Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cyclist down

• 23-03-2016 12:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭

Cyclist under the front of a left turning artic... At the grand canal bridge on ranelagh Road. On the ground with people attending, sirens Inc... Hope okay...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭Fian

Hope will be ok.

If I were not an atheist I would say a prayer.

Could be any one of us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭honreal

Brave person taking on an artic on a left hand turn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Plasid

True, I always assume they are turning regardless of signal or not, road position or not, relative speed, lights, filter etc... Did look as if he was in front when hit but may have been dragged... Increase in such traffic at this spot due to the construction at Charlemont St. Be careful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭Fian

honreal wrote: »

May not have known it was going to turn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,041 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Was at the scene. Not as simple as going up the left of the truck but don't wish to go into the details here. Thoughts are with her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭TOEJOE

HOPE the poor girl is ok . Cycling in Dublin is so dangerous as a person who has cycled in the city for over 40 years. Please slow down and take care and don't take chances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

honreal wrote:

As I said on the thread I posted a number of weeks ago, there's not enough publicity about the dangers of cyclists, trucks and left turns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 786 ✭✭✭TheNap

As I said on the thread I posted a number of weeks ago, there's not enough publicity about the dangers of cyclists, trucks and left turns.

A novice cyclist might feel they have no choice but to keep going if there are other cyclists behind them.

I know when i 1st start commuting to work i would not like stopping in traffic if i was holding other cyclists up. Now i will if i dont think its safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,223 ✭✭✭Michael D Not Higgins

I used to drive that way and take that left onto the canal road. It was an area I was always wary of cyclists and would yield for them but most of the time they would wait for me to turn before proceeding. Horrible to hear of someone hurt there.

Edit: in fact I remember commenting on this particular junction before with regard to cyclists. There's clearly a problem with the junction that needs to be looked at. Perhaps changing the layout to put a left turn lane and cycle lane between the two?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,313 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Only this morning I had to stop at lights behind a truck. There was another truck behind me. As a cyclist it's very intimidating to be in that situation and I can understand why an inexperienced cyclist might feel the urge to squeeze past a truck to get to the front of the queue of traffic. So if anyone reading this is new to cycling/commuting...DONT DO IT!

Hopefully the cyclist is OK and makes a speedy recovery.

Thoughts are also with the truck driver. He was very traumatised at the scene.
    .... in fact I remember commenting on this particular junction before with regard to cyclists. There's clearly a problem with the junction that needs to be looked at. Perhaps changing the layout to put a left turn lane and cycle lane between the two?
    Just to put this to bed - in this case, the cyclist was not travelling in the same direction as the truck driver immediately prior to arriving at the junction. She was travelling westbound, he was travelling southbound.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

TheNap wrote: »
    A novice cyclist might feel they have no choice but to keep going if there are other cyclists behind them.

I know when i 1st start commuting to work i would not like stopping in traffic if i was holding other cyclists up. Now i will if i dont think its safe.

Look at any H&S video. H&S starts with you and you alone. You are responsible for your own safety and that should factor into everything you do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Zyzz

Hope you're ok too Wishbone, I know the impact it can have seeing these incidents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Hopefully, she's well on her way to being mended!

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/cyclist-rushed-to-hospital-after-being-hit-by-truck-34566590.html
    It is understood that the cyclist's injuries are not considered life-threatening and that the cyclist was conscious when emergency services arrived on scene.

From the photo, it looks like a narrow escape.

Zyzz wrote: »
    Hope your ok too Wishbone, I know the impact it can have seeing these incidents.
    Yes, I'm fine thanks.

It puts things into perspective - prior to that my worries were about trying to retrieve a passport needed at the weekend but which is stuck in the back-log in the passport office. Seems very trivial now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭dragratchet

phew, was just walking past the scene and thought the worst..glad to read here that its not quite as serious as i originally feared

• Closed Accounts Posts: 786 ✭✭✭TheNap

godtabh wrote: »
    Look at any H&S video. H&S starts with you and you alone. You are responsible for your own safety and that should factor into everything you do

I agree . But it can be a split second decision someone makes in that moment . Thankfully she is ok .

It really makes you think about safetly though . How many cyclists are doing so subconciously while thinking about things other than the road in front of them . Drivers too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,159 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Thank the Gods she wasn't killed, wishing her a speedy recovery!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Jawgap wrote: »
    Hopefully, she's well on her way to being mended!

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/cyclist-rushed-to-hospital-after-being-hit-by-truck-34566590.html

From the photo, it looks like a narrow escape.

Looks like the truck was within the axle ban area? Then again, it's not like I can see if he has a permit or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,284 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

I wondered why the place was up in a heap. A motorbike garda at Leeson St. directed me and another guy to use the canal track. Not a fan of that track, the few times I've used it I've nearly been t-boned crossing at junctions (including today!), and it just sort of ends and Portobello.

Noticed the truck and the cordon tape, but I didn't know what was going on. I hope the woman makes a good recovery.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Looks like the truck was within the axle ban area? Then again, it's not like I can see if he has a permit or not.
    The 5 axle ban is a transit ban, i.e. it only applies to trucks which are not loading/unloading within the ban area. This truck was involved with construction within the 5 axle ban area so it doesn't apply.

Yeah, I figured that was a possibility.

Green&Red wrote: »
    Glad to here she's ok but this line makes no sense, if she was headed westbound she was on the wrong side?
    PM sent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭Rakish Paddy

Green&Red wrote: »
    Glad to here she's ok but this line makes no sense, if she was headed westbound she was on the wrong side?

I was wondering the same, and one of them must have run a red light?

Either way, I'm glad to hear she is expected to be OK - the aftermath looks really nasty. As a new cycle commuter with a partner who commutes by bike too, that kind of accident is seriously scary to think about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭xebec

I was wondering the same, and one of them must have run a red light?

