Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you still add Crisps to Sandwiches?

• 29-03-2016 12:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭

Ive been adding Cheese and Onion Crisps to my Ham and Cheese sandwiches for 30 years.

Is it still a staple diet among us Irish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,510 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Polo_Mint wrote: »
    Ive been adding Cheese and Onion Crisps to my Ham and Cheese sandwiches for 30 years.

Is it still a staple diet among us Irish?

You haven't named your brand of Cheese and Onion crisps. I'm skeptical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭Polo_Mint

PARlance wrote: »
    You haven't named your brand of Cheese and Onion crisps. I'm skeptical.

Tayto but i dont want to offend King users

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

King Crisps.

"Read to fry for Ireland"

By far, the best of all the 1916 bandwagon ads, over the weekend.

Anyhoo....yes, to crisps with sambo. Not in the sambo though, on the side of the plate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

Can't beat a good crisp sammich

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

I never really got the carb on carb thing (crisps/chips on bread). I like crisps on their own though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭traprunner

What an abomination! It should only be bread, butter and crisps. No foreign objects!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

Ah, the joy of introducing my Canadian cousins many years ago to Tayto Sandwiches.

I have been told numerous times over the years how they are spreading in Toronto!!!!!

Mwahahhaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,710 ✭✭✭Corvo

Banana sandwiches with cheese and onion tayto on them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

Crisps are more nutritional than lettuce *

*probably not true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Tayto but i dont want to offend King users
    I love both and have even mixed them together on sandwitches.
    Corvo wrote: »

Ah jaysus that brings me back to the recessionnary 70's national school lunches and the carton of free milk that was usually only an hour from sour:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

fresh white bread butter and tayto no other filling required

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

No butter please.

Cream Crackers and tayto is nice as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

I have quite sophisticated foreign tastes.

So I have my crisps on a buttered Cuisine de France roll. No jambon or fromage though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

I like Waffles in a sandwich. Or Hunky Dorys. The most important thing is lots of butter.

foggy_lad wrote: »
    I love both and have even mixed them together on sandwiches.

Is that even legal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭kellyshell

Salt and vinegar King on a ham and cheese sambo! Only way to do it :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

One of my favourite things about going back to Ireland on holidays, you just can't get daycent cheese and onion chips out foreign

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭5star02707

wasn't born here in Eire but i grew up learning to eat them in secondary school lunches :L :L :L

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

I got queer looks at the weekend in Subway when packing one of their spicy Italian subs with a packet of cheese & onion to awesomify it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

kellyshell wrote: »
    Salt and vinegar

We will have none of that talk here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Farmer Browns Cheese and Onion were the only crisp for sandwiches.
    Bagged heartburn.

Can you even get them anymore?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 pedroismyname

I don't. In 2016 who eats crisps anymore? Seems like a terrible choice of food. Try some fruit after your sandwich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I don't. In 2016 who eats crisps anymore? Seems like a terrible choice of food. Try some fruit after your sandwich.
    Fcuk it you only live once no point being too sensible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Hunky Dory's Buffalo crisps added to a ham sandwich,mug of tea

Sorted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Crisp rolls are nicer in my opinion.

You open the salt and vinegar - preferrably Tayto - and then you crunch up the crisps. Now what you want to do is cut your roll down the side, but be careful not to cut through to the other side, which is the most soul destroying thing that can happen.

Now you butter the roll, before putting it in the microwave for about 10-20 seconds. You want it lovely and soft - think of it as the anti-Viagra - and then you shuffle the crisps in, slowly to maximise your chances of including all 5,000 crisp bits.

Distribute the crisp bits evenly to ensure a balanced roll. Before you eat it, you will, if you're a man, need to wear a condom at this stage - you'll need one to avoid unavoidable spillage upon taking the first bite. If you're a female, it's best to remove any trousers and underwear and eat it whilst sitting in an empty bath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

* Rich in Vitamin A, now Fortified with Cancer

\0/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

maudgonner wrote: »
    I have quite sophisticated foreign tastes.

So I have my crisps on a buttered Cuisine de France roll. No jambon or fromage though.

Oh lah di feckin Dah, bet you even went to some posh school where the teachers owned cars.

Hammer89 wrote: »
    Before you eat it, you will, if you're a man, need to wear a condom at this stage - you'll need one to avoid unavoidable spillage upon taking the first bite. If you're a female, it's best to remove any trousers and underwear and eat it whilst sitting in an empty bath.

