Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you iron your clothes?

• 15-03-2016 1:29pm
    Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

Well good people of After Hours, I want to know how pervasive ironing is among ye? Do you iron regularly? I just can't be arsed tbh. It's the one household chore I can't abide. And most of my attire looks fine without going through that step, so why endure it.

I was talking to some friends at the weekend. Only one of them regularly does it (works in finance, so fair enough) but he was envious of those who do without. I never see my housemates doing it either now that I think about it.

I really can't remember the last time I ironed clothes. Must have been Christmas, if not then I had my last job interview in August so that would be a safe bet.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Rarely

I've a trouser press for pressing trousers, and generally only buy clothes that don't need to be ironed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭strelok

i'd rather be scruffy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Hang what you wearing in the bathroom in the morning while you have a hot shower.

Boom, no wrinkles.
    You're Welcome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

And most of my attire looks fine without going through that step, so why endure it.

It doesn't. You're just a lazy scruffy git.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

smash wrote: »
    It doesn't. You're just a lazy scruffy git.

This sounds like the response I'd get from my Mam if I ever owned up on this matter to her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

What's the point in having a tumble dryer and ironing yourself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

No.

My wife does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭Miaireland

Very rarely do Iron something. I stopped wearing linen because it was so horrible to iron. I have a few tops and trousers that do require ironing although I tend to hang them in a steam filled room. When I buy clothes now I tend to buy clothes that do not require ironing.

I do iron of course yeah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭jobless

no dont iron unless im wearing a shirt on a night out.... luckily i dont work somewhere that requires wearing a shirt so dont have to iron!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭howamidifferent

Yes cos I's worth it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭screamer

Everything is ironed in my house. Could not imagine wearing crumpled clothes. Even bed linen and towels are ironed. Ironing kills any dustmites that might have survived the wash and you'd be surprised how damp clothes are even if they have been tumble dried. I have a beast of an iron and I whizz through the washing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭fg1406

I never iron unless I have to wear a shirt. I have a steamer which I use for formal clothes. Anything else I just hang up straight from drying and it's fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭Leogirl

screamer wrote:
    Everything is ironed in my house. Could not imagine wearing crumpled clothes. Even bed linen and towels are ironed. Ironing kills any dustmites that might have survived the wash and you'd be surprised how damp clothes are even if they have been tumble dried. I have a beast of an iron and I whizz through the washing.

Seriously- you iron towels?? Never heard of anyone doing this.

I iron only what needs ironing. Jumpers+ jeans rarely, dresses, skirts, tops always.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

I iron shirts. I don't iron anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

No. I have no use for clothes that need as much attention and molycoddling as a five-year-old child. Neither do I polish shoes or press trousers. None of these is an efficient use of my time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭blackbird 49

Yes, iron all my clothes and my husbands and sons, I iron my husbands t shirts which some have seen better days, I do think to myself am I mad or stupid, decide stupid fold them and put them in press un ironed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Speedwell

Hang your clothes properly on the line and most of the wrinkles drop out. Touch up collars, cuffs, things that absolutely need pressing. I put away my bed linens and table linens as soon as they're dry, and iron them just before use (I use only cotton and/or linen for bed and table). Time spent working in a clothing shop when I was in college taught me to fold things so they have fewer wrinkles when I take them out than when I put them in the place where they are stored. We never ironed a thing... we used a clothes steamer. Recommended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

jimgoose wrote: »
    No. I have no use for clothes that need as much attention and molycoddling as a five-year-old child.

Ah here, nobody's suggesting that you take the iron to the child, no matter how bold (s)he's been!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Shirts and pants go to the dry cleaners. Everything else comes out ok out of the dryer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

I never iron. My mam used to do loads of washing and then she would spend ages ironing the whole lot. Swore I'd never do it..

Lived in this house for 2 years and I've only ironed twice.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

screamer wrote: »
    Even bed linen and towels are ironed.

Ha! I grew up in a strict ironing house, I thought Mam was the only one who ironed towels! And socks and jocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Yes. Doesn't take long to rattle through work shirts, trousers and tshirts from the week before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 277 ✭✭NotYourYear20

I might iron a shirt if it's needed, otherwise I don't bother. Clothes hung the right way rarely need ironing.

maudgonner wrote: »
    Ah here, nobody's suggesting that you take the iron to the child, no matter how bold (s)he's been!

How dare you! I wouldn't dream of taking anything heavier than an engineer's rubber mallet to a child under ten! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

jimgoose wrote: »
    No. I have no use for clothes that need as much attention and molycoddling as a five-year-old child. Neither do I polish shoes or press trousers. None of these is an efficient use of my time.

