Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Robberies in Tipperary

• 10-03-2016 11:22am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 770 ✭✭✭

Did anyone hear the farmer on Newstalk this morning on about how he has been robbed for the 6th time? he is also a butcher and the shop was robbed also. the man was in tears talking about it and felt really sorry for him. he was saying farmers are now going on armed patrols to protect themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Jesus I heard that poor man. Now there's a man at the end of his theadder and that's when drastic stuff happens.

I had to laugh at a radio article earlier in the week wondering why retired retired people in the cities weren't downsizing and moving to live in the country. The complete lack of a Garda presence and the fact that they'd have to live out the remainder of their lives in terror would be a fairly good reason.

I've two fellas who work for me, both older bachelors. Absolutely terrified at night. Both lads have pitch forks under the bed for protection. As one said "t'would take a brave fella to come running at the sharp end of a pitchfork and he in my house"

Rural crime isn't being dealt with as the areas to be covered are too big and there aren't enough local resources. Loss of locally based Garda breaks the local knowledge of who is up to no good and needing an eye kept on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 770 ✭✭✭viztopia

it must be hard for the guards, I would say they have a good idea of who is responsible. also the amount of cases that go to court and get thrown out due to a technicality or the guilty person getting off with a light sentence. I think solicitors and judges have a lot to answer for and they are way out of touch with what is going on in this country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Heard that. He parked a tractor in front of a locked shed and destroyed the tractor and cleaned out the shed taking a quad and tools. He said he was sleeping in a shed for the last 3 months with a firearm for protection to see if he could stop his property being stolen. His mental health is now seriously affected and he was talking about farmers and suicide. His butchers premises and farm has been cleaned out now. Gangs are now doing it for sport and there's nothing to stop them. It's basically gone like the wild west.

We have a text alert scheme here and while it's some help it really just alerts you when a robbery is after taking place. A neighbours jeep was stolen yesterday and six houses were broken into last week 3 miles away.
    The government and judicery really need to tighten up on this and stop being so leanient.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,815 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

It won't stop until there's a Padraig Nally re-run, only then will it get serious attention...for a while at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Was there a guy in roscrea terrorised into paying a gang 80k for painting etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Suckler

_Brian wrote: »
    Rural crime isn't being dealt with as the areas to be covered are too big and there aren't enough local resources. Loss of locally based Garda breaks the local knowledge of who is up to no good and needing an eye kept on.

It's little to do with locals generally. Better road infrastructure makes it easier for these lads to leave darndale/coolock etc. and be in Tipp/Laois/Kildare/Westmeath etc. within an hour or so of easy driving. Once they are disturbed or have the car filled its an easy spin back up the road again.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

That man wouldn't be too far from the M7 alright, isolated enough area in terms of garda presence too. Local knowledge is part of the problem.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

I'd like to know how lads living all the way up in Dublin choose their targets and not make the mistake of breaking into the 'wrong' sort of place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Suckler wrote: »
    It's little to do with locals generally. Better road infrastructure makes it easier for these lads to leave darndale/coolock etc. and be in Tipp/Laois/Kildare/Westmeath etc. within an hour or so of easy driving. Once they are disturbed or have the car filled its an easy spin back up the road again.

Dont be fooled.. they're not randomly finding isolated houses where the elderly live alone.. there's always a degree of local info involved in these cases.

_Brian wrote: »
    Dont be fooled.. they're not randomly finding isolated houses where the elderly live alone.. there's always a degree of local info involved in these cases.

Or going around doing seemingly innocent things like selling crap door-to-door and casing the place for potential?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

A while back, I spotted 3 guys (travelling salesmen ;)) in a white van rubber necking as they passed a neighbour's farm yard. I was just coming around the corner when I spotted them. They nearly crashed into me they were looking back so much. Got the van reg and gave it to the son. He got a relative, a guard to check it out. They were from Cork and this was up in Clare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭ShakerMaker91

living in South Tipp meself I can honestly say there's zero Garda presence around our area no wonder its open season for robbers when there's no one around to stop em... a suspicious looking lad called to into mine Saturday evening looking for a petrol station there was about 3 other lads sitting in his car aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,436 ✭✭✭AlanG

Garda stations are not the problem, it is Garda resources on the roads that is needed along with proper sentences and prisons. You can be sure the gardai have caught the guys who did this dozens of times before and they are still free to commit crimes. If they were in prison for a long stint after a few convictions we could easily get by with only a small increase in gardai numbers.

