Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The MMA Coahing Credentials of Ido Portal

13»

• Registered Users Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

Mellor wrote: »
    This.

He's not an MMA coach. And hasn't ever claimed to be afaik (despite what some people like to say ;) ) He's clearly is fantastic shape, and is probably a amazing resource on flexibility, movement and the like.

He also, is very protective of big brand and his IP. He charges a lot money, and is a bit cult with his "group". There are guys out there with similar knowledge, who'll part with it for cheaper.
    That said, this is rather specific stuff. Id always going to be more expensive than a 60 min session with a random PT.

Why do you think he was lucky that McGregor found him?
    He was just as-famous before McGregor, and I doubt many people have come his way due to McGregor

honestly it seems like his association with mcgregor has brought him more negative attention than anything!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭MichaelScarn

This.

He's not an MMA coach. And hasn't ever claimed to be afaik (despite what some people like to say ;) ) He's clearly is fantastic shape, and is probably a amazing resource on flexibility, movement and the like.

He also, is very protective of big brand and his IP. He charges a lot money, and is a bit cult with his "group". There are guys out there with similar knowledge, who'll part with it for cheaper.
    That said, this is rather specific stuff. Id always going to be more expensive than a 60 min session with a random PT.

Why do you think he was lucky that McGregor found him?
    He was just as-famous before McGregor, and I doubt many people have come his way due to McGregor.

I think it is naive to suggest that he hasn't benefited from the McGregor association.

Just some rudimentary evidence -

https://www.google.ie/trends/explore?q=ido%20portal

• Registered Users Posts: 39,071 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

I think it is naive to suggest that he hasn't benefited from the McGregor association.

Just some rudimentary evidence -

https://www.google.ie/trends/explore?q=ido%20portal

It's naïve to think he gets paid when people google his name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭MichaelScarn

It's naïve to think he gets paid when people google his name.

That's a little disingenuous of you and not what I suggested at all.

My contention is that Portal has benefited from his McGregor exposure
    Your contention is that he has not.

I really don't care either way, so I'm going to stop now.

That's a little disingenuous of you and not what I suggested at all.

My contention is that Portal has benefited from his McGregor exposure
    Your contention is that he has not.

I really don't care either way, so I'm going to stop now.

You suggested that the surge in google searches meant be benefited. I'm just pointing out that that's not necessarily the case.
    He was already famous, within movement/flexibility training, prior to McGregor.
    He isn't cheap as a coach. I'd suggesting that people who are willing to pay hundreds/thousands for that specialist coaching, were already aware of him before McGregor. He'll maybe get a couple of people turning up to seminars, or a few online clients. But I can't see this exposure to MMA fans having a drastic effect on his business. MMA fans just aren't his target market.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

To be fair, Ido himself has said his link-up with Conor has opened many new doors for him in terms of his profile and professional athletes looking for his services.

Always worth remembering Conor was a fan of Ido and went to him first.

• Registered Users Posts: 264 ✭✭Fantomas9mm

Not trolling but......:

Does Portal deserve any credit whatsoever here ?

I see he was McGregors camp again for the Alvarez fight.

What exactly is he brining to he table.

For the record I like Ido Portal , I think he has some unique ideas and physically he can do some cool stuff but I just can't see what tangible benefit his training could have.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,649 ✭✭✭Whelo79

He has a lot to do with how McGregor moves and contorts his body to allow him to throw and land a lot of those unorthodox strikes.

It's also more about conditioning of the body, movement and flexibility and this allows McGregor to feel free and loose with little stiffness when he trains, and most importantly, when he fights.

That's my opinion anyway. Iys an integral part of his training and this stage.

I just can't see what tangible benefit his training could have.

You can't see how being able to move better is useful in a fight?
    (By better I mean stronger, faster, more mobility/flexibility, or a mix of those attributes)

• Registered Users Posts: 62 ✭✭Blackthorn Fight School

I thought i would chime in as I have been following Idos work for many years and have a good bit of knowledge in what he does. I became aware of him back when GSP started gymnastics and I went down the road of becoming a PT and all that jazz. As I train MMA but saw all of the skill work was there but still the S&C side is pretty lacking.

So Ido started off as a teen doing capoeira in Israel and became a well known face in the scene mainly doing angola from what I could see. Which is like capoeira we all know just slower so requires more strength. He then went on to become a PT and started his own gym. Whilst he started his own gym he took to going online and looking for methods of training at the time he was mainly bodyweight and a bit of weight training. Then he got in with the Gymnastic Bodies crowd and spent a lot of time on their forum learning their method and how they did things. While also studying many other peoples work such as Pavel Tsatouline. Then came the bit that pissed a lot of folks off Ido took most of these systems severed all ties and went off and set up his own system / method or whatever you want to call it. You can still google his account on gymnastic bodies and watch all of his posts it makes an interesting read.

So what Ido basically does is combine what he feels works best form a wide number of other peoples methods mainly weight lifting of various types for the lower half with various jumping and tumbling skills. Then mainly gymnastics for the upper half with a mix of other bits. Then this is all combined with mobility / flexibility work and all sorts of skill work. He is about as qualified as any PT with a background in gymnastics to train any fighter. However is not a fighter or have experience with that so make of that what you want.

A lot of what you see him do is not made up it is from other peoples systems such as the vibrations and wobbly arm stuff is taken from some of Pavel Tsatouline's relaxation material. As people have said there are a lot more people out there who will provide you with the same quality of information at a fraction of the cost. I am happy to share those people both in ireland and abroad if people are interested.

