Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The employees who haaaaatttteeete their jobs!

• 28-03-2016 02:33AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭

Ok - I don't hate my job! I know many people in other jobs which have long hours/sh1te contracts/shocking bad pay etc but my job really ain't that bad. Employees are treated well here and paid a decent wage imo.

But I work with people who absolutely despise the place. They come in every day with faces like grumpy cat and go on a mighty whine-fest for the day/night (shift work). I work with both men and women - both sexes are guilty :D

"I haaaatttteeee this f'n place!" - if I had a euro for every time I heard that....

I don't engage in conversation much as this would lower my mood, that constant negativity just drags me down. I'm a quiet person, I just get on with the job :)

So do any of ye hate your job, or work with people who hate their job?

Ok - I don't hate my job! I know many people in other jobs which have long hours/sh1te contracts/shocking bad pay etc but my job really ain't that bad. Employees are treated well here and paid a decent wage imo.

But I work with people who absolutely despise the place. They come in every day with faces like grumpy cat and go on a mighty whine-fest for the day/night (shift work). I work with both men and women - both sexes are guilty :D

"I haaaatttteeee this f'n place!" - if I had a euro for every time I heard that....

I don't engage in conversation much as this would lower my mood, that constant negativity just drags me down. I'm a quiet person, I just get on with the job :)

So do any of ye hate your job, or work with people who hate their job?

Up to my contract ending Friday, i worked in a call centre for a bank. If im being honest, i was never cut out for it in the long term but looking back at the good and bad days i wouldn't change a thing overall. I've made amazing friends who gave me a great send off and i gained a 18 months of experience in a dynamic office environment (and boy was it dynamic).

Last place i worked was a medical device factory a couple of years ago before i went back to college. Many hated the company who were an American multinational. Initially i was just delighted to earn the few bob but as time went on, it became a fairly toxic work environment. A core of us became a very close knit group of friends over time but on our particular line there was a group of bitchy women. There was such a horrible vibe throughout the place too and mistrust from one person to the next. Some of the supervisors were absolutely disgusting in their behaviour and the more the recession kicked in, the more they stamped their authority. One particular muppet was a noted bully in the organisation and is probably still there. Im not though and thats the main thing.

I wholeheartedly agree with Steve Jobs when he addressed the graduates at Stanford back in 2005.
    "Your time here is limited, so don't waste it living someone's else's life"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,524 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I couldn't be around miserable shytes like that all day, so I'm somewhat relieved at least I've never had to be! I've worked a number of different career roles and taken a few different paths, but never hated any of them. I've been very fortunate to have worked with some incredible people over the years, only had a handful (could literally count them on one hand) that would drain the life out of you. They make work harder when it really shouldn't be!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

I have a crappy dead end job which I do not like as I am bored senseless in it. I could move on but my lack of qualifications would prevent me from deviating too far from where I am already.

On the plus side it is a Monday - Friday 9-5 and it is pretty cushy so my complaints are not too valid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

True story, but I shared a house with a guy who worked in a porn/sex shop.

That might not sound like too bad a gig, until you hear what he did.

You know them little private viewing booths, where blokes (and the occasional Sheila too I believe) select their particular porno for their particular chosen fetish of that day, and then watch it in the "privacy of their own booth"?

Someone's gotta "clean and mop up" after their self loving sessions.

Poor fưcker, he hated that job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭TG1

It's not my dream job, if I could have done anything in the world it's not what I would have picked. It gets busy and I get stressed about it, and don't enjoy every minute of the day while I'm in work, but isn't that what being a grown up is about, accepting that and getting on with life?
    Can't stand people who sit around and whinge about it! I'll vent to a couple of good friends when it gets really bad but it pays the bills so I can't complain that much!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭ArtyC

I've to work beside the biggest whinge bag today. Been dreading it all weekend. She makes my life at work miserable.

Wish she'd find something else than drag everyone down with her moaning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,490 ✭✭✭stefanovich

Awful. If it were me I'd straight up tell them to stop complaining and keep their negativity to themselves. "If you don't like it then quit!"

