Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ever been mugged?

• 29-02-2016 09:15PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭

That thread about needle centres got me thinking.

I have been mugged, when I was 15. I'll never forget it. My friend and I skipped school and went into town one day. Ironically, we ended up learning a far more valuable lesson: never, under any circumstance, engage knackers in conversation.

Not only were we firmly on the Southside, what seemed a million miles from the types of unsavoury characters often found across the water, but we were only at the bottom of f*cking Grafton St. "Knackers don't venture over to this side," we thought. As it turns out, they do unfortunately. Well, they did this day for some reason.

We'll never know what brought them over the bridge. Perhaps they could smell our naivety from JD Sports on Henry St and, like the sharks they are, honed in on us until our posh-boy scent increased. They found us right near that cigar shop.

One of them pretended to know me: "James, isn't it?" he said. As soon as I answered, that was that. Goodnight Irene. His knacker hooks were in me, not that I knew this at the time. "No my name isn't James," I probably responded, with a big smile, because I'm quite a trusting fellow.

There was two of them. We said there was five when we shared the story with our other friends incase they asked us why we didn't fight them. Now, don't ask me how or why, because I don't know the answer to either, but we ended up being escorted to the shuttered doorway right beside the cigar shop, where I was specifically told that a refusal to co-operate (not their words, obviously) would result in my jaw being broken.

By that stage I was so scared that I would've given them my school uniform and walked back to Dun Laoghaire naked so long as they didn't punch me in the face. I'm not a model or anything - just posh and irrationally afraid of pain.

Thankfully, they just wanted my phone and about €30 in cash. I was particularly upset over the phone. It was a Sharp phone, one of the first ever camera phones I believe, and it had hundreds of excellent snaps on it - most of which were pictures of myself and the lads shaking our heads vigorously while having the photo taken, producing a hilarious image in the process.

And that was that. We were angry, so angry that we wanted to pursue them, but the likely event of catching up to them scared us again so we left it there. We were also going to go to the Garda station near D'olier St, but we basically thought skipping school was a criminal offence which carried a mandatory 10-year sentence so we left it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,441 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I'd love to say 'yes, I bought Eircom shares', but I didn't. Pity I didn't think back then that I'd be missing a golden opportunity for a witty post.

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

I have been the victim of an attempted mugging before.

Telling someone you don't have anything and then telling them to get out of your way when they don't believe you is not the right response, it would seem.

Never thankfully. I'd be absolutely terrified! Jeepers. I've no idea how I would react. Freeze probably. Very cowardly when it comes to such things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,805 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

No offence,but you sound so posh I'd be tempted to mug you too.

Me?? Or the OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭Falthyron

I worked in an Xtravision and one night a young entrepreneur decided to enter the premises and relieve the store of its overwhelming wealth with the use of a gun. The gentleman was quite discreet in showing me the weapon before I willingly opened our till groaning under the pressure of notes and coins. He left the premises with a wholesome 70 euro.

Personally though, I have never been mugged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭c_meth

As a teenager I was waiting for a mate at the bottom of O connell st (Dublin). I was leaning against shutters of shop looking as cool as fu(k when 4 lads approached me and boxed me in.

The scary part is that they were so casual and calm as they threatened to batter seven shades of $hite out of me if I didn't give them all my money. Passers by were inches away but oblivious to the events.

I put my head down as if to reach into pocket and headbutted/ barged through guy directly in front. I was very proud of myself but I did have to change my trousers when I got home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,402 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Twice today you've stolen my time from me with your junior cert essay true life happenings OP, so yes I have.

There was also the time some teenage scumbag grabbed hold of me on the way home from the UCI when I was younger and said 'I'm not letting go of you till you give me your money.' I replied 'I'm not going to stop punching you until you let go of me.' He let go after a couple of punches.

P.S there's more junkies on Tara street and Westmoreland street than the rest of the city combined.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 91 ✭✭stefan.kuntz

endacl wrote: »
    I'd love to say 'yes, I bought Eircom shares', but I didn't. Pity I didn't think back then that I'd be missing a golden opportunity for a witty post.

:(

Prepare to be robbed by the left wing nut jobs if they get into gubermint.

You'll have lots of stories to tell the grandkids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Every year when I have to pay the property tax.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Never been mugged.

I do find it kinda silly though how southside boys think the Liffey somehow keeps unsavoury types at bay!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 91 ✭✭stefan.kuntz

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Twice today you've stolen my time from me with your junior cert essay true life happenings OP, so yes I have.

Fool me one, shame on you ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Ya..have been

Surprised there isn't more who have/have been attempted mugged tbh

Particularly on nights out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

Yeah it was about 3am in Smithfield and I was drunk walking home.

Fella stood in front of me, told me to give him my wallet. Told him to fúck off.

He decked me and next thing I know I was lying on the ground with one guy holding my head to the ground with his foot, while simultaneously holding a knife to my throat. Another fella then went through my pockets and took phone, wallet and smokes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I was mugged about 15 years ago. I was in my late 50s then and fit enough to get up and give chase until a passer by helped stop one of them. I got my wallet and watch back and told the creep we caught to make himself scarce. A young gurrier, far from brave when his mates abandoned him. I came across him some months later and he skulked away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

I was mugged about 15 years ago. I was in my late 50s then and fit enough to get up and give chase until a passer by helped stop one of them. I got my wallet and watch back and told the creep we caught to make himself scarce. A young gurrier, far from brave when his mates abandoned him. I came across him some months later and he skulked away.

That's a bit strong a few digs would've sufficed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

A friend claims a junkie tried to mug him in Cork city years ago but my mate threw a punch and the fella dropped, knocked out cold.

I don't believe him but he swears by it.

Turtyturd wrote: »

Junior cert? Behave.
    AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Never been mugged.

