is not being paid for this interview - or at least I absolutely hope she is isn't.

Maybe not, but give it a couple of months and she'll be flogging a book..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

^^^^^^^^^^^

or something else ;)

Make money? She has been in prison in Peru. The nominal fee she will receive (I fully asume she will get paid) will not outweigh that.

And I'm sure most watching will realise this and not see it as a career path.

She was a young girl who made a stupid mistake and shouldn't be vilified for the rest of her life for it

yupya1 wrote: »
    Make money? She has been in prison in Peru. The nominal fee she will receive (I fully asume she will get paid) will not outweigh that.

She was a young girl who made a stupid mistake and shouldn't be vilified for the rest of her life for it

The sun on Sunday is saying its an amazing story and she could possibly sell movie rights. Abominable

Yes but she shouldn't be feted/made famous for it either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭hawkwind23

Good opinion by Suzanne Breen.

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/opinion/ive-zero-sympathy-for-drug-smuggling-spoilt-brat-michaella-mccollum-34592301.html

So, Michaella McCollum has been released from prison in Peru and could be heading back to Northern Ireland soon.
    Don't expect me to be tying yellow ribbons for the welcome home party.

This spoilt, selfish drug-smuggling brat has got off incredibly lightly, serving only a two years and three months sentence.
    I despise Michaella, not just for being busted with £1.5m worth of cocaine, but for the litany of lies she told.
    Had she said: "Yep, I was offered £10,000 and an all-expenses holiday to carry drugs. I took a chance, I was stupid, and I'm sorry", that would have been refreshing. Instead, Michaella played the victim and tried to play us.

We were led to believe that a grave miscarriage of justice had occurred where an innocent Irish girl and her friend had been grievously wronged. Well, the Peru Two weren't a contemporary Guildford Four.

Michaella told a chilling story of being kidnapped at gunpoint by drug lords who threatened her family.
    "One of the men showed me pictures of my sister and brother… that scared me," she gushed.
    This manipulative little minx trotted out baloney about bad men who had preyed on her at every opportunity, and she changed her story so many times that I lost count.

The texts Michaella exchanged with Melissa on landing in Lima Airport show her true colours.
    "I hate this place and people already," she declared.
    "Lima is s**t," her friend replied.

Parolee McCollum to work with HIV patients while she awaits a decision on repatriation
    This arrogant pair thought they could flit over to some Third World country and make easy money without giving a hoot about where the drugs came from or who was killed along the way before they got them - and trash Peru's reputation into the bargain.

Michaella McCollum has never apologised for lying to us, nor have her family apologised for her untrue claims. Indeed, they launched an appeal fund for her, expecting us to help foot her legal bills. Thankfully, that was a spectacular failure.

Even after her courtroom guilty plea her family went on TV to say they believed that she had committed no crime.
    It reached almost comic proportions when they described her as an "honest, hard-working girl" with a strong religious faith.
    With her long, dark hair and big eyes, the Irish colleen appeal was set to tug at our heart-strings. Look what those awful foreigners are doing to "our girl" was the line her supporters spun.

There was not only misplaced patriotism, but sexism and snobbery at work too.

Michaella McCollum was a pretty, young college girl from a respectable family.
    Had it been Mick McCollum - a fat, forty-something male with tattoos and a shaven head - nobody would have cared or for one minute entertained the idea that his arrest and incarceration was "a mistake".

As Michaella is freed, thousands of other indigenous young men and women guilty of similar offences rot in jails in Peru, and no one will write articles about how they cope with blocked toilets, cockroaches, dirty drinking water and inedible food.

By contrast, the future for our local lass looks bright. She has wannabe celebrity criminal written all over her.
    A book, My Nightmare In A Peruvian Prison Hellhole, and the chat show circuit surely beckons.

Whoever is sorting out the conditions of her parole should write in clauses to prevent this. Otherwise, we'll be subjected to Michaella's sob stories in perpetuity.

The sun on Sunday is saying its an amazing story and she could possibly sell movie rights. Abominable

Well ok she could make some good money then which is not appealing
    but I do think there are much more damaging things like... The Sun newspapers are absolutely disgusting who promote damaging articles about and for young people. (Don't buy or click links)

TBH I can somewhat see your point but do think it is over the top especially in relation to worse and ongoing media

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Reati

I Love love love this line. I see this everywhere! We were all young and did stupid mistakes. Some people get into fights, some friends got pregnant at 16, some crashed cars or threw house parties.

Her stupid mistake? Smuggle cocaine worth £1.5 million. That's not a stupid mistake. You know what you are doing. You are a criminal.

No one said vilify her. People are simply outraged she is getting press interviews like she is some kind of underdog.

