Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When is it time to stop being nude in front of the kids...

• 10-03-2016 12:44pm

...a spin off from the equally puzzling "when to stop kissing kids on the lips" thread.

I don't mean standing naked in front of a child in harsh light or anything...and I do mean one's own child. But the casual nudity...coming out of the shower and towelling down in the bedroom, running down to see if the clothes in the dryer are ready etc. When should that stop?

Or indeed should it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Keane2baMused

When they stop, stare and point at your bits saying, 'what's that'?

Around 25 I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,153 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

...a spin off from the equally puzzling "when to stop kissing kids on the lips" thread.

I don't mean standing naked in front of a child in harsh light or anything...and I do mean one's own child. But the casual nudity...coming out of the shower and towelling down in the bedroom, running down to see if the clothes in the dryer are ready etc. When should that stop?

Or indeed should it?

When they point at your lad and laugh uncontrollably, i'd say it's time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭JustShon

I'd say when the kids stop being comfortable with it. You'll know because they'll either walk out of the room themselves, turn their head if it's you walking around or if they're outspoken you might get a "Put some clothes on dad/mam."

Basically when their reaction to it stops being casual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,965 ✭✭✭gifted

My 6 and 5 year old girls have started to laugh at my man boobs. ..very soon I reckon lol lol

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭Niemoj

Okay again, there is absolutely nothing wrong with being naked in front of your children, unless something has changed in the past hundreds of years and the human body is no longer natural?!

Society as a whole wants to sexualise each and every single thing people do and make it into something it isn't.

I know parents who would bathe with their children too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭stoplooklisten

My kids are adults now but back in those days it was too cold to be naked

gifted wrote: »
    My 6 and 5 year old girls have started to laugh at my man boobs. ..very soon I reckon lol lol

It was more the below the belt stuff I was thinking about.

From there north is gonna have to remain...open for viewing...as long as we get the odd sunny day to head to the beach...

Niemoj wrote: »
    Okay again, there is absolutely nothing wrong with being naked in front of your children, unless something has changed in the past hundreds of years and the human body is no longer natural?!

Society as a whole wants to sexualise each and every single thing people do and make it into something it isn't.

I'm not sure covering up is a statement that the body is not natural, or is all about sexualisation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Why is being naked in-front of Your direct family like kids wrong ? #Nakedshaming

OSI wrote: »
    There's a difference between it being acceptable, and being acceptable to a point. Taking the baby into the bath with you is one thing, getting your 16 year old daughter to climb in the shower and scrub the bits you can't reach is another entirely.

You seem to be associating being naked with sex, you are sexualising something that just isn't.

Well I agree it would be strange for a parent to ask their teenager to help them wash it is only strange because society says it is.

What about the older people who physically can't wash themselves and have to get a son or daughter to, or help them going to the bathroom.

Is that weird also?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

Or indeed should it?

Do you not dry yourself in the bathroom? That's what I always do. Personally I've always preferred keeping my bedroom door closed too so I wouldn't have these issues.
    Running down stairs with a towel on is no big deal although I don't think i ever had to run immediately to the dryer after showering. I hope you shower more frequently than your laundry schedule!!:p

Would you kiss your family on the lips while you are nude?

Well I agree it would be strange for a parent to ask their teenager to help them wash it is only strange because society says it is.

Are most conventions not "only strange because society says it is".

If nudity in front of children is grand (and I am not prescribing that it is not, in my OP I conceded one might say it's always fine), why is it limited to one's own children?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Yeah after infancy that's disgusting and weird to be honest.

Things like your mam bringing you into the shower when you're a youngfella is the type of stuff that creates serial killers down the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭bajer101

"Daddy, daddy, why is your willy bigger than mine?"

"Well that's because I am fully erect, son."

Do you not dry yourself in the bathroom? That's what I always do. Personally I've always preferred keeping my bedroom door closed too so I wouldn't have these issues.
    Running down stairs with a towel on is no big deal although I don't think i ever had to run immediately to the dryer after showering. I hope you shower more frequently than your laundry schedule!!:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

bajer101 wrote: »

Oh god....

Even discussing it on this thread gives me an uneasy feeling, weird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭nhunter100

When should it stop? Ah... it shouldn't have started!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

Im not a parent but id see meself as a never go full nekkid kinda person

I'm not a parent myself either and I don't plan on being so I don't know, I guess I agree with this in principle but maybe if I was a parent myself I wouldn't agree in practice.