I do find it kinda silly though how southside boys think the Liffey somehow keeps unsavoury types at bay!

We don't really though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Hammer89 wrote: »
    We don't really though.

You kinda did when you were young though. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,102 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Yeah by some prick (looked Roma to me) got my wallet and phone

Was drunk so didn't panic much but didn't fight back incase he had a knife or something. Could of been worse I blame myself for going up they street at that time of the night.

Reported it to the guards and never heard anything about it. Hope they guy who did it dies screaming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭ItsShane

In about 2004, when I was 15, The Misfits were playing a gig in the then Temple Bar Music Centre.
    I was walking by central bank with a friend of mine and before we knew it, 3 junkies had us cornered and began helping themselves to what was in our pockets. I had about €15 on me at the time and they took it. They left me with enough money to get a bus home. How very generous. Had this sort of fear in me whenever I went in to town by myself from then on for about a year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Hammer89 wrote: »
    That's a bit strong a few digs would've sufficed.

Hilarious.

You asked a question. I gave a civil answer. And got a crude retort.

A gentleman, if ever there was one.

Hilarious.

You asked a question. I gave a civil answer. And got a crude retort.

A gentleman, if ever there was one.

I am a gent actually. I gave a deprived Northsider a free phone and €30 when I was 15 :o

Yup. In Chatelet when I lived in Paris. Pissed drunk at all hours when I got pinned against a wall by a group and had my wallet stolen. Had about a tenner in it at that hour. Then lost my phone on the metro going home and no one knew where I was. Pretty crap night to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Yep, a few weeks back while on holidays in Kenya. There was a group of 5 of us attacked, happened so fast I barely remember what happened. Do remember watching them running away with my handbag (phone, money, visa card inside, thankfully nothing else) and shouting "Please just give me back my phone"
    Sat on the side of the road crying for about an hour after, was grand the next morning. Could have been way worse.
    They found my bag with the visa card still in it, I had cancelled it straight away (kudos to the AIB helpline, I rang up and cried down the phone to them and they had it cancelled within minutes) but phone, money and make up gone.

Freakiest thing was getting back to the hotel and calming myself down, only for one of the girls who had stayed in that night to come in and say "Oh Liz, thank god you're back. Had an awful dream that you were being attacked" :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

LizT wrote: »
    Yep, a few weeks back while on holidays in Kenya. There was a group of 5 of us attacked, happened so fast I barely remember what happened. Do remember watching them running away with my handbag (phone, money, visa card inside, thankfully nothing else) and shouting "Please just give me back my phone"
    Sat on the side of the road crying for about an hour after, was grand the next morning. Could have been way worse.
    They found my bag with the visa card still in it, I had cancelled it straight away (kudos to the AIB helpline, I rang up and cried down the phone to them and they had it cancelled within minutes) but phone, money and make up gone.

Freakiest thing was getting back to the hotel and calming myself down, only for one of the girls who had stayed in that night to come in and say "Oh Liz, thank god you're back. Had an awful dream that you were being attacked" :eek:

Dream, sure :rolleyes: She hired them!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,794 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Yes, Grangegorman about 20 years ago. Got threatened with a syringe which they said had blood in it.

Handed over my wallet with about 30 punts in it. It had a callcard in it also. They put the empty wallet back on the ground exactly they mugged me some time later that day/the next day.

LizT wrote: »

Yep, they were Kenyans alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Oh the Sharp GX10, good phone alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Nope but had three scary moments where I thought I might be.

1st time I was about 17 or 18, on Townsend street. There was nothing around, no shops, no businesses, and lots of flats. These two guys, tracksuit clad, strong accents came out of behind the flats, and approached me asking for smokes. I thought this is it now, that's me toast. I don't smoke. So I blurted out "no but I have chewing gum" wtf, completely stupid. Anyway they weren't even trying to mug me but I got such a fright.

2nd time, I was walking through that lane at Coppers that links harcourt st and Camden street, one Saturday evening I'm walking from Camden towards harcourt. There's 2 or 3 obviously junkies under the arch. As I walked towards them, one of them got up and was a bit uneasy, walking up and back. As I got closer, he started walking down towards me. Stupidly I had my phone out and planned on keeping my head down to walk passed them.

Next thing a group of really loud, probably tipsy guys rounded the corner from harcourt street so they were walking down towards me too. The junkie guy turned and walked back to where his friends were, and I scurried passed them onto the Main Street. To this day I think that if those lads hadn't had come around onto the lane when they did, I would have been relieved of my possessions. Never ever ever walked that way again.

3rd time. Was doing a makeup artistry course in Dublin so was staying overnight in that hotel on dame street. Got off the bus on college green and it was pissing rain. I had a little wheely case, in a pair of ridiculously high shoes I could barely walk in, and a massive handbag that kept falling off my shoulder. So, due to my ridiculous choice in footwear, I was struggling somewhat. With the bag, with trying to keep my hair dry so it wouldn't frizz up and leave me looking electrocuted, with the suitcase and with being really slow in the shoes.
    I'm walking along, and you know when you can sense someone very close behind you? I turned around and this extremely odd looking old man was behind me. It was a quick glance to check and see if someone was there so didn't pay much attention. A couple of seconds passed by and he didn't pass me by so I glanced behind me again and he was practically up on top of me. I tried walk a little faster but I was really freaked out, so I stopped dead in my tracks, turned directly around and he practically walked straight into me. I put my hand up to push him back he was that close. At that stage he got very very flustered. He shouted "change, change! Have you got any change?" At me. I said no I don't, and with that he just flew out passed me, walked really fast ahead of me. Now, to my left a little bit further on there was like an arch/shelter where people were standing underneath waiting for a bus. I noticed the same man lurking right next to a girl of similar age also with a large handbag.