I don't see RTE trying to interview lads from the Northside of Dublin doing all the shooting or members of the drug gangs here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,609 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Just legalise the stuff already!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭mjavi

Sometimes being young shouldn't be an excuse to 'make mistakes' esp in that magnitude (selling or distribution of illegal drugs), and she's not 12yrs old at the time of the crime anyway. I'm pretty sure that she will continue that 'business' had she not been caught right away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Catherine86

Why is Connolly sometimes added to her name?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭MsQuinn

Abominable is in the eye of the beholder.

She messed up majorly 3 years ago as a young naive girl trying to lead some sort of hedonistic lifestyle in Ibiza possibly first time away from home. She got caught, told a lot of fibs to try to get out of it, and spend time in a Peruvian jail which I'm sure is nothing like the Dóchas Centre.

So she's out now and I will defo be watching the interview. She has a story to tell. I would prefer to watch an interview like this than some of the drivel we be subjected to currently on RTE.

If she released a book I'd read it, and if a film was made about it, i go to see it. Same as I would if the subject was Rosemary West, Gerry Hutch, any other person deemed unsavoury.

We probably won't hear the full and true story until she leaves Peru anyway but for now this is more appealing to me than listening to Carrie Fisher talk about how she slept her way through the cast and crew of Star Wars, or seeing re-runs of a middle aged man singing Mr Brightside on a bar top in Kerry. I'd prefer RTE spent money on the grittier side of like that what we currently get for our licence fee.

Yes - drugs are bad and destroy lives, and she is a criminal - but this is not the point of this thread.

The amount of drugs or the value the cops put on it is not really relevant. She tried to commit a serious crime cos she was stupid, was caught and punished for it.

You are vilifying her right now and nobody wants to see the 40 year old tattooed criminal interviewed so that's why it doesn't happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

The point of the thread is that rte should not be using our funds to interview a drug smuggler and let's not forget she is still on parole and technically not free! So she hasn't done her time yet she's being paraded around like a movie star

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

^^^^^^^^^^

oh but us irish love playing "the victimhood card"

Patww79 wrote: »

She's right though

The amount of drugs or the value the cops put on it is not really relevant. She tried to commit a serious crime cos she was stupid, was caught and punished for it.

What a brainless statement. Course the amount is relevant. Why do you think the law punish people more harshly for selling or possession of large amounts of drugs?
    You are vilifying her right now

How?
    nobody wants to see the 40 year old tattooed criminal interviewed so that's why it doesn't happen.

So you're saying because she is a young and attractive women that's the only reason she is getting the interview? That's even sadder then if so.

The point of the thread is that rte should not be using our funds to interview a drug smuggler and let's not forget she is still on parole and technically not free! So she hasn't done her time yet she's being paraded around like a movie star

Why not? Is it illegal for RTE to do this?

Why don't they interview gilligan so?

If they did I'd also watch that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,609 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

CaraMay wrote:
    Why don't they interview gilligan so?

Now I'd like to see that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Keplar240B

Rte staff are well known for their support for narco trade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭mjavi

hawkwind23 wrote: »
    Good opinion by Suzanne Breen.

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/opinion/ive-zero-sympathy-for-drug-smuggling-spoilt-brat-michaella-mccollum-34592301.html

So, Michaella McCollum has been released from prison in Peru and could be heading back to Northern Ireland soon.
    Don't expect me to be tying yellow ribbons for the welcome home party.

This spoilt, selfish drug-smuggling brat has got off incredibly lightly, serving only a two years and three months sentence.
    I despise Michaella, not just for being busted with £1.5m worth of cocaine, but for the litany of lies she told.
    Had she said: "Yep, I was offered £10,000 and an all-expenses holiday to carry drugs. I took a chance, I was stupid, and I'm sorry", that would have been refreshing. Instead, Michaella played the victim and tried to play us.

We were led to believe that a grave miscarriage of justice had occurred where an innocent Irish girl and her friend had been grievously wronged. Well, the Peru Two weren't a contemporary Guildford Four.

Michaella told a chilling story of being kidnapped at gunpoint by drug lords who threatened her family.
    "One of the men showed me pictures of my sister and brother… that scared me," she gushed.
    This manipulative little minx trotted out baloney about bad men who had preyed on her at every opportunity, and she changed her story so many times that I lost count.

The texts Michaella exchanged with Melissa on landing in Lima Airport show her true colours.
    "I hate this place and people already," she declared.
    "Lima is s**t," her friend replied.

Parolee McCollum to work with HIV patients while she awaits a decision on repatriation
    This arrogant pair thought they could flit over to some Third World country and make easy money without giving a hoot about where the drugs came from or who was killed along the way before they got them - and trash Peru's reputation into the bargain.

Michaella McCollum has never apologised for lying to us, nor have her family apologised for her untrue claims. Indeed, they launched an appeal fund for her, expecting us to help foot her legal bills. Thankfully, that was a spectacular failure.

