Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheap 1.0 car. 1.5k or less

• 30-03-2016 8:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭

Passed my test today at the first time of asking!

Now to buy a motor :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Passed my test today at the first time of asking!

Now to buy a motor :)

I suppose I left out the most important question. What would ye guys suggest?20yo male looking for a 1.0L
    Budget around 1500 for the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

I suppose I left out the most important question. What would ye guys suggest?20yo male looking for a 1.0L
    Budget around 1500 for the car.

Not a lot of choice for 1.0L cars in that price bracket which are not Japanese imports (a lot of them would be nice, but unreal to insure).

Polo? Arosa? Lupo?

Fiesta and Punto are 1.2

Other choices are Micra and Yaris. A few here would swear by the Yaris.

GvidoR wrote: »
    Not a lot of choice for 1.0L cars in that price bracket which are not Japanese imports (a lot of them would be nice, but unreal to insure).

Polo? Arosa? Lupo?

Fiesta and Punto are 1.2

Other choices are Micra and Yaris. A few here would swear by the Yaris.

Had my eye on a Corsa but not sure if they'd be reliable.

Wouldn't be a fan of them myself. Pretty sure Micra and Yaris would be more reliable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

What year is it? There really are much better cars out there for the money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,523 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Don't know many 20yo lads that would be getting excited about a micra or Yaris TBH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭shietpilot

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Don't know many 20yo lads that would be getting excited about a micra or Yaris TBH.

Yaris is an absolute beast. I hammered mine every day like a nut job and it didn't give an ounce of trouble :D

I'm also 20 :pac:

I was just going to say, a Yaris isn't much of a lad's car. When you're on a budget though a one litre car and 50 quid tax is pure ideal

Herself has one, they're a grand oul yoke, did my test in one when they came out first in fact.
    Went out and bought a new Punto Sporting at the time. Could have got a Yaris 1.0 Terra ex hire car for the same money.

What year is it? There really are much better cars out there for the money

Yeah, but 1.0L and €1500 kinda limits you from some of those better cars.

True, but for a first car!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Micra is life.

I thought most 20yo lads wanted a cheap hatchback to get going on the Insurance ladder hehe

Wouldn't be a fan of a micra. I suppose I should be aiming 2002 and newer to help with insurance?

If I was on a very limited budget and needed to stay under 1.0 it'd have to be a VW Lupo.

You can get a 2001 (or 2002, if you're lucky) 6N2 Polo for €1500

2002+ 9N Polo's would probably be overbudget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

They aren't good tbh

6n2 is a more pleasant car IMO, and newer model is 1.2 minimum. A 3 door 6n2 in red would be a decent looking car. Dreadfully slow though.

You can get a 2001 (or 2002, if you're lucky) 6N2 Polo for €1500

2002+ 9N Polo's would probably be overbudget.

Could stretch the budget another few hundred if it was worth it obviously

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭Interslice

Is it not a bit rough at that price? Left hand side probably looks worse in person.

Interslice wrote: »
    Is it not a bit rough at that price? Left hand side probably looks worse in person.

Ya you're prob right. Id stretch to 2k max.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/vw-polo-1-0-litre-nct-taxed/11644248

Keep the 1k in your pocket for the nct and tax.

What about insurance then? Some companies wont insure if its over 15 years old or is that a myth ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

A friend of mine had those porsche wheels on his lupo, then the car shat itself. I think the cams went bang on it. Actually looks cool with those wheels!

What about insurance then? Some companies wont insure if its over 15 years old or is that a myth ha

Not sure, some say 10 years old or more and you get a hike. Best to get quotes before buying any car regardless. Insurance companies are all over the shop with quotes in my experience. I went from a 00 - 02 and a smaller engine 2 years ago and it went up :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

OSI wrote: »
    Personally I feel literally every one of the competition from that era were a better car than the Corsa.
    The VW 3cyl engines are poo though. And a 206 is just asking for electrical and axle problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

All you have from that era are:

Lupo
    Micra
    Polo
    Yaris
    Corsa

Missing anything?

I wouldn't recommend having coilovers in your first car for a number of reasons.

A 1.25 Fiesta really would be a great bet. Not a rubbish three cylinder, they are nice and punchy and very frugal.