I agree. My shirts normally don't need ironing, and if they do, the creases seem to disappear half an hour after putting them on. The only time I ever polished my (work) boots was when I was wearing them to weddings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

I think that kind of thing is best left to the professionals.

jester77 wrote: »
    Shirts and pants go to the dry cleaners. Everything else comes out ok out of the dryer.

The secret is to have patience, and run the drier at a low temperature.

If they need to be ironed I'll iron them. I'd be fairly fussy about being neat, but I generally buy clothes that don't need ironing. I have one shirt that gets ironed to perfection and I think three dresses. I wear suit jackets every day and they go to the dry cleaners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭DonalK1981

What kind of iron do you have?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Shirts and some pairs of trousers, yes, when they're needed for more formal occasions.

That's rare though, and the rest of the time, no ironing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

Yep , I work in an office so have to Iron shirts and trousers for the week. Only takes a few minutes to be fair.

And for anyone who thinks your un-ironed shirts and trousers are grand and nobody notices , trust me they do you look like a lazy scruffy git.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Keane2baMused

The tumble dryer kills any dust mites etc that are left on clothing. It also takes creases out If you don't leave them sitting in there when it's finished drying.

I've never found my clothes to be damp out of the dryer, the defeats the purpose :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Since I started buying wrinkle-free shirts I don't iron anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

I must be some kind of freak :):) I LOVE ironing. Its very theraputic. I iron all my clothes for the week every Sunday. I put the radio on get the clothes out and iron all my t shirts, shirts, jeans and gym tops. Takes about an hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Only things that absolutely need to be ironed - shirts, certain dresses etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,498 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

I'm fairly neat and fussy with my work clothes, but at the same time, I try to avoid ironing if at all possible. Only reason this is possible is that I always hang my shirts up straight out of the wash and they dry without creases. I don't see how that's possible if you use a dryer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Speedwell

gazzer wrote: »
    I must be some kind of freak :):) I LOVE ironing. Its very theraputic. I iron all my clothes for the week every Sunday. I put the radio on get the clothes out and iron all my t shirts, shirts, jeans and gym tops. Takes about an hour.

Slacker. Your socks get wrinkles, too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭duffman3833

i wouldn't iron all my clothes, no point doing socks or underwear (If people actually do that). I just do my work clothes and maybe some t shirts if they look really creased. But the less ironing to do, the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Woodbrook80

It's the one house chore I hate due a baby so might start pay it someone to iron would rather spend time with my husband and baby my mum like many women Spent hours ironing

DonalK1981 wrote: »

What kind of iron do you have?
    Add your reply here.
    I have a tefal steam generator with 5 bar pressure. It can be used without steam too its a beast to go through the ironing and stuff comes out like it's been at the dry cleaner beautifully pressed and neat.

The tumble dryer kills any dust mites etc that are left on clothing. It also takes creases out If you don't leave them sitting in there when it's finished drying.

I've never found my clothes to be damp out of the dryer, the defeats the purpose :)
    run a hot iron over them and you'll be shocked

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I never iron, well very very very very rarely. The last time was for my Chrimbo party in work, I just ironed the bit that is visible when wearing a suit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Any shirts in the basket on Saturday will get a lick of an iron on Sunday night. 10 minutes work. I don't look like a hobo in the office - well, any more than I naturally do!

I use a tumble dryer for everything and very few things need to be ironed, but I always iron formal work shirts and clothes and whatever few casual clothes that need it.

I never iron sheets or duvet covers as they come out very well from the dryer if you fold them straight away, but I always iron pillowcases.

I really hate ironing. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

The maid does it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    I just ironed the bit that is visible when wearing a suit.

Yeah, was always annoyed that the hot Japanese summers meant that I had to iron the whole shirt, rather than just the front of it.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Moe: “So, Lenny, let’s say you pull a thorn out of the Pope’s butt and he grants you one wish. What’ll it be?”

Lenny: “Only one, huh? Well, I’ve always wondered what it would feel like to wear something that’s been ironed.”

Carl: “Whew, that’d be sweet. What about you, Moe?”

Moe: “Gee, I was gonna say a night with Joey Heatherton, but an ironed shirt? Damn, that’s tempting.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭JackHeuston

I iron shirts, trousers and underwear. When I was staying with my parents, my ma would iron linens and towels, too. I'm avoiding that just because it'd take me the whole weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Protip: Put clothes you intend you wear under your mattress the night before.
    Wake up to perfectly pressed clothes!