I'm going to feel very uncomfortable the next time someone eats a crisp roll in my presence now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Only just thought about it now.... I've never seen or heard anyone use Pringles in sambos.
    I guess their shapes doesn't help?
    Perhaps Mr Pringles is missing a trick here?
    Would specially 'sandwich adaptable shape' boost sales?
    Those BBQ ones might be fierce tasty on a cheese and hang sambo

I'm going to feel very uncomfortable the next time someone eats a crisp roll in my presence now...

Yep. There's a reason why everyone has a cigarette directly after eating them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,716 ✭✭✭DJIMI TRARORE

Sam Kade wrote:
    Fcuk it you only live once no point being too sensible.

Dead right!! I"m going to die fat and happy instead of thin and miserable

Ah lads, salt and vinegar. Really? :(

Friend of mine has an interesting take. He smashes up the crisps, leaves them aside and then dips the sandwich/roll into the pile before each bite. It's not bad.

Hammer89 wrote: »
    Yep. There's a reason why everyone has a cigarette directly after eating them.

There's a mayonnaise joke to be made here, but I'd like it noted for the record that I'm not going there...

Ah lads, salt and vinegar. Really? :(

Friend of mine has an interesting take. He smashes up the crisps, leaves them aside and then dips the sandwich/roll into the pile before each bite. It's not bad.

That's normally done with the escapees from the sandwich using the second to last bite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

I feel like the only Irish person to never do this. I do liked a fried rasher on some brown soda with lots of butter though.:D

There's a mayonnaise joke to be made here, but I'd like it noted for the record that I'm not going there...

I prefer salt but what you're referring to can be used in the absence of sodium, yes:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

Mmm, memories of blaa and crisp sandwiches. Mouth is watering just at the thought!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭5star02707

whiskeyman wrote: »
    Only just thought about it now.... I've never seen or heard anyone use Pringles in sambos.
    I guess their shapes doesn't help?
    Perhaps Mr Pringles is missing a trick here?
    Would specially 'sandwich adaptable shape' boost sales?
    Those BBQ ones might be fierce tasty on a cheese and hang sambo

packaging of pringles doesn;t help so i don't think it's a popular choice. Also it is an american crisps which would make it at the bottom list of crisps to try in a sambo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,407 ✭✭✭✭endacl

allibastor wrote: »
    Ah, the joy of introducing my Canadian cousins many years ago to Tayto Sandwiches.

I have been told numerous times over the years how they are spreading in Toronto!!!!!

Mwahahhaha

The results are in. Tayto sandwiches are aphrodisiac in Canada.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

An aristocrat,eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

fresh white bread butter and tayto no other filling required

The bread has to be really, really, really fresh.

Then once the slathering of butter has been applied and the 'crips' carefully arranged, the top slice of bread must be gently placed on top......

......then with all your might you have to lean on the sammich to squish it down so it is no more than a crisp molecule thick.

.....consume with Club orange (or Mi-Wadi if your stuck!!)

EDIT: Crips must be Tayto!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

allibastor wrote: »

Mwahahhaha
    390 Queens Quay shop? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭ectoraige

Corvo wrote: »

Lash some peanut butter on there, now you're talking!*

* unless you have a peanut alleagy, in which case you've gone into anaphylactic shock instead. Oops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,852 ✭✭✭Steve F

Jawgap wrote: »
    The bread has to be really, really, really fresh.

Then once the slathering of butter has been applied and the 'crips' carefully arranged, the top slice of bread must be gently placed on top......

......then with all your might you have to lean on the sammich to squish it down so it is no more than a crisp molecule thick.

.....consume with Club orange (or Mi-Wadi if your stuck!!)

EDIT: Crips must be Tayto!!

Yiz are all mad feckers!!

Has to be fresh white bread,butter slathered on

WALKERS Ready Salted!!!

Away with yer Tayo ya mad yokes!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Steve F wrote: »
    Yiz are all mad feckers!!

Has to be fresh white bread,butter slathered on

WALKERS Ready Salted!!!

Away with yer Tayo ya mad yokes!!!

Brits Out......

No to foreign crisps......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭satguy

If there are crisps in the press, and I am having a cheese sambo,, then I will most defo add in the crisps,, every time..

Tayto Cheese and Onion of course ,,, Leave them poor buffalo alone,, it's bad enough that we pull their wings off when we get the munchies.

You know in some places where they give you a little side salad with your sandwich? On the sly, I like to break up crisps and mix it in with the salad. Makes it healthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

More of a crisp blaa man, that's my epicurean side coming out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭enzo roco

King crisps are much nicer than tayto.

There, I said it.