If it continued I'd complain to management that they were having a negative affect on staff morale.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I always loved my job and never heard any others say they hated their job. If you truly hate a job then look for a new one but I suspect anybody who would go on and on about hating their job would not be happy in any job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

I've a PT job while I retrain. I really like it, however it's customer facing and people are c**nts. Seriously though most are grand, just a few people that should be taken around the back of a barn and hit with the manners stick a few times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

I love my job but when I was working in London, I hated it. I love teaching but over there I was in school for 10 hours each day doing pointless paperwork and getting in trouble for things beyond my control. I used to cry at least once a week. I'm not surprised teachers leave the profession over there.

Now that I'm back in Ireland, I love my job again and I'm actually happy going back in after the weekend/holidays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭intheclouds

I absolutely hate having to work. Hate it. Massive waste of my time and all my hard work just goes to making a grey haired rich old man richer. Same in every job I've ever had.

However, the job itself is ok and I even enjoy some aspects of what I do for a living, but I truly hate having to work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I like my job but I think even the best job does have moments where you just would rather be anywhere else.

I've had my fair share of jobs I professed to hate, but really they weren't bad at all. I think the thought of it is often worse than actually doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭Disgruntled Badger

I thinks it's a pity to waste your life doing a job you don't like. What you'll find though is if there are a number of people regularly complaining, this has just become a topic of conversation they find easy to use. Some people talk about football, TV programmes, others like to moan about things. on a note of caution, this can be a big red flag for depression.

If you think it's a mindset you can have some fun shaking them out of it by getting them to talk about how they'd make things better, or what they'd rather be doing and how they are going to go about doing that instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭DFGrange

I absolutely hate having to work. Hate it. Massive waste of my time and all my hard work just goes to making a grey haired rich old man richer. Same in every job I've ever had.

However, the job itself is ok and I even enjoy some aspects of what I do for a living, but I truly hate having to work.

Are you a Luas driver?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,047 ✭✭✭✭titan18

I'm paid less than I should be, so I hate my job. Like the people I work with though, and have been at places where that wasn't the case, so it's got that going for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I've yet to experience a job that doesn't make me want to kill myself. I'm very introverted and being around people for longer than an hour or two overwhelms me to the point of exhaustion. And then there's all the little things, like the lack of freedom to even eat when you want - basically living your life to someone else's timetable. And that awful "I've never taken a sick day in my life" martyrdom-culture that exists in so many Irish workplaces, as though spreading germs and making other people miserable is a virtue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

I love my current job, really enjoy it and actually look forward to going into work in the morning!

However, I did work in a customer-facing deli job and urrrgh, was not keen on it at all at all.I tried not to bitch, but quite honestly, I'd be getting a constant bitchfeed from one of the people I worked with up to the point where I'd ask him to kindly stfu before I stabbed him with something. Like an oven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Enjoyment is never something I've expected from a job. I've worked since I was 14 and I've never really enjoyed it. It's a means to an end, nothing more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Well, I think it does depend a bit on if it's a career-job or a bills-job, sorta. Some people are driven by really wanting to be in X specific area and will drive to get into it and love being in it. But it's damned hard to get enthused about working behind the counter in a shop day after day, say, or in a deli, or y'know, etcetera.

Then there's a third section which is "I really want to do this job (say, teaching), but dear god, the kids in my class are driving me batty and the principal's a lunatic", so you do love the -job-, but the specifics of where you're doing it right now are bringing you down.

DFGrange wrote: »
    Are you a Luas driver?

Why, do they hate having to work?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Why, do they hate having to work?

They certainly seem to be taking every opportunity to avoid it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Work, of anybody in the private sector, is designed to make some man/woman, somewhere, richer. Such is enterprise and the reason you're employed there at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I like my job most of the time, I've been off for over a week and I'm feeling apprehensive about returning but il be fine once I get stuck in. I hate all the emails you have to wade through on the first day.

There are some very miserable people where I am though, they are long term civil servants who really don't realise how lucky they are. If I ever get like that I won't stay on. It's not worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,501 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

I came into work this morning super relaxed after a sleep filled long weekend. After about 45 mins, two different people managed to put me in a bad mood with completely unnecessary tantrums. They hate their jobs, therefore everyone else has to be miserable too.

I'm getting to the point where I have zero patience for the whingeing of fellow employees and in some cases, lack of anger management. Go and be fcuking miserable elsewhere, and leave the rest of us get on with making the most of the opportunities we have and trying to do so in good spirits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭mr.anonymous

People who are present in work just to get paid for that day and don't contribute anything are the worst. I expected it in my part time job in college but found the same contagious indifference in later office jobs. I've suggested doing something extra before and got a "whatever you want" answer. Dedication to doing the absolute minimum!

