Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good Friday - Acquiring alcohol

• 25-03-2016 12:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,421 ✭✭✭✭

How does one go about the acquisition of alcohol today legally? Open to unlawful suggestions. I feel the catholic church has forced me to engage in sin if needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Buy an intercity rail ticket and go to Connolly or Heuston station and they will serve you no problem. So long as it's a 40km trip or more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

How does one go about the acquisition of alcohol today legally? Open to unlawful suggestions. I feel the catholic church has forced me to engage in sin if needed.

Sure you haven't been at it already?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Book into a hotel for tonight. Hotel residents can be served alcohol. But you must be booked in overnight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Bars in Aviva or dog tracks are open. Or just not drink for a day. Might not kill you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Should've stocked up last night, it's not like you didn't know Ireland was unsympathetic on Good Friday to those who like to imbibe :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

In before the "You should have stocked up".

I for one enjoy using loopholes to obtain alcohol today. Though I did stock up, just in case.
    Collie D wrote:
    Or just not drink for a day. Might not kill you

Theres always one sanctimonious poster who feels the need to point this out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Pubs around the Aviva are open for a couple of hours in the evening

Just those in the stadium itself surely?

I'll sell you a bottle of Disarono.

The bottle is pretty though so I'll be good and offer you some cash back if you return your empties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,830 ✭✭✭Cookie_Dough

syklops wrote: »

I for one enjoy using loopholes to obtain alcohol today. Though I did stock up, just in case.

Not quite! poster above got in first!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Mesrine65 wrote: »
    Should've stocked up last night, it's not like you didn't know Ireland was unsympathetic on Good Friday to those who like to imbibe :rolleyes:

:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Come to the wild west coast. Plenty of poitín stills around if you know where to look ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I remember one year, my brother forgot to 'stock up' on Holy Thursday. He just rang a local pub and the landlord sorted him out with a crate of lager. Another year, he was working in a closed pub (painting or varnishing, I think) on Good Friday. I have never seen anyone so drunk in my entire life.

What's wrong? Lack of booze upsetting you? Hardly being sanctimonious considering I actually answered the question

It's the idea of going on a mission to buy train tickets etc. when the other 51 Fridays of the year these people probably don't set foot in a pub that I find silly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Collie D wrote: »
    Just those in the stadium itself surely?

Yes. Just those in the stadium Father ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

You can get a sip at mass.

Yes. Just those in the stadium Father ;)

Interesting. Heading along tonight. Thought I'd be stuck with Carlsberg or Guinness in plastic glass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,360 ✭✭✭stampydmonkey

Have a 750ml bottle of leffe....a handy €25 should prise it from my grasp if ur that pushed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Lads, I have a few bottles of 'communion grade' red for sale.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 828 ✭✭✭wokingvoter

Ruu wrote: »
    You can get a sip at mass.

No mass today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Good Friday is the perfect time to sit down next to your bathtub with a cocktail of cleaning agents and see what beverage comes out. Could be in for a fun night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

I like to think with a pint. I've written novels sitting at a bar with a pint of stout, and pencil and notepad. It's not so much the booze, although the mind lubricating effect of one or two beers certainly helps. It's the atmosphere of the pub. Especially a pub at this hour of the day, when it's mostly empty and the barman/barwoman will occasionally hustle up to you to ask how you're getting on. As well as the act of being perched up next to the bar counter, with a tall seat forcing you to be right on top of your notepad. The acceptance in a pub for shying away from people, and not being cheery and social is a big plus. You're allowed to contemplate the deep things in life, even if you're the shallowest thinker imaginable. Instead a café seem to require some amount of sociability, and looking like you have it together during your chatty chat with your bestie about the latest ska. No plumbing the depths of the unthinkable in a café.

I've been learning to program. I've had many failed attempts, but get further with each stab at it. I've actually implemented something this time, and now I need to draw up a design document to give me some idea of where to go with it and what to do to make the game fun. I'd like nothing more than a quiet bar, where I could sit with my notebook and plan out the game. But today is not the day for that. Even if I could only have a coffee in the pub, the dark, worn wood surroundings are what I need.

I'll have to find a café somewhere, with a comfortable seat for hustling up close to the table.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

What's wrong? Lack of booze upsetting you?

As I said, theres always one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

Drink hand sanitiser from the hospitals. Their already at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,734 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Go to communion twice per church in 5 or 6 different churches - get wine each time.

Beat the Lord at his own game.

EDIT:
    No mass today

Shows how little I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Should've organised a rugby game down in Limerick. Always next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭stoplooklisten

Mark it in your calendar for next year. It's an annual event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭pheasant tail

BattleCorp wrote: »
    Book into a hotel for tonight. Hotel residents can be served alcohol. But you must be booked in overnight.

