Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'Draining' the Shannon

• 10-03-2016 5:37pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭

The other night in Clare I went into a pub and encountered some people who were literally hysterical at the idea of pipeline being run from the Shannon to Dublin in order to offset the decreasing water supply in the capital.

Their whole attitude was one of 'the Dublin gubbermint is staylin our warsher.' as if each county and region of our fair isle had a personal ownership of the natural resources that are present within it.

I played Devil's Advocate stating that the pipeline might use up so much water that the annual flooding of the Shannon could be avoided in places such as Clare. A win-win for the whole country. They were having none of it! Dublin was robbing the Whest's water out of their children's cots and that was that.

I came away feeling very depressed. Not only did it show me that the Parish Pump is so ingrained in Irish people that any chance of pulling together as a nation is impossible, but also the inherent childishness of our people. No maturity, common sense or even a relaxed attitude of mature examination of the project.

Country is Fugked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

do they want all their kids and grandkids in Dublin to go without water?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

They turk errrrr jaaaaabbbbbbsssss!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

No Garth Brooks so no water dickbags!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭Lights On

I had an ex girlfriend called Shannon and she was a squirter. Used to a do a lot of draining myself back in the day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Thread title is a Euphenism.

DrumSteve wrote: »
    Thread title is a Euphenism.

I thought the same thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭jobbridge4life

It would be interesting to see an analysis of the redistribution of wealth from the capital to the remainder of the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭The Helpful Engineer

It is depressing. However there is an information campaign started by Irish Water which will help with concerns that the locals have. I saw some of the information at an Institute of Structural Engineers event in DIT this week. The following is some of the facts I remember about the proposed scheme:

The Shannon river flows at a rate of between 160 (minimum) and 1000 (maximum) cubic metres per second at Parteen where the planned extraction point will be located.

The plan is to extract 4 cubic metres per second of water. Treat it at a large facility at Parteen and pump treated water to Dublin in a 2.3m diameter pipe.

The water pipe will serve towns along the way.

It will be pumped uphill to an area around offaly and fall by gravity to Dublin.

The water will be bought off the ESB as they have a right to the water by law to generate electricity except for 10 cubic metres per second to maintain the water levels in the old river course at Parteen and 0.7 cms for the fish pass at the Ardnacrusa dam.

A % of the capital budget would be spent on local environmental issues to provide more of an incentive to locals to accept the scheme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭somuj

It would be interesting to see an analysis of the redistribution of wealth from the capital to the remainder of the country.

It would be interesting to see an analysis of the redistribution of food from the country to the capital.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Let's imagine Bill Gates $79.2 billion wealth was redistributed among the 318.9 million in the USA. That is $248 for each person.
    My guess is a redistribution of "the wealth" of the wealthiest in Ireland to the whingers would give about €100 each.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭daveyeh

Inbred freaks

Banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

daveyeh wrote: »
    Inbred freaks

Oh, you! :pac: If both of your parents, grandparents, great grandparents etc are/were Irish, you are likely pretty inbred yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Magico Gonzalez

somuj wrote: »
    It would be interesting to see an analysis of the redistribution of food from the country to the capital.

Sure, once the money that goes the other direction to pay for the food is taken into account or is there some culchie aid charity that sends free food into to feed the starving jackeens?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

What part of Clare? Guessing it wasn't along the Shannon?

Those places that flooded around limerick in December? They are still flooded, Particulary clonlara.

somuj wrote: »

You mean the food paid for via corporate welfare to farmers and then re-payed for via consumers?

diomed wrote: »
    Let's imagine Bill Gates $79.2 billion wealth was redistributed among the 318.9 million in the USA. That is $248 for each person.
    My guess is a redistribution of "the wealth" of the wealthiest in Ireland to the whingers would give about €100 each.

I'm guessing (and I know I'm right) that you're a rightist when it comes to tax matters. Thats fine. More power to you. But if you can look past your innate aversion to the term 'redistribution' you might work out what I was actually trying to say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭Elemonator

Do they have personal ownership over our state resources? No. Dublin bankrolls them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭Easca Peasca

Elemonator wrote: »
    Do they have personal ownership over our state resources? No. Dublin bankrolls them.

