Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buying a car with broken timing belt

• 08-03-2016 8:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭

Hello , I'm looking at a 1.4l golf .. The timing belt snapped on it the other day, the owner offered to fix it or allow for it in the price. What would be the best option fix it or get a new engine ( we don't know how much damage is done yet) would this car give more problems after this ? Please help me out ^

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

There have been a few train wreck stories on here of people buying cars with damage such as broken belts, why are you even considering it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

If you don't know the extent of the damage then assume the worst and it needs a new engine. How well priced is it? I'd tend to try and source a replacement engine myself if the car is as it is, is priced accordingly but then again is it worth the bother on a broken Golf. Might be less hassle just buying a Golf that isn't broke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

Run away.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭pajero12

Conorh123 wrote: »
    Hello , I'm looking at a 1.4l golf .. The timing belt snapped on it the other day, the owner offered to fix it or allow for it in the price. What would be the best option fix it or get a new engine ( we don't know how much damage is done yet) would this car give more problems after this ? Please help me out ^

I'd say walk away, There's no shortage of 1.4l golfs around.

You wont really know the extent of the damage or the condition of a replacement engine, You could be stuck with a money pit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭Conorh123

I was planning to buy this car but the day I was supposed to see it the belt snapped .. It's a cheap car at 3400€ 2007 golf

Sounds like you were very very lucky, A day sooner and you could have been caught,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 891 ✭✭✭Falcon L

If the belt was let go to the stage where it broke, the car hasn't been properly cared for. Find one that has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

Be thankful it didn't happen the day after.

A snapped timing belt can see the pistons do untold damage. Also it points to regular maintenance not having been done.

Leave it for someone else.

• Site Banned Posts: 61 ✭✭Squire Ladd

Run like Flynn

If I got the engine rebuilt would it still gives trouble down the line ? I know a rebuild would be expensive but he might allow me that price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭Arkady

Assume the worst.
    You can be sure the seller already got a few quotes, hence that's why it's for sale.
    Get an rough estimate for sourcing and fitting a working engine from a scrapyard, and budget for that at least. (I take it this is an older golf)

Arkady wrote: »
    Assume the worst.
    You can be sure the seller already got a few quotes, hence that's why it's for sale.
    Get an rough estimate for sourcing and fitting a working engine from a scrapyard, and budget for that at least. (I take it this is an older golf)

Mk V

Arkady wrote: »
    Assume the worst.

It's a 2007, it's a garage selling it. He took it in as a trade in off an elderly woman

Lots of red flags flying at this stage. Run.

Falcon L wrote: »
    Lots of red flags flying at this stage. Run.

The thing is I know the woman that had it since new and I also know the garage man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,444 ✭✭✭sky6

A rebuild will cost about 3 K Take the advice given and find another one. Wouldn't it be better to get an 08 with lower tax even if it does cost another Grand.
    Even if you did rebuild the 07 you would never get your money back.

sky6 wrote: »
    A rebuild will cost about 3 K Take the advice given and find another one. Wouldn't it be better to get an 08 with lower tax even if it does cost another Grand.

I suppose that is true,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭shietpilot

I wouldn't even touch it. For all you know the engine was blown/seized/whatever and then the owner cut the timing belt and is selling it as a car with a "snapped belt".

The thing is I know the woman that had it since new and I also know the garage man
    So why are you drip-feeding us this story?

Clearly the maintenance on the car has been neglected. If it were me, I'd be looking for one that has been looked after.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭FortySeven

It may not be possible to rebuild the engine. All depends on what damage has been done and you are looking at hundreds in labour just to find out. Add to that that a snapped timing belt means poor maintenance and you could be looking at much more than the engine trouble. The car is of an age to be giving problems everywhere if the maintenance schedule has not been followed. Save yourself a costly, stressfull lesson and find another car. The fact that you have had to ask tells me you have no idea what you as getting into. That's not meant as a dig.

If the garage offered to fix it for me before I buy it will it give trouble down the line ?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

If the garage offered to fix it for me before I buy it will it give trouble down the line ?

Only the likes of Madame Zelda can tell you that tbh.

Seriously look for another one. What's so special about this car that you are persisting in thinking about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭Neilw

Life is too short to drive a 1,4 golf regardless. They wouldn't pull the skin off custard and are a frustrating drive.

The 1.6 is as economical and far better suited to the car. It's only a small increase in motor tax too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭FortySeven

There is no way to determine costly of rebuild. It may only have a bent valve. It may have a gouged cylinder wall. Two very different scenarios. One cheap. One catastrophic and not repairable.
    As for getting money back from a car? Doesn't happen. Ever.

Stheno wrote: »
    Only the likes of Madame Zelda can tell you that tbh.

Seriously look for another one. What's so special about this car that you are persisting in thinking about it?

I'm interested in this car because I know the elderly woman that had it since new ! If I bought off donedeal or another garage the **** could be driven into the car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭Neilw

I'm interested in this car because I know the elderly woman that had it since new ! If I bought off donedeal or another garage the **** could be driven into the car

It's obvious the woman never had the timing belt changed, what else has been neglected?
    Has the car a full service history, nct?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭guyfo

A car that was driven hard but had no money spared when it came to maintenance is better than one driven slowly with no maintenance done.