I wouldn't recommend having coilovers in your first car for a number of reasons.

A 1.25 Fiesta really would be a great bet. Not a rubbish three cylinder, they are nice and punchy and very frugal.

Good auld zesty Feshty gets the thumbs up from me too :D

A friend of mine had those porsche wheels on his lupo, then the car shat itself. I think the cams went bang on it. Actually looks cool with those wheels!

They are nice looking wheels. Porshe badge on them I don't know about but you'll wouldn't really notice it. 5 studs when should be 4 looks a bit like a dodge adapter job or an aftermarket hub of some sort.

All you have from that era are:

Lupo
    Micra
    Polo
    Yaris
    Corsa

Missing anything?
    Nothing majorly exciting or appealing to a young lad.
    Mazda 2?
    Panda?
    Punto?

The VW 3cyl engines are poo though. And a 206 is just asking for electrical and axle problems.

Ye I wouldn't go near a 9N polo. The 6N and 6N2(00-02) aren't bad yolks if you can find a decent one. Gearboxes are soft is the only thing. Easy peezy to work on otherwise.

Not gone on the choice of wheels....! :o

My own personal view: 928 slots suit it better (so difficult to find a decent pic of one decked on them....)

$_21.JPG

But if one didn't want to go that big, d'auld Golf gti had Pirelli P slots in 15 inch guise (iirc) and the Audi 80/100 had 14 inch slots, both in 4x100 so no adapters needed :)

mtTHBX4.jpg

^^^^

If you google Mercedes Alphard, more bloody vw's come up with those wheels than Mercs :o

Were they every fitted to any Merc?

There is a Seat Arosa going around Kinsealy with some kind of funky looking wheel, the back ones are sticking out of the arch by a serious length

Were they every fitted to any Merc?

There is a Seat Arosa going around Kinsealy with some kind of funky looking wheel, the back ones are sticking out of the arch by a serious length

I think some of the AMG's had them along with the CL/SL.... I'm unsure as I've never seen them on a Mercedes, only ever on dirtboxes! :(

Its difficult to even imagine what they look like on a Merc

Not gone on the choice of wheels....! :o

My own personal view: 928 slots suit it better (so difficult to find a decent pic of one decked on them....)

$_21.JPG

But if one didn't want to go that big, d'auld Golf gti had Pirelli P slots in 15 inch guise (iirc) and the Audi 80/100 had 14 inch slots, both in 4x100 so no adapters needed :)

Never got into the monoblock style wheels. Something like these maybe but but the vw alloys would be my personal choice... if I had to drive a lupo :pac:

IMAG0107.jpg

Its difficult to even imagine what they look like on a Merc
    Like Rathkeale at Christmas.

LIGHTNING wrote: »

Or a cheap 1.2 8v Punto, they can be bought for practically nothing.

Rust aside the fiesta would be great or the punto but the jump up in insurance even from a 1.0 to the 1.1 clio can be a few hundred euro. Was guessing the guy is looking for his first car and has 0 NCB on his own policy.. fiesta would be better for your second car I think with 1 years NCB and the sore arse out of the way :pac:

Was going to recommend a Fiesta as well but didn't since it was over 1.0.

1.3 bracket tax is €101 quarterly vs €56 on a 1.0

If the insurance is reasonable on the fiesta I'd consider it.

Only one way to find out. Get 2-3 regs off DoneDeal and ring around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Watch for rust on those fiestas. Notorious for it. They're at the age where it's very common for them to fail the NCT for rust issues.

Yeah, it would be great if you could get it up on a lift before committing to buy one.

Only one way to find out. Get 2-3 regs off DoneDeal and ring around.

Coverinaclick insured one of the lads last summer for 1750 on a 1.4 80Bhp Golf.

Will make a few calls though!

Coverinaclick insured one of the lads last summer for 1750 on a 1.4 80Bhp Golf.

Will make a few calls though!

Yeah but your age, address, occupation, car, etc will differ so that doesn't really tell you much. You can even get two different quotes on two nearly identical 1.4 Golfs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

My first car was a 99 polo, 1 litre. Had it for about 5 years and never gave any major bother. I thought the engine was nippy enough in it. Plenty of space in it too. Only got rid of it when my sister crashed it.