Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Children Of The Revolution (Click HERE to buy Joe Duffy's book)

• 27-03-2016 8:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭

Are ye all watching? Was that the inside of Duffy Towers that we saw at the start or did Joe rent out a working class family's house for the filming?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,762 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Which thread is best to post on, this or the Liveline so to speak?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,322 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Syl Fox: The Early Years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭PeterTheEighth

What IS his fascination with the dead children? Can you imagine his missus, wanting to head out on the tiles and spend some of the Duffy gold, and Duffy himself fixed down in the basement flicking through the death certs from 100 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

I wonder how much Joe has been paid for his chisellers of the revolution documentary, on top of the proceeds of his buke?

M

A 1916 table cloth would have been a good idea for Dragons Den.

M

What colour were the bullets?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Are ye all watching? Was that the inside of Duffy Towers that we saw at the start or did Joe rent out a working class family's house for the filming?

Looked like the Towers on the Clontarf Rd alright.
    What IS his fascination with the dead children? Can you imagine his missus, wanting to head out on the tiles and spend some of the Duffy gold, and Duffy himself fixed down in the basement flicking through the death certs from 100 years ago.

Joe has stated that he and the wife did not go out for a single night for 19 years.

All the pics of him at various functions and premieres must be some kind of fakes.

FFs madge, get back. And take off your Celtic jersey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

He was saying "most of the children thought it was a bit of fun , like fireworks "????, no they didn't! , Stupid bloody comment from an amateur.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

and the morbid weirdo has the names of dead children pinned to a noticeboard!!!, really he needs to see someone .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Djoucer

Regardless of opinions on Joe, it's a great documentary.

Some great insights like kids raiding sweet shops.

40 children killed out of 374 civilians is incredible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,114 ✭✭✭lukin

I'm watching it,I haven't read the book.I know this program will probably boost sales of the book so I can understand the cynicism on this thread.I still think it's an interesting and worthy subject as there's been a lot of flag-waving jingoism today and not enough about the innocent victims of the rising.Fair dues to Duffy for bringing it to people's attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Red Kev wrote: »
    Looked like the Towers on the Clontarf Rd alright.

Joe has stated that he and the wife did not go out for a single night for 19 years.

All the pics of him at various functions and premieres must be some kind of fakes.

I think he meant he hasn't PAID to go on a night out for 19 years.

For all his moneys he's a tight bastard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

I see the snipers are in here as well.!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

Genuinely, are the profits/proceeds of the book going to charity or does Duffy keep the lot?

Oops69 wrote: »
    and the morbid weirdo has the names of dead children pinned to a noticeboard!!!, really he needs to see someone .

If this was the obsession of any ordinary "Joe Soap" he'd probably be committed to an institution for a few weeks until he's better, but because it's "Joe Duffy", they indulge him to his every whim.

velo.2010 wrote: »
    Genuinely, are the profits/proceeds of the book going to charity or does Duffy keep the lot?

All his.

He constantly alludes to the fact that he got the idea from a Jack and Jill initiative and allows people to think the money is going to charity, but no, it's all going to Joe.

It's not "viskeral", you buffoon. It VISCERAL.

M

lukin wrote: »
    Fair dues to Duffy for bringing it to people's attention.

He wasn't working down the mines on 1p an hour to "bring" it to people's attention, he had the book printed in Germany while at the same time having no time for Irish business outsourcing work overseas, he has registered for artists exemption for the book. He promoted the book for free on state owned radio without any question where at the same time other writers and their publishers had to pay thousands for adverts on the very same radio station to compete against his book...yes fair dues indeed.

M

velo.2010 wrote: »

If Claddaghgreen Limited is a charity then yes :pac:

I'm not watching but assume:
    1. it's awful
    2. He's plugging away to brat the band

All his.

He constantly alludes to the fact that he got the idea from a Jack and Jill initiative and allows people to think the money is going to charity, but no, it's all going to Joe.

That's fairly s####y if true.

If this was the obsession of any ordinary "Joe Soap" he'd probably be committed to an institution for a few weeks until he's better, but because it's "Joe Duffy", they indulge him to his every whim.

The whole point of the book is to identify the children killed. How can you not get this?

Any legitimate criticism of the book/documentary is clouded by your dislike of the Duffy.

"I'm not a military historian" says Joe.

You're dead fcuking right about that, Joe.

M

Djoucer wrote: »
    The whole point of the book is to identify the children killed. How can you not get this?