Work, of anybody in the private sector, is designed to make some man/woman, somewhere, richer. Such is enterprise and the reason you're employed there at all.

Well of course, hence the observation, its been the same in all my jobs.

Just seems so pointless. I have regular existential crises when I ponder it.

Well of course, hence the observation, its been the same in all my jobs.

Just seems so pointless. I have regular existential crises when I ponder it.

I think that everybody who gives out about how they're making money for 'the man' should have to go run their own business for a year.

Either you'll love it and have nothing to moan about, or you'll hate it and go back to working for someone else with a different perspective maybe.

maudgonner wrote: »
    I think that everybody who gives out about how they're making money for 'the man' should have to go run their own business for a year.

Either you'll love it and have nothing to moan about, or you'll hate it and go back to working for someone else with a different perspective maybe.

Ugh, I'd hate to run my own business. I just wouldn't be interested enough in "work" to either be any good at it or like it.

I can't think of any job I'd really like to do tbh. I'd get sick of anything if I had to do it everyday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

I once worked in a place where you couldn't really vent to your co-worker about the job. It was a big department and kind of had a culture where you had to always make out like everything was constantly peachy. I find that acting false all the time is a drain.

Another place I worked in, we were always giving out. It was more of a joking way but it made us relate more and get any work frustrations out in the open. Actually sometimes it made us find better ways to help each other out.

In another place, my desk was directly a cross from a man and we always chatted. One day I noticed that every time we got into a long conversation, it always ended up about something really morbid, very often ending up talking about war and world war two in particular, like a real life godwins law. He was really nice though.

Years ago I worked in a place where our team went through a really rough patch and morale was pretty low.

The team leader instigated a 'cakes and bitching' session every Friday morning. We'd pig out and air our grievances. It was a great people-management tool, kept a good few of the team from walking out in a rage :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭caille

I don't mind work, per se, doing tasks, keeping busy, solving problems or issues, not a bother. What I hate, hate, hate are people around me who are moaning, talking too much, gossiping/stirring it, are smelly and can't use the bathroom properly.

I would rather work 12 hours a day on my own than 8 hours a day around other people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

I work around people who constantly gripe about the job, and soldiers are somewhat famous for it, but a lot wouldn't change what they do either. I think it's a culture thing. It certainly helps get through the bad times, of which there are plenty. When things are at their grimmest, laugh, make a stupid joke of it and get on with things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,467 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

I'm in a "career" job, for the last 8 years. It's taken me away (by 2 hours) from friends and family, but i knew that could happen so i'm not too upset about that. It's in the public service, so not a job to make someone else rich, but as is evident by countless articles, it's about cost saving, which really shouldn't come into play in my job. As a result, more work, less employees to do it, less pay, long shift hours, no social life (as the days off are usually when everyone else is working). Again, i knew most of this going in, so not a major issue (the cost cutting not being included in that, it's putting us in danger, nothing else).

Currently, i hate my job. And not the actual job, but where i am. I've given 8 years here, and it's time to go elsewhere, closer to home so i can look after my aging parents. But, it's next to impossible to get transferred out of here. There's no movement, save for exceptional circumstances and for those with "pull". I've been trying to make attempts to get a transfer, but as i'm single and have no immediate family, i'm lower on the transfer list underneath those with families who travel to work. Which i also believe is unfair. These people also knew about having to possibly move far away from their families, but they still get looked after before me, even though i could have 5+ years on them.

Then, we have "management" who honestly couldn't care less about us. We're just a number. They all want the next promotion, so that means it's us foot soldiers who get shat upon just so someone can show that they're management material by reprimanding us for trivial things. We're also expected to do all this extra work, pilot schemes invented by someone who doesn't work the normal job, but sits in an office all day and wouldn't have the first clue about the main aspect of the job these days.

Anyway, if i can't get a transfer within the next few months, i'll have no option but to quit and look elsewhere, as my parents are my priority right now. My siblings all have their own families, and my sister, who is a single mother of 2 (13 and 11) and whose youngest is autistic, she tries to look after the parents, but her hands are already full. I don't want to leave my job, i want to continue my career, and hopefully get promoted some day. But if the job can't facilitate me, well, i'll have to go. I have a mortgage, personal loans, etc. These are the only things that have stopped me quitting so far.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,864 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I hated my last job, so I quit without having another job. Luckily though I work at something there are plenty of jobs in so a few weeks later I had another job which thankfully I don't mind.

