Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Young couples living in parents "sheds"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭stoplooklisten

Good idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,899 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Tbh it's a non storey being dramatised by the paper , for years people have been living in mobile homes at the end of gardens. Those yokes cost about 30k and don't have a resale value . If your forking out 30k it's not to save for s deposit

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,346 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Been going on for years. Planning enforcement here in Dublin deal with a lot of these cases as they are reported to them very often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Googled some of those sheds.

Now have serious want for one to use as a Man Den.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,290 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

And the problem is????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

A hyped up load of nonsense, like all the Gardai that apparently sleep in their cars cos they can't afford petrol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

People living in dwellings shocker.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

I have one in my back garden. It's used as a man cave. I have a bar, home brewery, full sound system, guitar wall, xbox one, 52" TV, and a sofa bed. If my missus would let me sleep in it, I would!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

I was at a house viewing a couple of weeks ago. Saw a lovely man cave. Only thing missing was a bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭Deer

My parents are converting their concrete shed into a mini bungalow rather like a granny flat for a family member. They had to get planning for it. Also going to cost about 60k. Will be interesting to see how it works out. I think its madness. Family member they are building for will cover the cost but I think the electricity will have to be run from the main house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

antodeco wrote: »
    I have one in my back garden. It's used as a man cave. I have a bar, home brewery, full sound system, guitar wall, xbox one, 52" TV, and a sofa bed. If my missus would let me sleep in it, I would!

I hate you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Deer wrote: »
    My parents are converting their concrete shed into a mini bungalow rather like a granny flat for a family member. They had to get planning for it. Also going to cost about 60k. Will be interesting to see how it works out. I think its madness. Family member they are building for will cover the cost but I think the electricity will have to be run from the main house.

60K - now that is a shed an a half!
    I'd love a man cave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Butters1979

antodeco wrote: »

I love you. This is now my new aspiration in life.

Deer wrote: »

It has to be connected to the main dwelling in order for it to be habitable. Otherwise it's just a garden shed ancillary to the main dwelling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭athtrasna

Please do not post unlicensed stock images. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

They're more often than not an extra room, giving the person a decent bedroom, a small kitchen, and a sitting room.

Great for those that are in the box room. Also, they are becoming popular to rent if there is a laneway giving the tenant alternative access, but some such places don't have plumbing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

I have one as well down the back , converted the old garage for it, cost around 20k. It's pretty much a guest house/Man cave...I have a bar , TV , PS4 , corner couch , sound system , bathroom , kitchen , bedroom...but I'm going to convert the bedroom or part of it into a gym I think..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

They're more often than not an extra room, giving the person a decent bedroom, a small kitchen, and a sitting room.

Great for those that are in the box room. Also, they are becoming popular to rent if there is a laneway giving the tenant alternative access, but some such places don't have plumbing.

are ones with laneway access getting permission?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭Wyldwood

What happens if the main house has to be sold, is the couple then turfed out on their ear as they have no access to 'shed'?

Wyldwood wrote: »
    What happens if the main house has to be sold, is the couple then turfed out on their ear as they have no access to 'shed'?

Obviously they would have to leave, though its not a situation that would evern happen I would imagine as for one its not a long term thing for them to live in the "shed" and secondly I doubt anyone would be going down that route of putting a "shed" in the garden if there was issues with the mortgage on the main house.

Its no different really to the common practice of living in a mobile home on your parents land while building your own house which is common in rural areas so that couples can move in togeather after getting married and build their house but avoid having to pay loads of rent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Idbatterim wrote: »
    Not sure, but they appear on Daft from time to time.

Wyldwood wrote: »

They are domestic sheds. They remain part of the main dwelling and transfer of ownership occurs at sake time. Same for granny flat extensions.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

tbh i'll probably be putting my mam into one of these in a few years :pac:

Idbatterim wrote: »

No. It has to be physically connected to the main dwellings and a permanent access link between then remaining in place at all times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭paulocon2

I have been thinking about something like this for some time now as a games room (pool table, tv etc.) for the teenage childer and of course myself!

Loads of companies offering cabins so very hard to choose. Out in the sticks in quite an exposed area so I'd have concerns about how well these cabins would hold up over time.

And so I imagine nobody reads the story

"The consumer is looking for a temporary solution, designed to get their children or families in a position to afford a down payment on a full-sized home," said Ecohouse director Terry Hutt.

kceire wrote: »
    No. It has to be physically connected to the main dwellings and a permanent access link between then remaining in place at all times.

I reckon most are just not getting permission or getting permission for something that doesn't have a bedroom but putting in one anyway.