As the others said, its very rare for a timing belt to go if the car has been maintained properly. If you get a new engine sure its fine, but what about the gearbox, suspension and everything else on the car?

You asked for advice, everyone has basically said walk away, might be an idea to take the advice you requested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Honestly, I can't see any value in getting this over an other one. The only way I'd buy it is fixed. If you buy it as a non runner, who knows what the gearbox is like, if the clutch is ok, if it drives straight etc.
    Even if it is fixed, who knows how good a job is done, or what issues may rear their head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

And it's not that cheap really.

Edit: For €3500 there's so many nicer cars on the market than a boring golf.

Jayop wrote: »
    And it's not that cheap really.

Edit: For €3500 there's so many nicer cars on the market than a boring golf.
    Like what a little ****e civic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭StereoSound

Run like someone stuck a bat down your pants.

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/alfa-romeo-159-low-miles-new-nct/11530637

2008 Alfa 159, one of the prettiest family saloon cars you can buy. 3.5k from a dealer.

I'm in love!!!

1.8 might be too big for them though.

Ah man go for something interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭StereoSound

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/alfa-romeo-159-low-miles-new-nct/11530637

2008 Alfa 159, one of the prettiest family saloon cars you can buy. 3.5k from a dealer.

What were the petrols like on those? They were not twin sparkers anymore n that generation?

They really look cool those 159's.. Especially in black!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

It's funny how you think a civic is "****e" yet you're willing to spend €3500 on a neglected 1.4 petrol golf with a snapped timing belt.

If it must be a Golf get a well minded example that's in good working order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,865 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

Be carefull, you'll butthurt some who can't take an opinion and see it as gospel...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

Tax on the equivalent post june 08 golf is €570 vs €385 for a pre July 08 golf on the cc tax system. Tax on many petrol cars went up substantially at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

The 159 is too heavy for the 1.8. If you want a petrol then the jts or v6 are the ones to get.
    Op, you sound like you are trying to convince yourself its a great buy.
    I cant see the point of the thread as everyone has told you to run a mile.
    You only want the car as an elderly woman you know owned it who went so far past the timing belt interval it snapped.
    3700e for a 1.4 non runner golf is madness and the garage would be laughing behind your back if you bought it.
    You've no idea what sort of damage there is nor how the car was to drive before that.
    Btw the 1.4 is probably the slowest 1.4 you could get but if you really want it then Ill just say good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭Lellostag

The only reason to consider that Golf is if they are giving you the car more or less for free. Expect to need a replacement engine which will cost a few bob, and unless you so the engine swap youself it'll cost a good bit in labour to have it fitted.

So, unless you can do the swap yourself just walk away, you don't need that hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Buying a heap of junk because you know these people and because it's a "good deal" is just about the stupidest thing you could do in this situation.

For that money go buy something reliable and Japanese or something pretty and Italian, unfortunately with the Gold you'll end up with unreliable and ugly.

What is it about people in this country? They need a VW badge at all cost and are prepared to sneer at the ultra reliable Civic while considering a boring and broken Golf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,616 ✭✭✭grogi

Falcon L wrote: »
    What is it about people in this country? They need a VW badge at all cost and are prepared to sneer at the ultra reliable Civic while considering a boring and broken Golf.

Das Auto!

grogi wrote: »
    Das Auto!
    Is that it? Slaves to advertising?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Op, why are you looking at car that is already has worst thing happened to it. You just go and do lotto tonight as clearly you dodged a bullet, not even a bullet, but a tank AP shell.

There are plenty of golf's around, just go get one that is not blown up. As some already mentioned get a 1.6 version of it as it will be more reliable and will have at least few more bhp for more comfortable driving.

To be honest lads, I think we are wasting our time here.
    The OP seems fairly sure he is going to buy it. I'm just waiting for the thread to pop up:

"fixed engine and now car driving like ****e"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

bear1 wrote: »
    To be honest lads, I think we are wasting our time here.
    The OP seems fairly sure he is going to buy it. I'm just waiting for the thread to pop up:

"fixed engine and now car driving like ****e"

Or....does anyone know where I can get a cheap 1.4 golf engine....

jca wrote: »

I'd love that one :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,577 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

The garage owner is in a position where he can fix it himself more economically than some private seller could, the obvious thing would be for him to carry out the repairs and then sell the car in working order for a higher price. Instead he wants to sell it in a broken state for whatever he can get.

How is that not a massive red flag? Why does the garage owner want to do that, is it not possible that perhaps he knows something he isn't telling you? Perhaps about what is actually needed to repair the car...

As others have noted the intelligent choice here is to walk away, but I agree that it seems the OP wants to take the chance and is just trying to find validation for his decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

jca wrote: »

And gear box. It was an old ladies car after all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

OP...listen to the advice you were given.
    1.4 golf's are all over the place. ..and a pile of crap to be fair...wouldn't pull you out of bed...and known for burning a lot of oil...couplenty that with a snapped timing belt...that car has not been cared for...I can garuntee you that.