I have a few issues with Ido's methods but you cannot deny his marketing and showmanship. My main issues would be the cost but I understand supply and demand and if people want to pay then why not. The main ones are his very aggressive treatment of some people such as shaming people and booting them from his page for doing stuff that looks similar to his as it must be stolen. On the same topic making people sign and NDA to attend a seminar is a bit much to me. The other one is that all of his top students are either full time trainers or ex pro athletes I prefer to see what someone can do with a regular joe and see where they can be taken not taking a high level athlete and making them do cool things.

Anyway hope this post helps a bit and clears up a bit of the mystery of Ido. I am happy to explain more or share information on where and how to learn this stuff but thats also probably better on another thread.

I'd put a lot more faith in a guy picks and chooses key bits from multiple systems, rather than the invents his own stuff from scratch.
    It's funny Gymnastic bodies probably hated that he monetised the info. But then they did the same themselves with their training programs. And even banned people with relevant info availible.

Luckily, There's a couple if respected guys in that field putting out very good info, for nothing or next to nothing. One of them is actually a former boardsie

Oh I am by no means saying thats a bad thing the best coaches learn as Ido has said to develop a good "bull**** filter" which I totally agree with. But giving no credit to those people and implying you created it all then banning people from your pages who say otherwise is a bit much. I just wanted to shed some light on what exactly Idos method is and that some of the "touch butt" stuff that he teaches has a background in very legit styles and trainers methods. But I put a lot more credit into a coach who can take a regular joe and turn him into a great athlete not take an athlete and make him a bit better. The GB folks are no saints by any means as you point out and that info is all out there too.

As movement is a very vague and superfluous term so most have no idea what he actually does and most cant afford to even attend a seminar to find out. His reddit AMA is a good read as are those of his online students. As to his actual teaching a few friends have been to his seminars and have learnt a lot. Luckily as you say a lot of other people putting this info out there now for much less and some for free and I am happy to help people out with links etc if they drop me a PM.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,118 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

I'd put a lot more faith in a guy picks and chooses key bits from multiple systems, rather than the invents his own stuff from scratch.
    It's funny Gymnastic bodies probably hated that he monetised the info. But then they did the same themselves with their training programs. And even banned people with relevant info availible.

Luckily, There's a couple if respected guys in that field putting out very good info, for nothing or next to nothing. One of them is actually a former boardsie

Who's the former Boardsie?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 431 ✭✭Killergreene

Thank **** this rat was kept well away from Connor in fight week. He has bin relegated now to the touch lines again. Filthy rat. He was the flavour of the month last December using Conor to promote his own rubbish

Mod: This isnt After Hours or the school yard, between this name calling and some of your comments at the weekend its time you took a break. Come back when you grow up a little and have some cop on.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

Thank **** this rat was kept well away from Connor in fight week. He has bin relegated now to the touch lines again. Filthy rat. He was the flavour of the month last December using Conor to promote his own rubbish

he did a good bit with Conor fight week? He was in the embedded and the open workout?

His reddit AMA is a good read as are those of his online students. As to his actual teaching a few friends have been to his seminars and have learnt a lot.
    As was the reveal reddit post from his former student who left and detailed a lot of the inner workings
    Who's the former Boardsie?
    Emmet Louis, vet knowledgeable guy and highly respect in the field.
    You realise that Conor brought him in in December?
    And brought him in again this time. He was part of the training this week. He's only involved when Conor wants him there, he can't just attach himself.

In fairness to Ido a lot of what you see him do on fight week is pretty good stuff reaction training, loosening techniques etc you are starting to see more and more people do similar stuff now. It might look odd when you see short clips but there is a lot of info out there on it even old school boxers did similar with ball reaction drills etc.

Emmet Louis is great tons of really valuable free info he puts out and highly recommend his youtube channel but have not been lucky enough to get to one of his workshops yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 880 ✭✭✭celica00

Hi All,

apologies for bringing this up, but would rather ask here than creating a duplicate-ish thread.

I havent read through all of the posts yet but i was wondering if there is some kind of course, book or even classes in Ireland that do something similar-ish as Ido?
    I find his concept interesting but will need to read more into it first. Would also like to might give it a go.
    Thanks!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

celica00 wrote: »
    Hi All,

apologies for bringing this up, but would rather ask here than creating a duplicate-ish thread.

I havent read through all of the posts yet but i was wondering if there is some kind of course, book or even classes in Ireland that do something similar-ish as Ido?
    I find his concept interesting but will need to read more into it first. Would also like to might give it a go.
    Thanks!

Touch butt in the Phoenix Park every sunday morning at 10am, look for a guy with a pony tail.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭dashoonage

Gamebred wrote: »
    Touch butt in the Phoenix Park every sunday morning at 10am, look for a guy with a pony tail.

I've a mate in dublin who has been touching butt for a few months now and he swears buy it. Has tried several time to get me to touch butt buy im not falling for it.

sounds good!
    im down in Cork tho :(

sounds good!

hard to get lads into touch butt down there?

dashoonage wrote: »
    sounds good!

hard to get lads into touch butt down there?

Probably easy enough to find a few who would be interested too.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭rain on

sounds good!

This crowd do movement classes in Cork: http://trueyou.ie/

Anybody know to what extent Ido Portal is involved with McGregors boxing match ?

He is handling the "Float like a butterfly" side of things...

rain on wrote: »
    This crowd do movement classes in Cork: http://trueyou.ie/

Did you ever end up checking em out celica00 ?

http://placeofpersistence.com/30-30-squat-challenge-by-ido-portal/#The_Death_of_Good_Posture

Seen people saying this did this and it helped them .

I am guessing for stuff like movement and posture , his techniques are probably good.

Weirdly Gunner Nelson has trained with him also and he doesn't strike me as a someone with great movement .