Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial things that annoy you threads, etc

• 01-04-2016 9:57am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭

As per feedback thread:

So, AH mods have decided that from 6pm today. That all TTTAY, etc threads will be locked. Any fun threads like that will be locked and users directed to the relevant forums.

Cheers,

K

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

No...

Just no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

that's very annoying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

When a user signs off a post with their username.

Please, there's no need. We can see who had posted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,661 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    As per feedback thread:

So, AH mods have decided that from 6pm today. That all TTTAY, etc threads will be locked. Any fun threads like that will be locked and users directed to the relevant forums.

Cheers,

K

K hun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭Dr. Mantis Toboggan

Edgy. Not the same as when all in the Thunderdome were supposedly going to be reported to the Gardai, but close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,901 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Isn't it trivially annoying when something trivial annoys you?

April Fool's jokes are trivially annoying too, and I can't believe I just did one, 'cos it's not my style. (It worked beautifully, by the way.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Is this what the men and women of 1916 died for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Thread titles that phrase a statement as a question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

This sort of self-referential humour is all great fun until someone sends the Universe into an infinite recursive loop and it ends up disappearing up it's own hole in a puff of quantum logic. Ye were warned. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

This thread seems to be turning into a list of things we find trivially annoying.

Hmmm, I wonder if the mods will find that inconsequentially irritating?

maudgonner wrote: »
    This thread seems to be turning into a list of things we find trivially annoying.

Hmmm, I wonder if the mods will find that inconsequentially irritating?

Stop chatting you- this thread will get shut down too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭JustShon

inconsequentially irritating

Much better name than trivially annoying due to the assonance :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Where on earth are neckbeards and the Permanently Angry going to clumsily flirt with each other now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭whatismyname

As per feedback thread:

Cheers,

K

April fools ha-ha ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

As per feedback thread:

Cheers,

K

Check out captain no craic here, eh. 👎

Where on earth are neckbeards and the Permanently Angry going to clumsily flirt with each other now?

I think it's our moral duty to drag all lighthearted threads down into a sordid pit of innuendo and outright smut for the next 6 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭scdublin

Any fun threads like that will be locked and users directed to the relevant forums.

Better be an April fools joke....taking all the fun outta here

It's mad weather today. Little car was blown all very the place on the road. I just had a chocolate caramel biscuit thing so happy now.

How are you KERSPLAT?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

Excellent decision by the moderator team. Those threads are like the flotsam and jetsam of this website. Full of inane chatter, cringe inducing flirting, withered old Father Ted references and endless streams of the painfully obvious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Excellent decision by the moderator team. Those threads are like the flotsam and jetsam of this website. Full of inane chatter, cringe inducing flirting, withered old Father Ted references and endless streams of the painfully obvious.

Exactly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭The Randy Riverbeast

Careful now. Down with this sort of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,769 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

shurrup yew, ye class 3 relic

I hear you're a racist now Father.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Menas wrote: »
    Is this what the men and women of 1916 died for?
    Constant Markievicz didn't die for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,400 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Purple monkey dishwasher.

As per feedback thread:

Cheers,

K

Wait. What are we defining as fun here? I mean.. Best joke ya ever heard is fun. Does that mean it'll be locked?

Unless this is an April Fool's Day joke. Totally forgot what date it was. Fuppin' day.

Constant Markievicz didn't die for this.

She would have loved some of the poetry in the interview thread. Positively Yeatsian so it is.
    And she was a miserably sad person who would have loved the TA thread.

"TA that the British have taken over the Lords Chambers in the Shelbourne hotel and are shooting at our Trench in Stephens green. Would love a brandy now."

I cannot believe it's taken 29 posts for this to be asked, but...

What's a TA?

As is tradition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭JustShon

What's a TA?

As is tradition.

I believe it stands for "tight arsehole". For example the people in this thread: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057136862 would be referred to as TA's :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

What's a TA?

As is tradition.

Trivial Annoyance.

And my biggest TA is it's loss as a thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

I'm overruling Kersplat! for AH. They'll stay open. Even if at the cost of my account.

We always preferred you to him/her/them/it anyway, Tombi.

Is it possible to like Kersplat! and keep the threads open? Or is that a no no....

I'm sorry but no. Unless you sign up for the Nazi moderation corps as shock troopers then you don't get to post here.

And I believe Ker goes by the pronoun "robot".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Menas wrote: »
    Is it possible to like Kersplat! and keep the threads open? Or is that a no no....

No one likes Kersplat!

We've just finished the commemoration of 1916, and now AH is about to stage its own recreation of the civil war.

Ye're a few years early, but no worries.

I think I know which side is spoilsport DeValera...

Team Tombi! !

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Team Tombi! !

That sounds like the name of a Japanese game show.

I don't know about this. Where will I complain about papercuts and hangnails? This is stuff that life is made up of.

On the other hand, it's possible that reading about papercuts and hangnails isn't actually that fun or interesting. Not likely, obviously, but possible.

I'm torn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,779 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    That sounds like the name of a Japanese game show.
    It's the Japanese name for the Japanese black kite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Have a massive head cold, can't smell or taste a thing. I got through all of winter unscathed and now I get landed with this in April. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Are drunk threads still allowed?

There's a nasty rumour going around that they want to ban drunkenness too so....probably not.

(A nasty rumour that I've just started, that is)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Are drunk threads still allowed?
    Depends on the drink.

Not looking great for Tennants.

You can have threads about the evils of alcohol. But no sort of having fun or enjoying it.
    A few hours of chanting to Dav and you're allowed to post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Depends on the drink.

Not looking great for Tennants.
    :(

I get a T-Shirt and pint from C&C every time the name is mentioned.

Tombi! wrote: »
    You can have threads about the evils of alcohol. But no sort of having fun or enjoying it.
    A few hours of chanting to Dav and you're allowed to post.

Are we allowed any kind of fun at all?
    Oh lovely Tombi with your glorious red hair.

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,400 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Any chance if we pretend kneemos threads are fun they'll be banned?

Are we allowed any kind of fun at all?
    Oh lovely Tombi with your glorious red hair.

:p
    You mention red one more time and that's a card for you. I think. Or are we actually just putting them in jail now for speaking out...
    Have to get back to you on the Nazi movement of the mods.

No Fun Allowed on Penalty of Death.

Tombi! wrote: »
    You mention red one more time and that's a card for you. I think. Or are we actually just putting them in jail now for speaking out...
    Have to get back to you on the Nazi movement of the mods.

No Fun Allowed on Penalty of Death.

I meant to say full and lustrous beard :p