Prison is like a short stay in a B&B for these lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

living in South Tipp meself I can honestly say there's zero Garda presence around our area no wonder its open season for robbers when there's no one around to stop em... a suspicious looking lad called to into mine Saturday evening looking for a petrol station there was about 3 other lads sitting in his car aswell

Did u report number to community alert

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭boggerman1

Lads u have to remember these scumbags are "entitled" to lift our stuff.a couple of yrs back our neighbours house was robbed onba Saturday evening.I live within 2 miles of Templemore.late on a Monday evening a week later a Garda car dropped in to ask if I saw anything.gave him a bollacking over coming out a week later.a joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

For a while there were crews in Dublin scouting out houses under the guise of leafleting.
    The guys operating now are using fake number plates on stolen cars or cars not registered to them. There was a woman recently charged with failing to register the sale of her car because it was used in a robbery.
    They'll often have someone under 18 with them so they have an excuse to get out quickly if arrested.

The simplest way to prevent it is to keep them from scouting by keeping the gates of your yard closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭barnaman

South Tipp myself and no guards at all about. Heard the story about this robbery was one of a number in that area over the past 10 days; alot more farms then this hit. Was apparently combination of lads "lost" looking directions etc in preceeding week and few nights before a drone was spotted at night. Woman in area thought was UFO! alot people in area heard the drone sounded like a helicopter flying low so if here that at night check your yard. Any North Tipp lads on who know more?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

There are local scumbags giving info to these gangs . I fell asleep in the jeep over Christmas in an out farm while i was waiting on a heifer to calve , its a pretty isolated spot but we have a house there aswell that you wouldn't see from the road or know where it is . I woke up with lights coming towards me , I started the jeep and put on my lights to make a drive at them , gave chase to the village where they ran rhe red lights and i left them off . I gave the reg and description to a few local lads and the guards . Two nights later a couple of buddies came on them at the same craic , there was two lads from up the country with a young local lad showing them where to look . The little tinker .

We should have a thread on the best safest way of purposefully stopping and dealing with these twots but I reckon it would get closed quickly. The thought of people being afraid at night boils my blood !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

barnaman wrote: »
    South Tipp myself and no guards at all about. Heard the story about this robbery was one of a number in that area over the past 10 days; alot more farms then this hit. Was apparently combination of lads "lost" looking directions etc in preceeding week and few nights before a drone was spotted at night. Woman in area thought was UFO! alot people in area heard the drone sounded like a helicopter flying low so if here that at night check your yard. Any North Tipp lads on who know more?
    Any strange drones in the air around here won't be in the air for long

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭50HX

if your getting robbed that often then its time to take matters to another level but you need to be clever about it

the incident in Mayo a few years back is a consequence of things being left go too far with a bad outcome for all involved

personally i'd booby trap the place but this can be tricky

i have the diesel tank booby trapped but i'll be closed down if i go into further detail

Shoot, Shovel and Shut up. Good old American way.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Only heard it myself today, saw an armed Garda response unit coming from the direction of yer man's place. First time I ever saw one outside of Limerick.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

wonder is the armed response unit about robbery or him going on about armed patrols at night!!!

probably the latter
    the guards don't like being embarrassed

50HX wrote: »

personally i'd booby trap the place but this can be tricky

Then you'll have neighbour's kid or some other innocent wandering in and blundering into it and then you may have a lot of explaining to do or worse.

IFA on newstalk now on about this case.

Farm yards are dangerous places at the best of times so they shouldn't be wandering in.
    A strobe light, a can of silly string, shaving foam and a bucket of slurry would do the job I'd say :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Anyone interested turn on on tipp fm now ,poor guy on it that has been burgled 6 times .tome to get ruthless with these fookers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭boggerman1

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Anyone interested turn on on tipp fm now ,poor guy on it that has been burgled 6 times .tome to get ruthless with these fookers

The poor man is broken listening to him.its not good for his mental health all this carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭joejobrien

boggerman1 wrote: »
    The poor man is broken listening to him.its not good for his mental health all this carry on.
    That woud be sorted out long time ago if it was the judges property was targeted. It wouldnt happen them a second time
    There apart of this problem for too long, and the law and the an Gardai.
    But sadly it appears us rural folk appear to be insignifincant on the food chain.
    I hope this is about to change for the betterment of rural Ireland

Maybe not a judge, but the Asst Garda Commissioner got his motor nicked.

http://www.thesun.ie/irishsol/homepage/news/6992381/Stings-and-roundabouts-Car-seizing-cops-car-is-stolen.html

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 607 ✭✭✭jack o shea

Load up the shotguns lads and don't be afraid to use them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Load up the shotguns lads and don't be afraid to use them.