I can see in Dublin this may be a problem as people are not very neighbourly and report things awful fast but in other parts of the country its much easier particularly rural areas. You could more or less do what you want in my home area be it building sheds, extensions etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭hytrogen

Surprised it's been spun so negatively. This is an opportunity for those of us with property to expand upon and earn a small cash income and more security.
    With the growing pressures of being more efficient with land use I'm surprised councils are not being more encouraging of these creative developments, and yes MAN CAVES all round lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭froggie76

When we decided to buy, we bought a mobile home for €500(which was less than our rent at the time) put it in the parents garden, saved like mad and worked all hours for about 8 months and got the deposit together for a house. When we moved out the younger brother took it over as a "man cave"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭cassid

Am outnumbered in my house by males ,currently 9/1 , I think I need a female cave

I reckon most are just not getting permission or getting permission for something that doesn't have a bedroom but putting in one anyway.

I can see in Dublin this may be a problem as people are not very neighbourly and report things awful fast but in other parts of the country its much easier particularly rural areas. You could more or less do what you want in my home area be it building sheds, extensions etc.

Believe it or not it would be the more "posh" areas that report each other. The likes of Finglas, coolock etc would have lower complaints about these types of uses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

If they're below a certain size and height then they're exempt from requiring planning permission, so there's nothing to report in a lot of cases?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,559 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Skerries wrote: »
    people are buying "sheds" and putting them on their parents property while they save for a proper house

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/young-couples-sleeping-in-parents-garden-sheds-to-avoid-high-rents-34558408.html

unless the folks are paying for that shed (it's clearly not a shed) then how does that help saving for a deposit.

Absolute nonsense story.

lawred2 wrote: »
    unless the folks are paying for that shed (it's clearly not a shed) then how does that help saving for a deposit.

Absolute nonsense story.

A decent one can be got for €15,000. Depending on where you are living, that'd be 6 months rent. So after 6 months, it's very easy save for a deposit!

I could convert current garage to studio or one bed apartment for two k max as I can do all the work myself. Seriously thinking about it. At 2k the repaymet time would be 3 months v rent and bills I'm paying now...

A decent one can be got for €15,000. Depending on where you are living, that'd be 6 months rent. So after 6 months, it's very easy save for a deposit!

fair enough I suppose

It would be handy if these companies did a sell and buy back scheme, if and when the unit is no longer needed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Could you put one of these in the back garden (with full Road access to the back) and rent it out to make a few quid?

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/housing/renting_a_home/repairs_maintenance_and_minimum_physical_standards.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

Yes , but you have to have a permanent connection to the main house for planning permission.

(Doesn't mean that door cannot be locked at all times)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

froggie76 wrote: »
    When we decided to buy, we bought a mobile home for €500(which was less than our rent at the time) put it in the parents garden, saved like mad and worked all hours for about 8 months and got the deposit together for a house. When we moved out the younger brother took it over as a "man cave"

Now, thats the way to do it.

Spending 20k on your temporary shed when saving for a deposit is madness. You'd have to work a lot of hours to make up that 20k. In fact 20k will get you 18 months rent in a standard 2 bedroom apartment.

Im getting a bit of "Look at me, Im forced to live in a shed in my parents garden to save for a deposit", when in fact its more a case of people being as frivolous with their money before they even get their deposit.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    If they're below a certain size and height then they're exempt from requiring planning permission, so there's nothing to report in a lot of cases?

Sorry that's incorrect info. The area and height restrictions are for domestic sheds. The moment someone starts sleeping in one it becomes habitable and it then becomes planning non-compliant. Reports of people sleeping in sheds are a 100% valid complaint.

€2500 rent per month. Wtf are they renting for that price?

Short answer = no.

kceire wrote: »
    €2500 rent per month. Wtf are they renting for that price?

I did say it depended on where it was! Even if they were paying up to 2,000 a month, they would soon be able to start saving for their own home.

The bigger question is why they don't just live in the parents house and save all rent and shed buying expenses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I think planning should be given for these provided the owner allows RA tenants or family members to live in or rent them.

Housing shortage helped.

Minimum standards of course as per regs.

Why is it frowned upon I wonder provided regs are met?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,290 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

The bigger question is why they don't just live in the parents house and save all rent and shed buying expenses.

We've had this discussion before.

Maturation is the short answer.

Have you actually tried living with a partner in your mammy's house? How did the kitchen-sharing thing work out???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭madmac187

A dumbass friend of mine lives in one of these on his parents farm with his girlfriend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

We've had this discussion before.

Maturation is the short answer.

Have you actually tried living with a partner in your mammy's house? How did the kitchen-sharing thing work out???

I can foresee lots of problems but to be honest, the kitchen doesnt immediately spring to mind as being one of them.

Actually when I wrote the above I was imagining sharing the kitchen with my parents where thered be no hassle. Then I imagined sharing with the parents of herself. :eek: