Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why isn't Good Friday a public holiday ?

• 26-03-2016 11:39am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,960 ✭✭✭✭

Having spent a lot of time in the UK I can't understand why Good Friday isn't a holiday here. It would make so much sense to move one of the May holidays to Good Friday to give people a long weekend.

I was told that the reason that it isn't a holiday is because all the civil servants etc get it off anyway. Surely the Church would encourage it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,575 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

It is not a public holiday in Glasgow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Is good friday the only bank holiday that is not a public holiday? So many questions...

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Menas wrote: »
    Is good friday the only bank holiday that is not a public holiday? So many questions...

No. The next working day after St. Stephen's Day is also a bank holiday, but it's not a public holiday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

Discodog wrote: »
    It would make so much sense to move one of the May holidays to Good Friday to give people a long weekend.

You have Monday off so you already have a long weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

Having spent a lot of time in the UK I can't understand why Good Friday isn't a holiday here. It would make so much sense to move one of the May holidays to Good Friday to give people a long weekend.

I was told that the reason that it isn't a holiday is because all the civil servants etc get it off anyway. Surely the Church would encourage it.

We only have 1 public holiday in May. It's the UK that have two. I'd much prefer three three day weekends anyway than a one four day and one three day weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

In Northern Ireland we get 2 days off during the 12th July week.And most trades take the whole week off. What days do youse get off that we don't?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 RebekahD

Its a confusing day ! The postman works, shops are open yet the doctor's which are important are closed !
    Love to know who makes the rules on these things !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Some post runs on Good Friday.
    I think the legal profession take Easter Tuesday off. Don't know the historical origins of that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

No post on Good Friday round our parts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Here in Australia it's a four day long weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭shamrock2004

I agree, it's a piss take. The banks are closed, the pubs are closed. Some people get double pay for gods sake. Yet in my job it's a regular working day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Raging_Ninja

It''s a public holiday in the bastion of secular socialism Denmark. Also on the Thursday before and on the Monday after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

We do a five day break in my workplace, closed GF, Easter Monday and Tuesday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

timthumbni wrote: »
    In Northern Ireland we get 2 days off during the 12th July week.And most trades take the whole week off. What days do youse get off that we don't?

You guys over there have twelve weeks in July:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Cheap b*stards I'm thinking? (don't want to loose money due to lost economic activity?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

The banks were closed on Good Friday but its not a bank holiday im confused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,579 ✭✭✭✭Victor

mikeym wrote: »
    The banks were closed on Good Friday but its not a bank holiday im confused.

Bank holidays are days that banks are closed.

They are not the same thing as public holidays, which are the days that people are entitled to have off / get paid more if working.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

Victor wrote: »
    Bank holidays are days that banks are closed.

They are not the same thing as public holidays, which are the days that people are entitled to have off / get paid more if working.

Bank Holidays and Public Holidays are the same thing, Good Friday is neither.

MadDog76 wrote: »
    Bank Holidays and Public Holidays are the same thing, Good Friday is neither.

Bank holidays and public holidays are not the same thing, the general public merely use the terms interchangeably. Good Friday is a bank holiday, however Easter Monday is a public holiday in addition to being a bank holiday. Banks close for both days.

Zaph wrote: »
    Bank holidays and public holidays are not the same thing, the general public merely use the terms interchangeably. Good Friday is a bank holiday, however Easter Monday is a public holiday in addition to being a bank holiday. Banks close for both days.

You're wrong Zaph.

"There are 9 public holidays in Ireland each year. Public holidays may commemorate a special day or other event, for example, St Patrick's Day (17 March) or Christmas Day (25 December). On a public holiday, sometimes called a bank holiday, most businesses and schools close. Other services, for example, public transport still operate but often with restricted schedules. The list of public holidays each year is as follows:

New Year's Day (1 January)
    St. Patrick's Day (17 March)
    Easter Monday
    First Monday in May, June, August
    Last Monday in October
    Christmas Day (25 December)
    St. Stephen's Day (26 December)
    Good Friday is not a public holiday. While some schools and businesses close on that day, you have no automatic entitlement to time off work on that day."

Public Holidays are Bank Holidays, they are one and the same.

You're wrong Zaph.

"There are 9 public holidays in Ireland each year. Public holidays may commemorate a special day or other event, for example, St Patrick's Day (17 March) or Christmas Day (25 December). On a public holiday, sometimes called a bank holiday, most businesses and schools close. Other services, for example, public transport still operate but often with restricted schedules. The list of public holidays each year is as follows:

Easter Monday
    Last Monday in October
    Good Friday is not a public holiday. While some schools and businesses close on that day, you have no automatic entitlement to time off work on that day."

Public Holidays are Bank Holidays, they are one and the same.

