Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ryanair WTF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭limericklad87

Awaiting the expected..... ' they haven't a leg to stand on"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

Madness . . . if it's true.

I guess we'll have to wait and see if this story gets legs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭Miss Demeanour

Awaiting the expected..... ' they haven't hit a leg to stand on"

Eh......not awaiting anymore!?

Hope he got a standing ovation on board just to spite them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

"RYANAIR TELL DISABLED PASSENGER TO JOG ON"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Thread: In a hundred years what will we look back on as our greatest shame?
    Ryanair

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Ryanair treat passenger like second class citizen

Wait a minute...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

old_aussie wrote: »
    Ya gotta luv Ryanair.

Ryanair should be stood down from flying

http://www.dailystar.co.uk/news/latest-news/503891/double-leg-amputee-crawled-Ryanair-flght

Terrible puns even in the OP! Shame on you. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Wouldn't believe half of it.

Sure if they tried to charge Ryanair with something knowing them they'd probably walk away Scot free

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

All they want is bums on seats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

While if this story is true it's pretty ****ty why is it as soon as someone is flying they think of this:

Flying these days, especially short hop is no more glamorous (or expensive in somecases) than taking a bus - why should RyanAir et al put on airs and graces. Get on the fecking plane, sit down shut up and get off the fecking plane. Preferably without inconveniencing everyone around you because of your fat arse/ugly kids/idiot partner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

'stood down from flying', can you not do any better than that with the amount of material available?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

He really went out on a limb flying with Ryanair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Ryanair is one of the greatest people movers of all time. A **** stain of an article on the loo roll that is the Star isn't going to stop over a hundred million people -- the vast majority of whom can't get over things like family fares for under 500 quid (return) to Spain -- from flying with them every year.

Hope it didn't ruin his holiday anyway and still had a right knees up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Thanks Michael for staying in the state and paying every last cent to the taxman like a true patriot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

First holiday since last summer...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

After they made a man carry his handicapped wife up the stairs to the plane I'm not surprised, really. ISTR hearing that they left an elderly handicapped man on the plane a couple of years ago too.

I hate flying Ryanair, and that they're the only affordable option for a lot of places.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Didn't click it as it was the daily star but the simple reality is thatvyouncan either fly ryanair , know what you're getting or fly some other company. No, matter what the article is about, that's my opinion.
    What is the article about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭dinorebel

Well this is a step back for Ryanair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

The 38-year-old says they told him to drag himself down two ramps, across tarmac and up the steps of the plane.
    Yeah, sure they did...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Fulltimer

He looks like an ape, a real knuckle dragger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭FalconGirl

As much as I have great respect for Ryanair this takes the low cost ethos over the line tbh. Very dissapointing. Staff should have a small bit more cop on.

Otherwise they're an absolutely fantastic airline.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭Steve The Barman

what a load of sh*te, crawled on the tarmac.... he did in his hole

It sounds a bit far fetched, in that it sounds hard to believe any group of staff would be so desensitised as to tell an amputee to drag himself down ramps and across tarmac.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,070 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

If this was true then the other passengers would have caused uproar, I don't believe a single word of this story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The only time I was ever genuinely frightened on an aeroplane was on a RyanAir flight into an ex Luftwaffe Base 80 miles south of Frankfurt.

There was a storm and the plane was being trashed around on approach, to the extent that the luggage compartments were rattling.

The pilots pulled up on the first two approaches, We were really close to the runway but not stable. The engines would then roar and we would lift off again to circle around.

On the third attempt they came in at speed, hit hard and got the plane grounded. Great work from the pilots to prevent a potential diversion.

It was only later that I learned that Ryanair pilots are under pressure to get aircraft down in dodgy weather. Diversions can impact on pilots pay packets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Minderbinder

The airline should take legal action if any part of the story is not true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

I'm just amazed that people here look at The Star's UK website and then just believe everything that is on it.

Ryanair always gets bashed whilst airlines that ripped people off for decades are seen as fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Who will foot the bill for this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

While if this story is true it's pretty ****ty why is it as soon as someone is flying they think of this:

Flying these days, especially short hop is no more glamorous (or expensive in somecases) than taking a bus - why should RyanAir et al put on airs and graces. Get on the fecking plane, sit down shut up and get off the fecking plane. Preferably without inconveniencing everyone around you because of your fat arse/ugly kids/idiot partner.

