Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Summer migrant watch 2016

• 11-03-2016 4:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭

With high pressure forecast for the coming week, what chances the arrival of some early summer migrants ?
    I had Sand Martin's on the local patch a few years ago on 17 March and Chiffchaff a week later.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 3,072 Mod ✭✭✭✭OpenYourEyes

A few migrants have been seen in the UK this week including Sand Martins, Wheatear and Osprey:

http://btomigrationblog.blogspot.ie/2016/03/kittiwakes-moving-through.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

I'm hearing alot of Whimbrel like calls in recent nights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭vistafinder

just heard my first chiffchaff there while ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭Bsal

Spotted my first swallow at Dublin airport yesterday.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 3,072 Mod ✭✭✭✭OpenYourEyes

Spent a couple of hours around Lough Ree (Roscommon part) today in the hope of a summer migrant or two, but nothing yet! Winter migrants all seem to have moved on though. Nearly all the birds around seem to be paired up too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭savagethegoat

Spent a couple of hours around Lough Ree (Roscommon part) today in the hope of a summer migrant or two, but nothing yet! Winter migrants all seem to have moved on though. Nearly all the birds around seem to be paired up too!

for us less knowledgeable people, could you list a few of the species you refer to?. I really appreciate the glimpse into the subject I get due to the stuff you guys know as second nature, and I'm learning all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,224 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

for us less knowledgeable people, could you list a few of the species you refer to?. I really appreciate the glimpse into the subject I get due to the stuff you guys know as second nature, and I'm learning all the time.

Usually the first birds to return back are wheatear; which can be found along coasts now until they move onto higher ground to breed; and Sand Martins. Then you will get Swallows and House Martins which I find are the latest of the hirundine family to return.

Swifts normally are not here until the end of April start of May.

The other migrants to look out for are Cuckoo (again later in April) and Spotted flycatcher (one of the last arrivals)

On the warbler front the main species returning would be Chiffchaff, Willow Warbler, Blackcap, Sedge Warbler, Whitethroat, Grasshopper Warbler and Reed Warbler. We do have overwintering Chiffers and Blackcaps but the numbers really increase in the spring of these birds

Other species include Corncrake, Whimberel and seabirds such a Puffins. I've probably left out more species but these I think would be the main birds that we should be expecting in the country over the next few weeks/months. We also can get 1 or 2 surprises and that is always the fun of getting out and about at this time of the year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭savagethegoat

thanks, and what of birds leaving?

The types of species that are starting or will be starting to move soon are the Winter Thrushes (Fieldfare and Redwing), certain species of wildfowl including ducks, Geese and Swans (Whooper and Bewick not that we get many).

DellyBelly wrote: »
    The types of species that are starting or will be starting to move soon are the Winter Thrushes (Fieldfare and Redwing), certain species of wildfowl including ducks, Geese and Swans (Whooper and Bewick not that we get many).

Waders too - Lapwing, Golden Plover, Curlew etc. As Swallows, Wheatears and Warblers etc fly north from Africa, the waders, ducks and geese that were here over the winter are also flying north - to Iceland, Greenland, Scandinavia etc.

Finally saw around 15 Sand Martins in Roscommon today, feeding over a flood patch beside the River Suck. Only at one site thought, despite me visiting plenty of other suitable places. No Swallows yet either!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Woodville56

2 Swallows in flight over Loughrea this evening !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,319 ✭✭✭Half-cocked

I had a swallow over Kilbarrack on Easter Saturday.

A lot of waders starting to move through on the way north. The appearance of colour ringed Black Tailed Godwits around Dublin Bay that haven't been seen there all winter would imply they are moving through. One of them I spotted is heading for 16 years old, ringed as a juvenile on 2000!

Had a colour ringed Greenshank on the 29th. Waiting for feedback but it appears to have been ringed in NE Scotland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭wats the craic

seen 6 swallows has i was bringing in the cows yesterday evening . here near the hookhead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,772 ✭✭✭✭fits

Our swallows have just arrived. Three males id say. Near the Blackstairs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

First swallows here in the North East today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

My first Swallows of 2016 in Enniscorthy today - Summer at last!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭fleabag

Saw my first swallow yesterday over central Waterford - flew around the house a few times then headed off!

It's worth logging sightings of Swallows (and Swifts and Cuckoos when they come) on the 'Spring Alive' website - only takes a few seconds:

http://www.springalive.net/world/migrations/addnew

Was looking at a British site of birds that are coming into the UK. The density of species they get over there compared to here is pretty staggering. There are reports of Redstarts, Ring Ouzel, Pied Flycatchers all species which would be considered rare here. Is it because of our location or is it just the fact that there seems to be more birdwatchers in the UK so more records being recorded.

Would love to know do we have any Ring Ouzels, Redstarts or Pied Flycatchers breeding here...

DellyBelly wrote: »
    Was looking at a British site of birds that are coming into the UK. The density of species they get over there compared to here is pretty staggering. There are reports of Redstarts, Ring Ouzel, Pied Flycatchers all species which would be considered rare here. Is it because of our location or is it just the fact that there seems to be more birdwatchers in the UK so more records being recorded.

Would love to know do we have any Ring Ouzels, Redstarts or Pied Flycatchers breeding here...

Ring Ouzels - we have a few, but given the condition of our uplands they're in trouble!

Redstarts and Pied Flycatchers - a handful of pairs, but that's it! And breeding isn't always confirmed.

The big reason is that we're a small island - Britain is much bigger and so has a wider range of habitats, and larger areas of those habitats too. Also Britain is an island off a continent so it has less biodiversity than mainland Europe - with that in mind, Ireland is an island off an island off a continent!