I'd prefer not to have to work at all though obviously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Edward Hopper

I loathe going into work now, and for the last 2 years. Work in healthcare, hate what my workplace has become, no longer have any time or surroundings to spend with patients or give the quality of care I'd want to. Only getting worse and less and less respect from management for staff or patients, with more and more pressure to move people on, ready or not.

I'm stuck as I'm not qualified for anything else, only one bringing in money, mortgage to pay and this faint hope things might get better again one day, as currently it's soul crushing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

They treat me badly and pay me ****e wages so in return I don't really care too much and it impacts their business. I'm baffled they can't see the correlation between treating tour staff well and increased productivity. I can't complain too much as I have it handy enough

I work for a good company with great benefits. Job itself is fairly cushy too. Yet there are people on my team that never stop complaining about the job. The hours, the nature of the work, the managers...everything! I think these people have never had a "bad" job in their lives.

Samaris wrote: »
    I love my current job, really enjoy it and actually look forward to going into work in the morning!

However, I did work in a customer-facing deli job and urrrgh, was not keen on it at all at all.I tried not to bitch, but quite honestly, I'd be getting a constant bitchfeed from one of the people I worked with up to the point where I'd ask him to kindly stfu before I stabbed him with something. Like an oven.

Stab him with an oven? Not sharp enough and best of luck lifting it :p

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

I just dont understand this.

There isnt enough time in a lifetime, in 10 lifetimes, for me to do all the things that I want to do, read all I want to read, see all I want to see, study all I want to study.....I mean, work just gets in the way of me actually living my life, and doing the things I want to do.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

I'm the same tbh. As a self employed contractor there can be months when I literally work every day of the week, or as is happening now and I'm in a lull, I've less pressure.

I'm also probably fortunate in that I work in an area I have a huge interest in, get to interact with leaders in my industry and have an opportunity to influence it's future.

To me that's kinda cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭Tomagotchye

Hate my job every moment I am out if it. It's not difficult or anything but it's not what I thought I would be. Pretty lost I suppose.

That said, when I get out of bed and walk in, my focus is 100% there. It's like a game, jobs based on numbers, I hit that **** hard and go home. If I one day do not get out of bed and walk in.. Wont impact me.

Do it, until you don't?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,482 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

For all the people out there who say they are in a dead end job. Do something about it when you can as you never know what the future holds. The best thing to spend money on is education. Learn something that you and that interests you. Then get a job in that. Don,t stay stuck in a job you don,t like or a dead end job.

“An investment in knowledge pays the best interest.” Benjamin Franklin

“You can only become truly accomplished at something you love. Don’t make money your goal. Instead, pursue the things you love doing, and then do them so well that people can’t take their eyes off you.” Maya Angelou

Two really good quotes and I agree with them both.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

AMKC wrote: »
    For all the people out there who say they are in a dead end job. Do something about it when you can as you never know what the future holds. The best thing to spend money on is education. Learn something that you and that interests you. Then get a job in that. Don,t stay stuck in a job you don,t like or a dead end job.

“An investment in knowledge pays the best interest.” Benjamin Franklin

“You can only become truly accomplished at something you love. Don’t make money your goal. Instead, pursue the things you love doing, and then do them so well that people can’t take their eyes off you.” Maya Angelou

Two really good quotes and I agree with them both.

I agree with both.

When they combine I find my life is enriched.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭Fluffy Cat 88

I just dont understand this.

There isnt enough time in a lifetime, in 10 lifetimes, for me to do all the things that I want to do, read all I want to read, see all I want to see, study all I want to study.....I mean, work just gets in the way of me actually living my life, and doing the things I want to do.

I often wonder what it would be like to not work. I've worked full time since I finished school. Would I be able to fill my days with things I enjoy or would I be bored to death? - who knows!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭lightspeed

Have you talked to your employer regarding the above?

It sounds like nothing a box of justformen wouldnt fix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭jimmythedivil

I know one person who likes his job. He is an estate agent in Australia.

I do not know one single other person who likes their job. This includes people who work in call centres, teachers, doctors, nurses, journalists, Guards, etc. Everyone I know in this country absolutely detests their job and live purely just to get pissed at the weekend and go on holiday maybe once or twice a year.