Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things That Put You Off Your Dinner

• 08-03-2016 3:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,634 ✭✭✭

If all goes as expected, this thread might end up being a bit icky. But is there anything out there, common or uncommon, that if you had to take just one look at it you instantly lose your gut to eat anything?

For me it's dolls! If I take one look at those plastic, wiry-haired yokes then take my plate away from me.

All insects as well, depends on how hungry I am.

Discuss!... And I hope nobody's planning on eatin' :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

Why are you eating dolls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,606 ✭✭✭jaykay74

strand of hair in the food :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

You'd want to be fairly hungry to eat insects alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭JustShon

Someone at the table chewing loudly or, worse still, with their mouth open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

nothing puts me off my dinner.

• Moderators Posts: 12,410 ✭✭✭✭Black_Knight

pre-dinner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Cutlery that is not clean

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,213 ✭✭✭✭sammyjo90

jaykay74 wrote: »
    strand of hair in the food :mad:

Especially when you don't know its there until you are gagging on it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,787 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

JustShon wrote: »
    Someone at the table chewing loudly or, worse still, with their mouth open.

Even the thought of that makes me want to puke, now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Anyone licking or sucking their fingers while eating. Use a napkin or a bit of kitchen paper or anything. People making that disgusting smacking sound by sucking grease off their hands should be marched away somewhere and shot. Utterly vile, disgusting habit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,901 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Recently, two things got to me in the canteen in work:
    • The person beside me eating cucumbers.
    • The person beside me drink strong coffee.

Both things nearly made me gag. If it were a cartoon, I could image the trail of the smells going through the air and directly up my nose, so that I got the concentration of the 'bouquet'.

FTA69 wrote: »
    Anyone licking or sucking their fingers while eating. Use a napkin or a bit of kitchen paper or anything. People making that disgusting smacking sound by sucking grease off their hands should be marched away somewhere and shot. Utterly vile, disgusting habit.
    +1, puke!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

If someone tells you they had doubts about whether the meat you're about to eat was still in date, "but I'm probably being paranoid, I'm sure it's fine".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭Miall108

When I find pubes in it

If someone tells you they had doubts about whether the meat you're about to eat was still in date, "but I'm probably being paranoid, I'm sure it's fine".

"Did you get a funny smell when we opened it? I thought I did. No, it was probably something else. No, I reckon I imagined it. Don't mind me, it's fine."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I suffer with mild Misophonia. I just have to leave the table if somebody is making too much noise, it gets me seriously worked up. It can become a big problem when eating out with a group of people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

People who eat like pigs.
    Or who lick their fingers.
    Or who bite the cutlery.
    I'd nearly have to leave the room.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Thinking of something gross.
    For example, pasta bake.
    I'll be just about to take a bite into it and I'll see a gloopy bit of pasta and it'll remind me of body fluid, and that'll me be done.

I'll be about to mow into a sandwich and an image earlier of some fella rooting his nose will pop into my head.

I'll eat out in a restaurant and wonder if someone jizzed in the dishwasher and was my plate washed in spunk.

I'll cook chicken for myself and convince myself it's still raw just as I'm chewing it and I'll be sick.

My mind works over time creating scenarios at the most ridiculous times.

"Did you get a funny smell when we opened it? I thought I did. No, it was probably something else. No, I reckon I imagined it. Don't mind me, it's fine."

"No, no, I wish I hadn't said anything now. Seriously don't mind me. It's in date according to the package."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,400 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Biting into undercooked food.

Or who bite the cutlery.

Guy in work used to do this. He'd clamp his teeth down on the fork and drag them along it to remove the food.

Two of us actually sat him down and taught him how to use his lips to achieve the same effect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,950 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Unnecessary conversation...fuck off, I'm eating :mad:

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Mushrooms.

There was also a guy in the canteen in work recently mixing warm tuna fresh from the microwave with cold tuna straight from a tin. I nearly puked on him.

"No, no, I wish I hadn't said anything now. Seriously don't mind me. It's in date according to the package."

Let's stop talking about it, I'd rather just throw on a cheese toastie at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Mushrooms, or huge chunks of onion.

Also, people who eat like a bloody hippo. Lived with a fella before who would loudly slurp up all his meals. The worst was when he ate a bunch of cold spaghetti hoops straight from the tin. Armageddon. Horrific.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

I suffer with mild Misophonia. I just have to leave the table if somebody is making too much noise, it gets me seriously worked up. It can become a big problem when eating out with a group of people.

I've very nearly started crying when I couldn't remove myself from the vicinity of someone eating too loud, just as a pure physical reaction to the stress of it. I know that sounds ridiculous to people who don't know what misophonia is like, but it's like nails on a chalkboard or like someone's just poking me in the side over and over, it's not something that can be tuned out.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,919 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Depending on the person this can be highly erotic IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

Nothing here has bugged me so far, except pubes in food. That would put anyone off!