Any legitimate criticism of the book/documentary is clouded by your dislike of the Duffy.

Then whoy are the profits going to him?

He wasn't working down the mines on 1p an hour to "bring" it to people's attention, he had the book printed in Germany while at the same time having no time for Irish business outsourcing work overseas, he has registered for artists exemption for the book. He promoted the book for free on state owned radio without any question where at the same time other writers and their publishers had to pay thousands for adverts on the very same radio station to compete against his book...yes fair dues indeed.

OK I didn't know that.I take back what I posted so.

Has Joe written a book about the children of 1916? Are you sure about that? I haven't heard a single word about it. He's kept that under wraps. He should have employed a decent PR agency to publicise it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Then whoy are the profits going to him?

Why does it matter?

M

Why does it matter?

Normally on such projects the writer would donate all proceeds to charity and good would be done with the money.

Go on Joe, say it:

"Commemorate me where there is water".

£5 compensation for children killed with price of coffin deducted.

M

The graves are a bloody disgrace, whoy isn't he using the proceeds of the book to sort them?

To be quite frank, Joe's time would have been far better invested in to investigating the Dublin/Monaghan bombings.

That's fairly s####y if true.

I mailed them, they get nothing from the book.

I am fairly certain the profits are not going to charity.It's not right that Duffy should be making money from the deaths of these children,even if it happened a hundred years ago.

M

Whoy did most people wear hats in the olden days?

M

I am fairly certain the profits are not going to charity.It's not right that Duffy should be making money from the deaths of these children,even if it happened a hundred years ago.

welcome-to-the-jc27bb.jpg

Duffy is so wrapped up in his own self-importance, he probably sees nothing wrong with this. Ever the socialist is our Joe.

That pub is the Oval on Abbey St. Owned by Charlie Chawke, a good friend of Joe.

Ah, there's another champagne socialist, President Michael D.

Certainly have had my mind changed on this program/Duffy as a result of this thread.He really is a Grade A b####x.

Ah, there's another champagne socialist, President Michael D.

You mean cos of his private work in the Saw movies?

jigsaw-saw-5454125-350-211.jpg

Certainly have had my mind changed on this program/Duffy as a result of this thread.He really is a Grade A b####x.

Probably should've watched the programme instead.

Would've seen the awful Joe giving voice to 40 Irish kids killed in the rising.

It was very well made, some good stuff in it and interesting. Joe made it something between cheesy/patronising. I thought the bit where he touches the gravestone a bit creepy.

Still got the feeling that the general jist is that it's a vehicle to promote his book and the fact the he got it on prime time on Easter Sunday night says it all really. He knew last summer when they made the programm that he was getting it on TV tonight.

He wasn't at the celebrations today, he went home, so someone higher up in a different organsiation seems to have pIssed him off. We'll find out soon enough as he'll lay into them some day on the radio programme.

But in fairness you have to say it's a bit rich for him to be doing this documentary and book letting on that he's giving a voice to the forgotten and all this s### and then keeping the profits from the book.Its the kind of two-facedness even the Healy-Rae's would have trouble pulling off.

You don't get it, do you? I would have plenty of respect for a man who earns over €400k per anum if he gave the proceeds of his book to a worthwhile charity such as The Jack and Jill Foundation. In fact, I'd probably buy it myself if that were the case.
    The fact that this buffoon has all the time in the world to research and write this book, whilst creaming a ridiculous salary from the State broadcaster and subsequently pocketing the profits from the sale of his book would leave a bad taste in the mouth of any right thinking person, and all the while Joe perceives himself to be "a man of de people". Well bollocks to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,535 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Whoy did most people wear hats in the olden days?

It hid their baldness, plus a slightly rakish angle to the titfer made one look like a proper man-about-town, kinda thing.
    At least, that's what they thought.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,322 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Joe riding the bus, just like the working class :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Fascinating documentary, I'll likely read the book, but borrow a copy from the library.

What gets to me is that he works 10.30-15.30 (according to him, thise are the hours he's in RTE), for about 38-40 weeks a year for his €416,000.

If he even did an average years work for that money and did the book in the evenings I wouldn't mind as much, but the fact that he creams off us, the tax and TV licence payer, and does feck all work, giving him ample time to persue his hobby is what grates on me.

He's also been promoting it relentlessly through the media, using RTE. He's been on the Late Late and Ray D'Arcy and never gave one book to the audience shows how intent he is on cashing in on the bloody thing permanently.