No they are not the same!
    Good friday is a bank holiay for example. Not a public holiday. So how can they be the same?

Wrong Zaph.

Easter Monday
    Last Monday in October

The European cross border payment system (TARGET) closes on Good Friday, consequently it is a bank holiday. So while other businesses have no automatic entitlement to time off on that day, bank staff do. It is not a public holiday, as you correctly indicated above.

No they are not the same!
    Good friday is a bank holiay for example. Not a public holiday. So how can they be the same?

Good Friday is a National Observance (Religious) Day, Bank Holidays are no longer officially called Bank Holidays (as it was confusing to some people), they are now called Public Holidays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

The European cross border payment system (TARGET) closes on Good Friday, consequently it is a bank holiday. So while other businesses have no automatic entitlement to time off on that day, bank staff do. It is not a public holiday, as you correctly indicated above.

I agree with the Bank Holiday piece but Target is also closed on May 1, which isn't a BH in Ireland and Banks are open

Bank Holidays are no longer officially called Bank Holidays (as it was confusing to some people), they are now called Public Holidays.

Yes, that is to distinguish them from the bank holidays, i.e. those dates that are holidays for bank staff but not necessarily the general public. There are two, Good Friday and the first working day after St. Stephen's Day.

The term "bank holiday" is no longer accepted in any official capacity here in Ireland, ie. we don't have any "bank holidays" at all, we have Public Holidays.

The use of the term "bank holiday" is a slang-word, if you will, for Public Holiday ....... some people seem to believe that if the banks close then it's a "bank holiday" which is ridiculous, obviously.

Yes, that is to distinguish them from the bank holidays, i.e. those dates that are holidays for bank staff but not necessarily the general public. There are two, Good Friday and the first working day after St. Stephen's Day.

Good Friday is totally different, and separate, to St. Stephen's Day and thus treated completely differently.

mansize wrote: »
    I agree with the Bank Holiday piece but Target is also closed on May 1, which isn't a BH in Ireland and Banks are open

May 1st does confuse things somewhat, but the the May public holiday on the first Monday of the month here means that May Day isn't observed as a holiday unless it happens to be a Monday. It is a public holiday in many European countries however, although if it falls at the weekend there isn't a TARGET holiday on the next working day to make up for it.
    The term "bank holiday" is no longer accepted in any official capacity here in Ireland, ie. we don't have any "bank holidays" at all, we have Public Holidays.

The use of the term "bank holiday" is a slang-word, if you will, for Public Holiday ....... some people seem to believe that if the banks close then it's a "bank holiday" which is ridiculous, obviously.

I agree, bank holiday was the catch-all phrase to cover holidays of any sort and it did cause confusion. However you're completely missing the point that there are two days a year that are holidays for bank staff and not necessarily for everyone else, so these are, by definition, bank holidays and not public holidays.
    Good Friday is totally different, and separate, to St. Stephen's Day and thus treated completely differently.

I'm not talking about St. Stephen's Day. The day after St. Stephen's Day is a bank holiday.

I agree, bank holiday was the catch-all phrase to cover holidays of any sort and it did cause confusion. However you're completely missing the point that there are two days a year that are holidays for bank staff and not necessarily for everyone else, so these are, by definition, bank holidays and not public holidays.

I'm not talking about St. Stephen's Day. The day after St. Stephen's Day is a bank holiday.

I'm sorry Zaph but you're wrong.

St. Stephen's Day is a Public Holiday, if it falls on a weekend, you do not have any automatic legal entitlement to have the next working day off work. Your employer can require you to attend work on those days.
    However, when this happens you are entitled to a paid day off within a month of the public holiday or an additional day of annual leave or an additional day's pay.

Good Friday is just an Observance Day.

But the point is that Bank holidays and public holidays are different.
    You believe they are the same.
    If they are the same then why are banks closed on good friday - but it is not a public holiday?

But the point is that Bank holidays and public holidays are different.
    You believe they are the same.
    If they are the same then why are banks closed on good friday - but it is not a public holiday?

I don't believe they are the same ......... Public Holidays are Public Holidays and "bank holidays" do not exist, despite the fact that some people mistakenly still use that expression.

Good Friday is a Holy Day of Obligation within the Catholic Church ........... it's not a "bank holiday" just because banks close on that day.
    By that logic, every Sunday is a "bank holiday" so ........... or, by the same logic, we could call Good Friday an "Off-Licence Holiday", a "GP Holiday", a "My Local Corner Shop Holiday" etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭RealJohn

Surely the Church would encourage it.
    You must have missed the memo - anything the Church encourages is automatically bad. Unless the anti-religious want to do it.

I'm sorry Zaph but you're wrong.