As much as you'd be tempted to, it's definitely not the way to go.

The type of gangs out now are ruthless and only see you as a minor obstacle. Human life means nothing to them. Dont try be a hero. Think about your family. Keep safe.

Cameras cameras cameras. A good community text alert to report anything suspicious. Keep things out of sight. Block entrances with jeep tractor etc. Insurance.

Above all whatever about trying to keep them out of your yard, don't let them get inside your head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,219 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Muckit wrote: »
    As much as you'd be tempted to, it's definitely not the way to go.

The type of gangs out now are ruthless and only see you as a minor obstacle. Human life means nothing to them. Dont try be a hero. Think about your family. Keep safe.

Cameras cameras cameras. A good community text alert to report anything suspicious. Keep things out of sight. Block entrances with jeep tractor etc. Insurance.

Above all whatever about trying to keep them out of your yard, don't let them get inside your head.
    Community alert texts can be great or a nuisance, we got a text about a stolen battery last week. -This was an old tractor battery- there can be an overkill of the messages sometimes

whelan2 wrote: »
    Community alert texts can be great or a nuisance, we got a text about a stolen battery last week. -This was an old tractor battery- there can be an overkill of the messages sometimes

We have one here whelan and it's excellent ,any reports of strange activity ,cars/vans suspicious fookers and it gets reported to guards ,they deem how serious it is and then text goes out to everyone in area who signed up .now nothing goes Un missed around and guards in fairness gave someone out jyst to show a presence as well as investigate .

I wouldn't be advocating firearms even though I know neighbours who wouldn't go without one now when going out to check sheep or cows calving at night. The government don't seem to realise what's going on now in the countryside. It was never like this laws and treatment of suspects is to blame.
    I remember my father telling me of a guard in a town near here and anyone that was in the cells used to get a bit of a soft beating from him. He had every no gooder afraid of him and it was discouragement enough not to brake the law.

The way it's going now every farmer will need 7 foot high concrete walls around the farmyard.

I heard a case of a machinery dealer in the midlands who had high walls around his yard. He was getting robbed a good few times so got a guard dog to be let out in the secure yard at night. He had this dog trained so that he would say a word and the dog would be in guard mode.
    Anyway he got a call one night from the guards to come and stop his dog that it had someone cornered in the yard and was after biting this person.
    He came and called the dog off and the person went off with the guards.
    The next day the dog warden arrived and said they were taking away the dangerous dog. The owner said in no circumstances were they taking the dog and that he spent a fortune training the dog and he was in a secure area with high walls and couldn't get out.
    The dog warden left and the guards arrived and told him that they would be taking a case against him for the dog. It went to court and the judge asked the guy who got bit by the dog why he was in the compound. He replied that his phone had fallen into the compound and he went in to get the phone back.
    When the judge heard this he through the case out. So sometimes common sense does prevail.

Another case I was driving a tractor past a house and I saw two young lads climbing over a fence into the garden and I put no thought into it but when I drove past the entrance I saw a young woman the owner going for her daily jog. I wasn't from the area so maybe the young lads were from the house. But it was bugging me afterwards wondering if they were going to rob the house and maybe I should have stopped and asked her did she know the lads.
    It's not always lads from Dublin doing the robbing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

I find neighbour hood watch and good neighbours in general very good. Have a 'holiday home' down in Galway, anytime we're there, there's always a neighbour coming up for a look or if there's lights on to see is there someone there.
    Got followed three or four times by someone who didn't recognise the car.
    Def more Gardai needed though. Too many strangers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,559 ✭✭✭visatorro

We have one here whelan and it's excellent ,any reports of strange activity ,cars/vans suspicious fookers and it gets reported to guards ,they deem how serious it is and then text goes out to everyone in area who signed up .now nothing goes Un missed around and guards in fairness gave someone out jyst to show a presence as well as investigate .

There was a fella on newstalk earlier saying that schemes like this coupled with casual patrols had seriously reduced crime rates in the area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 dunsie2013

I think court sentences too light, and Jail is too expensive and they appear to learn more in there than outside. So what are alternative solutions:

Electronic Tag: If convicted of robbery, you must wear electronic tag, stay within 1 mile of home address, and if they claim to have a job or work location, agreed route must be followed. So they get jail time and tag remains on for full duration.