With regards observer effort, the UK definitely has a much higher density of observers so it's likely that stuff is being missed (vagrants, migrants moving through, and rare breeders) too. They have a lot of islands and bird observatories that are wardened for around 9 months of the year so a lot of that stuff is systematically observed and recorded, but we don't have anything comparable here unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭whyulittle

Time to get my ear back in, think it was a Blackcap I heard this afternoon on a quick woodland walk.

Heard a Willow warbler on this evenings walk. Saw a fox getting a bit of sunshine for itself only metres from sheep and lambs and neither taking any interest in each other.

I often try to think of a word to describe seeing this stuff in nature but honestly can't think of a word good enough for it.

Heard a Willow warbler on this evenings walk. Saw a fox getting a bit of sunshine for itself only metres from sheep and lambs and neither taking any interest in each other.

I often try to think of a word to describe seeing this stuff in nature but honestly can't think of a word good enough for it.

I share with you the thrill of hearing first arrived migrants each spring, the sounds of willow warbler, chiffchaff, cuckoo, blackcap, the sight of first swallow back at the barn, sand martin's back over the local lake are a joy to behold, and a reminder (to me anyway) of the cycle and wonder of nature - markers on the year calendar more emotive and stirring than the "official" start of spring, summer etc. And yet by Autumn, the scarce sights and sounds of these migrants become the harbingers of Autumn and winter. How to describe all this ? I'm sure there are many scripts on the subject, but to me it's about being "fully alive", being attuned to the moods of nature and the wondrous phenomena of migration which I feel lucky to witness year after year, and which I have also come to regard as a marker of time, of sorts. With these feelings is the concern at the increasing array of obstacles which we humans, and nature itself, continues to hurl at these migrants, which makes their arrival with us each spring, all the more inspiring and enjoyable.

Noticing big influx of warblers in the past few days on local patch here in the Midlands - particularly willow warblers , woodland alive with them in song earlier today- sign of summer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Had some Chiffchaffs around Blessington last week and the first Swallow yesterday. I do fear for the survival of such early migrants as it froze hard last night and is snowing now:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,044 ✭✭✭Gaspode

This morning I saw house martins around my area in Dublin 15 for the first time this year. Poor feckers must be freezing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭downwesht

Swallows in Skibbereen this afternoon.SE wind does the trick!

Saw my first 2 in Bandon today but none around my area yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭blackbird99

saw one today in aherlow co tipp

Quite a few Swallows around Roscommon today. Had Chiffchaffs in Waterford and Offaly in the last few days too. Hopefully there won't be too many more cold days/nights!

Spotted my first Swallow of the year today, albeit in Galway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 506 ✭✭✭Hotei

Spotted a Sedge Warbler and heard the unmistakeable sound of Grasshopper Warblers in Pollardstown Fen today. I've also seen both House Martins and Barn Swallows skim the waters of the Grand Canal in recent days too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,368 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

I thought this was another thread on the refugee crisis until I read the forum :D

whyulittle wrote: »

Seen a few over Gort this morning as well, but still scarce enough so far . Plenty of willow warbler, chiffchaff and blackcap around, even had a few wheatear in the Burren later

whyulittle wrote: »

Seen a few over Gort this morning as well, but still scarce enough so far . Plenty of willow warbler, chiffchaff and blackcap around, even had a few wheatear in the Burren later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭Bsal

Had a Chiffchaff in the garden this morning so hard to get a good look at they don't stay still for long.

Swallow update - first day I've seen swallows in any number other than single birds - stream of 20+ today flying westwards over south Galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭OldRio

First swallows seen on Tuesday 12th April and first cuckoo heard today the 15th April. Wonderful sound and it must of been happy because it was calling a hell of a lot.
    In county Leitrim

Cuckoo and House Martins ticked yesterday in the north Midlands , migrant sightings list filling up nicely here, still on the lookout for grasshopper warbler and whitethroats and soon hopefully swifts !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭thyme

Two swallows here on Friday sitting on the rafter in the shed, and heard a cuckoo down in the forest this morning here in the Mid-Midlands.

Cuckoo singing away the last 2 day what a beautiful sound. Thats my little list checked anything else now is a bonus.

The first Roseate Tern of the year was seen in Wexford today!

Sedge warblers in full song today in the north Midlands. Swifts & Spotted Flycatchers expected soon !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

silhouette-of-the-birds-in-flight-screaming-party-of-the-swifts_161147681.jpg

Saw a blurred flash yesterday - thought Swift - and today no sightings (I'm indoors) but the distinctive screaming heard. It's officially the start of Summer even though it's freezing here. :D

Big fall of Warblers on Rockabill today - 20++ Willow Warblers, a few Chiffchaffs, 7+ Blackcaps, 3 Sedge Warblers, a Grasshopper Warbler, Whitethroat and a couple of Swallows! Southerly winds have helped everything move 'up' - had our first few Terns yesterday and today too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭mr.wiggle

Heard my last cuckoo call when I was 9 years old in Cork , just when they were building/developing Wilton Shopping Centre / Sarsfield Road and C.U.H.
    Hiking in the Ballyhouras last weekend and was stopped in my tracks by a call that I hadn't heard in over 35 years...almost brought me to tears it did ! Stood around for ages just listening to it reverberate around the hills.
    Chuffed to bits ! :D

First Swift sightings here this evening, and a Blackcap singing in the back garden.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 506 ✭✭✭Hotei

A bird I've heard many times, but one I've never managed to get a shot of until now (apologies for the quality of the shots, but the bird was some distance away):

26754069472_e37f1ec27f_b.jpg

26848040135_60b7230046_b.jpg