It's hard to know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Neither me nor my wife are generally the kind of people to wander around the house in the nip, especially since we've had no curtains or blinds downstairs for the last six months :pac:
    But never really, even when it is/was just me in the house I'm not the kind to wander around with nothing on.

Though even upstairs or after a shower or whatever, we might only be naked going from shower to bedroom. Even then I tend to dry off while standing in the shower and have a clean pair of boxers with me in the bathroom. Just pure habit. I would think nothing about wandering around in my boxers.

But I wouldn't be at all prudish about being naked in front of my daughter. I wouldn't avoid walking from the bathroom naked because she's around.
    But if she's having a bath and I need to pee (she's 3.5), I'll pee. And she'll ask what that is, and I'll tell her. There's nothing to hide or be ashamed or fearful of.

To answer the question, the right time to stop being naked in front of your kids is when they're old enough to be uncomfortable with it. Or when you do.

nhunter100 wrote: »
    When should it stop? Ah... it shouldn't have started!

Yes, We all know Nipples are not suitable for children.. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭nhunter100

Yes, We all know Nipples are not suitable for children..

Male or female?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭Hannibelle Smeeeth

I try to cover up as much with the 6 year old because I can see him getting a bit embarrassed. The 4 year old constantly walks in on me either while Im getting dressed or in the shower. The comments out of him are hilarious but Im like a sitting duck :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Speedwell

Definitely in agreement with the people who say "when the kid becomes uncomfortable with it". Back in the 70s, I was 10 or so when I started being super uncomfortable with Mom being naked around me (Dad was just plain uncomfortable being naked at all so I never saw him so except by complete accident). At the time Mom had significant buy-in to the natural organic flower child hippie movement and kept saying, "It's normal and natural". She wouldn't think anything of walking in on me when I was dressing, either, until one of her church friends told her it was not "normal" and that privacy was an OK thing for kids to have.

I couldn't articulate it then, but if I could tell her how I was feeling today, I would tell her it was a boundary issue and she was at best oversharing. When you get to that age you value privacy and start withdrawing from the baby intimacy you had with your parents. You instinctively want to preserve some distance. That is what is normal and natural.

My daughter is five and a half and so far no one has any issues with nudity or bath sharing. Until someone feels some discomfort I see no reason to be concerned with it. The time to stop - is when someone involved wants it to stop.

nhunter100 wrote: »
    Male or female?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Speedwell wrote: »
    Definitely in agreement with the people who say "when the kid becomes uncomfortable with it". Back in the 70s, I was 10 or so when I started being super uncomfortable with Mom being naked around me (Dad was just plain uncomfortable being naked at all so I never saw him so except by complete accident). At the time Mom had significant buy-in to the natural organic flower child hippie movement and kept saying, "It's normal and natural". She wouldn't think anything of walking in on me when I was dressing, either, until one of her church friends told her it was not "normal" and that privacy was an OK thing for kids to have.

I couldn't articulate it then, but if I could tell her how I was feeling today, I would tell her it was a boundary issue and she was at best oversharing. When you get to that age you value privacy and start withdrawing from the baby intimacy you had with your parents. You instinctively want to preserve some distance. That is what is normal and natural.

Yeah, hippie parents here too. It's grand when you're younger but you're right, after a certain age you just want a certain amount of privacy about your body and a distance from your parents. Nudity is intimate. My dad copped on to it easily enough* but I saw my mam running around in the nip well into my teens. Very uncomfortable. Must give out to her about that soon!

*still not the most modest of guys. When my sister was 16 her boyfriend called over to pick her up one morning for a day out while my dad was in the kitchen making breakfast. The two of them go to hare it out the door and my dad goes "No you come in here young man I want to speak to you for a minute", steps out from behind the counter and it turns out he'd gotten as far as putting his shirt and boxers on but took a break before he got to his trousers or socks. Sister nearly died.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I'm always wandering about the place in the nude - I don't really see the problem, seeing a dick is hardly going to traumatise anyone.
    The missus on the other hand is very much more of the "Do you mind covering that thing up when my mother / sister / friend is present" school of thought.