The only thing that makes me physically step away from the table, is someone picking their nose or when someone scrapes the cutlery off the plate. Ugh, both are equally disgusting to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

I've very nearly started crying when I couldn't remove myself from the vicinity of someone eating too loud, just as a pure physical reaction to the stress of it. I know that sounds ridiculous to people who don't know what misophonia is like, but it's like nails on a chalkboard or like someone's just poking me in the side over and over, it's not something that can be tuned out.
    My god, it has a name! I thought I was just a contrary bitch but yeah I'm like that. I feel physically sick and it's really hard to stay in the room.

I feel physically sick and it's really hard to stay in the room.

I get angry if I can hear someone chewing. Even if they've their mouth closed. I try to have some TV show on during dinner so I can't hear the chewing.

It really upsets me as well.

It's the reason I wear headphones a lot.

One day at work, my boss was asking me a question so I took my headphones out. He was eating an apple!!! And talking with bits of apple in his mouth!!!! I had to extricate myself from the situation as quickly as possible and disappear until I could be sure the core of the apple was in the bin...

People don't understand and that's why I get people like:
    - My mother, who will eat sucky sweets loudly while standing close to me.
    - My "friend" from Waterford, who uploads videos to facebook of himself eating apples and tags me in them... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

There are very few things that would physically put me off my dinner, and they’ve been mentioned.

There are a large number of things that spoil my enjoyment of a meal. Food served on slates, drinks served in kilner jars, the scraping of cutlery on plates, the loud hollow laughter of a bunch of middle-aged women getting drunk on cheap red wine, men hanging their jackets on the back of chairs, uneven tables and chairs. To avoid the majority of these potential spoilers I tend to eat in upmarket restaurants as opposed to the casual and gastropub scenes that have become popular amongst some folk. Of course you’ll occasionally find people who don’t fit in eating there as well. The ill-fitting jacket, the look of shock and fear in the eyes as they peruse the wine list and realise the prices, the muttering about portion sizes from men whose belly shows that portion control might be an idea worth considering.

Aongus, when we go on our date am I going to need to get a bag of chips on the way home from the restaurant?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

Aongus, when we go on our date am I going to need to get a bag of chips on the way home from the restaurant?

It's difficult enough dating one woman without bringing a stranger from the Internet on one as well. I'm not a fan of a bag of chips either, especially from those disgusting Italian chippers so loved by Irish people.

I'll share them with her, promise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Not so much my dinner but me and a workmate both got pints of Guinness with hair in the head off the same barmaid on Sunday night. They went straight back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

People who eat like pigs.
    Or who lick their fingers.
    Or who bite the cutlery.
    I'd nearly have to leave the room.

That doesn't rhyme.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭armaghlad

Incessant coughing or sneezing at the dinner table!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

People who chew with their mouth open or bite on the cutlery! Aaargh, it's basic manners that everyone should learn in childhood.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,919 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Youse all sound like the kind of soft ****es that would claim thousands for trauma.

I'm traumatised by your insults. My lawyer will be in touch.

You know when someone eats something that's too big to fit into their mouth properly? And then some sauce, or gravy, or whatever rubs off on the corner of their mouth as they force it in? And that bit of sauce, or gravy, or whatever is just left there, right on that crease at where their two lips meet, as they chew away and reach down for their next over-sized bite?

That.

It's worse if whatever has set up camp in their mouth-crease is light in colour. Mayonnaise or similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

People who eat loudly with their mouths open, and who get food or sauces, etc all over their face and hands, like a toddler. Actually I include toddlers in this...it just makes me queasy. But if you are an adult - that's what your napkin is for, you cretin!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

The smell of fish puts me off my dinner. Its ok it I am eating it myself, but if someone else is having fish the smell of turns my stomach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Calamari. Masquerading as onion rings.

:mad:

Feckin' deep fried ar5eholes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭armaghlad

Malari wrote: »
    People who eat loudly with their mouths open, and who get food or sauces, etc all over their face and hands, like a toddler. Actually I include toddlers in this...it just makes me queasy. But if you are an adult - that's what your napkin is for, you cretin!
    Lived with a friend during college and he earned the nickname "Crumbsie" because of his complete lack of table manners.

- Eat like a washing machine? Check
    - Talk with mouth full? Check
    - Spit food at you? Check
    - Food all over the table around his plate? Check
    - Food all round his face? Check

Also had the incredibly annoying habit of watching you eat and asking could he have have some!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Lady is a tramp

Couldn't eat my dinner today coz everyone else there was eating cabbage, and it smells like pee. :( Manky stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I get the same feelings, it's like a rage starts building up inside of me. On a few occasions I've roared at the person or banged the table in frustration. I feel so embarrassed afterwards, god knows what people make of it.

My best course of action in public is to get up from the table and go the toilet and take a few minutes to try and calm my body down, even if it means leaving the table 3 or four times throughout the dinner service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,411 ✭✭✭Quandary

This lad at work started eating his own sh1te right in front of me one day. I was disgusted and couldn't eat my dinner that night.

Worked out grand in the end though. I managed to take my mind off it.

Quandary wrote: »
    This lad at work started eating his own sh1te right in front of me one day. I was disgusted and couldn't eat my dinner that night.

Worked out grand in the end though. I managed to take my mind off it.

Wait. Is this a joke that went over my head or..?