St. Stephen's Day is a Public Holiday, if it falls on a weekend, you do not have any automatic legal entitlement to have the next working day off work. Your employer can require you to attend work on those days.
    However, when this happens you are entitled to a paid day off within a month of the public holiday or an additional day of annual leave or an additional day's pay.

One of us is wrong, but given that I have worked in a bank and have many friends who currently work in various banks around Dublin, I'm not liking your odds.

How it breaks down is as follows:

Good Friday - Bank Holiday. Bank staff do not work this day, however other businesses will decide themselves whether they will stay open or close. If you work on this day you are not entitled to extra pay or a time off in lieu.

Easter Monday - Public holiday. Everyone, including bank staff, are entitled to the day off. Should you have to work you are entitled to extra pay and/or time off in lieu.

Christmas Day & St. Stephen's Day - Public holiday. Everyone, including bank staff, are entitled to the day off. Should you have to work you are entitled to extra pay and/or time off in lieu. If either or both fall on a weekend the next working day is taken in lieu.

Next working day after St. Stephen's Day (or day observed as the St. Stephen's Day public holiday if 26th is on a weekend) - Bank Holiday. Bank staff do not work this day, however other businesses will decide themselves whether they will stay open or close. If you work on this day you are not entitled to extra pay or a time off in lieu.

I trust that this clears things up.

One of us is wrong, but given that I have worked in a bank and have many friends who currently work in various banks around Dublin, I'm not liking your odds.

How it breaks down is as follows:

Good Friday - Bank Holiday. Bank staff do not work this day, however other businesses will decide themselves whether they will stay open or close. If you work on this day you are not entitled to extra pay or a time off in lieu.

Easter Monday - Public holiday. Everyone, including bank staff, are entitled to the day off. Should you have to work you are entitled to extra pay and/or time off in lieu.

Christmas Day & St. Stephen's Day - Public holiday. Everyone, including bank staff, are entitled to the day off. Should you have to work you are entitled to extra pay and/or time off in lieu. If either or both fall on a weekend the next working day is taken in lieu.

Next working day after St. Stephen's Day (or day observed as the St. Stephen's Day public holiday if 26th is on a weekend) - Bank Holiday. Bank staff do not work this day, however other businesses will decide themselves whether they will stay open or close. If you work on this day you are not entitled to extra pay or a time off in lieu.

I trust that this clears things up.

I think the problem is you are still holding onto the term "bank holiday", which no longer exists in any official capacity .......... lots of people, particularly the older generation, do still use this slang-term but it's no more valid than a Tesco employee using the term "Tesco Holiday" to describe their day off.

So what would you call a holiday where the only people who are actually entitled to the day off are bank staff?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,089 ✭✭✭Lavinia

I'd like if Good Friday is day off, if proposed I'd vote yes :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

cheeses lads yis have mind boggled with all them days....

So what would you call a holiday where the only people who are actually entitled to the day off are bank staff?

"Post Office Holiday", obviously. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

You guys over there have twelve weeks in July:confused:

No ya flaming galaaaahhhh. We get 2 days off over the 12th July week. I'm wondering now if the republic gets a couple of days another time. Or if we just get more holidays. Strewthhhhhh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Is this true?

I thought bank holiday was just a slang term now. I believe in the past it was in law. But I thought now a bank could open on good friday if they wished.

You mention some system closing down, but I expect banks could still open if they wished, just like many pubs were open on good friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

I find the day annoying. Business's seem to arbitrarily work or not from estate agents to gyms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭cleanslate

Zaph is correct and he is talking about 27th December which is a Bank Holiday but not a Public Holiday. Who can we petition to make Good Friday a Public Holiday??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

RebekahD wrote: »
    Its a confusing day ! The postman works, shops are open yet the doctor's which are important are closed !

Not in our office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,411 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

It's not? I better call work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,864 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Good Friday is cited in dictionaries as being in the language from around 1300. Bank Holiday is from around 1875. Holiday itself is derived from Holy Day. So we will call Good Friday a Bank Holy Day.

I think we should all switch to a Teacher's Holidays model.

The majority of people have it off anyway, I've always had good Friday off and know very few people who don't have it off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

RebekahD wrote: »

pic_b0c9a61362ab19e769ce9bf66d92bee0.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

The majority of people have it off anyway, I've always had good Friday off and know very few people who don't have it off.

That's that then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,050 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

cleanslate wrote: »
    Zaph is correct and he is talking about 27th December which is a Bank Holiday but not a Public Holiday. Who can we petition to make Good Friday a Public Holiday??

Glad it took you only two years to reach that conclusion

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

So here's me in 'holy catholic Ireland' working away, while my godless Sassanach colleagues across the water get the day off.