Bankrolls who? Everyone who lives past the Red Cow? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,350 ✭✭✭OneEightSeven

Rural Ireland needs to realise their lifestyles are being subsidised by the urban tax-payers: http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/urban-taxpayers-subsidising-rural-homeowners-could-cause-property-tax-backlash-262606.html

They also need to realise those rivers have existed long before humans colonised this islands, so they don't own them. Then they start moaning about slow broadband and how they entitled to fibre at the expense of the tax-payer.

Seen as their lifestyles are being subsidised, then Dublin id more than entitled to pump water from the Shannon.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,741 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

ClovenHoof wrote: »
    The other night in Clare I went into a pub and encountered some people who were literally hysterical at the idea of pipeline being run from the Shannon to Dublin in order to offset the decreasing water supply in the capital.

Their whole attitude was one of 'the Dublin gubbermint is staylin our warsher.' as if each county and region of our fair isle had a personal ownership of the natural resources that are present within it.

I played Devil's Advocate stating that the pipeline might use up so much water that the annual flooding of the Shannon could be avoided in places such as Clare. A win-win for the whole country. They were having none of it! Dublin was robbing the Whest's water out of their children's cots and that was that.

I came away feeling very depressed. Not only did it show me that the Parish Pump is so ingrained in Irish people that any chance of pulling together as a nation is impossible, but also the inherent childishness of our people. No maturity, common sense or even a relaxed attitude of mature examination of the project.

Country is Fugked.

Keep yer feckin Paris pump away from our river, let ye!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ClovenHoof

Those places that flooded around limerick in December? They are still flooded, Particulary clonlara.

Ennis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,879 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Rural Ireland needs to realise their lifestyles are being subsidised by the urban tax-payers: http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/urban-taxpayers-subsidising-rural-homeowners-could-cause-property-tax-backlash-262606.html

They also need to realise those rivers have existed long before humans colonised this islands, so they don't own them. Then they start moaning about slow broadband and how they entitled to fibre at the expense of the tax-payer.

Seen as their lifestyles are being subsidised, then Dublin id more than entitled to pump water from the Shannon.

The Shannon certainly has been there for a long time. It's name comes from Sean Abhainn, old river, like Old Man River in America. Not a lot of people know that.

Anyway it belongs to Cavan, because they started it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Anyway it belongs to Cavan, because they started it.

Yeah but they werent able to look after it, it leaked out all over the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Good broadband for the whole country is a worthwhile expense.

I don't think the opening post reflects rural Ireland in its entirety.Some people in a pub are hardly representative of rural Ireland in general.

I'd imagine the silent majority would quite like part of the Shannon to be drained so it might help reduce flooding.

And without people being essentially forced to move to Dublin from rural Ireland to Dublin wouldn't have such dominance on the country's economy.

These rural urban arguments are rather tiresome and I've always found it strange that TD's from urban areas like Tony Gregory were admired whereas the Healy-Raes have scorn heaped upon them even though they are basically the same type of politician i.e looking after their own constituents first and foremost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭hytrogen

[url]Http://splash.epa.ie/#National[/url]
    Thankfully no warning today but I certainly wouldn't have wanted to swim in some parts of the Shannon in previous seasons, least drink the purified water from it..
    Bloody effluents & phosphate contaminants from farmers spreading fertilisers at the wrong times poisoning the rivers, fisheries & estuaries...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Whinge about the water coming in, whinge about the water going out.

Country folk.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

It might reduce their flooding problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Brendan Behan was right. Tell Paddy it's raining soup, and out he comes with a fork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,879 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

hytrogen wrote: »
    [url]Http://splash.epa.ie/#National[/url]
    Thankfully no warning today but I certainly wouldn't have wanted to swim in some parts of the Shannon in previous seasons, least drink the purified water from it..
    Bloody effluents & phosphate contaminants from farmers spreading fertilisers at the wrong times poisoning the rivers, fisheries & estuaries...

All your bodily waste, and all those shampoos and soaps you are using, and all the bleaches and washing powders being used in your house, are being removed from your waste water. And then they send it back to your house for you to make your tea. How do you feel about that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭MacauDragon

Im lost in these arguments.

(looks for community text alert yoke)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭Wulfie

The other night in Clare I went into a pub and encountered some people

Country is Fugked.

I can't see why it's not just as simple as constructing reservoirs. Jesus wept.
    We need to harness the destructive force of the sometimes unrelenting rain ,that this island gets lashed by.