Fair enough but asking someone to crawl and then lifting them out on a bloody stretcher ffs

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

I'm starting to think I'm doing something wrong. I've been on 100+ flights (80-90% Ryanair) in the last 10 years and not a single issue comes to mind - apart from some painful hangovers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Did he turn up at the airport without his wheelchair? How come that suddenly went missing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Did he turn up at the airport without his wheelchair? How come that suddenly went missing?

AFAIK you're not allowed to bring your own wheelchair on a plane for security reasons. It goes through screening as luggage and gets put in the cargo hold. That's why you'll often see airport wheelchairs on the jetways as you board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

In before we had to pay 215k each way to fly to London in the 80s and Michael O'Leary should be Taoiseach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭Humour Me

I'm sorry but this whole story sounds like he is trying to make a claim against Ryanair.

Airlines are not responsible for transporting disabled passengers onto planes. Every airport has a passenger assistance operation in place which assists passengers for ALL airlines. Anyone who has traveled through Dublin airport would have seen the OCS transportation and staff who assist.

When you book your flight you are supposed to include details of the types of assistance required. Ryanairs website gives various options based on an individual's needs. The airline then feeds this information to the local passenger assistance who arrange transportation onto the flight based on the individuals needs.

What may have happened here is that there was a miscommunication and his assistance was missed or was running late, but putting the full blame on Ryanair is wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭Humour Me

maudgonner wrote: »
    AFAIK you're not allowed to bring your own wheelchair on a plane for security reasons. It goes through screening as luggage and gets put in the cargo hold. That's why you'll often see airport wheelchairs on the jetways as you board.

No issues with bringing your own wheelchair through security all the way to the boarding gate. Once the plane starts boarding, the person in the wheelchair moves to a aisle chair, which is a narrow wheelchair that can move up the plane aisle. Their own wheelchair is then stowed with the rest of the luggage.

The wheelchairs at the gates are usually used by individuals who would find the distances between the gate and arrivals difficult or tiring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,893 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Story sounds like rubbish, it's the ground crew at the airport not Ryanair at fault .

I broke my leg in Greece some years back and was being flown home by the insurance company. We landed in T1 in Heatrow and were then going from T5 to Dublin. I was taking off the plane in a wheelchair and taken to the gate of T5 then told to get out of the chair , when I said WTF, I was told that a different company had the contract for T5 and he couldn't take me further and he needed the chair back. He literally wanted to leave me sitting in the floor till someone else turned up.

My misses lost the rag and he waited 25 minutes till the next chap turned up with a diffetent chair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

How about we ban the likes of the Star from AH posts? Would cull so much of this tripe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

That disabled guy is trying to pull our legs with that story.

He said he is still getting use to people looking at him, so what do you do? Go on a national paper and look for attention with plenty of photos.

Don't believe the story one bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Humour Me wrote: »
    I'm sorry but this whole story sounds like he is trying to make a claim against Ryanair.

Airlines are not responsible for transporting disabled passengers onto planes. Every airport has a passenger assistance operation in place which assists passengers for ALL airlines. Anyone who has traveled through Dublin airport would have seen the OCS transportation and staff who assist.

When you book your flight you are supposed to include details of the types of assistance required. Ryanairs website gives various options based on an individual's needs. The airline then feeds this information to the local passenger assistance who arrange transportation onto the flight based on the individuals needs.

ah here, don't be letting facts get in the way of a rag paper's clickbait article.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

old_aussie wrote: »
    Ryanair should be stood down from flying

LOL

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Riva10

On the one hand people with disabilities want to be treated as ordinary people and when they are treated as such, they crib and hope they get a freebie. You are damned if you do and damned if you do'nt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Searched his name to see if the story is in other papers. Found a facebook page posting the story, user name "Matthew Parkes Prosthetics Fund"

Has a fund me site

£11,581 of £35k
    Raised by 326 people in 6 months

Makes more sense to me now.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

maudgonner wrote: »
    AFAIK you're not allowed to bring your own wheelchair on a plane for security reasons.
    We've all seen Alien Resurrection so we know how that ends.

No we all haven't! Spoiler alert please :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,002 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

This has "looking for a quick settlement to keep us shtum" written all over it. His story stinks to high heaven and doesn't make a lick of sense.

You say: 'Ryanair WTF'.

I say: 'Ryanair FTW'.