Tougher bail conditions: Bail Money needs to be higher, more skin in the game: If caught committing offence on bail, it has to hurt them in the pocket.

Passport confiscated for all criminal offices: If you commit a criminal offence and get caught, hard luck, your not off to Lanzarote. No exceptions.

National Identity card must be brought in, with photo ID. Must carry it.

Court system and Garda time: Simplify systems for fines, road traffic offences, or whatever has so many guards tied out waiting to give evidence in Courts. It is probably the good guards tied up in Court as they are the ones getting convictions.
    There must be 100's of Guards tied up in sittings every day of the week, never mind desk time preparing.
    What can't Guards give evidence by video link from local station, speed up the whole legal system, as the Criminals definitely seem to have the upper hand at present in there.

What I can't understand is why Politicians don't make these changes, or at least all parties working together to deal with this. They should be making laws to protect the majority.

dunsie2013 wrote: »
    What I can't understand is why Politicians don't make these changes, or at least all parties working together to deal with this. They should be making laws to protect the majority.

Because these lads won't act until either (a) affects them or their families and (b) someone else gets shot.

The poor lad robbed had security fencing, cctv, tractor parked across shed so all precautions taken. Prob with CCTV if wearing balaclavas what you do???

Mother heard him on radio said sounded like having nervous breakdown.
    Need tougher sentences like minimum 5 year custodial sentence and benfits deducted. Also never buy secondhand equipment anywhere except from a genuine shop.

http://www.wexfordpeople.ie/news/had-stolen-goods-at-unyoke-market-30102195.html

Total farce.

I am going to contact Lowry and urge other lads to hound their TDs more they get sick of answering letters emails, phone calls the more likely to do something. Not the guards to bother but politicians.

Would be in favour of CCTV all along motorway too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

The poor lad robbed had security fencing, cctv, tractor parked across shed so all precautions taken. Prob with CCTV if wearing balaclavas what you do???

Mother heard him on radio said sounded like having nervous breakdown.
    Need tougher sentences like minimum 5 year custodial sentence and benfits deducted. Also never buy secondhand equipment anywhere except from a genuine shop.

http://www.wexfordpeople.ie/news/had-stolen-goods-at-unyoke-market-30102195.html

Total farce.

I am going to contact Lowry and urge other lads to hound their TDs more they get sick of answering letters emails, phone calls the more likely to do something. Not the guards to bother but politicians.

Would be in favour of CCTV all along motorway too.

Lowry?

Lol.

Dawggone wrote: »
    Lowry?

Lol.

In fairness in tipp he is our messiah ,the one man you know who will get the job done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

In fairness in tipp he is our messiah ,the one man you know who will get the job done

Lol.

Ye should have voted in the Sinners, they've a good track record also!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

Dawggone wrote:
    Ye should have voted in the Sinners, they've a good track record also!

I think we'd all be joining you in France if that shower ever get power!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,559 ✭✭✭visatorro

Especially if you want an extension or the house done up!

dunsie2013 wrote: »
    I think court sentences too light, and Jail is too expensive and they appear to learn more in there than outside. So what are alternative solutions:

Electronic Tag: If convicted of robbery, you must wear electronic tag, stay within 1 mile of home address, and if they claim to have a job or work location, agreed route must be followed. So they get jail time and tag remains on for full duration.

Tougher bail conditions: Bail Money needs to be higher, more skin in the game: If caught committing offence on bail, it has to hurt them in the pocket.

Passport confiscated for all criminal offices: If you commit a criminal offence and get caught, hard luck, your not off to Lanzarote. No exceptions.

National Identity card must be brought in, with photo ID. Must carry it.

Court system and Garda time: Simplify systems for fines, road traffic offences, or whatever has so many guards tied out waiting to give evidence in Courts. It is probably the good guards tied up in Court as they are the ones getting convictions.
    There must be 100's of Guards tied up in sittings every day of the week, never mind desk time preparing.
    What can't Guards give evidence by video link from local station, speed up the whole legal system, as the Criminals definitely seem to have the upper hand at present in there.

Some very good ideas there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

I find this strange...

Lowry seems to be a gangster, didn't some tribunal say he evaded paying a load of tax, and maye took brown envelopes?

So he has broken the law - but it's ok to break some laws?

Is it as long as you're only stealing from the public purse, tis a victimless crime?

I honestly don't understand people at times...