We could give water to any nation in dire need of drinking water. We could collect a years supply on wet weekend.
    What ? Free water ? Just start water conservation infrastructural projects. When the construction workers are busy ,the locality benefits better than when we're redundant/idle. Not needed

Can't keep building schools forever. That FG/L sh!the about checking and making sure all employees were to be paid rate 39+ time and a half.

Giz another election. One person One vote.

I'm sure there'd be less recounts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Not now, no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

The Shannon certainly has been there for a long time. It's name comes from Sean Abhainn, old river, like Old Man River in America. Not a lot of people know that.
    While that sounds plausible etymologically, I always thought it was supposed to be named after Sionann (or Sionna), the grand-daughter of Manannán, the Celtic Sea-God. Although I suppose you could argue whether she was named after the river or the river named after her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭hytrogen

All your bodily waste, and all those shampoos and soaps you are using, and all the bleaches and washing powders being used in your house, are being removed from your waste water. And then they send it back to your house for you to make your tea. How do you feel about that?
    I like my coffee black, black as my heart :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭JustShon

Drunken ****e-talk in a pub is hardly unique to Clare. You don't even need to be in a pub to hear that level of bollox talking here in Dublin, just hop in a taxi and you can hear all about such interesting topics as "If global warming is real, then why is it getting colder?" and "Sure we'd be better off if we kicked out all the foreigners and left the EU."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,516 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Its gonna be drained below all of the 3 major lakes and will even be happening below ardnacrusha, the reservoir for it isnt even gonna be in the county of clare and its actually nowhere near as bad or will affect anywhere near the amount of people who think it will. The problem is the people in charge have done a piss poor job of pushing out this information to the likes of the people the OP met.

However I do think we would be far better spending the money planned on it fixing the god awful pipe systems before sending more good water to just drain away through all the cracks, but thats another debate entirely

J Mysterio wrote: »
    Not now, no.

Are they all back to normal now?
    I haven't been home since late January and the mother told me Springfield in clonlara still was flooded.
    It's been 5/6 weeks I guess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭Nermal

These rural urban arguments are rather tiresome and I've always found it strange that TD's from urban areas like Tony Gregory were admired whereas the Healy-Raes have scorn heaped upon them even though they are basically the same type of politician i.e looking after their own constituents first and foremost.

Tony Gregory was looking after the most deprived area in the country. It's not the same.

Of course we do have our own problems in Dublin with half the people elected there being far-left fruitcakes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

Nermal wrote: »
    Tony Gregory was looking after the most deprived area in the country. It's not the same.

I think Gregory was misguided in his approach and probably did more harm than good in the long term but it's not like he died a rich man as a direct result of his public service. Contrast this with the Healy-Rae clan, Lowry etc whose number one priority is always themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Let them drink the Liffey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭a fat guy

Great how one can just offer up an anecdote to **** stir up some more hate on rural folk these days. And have plenty of people agree with you.

Good job op.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

Are they all back to normal now?
    I haven't been home since late January and the mother told me Springfield in clonlara still was flooded.
    It's been 5/6 weeks I guess

It's not flooded now. I was down there this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭JustShon

Shannon757 wrote: »

Are you feeling drained now?

JustShon wrote: »
    Are you feeling drained now?

Not now, I was feeling bloated a few weeks back though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

biko wrote: »
    Let them fund their own services

Shannon757 wrote: »

I hope you live in Shannon banks.

I live in the big schmoke now so unless flooding happens here, no one cares about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,062 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

biko wrote: »

We do already Biko. Again, your sheer ignorance of your capital and your country is outstanding, the blinkered keyboard warrior anti-Dublin ranting you carry on with is again unfounded, kneejerk belligerent bile!!

Water is supplied in Dublin on a Regional basis. The Region includes all of Dublin City and County and parts of Wicklow and Kildare. On a typical day 540 million litres of water is collected from rivers, cleaned and made safe to drink at four main treatment plants. Three of these treatment plants are operated at Ballymore Eustace (Liffey), Roundwood (Vartry) and Ballyboden (Dodder) and Leixlip (Liffey).

If you need any more info on your capital PM me, or simply post on the Dublin city forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

At least they'll be happy with the collapse of Irish water. All of Dublin CC will have to pay Clare CC nicely for access.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,909 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Nermal wrote: »

Actually it is, many rural areas have absolutely nothing in them and would be just as deprived.

Country is Fugked.
    I'm not agreeing to this.