Even after her courtroom guilty plea her family went on TV to say they believed that she had committed no crime.
    It reached almost comic proportions when they described her as an "honest, hard-working girl" with a strong religious faith.
    With her long, dark hair and big eyes, the Irish colleen appeal was set to tug at our heart-strings. Look what those awful foreigners are doing to "our girl" was the line her supporters spun.

There was not only misplaced patriotism, but sexism and snobbery at work too.

Michaella McCollum was a pretty, young college girl from a respectable family.
    Had it been Mick McCollum - a fat, forty-something male with tattoos and a shaven head - nobody would have cared or for one minute entertained the idea that his arrest and incarceration was "a mistake".

As Michaella is freed, thousands of other indigenous young men and women guilty of similar offences rot in jails in Peru, and no one will write articles about how they cope with blocked toilets, cockroaches, dirty drinking water and inedible food.

By contrast, the future for our local lass looks bright. She has wannabe celebrity criminal written all over her.
    A book, My Nightmare In A Peruvian Prison Hellhole, and the chat show circuit surely beckons.

Whoever is sorting out the conditions of her parole should write in clauses to prevent this. Otherwise, we'll be subjected to Michaella's sob stories in perpetuity.

sounds like a good premise for Prison Break Season 6: The Victim

MsQuinn wrote: »
    Why not? Is it illegal for RTE to do this?

No one said it's illegal. People are unhappy with the lose morals of RTE. The goal from them is to generate money via ratings off the back of another sob story from a convinced drug smuggler who tried to get 1.5 million pounds of coke into Europe.

She told plenty of lies and sob stories when she was caught. I'm sure we'll get more tonight, in the movie and the book. It wasn't really her fault.

And the Irish media is too soft on her because she is northern Irish Catholic

Reati wrote: »
    No one said it's illegal. People are unhappy with the lose morals of RTE. The goal from them is to generate money via ratings off the back of another sob story from a convinced drug smuggler who tried to get 1.5 million pounds of coke into Europe.

She told plenty of lies and sob stories when she was caught. I'm sure we'll get more tonight, in the movie and the book. It wasn't really her fault.

So all content on RTE now needs to go through the moral police before publication in case anyone has issues with the subject matter.

It was her fault - but that doesn't mean it should be censored. So what if we hear her story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭armaghlad

Am really disgusted that rte have used tax payers money to go to South America to interview Michaella McCollum. She should not be glorified for what she has done.
    Cry me a river ffs.

Reati wrote: »
    What a brainless statement. Course the amount is relevant. Why do you think the law punish people more harshly for selling or possession of large amounts of drugs?

How?

So you're saying because she is a young and attractive women that's the only reason she is getting the interview? That's even sadder then if so.

The amount over a certain limit as implied by the serious crime.

Look up villify.

I never said anything about her appearance or age (you seem fixated on that) I said there is demand.
    So less straw man agruements, the tool of the stupid, and more rational thought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,557 ✭✭✭droidman123

Obviously you have seen this interview,can you explain how they are glorifying her?

Have you read the extracts? She will never be asked the hard questions and told the hard truth that she's s total scum bag who got away lightly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭hawkwind23

Hey , Bel Tel is a rag and i normally wouldnt post links but she is a great journalist and tells it how it is , i believe she has no "bias" toward one side or the other and indeed there is no indication throughout the article.

However i do accept that the BT is click bait and not normally worth discussing.

The article does sum up the feelings of a lot of people throughout the island

armaghlad wrote: »
    Cry me a river ffs.

Ah here he is. You probably think she's a great girl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,557 ✭✭✭droidman123

Have you read the extracts? She will never be asked the hard questions and told the hard truth that she's s total scum bag who got away lightly

By your thinking then,you are glorifying her as well by starting a thread about it

Nice attempt at deflection and baiting ;)

Seen as your memory is short.
    I never said anything about her appearance or age (you seem fixated on that) I said there is demand.

You were the one who brought appearance and age into it:

Posted at 10:53am

Posted at 11:23am
    nobody wants to see the 40 year old tattooed criminal interviewed so that's why it doesn't happen.

I'm still waiting for you to show me my posts that vilify her? Then I think you need to look up strawman then look back at your posts. I've been very clear with my points.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

If this was a man convicted of smuggling drugs, there'd be no interview.

snubbleste wrote: »
    If this was a man convicted of smuggling drugs, there'd be no interview.

Or a NI Protestant

If done properly, showing the dangers, not just to users, of drug addiction, it could be a good programme. However, I sincerely hope that she is shown for what she is, a drug trafficker, out to make a quick buck without a care in the World for the devastation her actions would wreck on those at every level of the drugs "industry".