Let it all hang out I say - there is a big difference in walking from the shower to the bedroom and **** in the bushes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

On a semi related note, does anyone else find toddlers have a fascination with accompanying you to the toilet? You be sitting there, getting down to business, and you'll hear them flying up the stairs after you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭JustShon

On a semi related note, does anyone else find toddlers have a fascination with accompanying you to the toilet? You be sitting there, getting down to business, and you'll hear them flying up the stairs after you

Reminds me of when I was a teenager and had to bring a 5 year old cousin to the toilet (I was the only male out with us at the time) and we're at the urinals, he looks over the divider and practically shouts "LET ME SEE THE SIZE OF YOUR WILLY!"

I told him to go pee in the cubicle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,234 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Dunno about toddlers but I haven't gone to the downstairs loo without canine accompaniment since we got our velcro rescue dog last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Speedwell

Oh, when I was wee, I was the worst ever. I think I was four before I finally got it sorted that I had to shut the bathroom door when I was over at other people's houses, too. I got payback, though. I have three cats. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Dial Hard wrote: »
    Dunno about toddlers but I haven't gone to the downstairs loo without canine accompaniment since we got our velcro rescue dog last year.

My youngest dog comes to the toilet with me and he knows when I reach for the loo roll that the show is over and it's time to move :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

When you live in a small apartment with one bathroom and a small child, them seeing you in the shower or on the toilet is inevitable. I'm not worried about it, he's already asked the embarrassing questions (hilarious ones) and when he starts getting embarrassed about it, he'll stop barging in.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

We're always in the 'rick rude' in our house. I don't see it ever changing.

My parents are old hippies, they'd still be letting it all hang out in the living room if they got the chance. I don't remember what age they stopped being routinely naked around me, but I'm not that observant either.

I remember getting into trouble with my granny because I was always in the nuddy as a little one, I remember being cajoled to putting on underwear before she'd open the door to a caller one time, and another time being told that I really should wear more than socks in the kitchen.

I still like being in the nuddy, but every window is overlooked where I live so tis a rare thing outside of the bath/bedroom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

I'd never have been nude in front of the kids but I'd run about the house in the boxers. No issue there cos it's no different to taking them to the swimming pool or wearing only shorts on holidays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,234 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Boom_Bap wrote:
    We're always in the 'rick rude' in our house. I don't see it ever changing.

It was known as the "Jeyes Fluid" in our house.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I've heard that one as well. We also settle for 'being in the nip'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

No one ever wants to see their dad's mickey.

The Nuddy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Stigura

bajer101 wrote: »

Best post Ever on Boards! I nearly asphyxiated with laughing! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

You know the Modern Parents in Viz? How do poor Tarquin and Guinevere feel about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

My daughter is five and a half and so far no one has any issues with nudity or bath sharing. Until someone feels some discomfort I see no reason to be concerned with it. The time to stop - is when someone involved wants it to stop.

Not sure you have to wait until kids start getting uncomfortable about it. There's a certain cut-off point (obviously not 5 years old) that you can decide yourself as a parent.

My kids are (slightly older) than that and I obviously don't care if they wander into the room when I'm getting (un)dressed/or out of the shower. We also still partially supervise their bath time. But we don't do the overbearing leave the jacks door open or going out of our way to walk around the house naked thing either.

Generally speaking, a lot of these hippy sermons about sexualization and repression just sound like adults imposing their values on their children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

My children only see me naked when they invade my own boundaries. They are 3 lads, 6 and under and they just love never giving me and mammy any peace or privacy. It's adorable.

They will decide when it becomes uncomfortable or I will end up banning them from our bedroom maybe around 10 or so.

I think it's healthy for children to see their parents comfortable with their bodies. We will pass on enough of our insecurities to our children. hopefully they will be comfortable with nude and not thinking it always has to be sexual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭ash23

Myself and my 13 year old would get dressed or undressed in front of each other if need be. We dont wander around naked but if she comes into my room or I walk into hers we don't rush to cover up.
    If I'm getting ready doing hair or makeup I'd often be just in underwear and she'll come in and chat to me.

I'll take my cue from her as she gets older. My own mother, sisters and aunts would also been comfortable enough changing in front of each other. Maybe not fully nude but bra and knickers are fine and a frequent enough occurrence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,443 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I've never been ok with my child seeing me naked, so I'm usually covered up, I just don't see any necessity in it.

One of his friend's mums a while back had a thing for parading around her house naked in front of them and I had a chat with her about it when he told me about it (I had a chat with my son about it too obviously), and she had no problem with slipping on a dressing gown when my son was around at her place.