Was wondering that too, it's a junction I use a lot coming from all directions so confused by how she ended up there unless she came from the bike path onto the southbound lane and the driver wasn't expecting her... It's not a great junction anyway as both southbound lanes can be used for straight ahead which means you get drivers racing to get ahead for when it becomes a single lane <100m down the road.

Anyway, hopefully a speedy recovery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,223 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Fian wrote: »
    Could be any one of us.
    Not me. I'm in Manchester today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,124 ✭✭✭daragh_

Glad the cyclist will be ok and thanks for the updates WA.

Might be best for all concerned to avoid speculation around the circumstances? I'm sure a Mod will be along in a minute to say the same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Hrududu

Use that junction every day, glad to hear that her injuries aren't life threatening, hope its not too much of a recovery period.

Just looking at the picture gives me the heebejeebies.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Was at the scene. Not as simple as going up the left of the truck but don't wish to go into the details here. Thoughts are with her.

They mentioned on the radio that the guards were looking for witnesses to this accident, should get in touch if you think you could help.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,287 ✭✭✭Chiparus

Does anyone know if the left feeder arrow heading north i.e. from the bridge turning left onto grand canal parade operate before the straight on arrow?

A few years ago I was involved in a guy who was killed in a similar situation.
    He cycled up to the junction wanting to go straight,there was a red light so he stopped. A few seconds later a truck stopped beside him wanting to turn left.
    The feeder arrow to turn left turned green and the truck turned and took out the unfortunate cyclist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

daragh_ wrote: »
    Glad the cyclist will be ok and thanks for the updates WA.

Might be best for all concerned to avoid speculation around the circumstances? I'm sure a Mod will be along in a minute to say the same thing.

Agreed.

And for legal reasons it is the right thing to do.

It is a pity though that there is no database, post accidents, be they car, cyclist, farming, industrial etc that one can access to get the facts. Some cases are printed in the media post inquest but there are so many that are not.

Really they should be, just to educate people. I can't help but think there is an unwritten policy in play, in this country, akin to playing down suicide.

Hope the lady get s well soon and sorry to read you had to see that stuff WA :/

Isn't there already a ghost bike at that bridge?

Regarding the above query as to a centralised location of facts regarding accidents, I thought the RSA or similar did had a map with details of such accidents?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,853 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

Emmet Bridge, south end.
    Regarding the above query as to a centralised location of facts regarding accidents, I thought the RSA or similar did had a map with details of such accidents?
    Not the RSA. One of the online papers doing something like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,223 ✭✭✭Michael D Not Higgins

Yep, seen in this photo from the story above.

cyc1.PNG

Isn't there already a ghost bike at that bridge?...
    Yes, it caught my attention at the scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,853 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

Fair enough! One at Emmet Bridge too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭radia

My recollection (which could be faulty) is that the Ranelagh ghost bike was just put there because that part of the canal was a favourite spot of someone who died and their friends/relatives thought it would be a nice touch - not really appreciating the significance of ghost bikes - which provoked a bit of controversy at the time.

Edit: Found it: Ghost bike @ Ranelagh bridge
    It's for Louise Butler who died in Blackrock.
    https://twitter.com/AbiePB/status/422340643802083328

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭groovyg

That ghost bike at Ranelagh bridge was erected in memory of the cyclist who died in blackrock a few years ago. There was a thread on it http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057124680&page=2

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Hope the cyclist is ok and recovers well. My thoughts and prayers and with her and also with the driver of the HGV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,235 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Every HGV I've ever seen has a sign on the back warning cyclists not to pass on the inside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,903 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Yes and it was discussed before that it was put there in memory of a girl killed in blackrock, her friends didn't quite get the concept

Dial Hard wrote: »
    Every HGV I've ever seen has a sign on the back warning cyclists not to pass on the inside.

But that does not prevent trucks approaching cyclists and pulling up along side them. Hence why many cyclists pull into the middle of the lane if they are st lights

I remember the discussion now as to the point of the bike at that bridge.

That route, the canal from east to west, was my regular commute for a few years, so pretty familiar with each junction at this stage. Was probably the most relaxed part of the cycle but I never dealt with crossing over the canal itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

Dial Hard wrote: »
    ted1 wrote: »
    But that does not prevent trucks approaching cyclists and pulling up along side them. Hence why many cyclists pull into the middle of the lane if they are st lights

Possibly the cyclist, amber gambled, going in front of the lorry, and lost.

Possibly not.

I saw that happen once in parkwest industrial estate.

Cyclist went through an amber, but by the time he was halfway through the junction, he was in front of a high Cab lorry, with a green light.

He was blessed and saved by the amount of people who hit their horns and startled the lorry driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,159 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

There's an awful lot of speculation as to what caused this incident, maybe some of you were witnesses?
    Anyone with information is asked to contact Donnybrook Garda Station 01-6669200 or the Garda Confidential Line 1800 666 111.

I've seen people, walking, driving and cycling, underestimating the width an artic has to swing out when taking a 90 degree turn on a few occasions.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Agreed.

And for legal reasons it is the right thing to do.

It is a pity though that there is no database, post accidents, be they car, cyclist, farming, industrial etc that one can access to get the facts. Some cases are printed in the media post inquest but there are so many that are not.

/

There is a database of reported accidents, their cause and outcome. I see it referenced in reports I work on. Will check the source later

godtabh wrote: »
    There is a database of reported accidents, their cause and outcome. I see it referenced in reports I work on. Will check the source later

Irishcycle did a report on last years accidents

ted1 wrote: »
    Irishcycle did a report on last years accidents

Is that just involving cyclists? This one covers all road accidents