I'm in a hotel here in westport having lunch and you can drink away as long as you bought food

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

What sort of hotels do you go to that have other type of bookings?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭bpmurray

Newry has a big Sainsbury's that sells adult beverages. If you go up that way, you can probably buy fireworks too - set them off when you're sh*tfaced at 3AM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

osarusan wrote: »
    Go to communion twice per church in 5 or 6 different churches - get wine each time.

Beat the Lord at his own game.

EDIT:

Shows how little I know.

No, you're grand. There's no mass but there are church ceremonies that include communion. I presume wine will be served.

#IHadToGoogleIt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

What's wrong? Lack of booze upsetting you? Hardly being sanctimonious considering I actually answered the question

It's the idea of going on a mission to buy train tickets etc. when the other 51 Fridays of the year these people probably don't set foot in a pub that I find silly

For me, it's the idea of having the option to choose if you go to the pub or not on 51 Fridays of the year taken away from you on one Friday of the year for stupid outdated religious laws, that I find silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

If anyone is going to the game in The Aviva and the likes of Slatterys happen to be open for a few hours let me know, wouldn't mind popping in for a pint there!

Are all the bars in The Aviva open? Or just the Premium Level bar?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭boardsuser1

It's good Friday for me 365 days a year ☺

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,565 ✭✭✭A2LUE42

That_Guy wrote: »
    Should've organised a rugby game down in Limerick. Always next year.

There is one and stadium bar is open

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭bpmurray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭NiallBoo

maudgonner wrote: »
    No, you're grand. There's no mass but there are church ceremonies that include communion. I presume wine will be served.

I think you'll find that yer man in the penguin suit transtantiates it into the actual claret of the holy young-'un.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭readytosnap

Same story every year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Many GAA or rugby clubs will serve alcohol today.

Presume the airports will too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭Jamaican Me Crazy

Only with a substantial meal. You can't be ordering a cheese sandwich and 4 pints of Guinness ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,168 ✭✭✭SeanW

Go North. That's what I'm doing in a few hours. Not because I need drink (have loads already) but just because it's Good Friday banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭NiallBoo

Only with a substantial meal. You can't be ordering a cheese sandwich and 4 pints of Guinness ;)

That's actually the rule for restaurant licenses all the time, it's just never enforced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭solerina

Give me strength, it's one day in the year. Why do people go on so much about it. Bet you most of the moaners won't be near a pub next Friday or most of the Friday's this year. Get over it and stop whining !!

KC161 wrote: »
    It's good Friday for me 365 days a year ☺

Do you go full on hardcore "Passion of the Christ"? though?

solerina wrote: »
    Give me strength, it's one day in the year. Why do people go on so much about it. Bet you most of the moaners won't be near a pub next Friday or most of the Friday's this year. Get over it and stop whining !!

Get off the cross

-always wanted to say that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Casino. Nuff said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭HiGlo

The canal boat restaurant thing in Dublin is serving drink today...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭French_Girl

Yes. It's called La Peniche.
    Happy sailing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

...I was delighted to discover that the pubs and all the shops etc were business as usual. Unlike Ireland at the time when all big shops cinemas pubs nightclubs etc were closed on Good Friday, just to make everyone sad and miserable.

I was delighted to quaff as many pints as I could get and the locals couldn't believe the prohibition of drink on good friday in Ireland.

People love the forbidden fruit and hate having restrictions imposed on them.

I cannot see the rule being changed in Ireland because the pub trade do not seem to be over exerting themselves to get it reformed and not enough of the public care enough about it to bother, its easier to stock up on Holy Thursday or do without on the Day for most people.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

Lyaiera wrote: »
    I like to think with a pint. I've written novels sitting at a bar with a pint of stout, and pencil and notepad. It's not so much the booze, although the mind lubricating effect of one or two beers certainly helps. It's the atmosphere of the pub. Especially a pub at this hour of the day, when it's mostly empty and the barman/barwoman will occasionally hustle up to you to ask how you're getting on. As well as the act of being perched up next to the bar counter, with a tall seat forcing you to be right on top of your notepad. The acceptance in a pub for shying away from people, and not being cheery and social is a big plus. You're allowed to contemplate the deep things in life, even if you're the shallowest thinker imaginable. Instead a café seem to require some amount of sociability, and looking like you have it together during your chatty chat with your bestie about the latest ska. No plumbing the depths of the unthinkable in a café.

I've been learning to program. I've had many failed attempts, but get further with each stab at it. I've actually implemented something this time, and now I need to draw up a design document to give me some idea of where to go with it and what to do to make the game fun. I'd like nothing more than a quiet bar, where I could sit with my notebook and plan out the game. But today is not the day for that. Even if I could only have a coffee in the pub, the dark, worn wood surroundings are what I need.

I'll have to find a café somewhere, with a comfortable seat for hustling up close to the table.

Go to a pub that serves food and just sit at the bar and order a coke, be left to your thoughts.