Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Plural of 'Healy Reas ', were gonna need to know

• 29-02-2016 7:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭

is it 'the Healys Reas ', 'the Healy Reas' or another ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

That pair of inbred hicks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

Healing rays? Is this about tanning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭cyning

Oops69 wrote: »
    is it 'the Healys Reas ', 'the Healy Reas' or another ?

Neither. Mainly because it's Healy Rae ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

Nice ninja edit recovery. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

It would have to be the Healeys Rae.

Their surname is Healy, the Rae part is just a nickname to differentiate them from other Healy families nearby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

the philosopher Fr Jack had the perfect term..."Gob5hites!"

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

You need a collective not a plural. A clatter of Healy Rae?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

A drunk driving of Healy Raes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

A baboon troop of Healys Rae

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

I do not care either way. F*ck em and their parish pump politics.

It would have to be the Healeys Rae.

Their surname is Healy, the Rae part is just a nickname to differentiate them from other Healy families nearby.

The were from Rae originally.

But pretty sure they've changed their name by deed poll, they appear on the ballot paper as Healy Rae, so it's now their actual name and plural is Healy Raes. It's what they refer to themselves as anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

A gaggle of Healy Raes.

They work very hard for their constituents?

Well, I guess just like every other TD in the Dail so...or at least they claim to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

I will call them Healy- Rae.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Two different cheeks of the same arse...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

It's "we're"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

Rea Nua?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

Raenua

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 5,620 ✭✭✭El_Dangeroso

God Kerry people are really a (in) breed apart aren't they?

I hate this corrupt shitty country sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,873 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

An embarrassment of Healy Raes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭UrbanSprawl

Fleawuss wrote: »
    You need a collective not a plural. A clatter of Healy Rae?

How about a flock of Healy Raes given how they like to feather their own nests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

A Comb Over of Healy Reas.

What corruption are you implying?

The people of Kerry elected reps that woke hard for their constituents. Just as some left wing urban rep might work hard for those who make representations to them.

I always dislike the way those who campaign on urban issues or issues relevant to those in towns and cities are somehow seen as working class heroes. Tony Gregory being the most famous example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

A mugging of Healy-Raes (it's hyphenated, so I reckon the 's' goes at the end :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,739 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

keano_afc wrote: »
    A drunk driving of Healy Raes.

An over the limit of Healy Raes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,166 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

I thought their acceptance speech was great, it sounded like they wanted to make love with every single ballot paper that voted them, think Randy Marsh, South Park, ectoplasm.

The people of Kerry elected reps that woke hard for their constituents. Just as some left wing urban rep might work hard for those who make representations to them.

I always dislike the way those who campaign on urban issues or issues relevant to those in towns and cities are somehow seen as working class heroes. Tony Gregory being the most famous example.

The urban left types are just as bad in my book and share a lot in common with the Healys Rae, both groups want something for nothing.

They are cute hoors through and through, and people from Kerry should be embarrassed to be represented by them.

The urban left types are just as bad in my book and share a lot in common with the Healys Rae, both groups want something for nothing.

They are cute hoors through and through, and people from Kerry should be embarrassed to be represented by them.

But just for clarity, not corrupt?

Being a "cute hoor" is not exactly a crime in politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,310 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Here's your proof.
    "Any decision that I or my brother would ever take would first of all be in the interests of the people of Co Kerry and secondly in the interest of the country," Mr Healy-Rae said.

"But whatever we’ll do we won’t make any mistake about what we do."

When asked if he and his brother would vote the same way, Mr Healy-Rae said: "We’ve pulled together this far and we managed against all the odds to get two people from the same house elected on the same day on the same ballot paper and I believe I got the highest vote in the country and I want to shove this on to the big shots in Dublin who looked down their noses at us for a long time.

"Well they got their answer too because we’ve a clear mandate to represent the people of Kerry."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,310 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Gregory was just as bad. An urban parish pump politico.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭sheesh

thanks for that.

Are you actually from Galway or is there another county I should insult?

Didn't vote for either of them myself but they are currently riding the wave anti-established parties even though they voted for the previous fianna fail government. you have to admit it is a pretty impressive trick.

I wouldn't want to get boards into trouble by alleging corruption.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/election2016/election2016-news-and-analysis/danny-healy-rae-company-highest-paid-for-works-by-council-383865.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭The Young Wan

A disaster of Healy Raes?

maudgonner wrote: »

Exactly, and nevermind those thousands of phone calls made from the dail so someone could win a reality tv show.. How anyone can defend them with a straight face I'll never understand.
    sheesh wrote: »
    thanks for that.

Are you actually from Galway or is there another county I should insult?

Didn't vote for either of them myself but they are currently riding the wave anti-established parties even though they voted for the previous fianna fail government. you have to admit it is a pretty impressive trick.

Apologies to the intelligent people of Kerry, I retract my comment. But there is something truly disgusting about these gowls who keep getting voted in, Lowry and others like them. Shower of bastards the lot of them and those who vote them in.

But there is no corruption to allege.

No more than there is in a story like this...

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/education/gilmores-wife-lands-136k-education-post-as-he-retires-34456507.html

Politicians family or family businesses are not precluded from obtaining work paid for by the public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

I would say that alot more of the 30,000 people that voted for them are embarrased for you moreso than the Healy-Rae's.

Exactly, and nevermind those thousands of phone calls made from the dail so someone could win a reality tv show.. How anyone can defend them with a straight face I'll never understand.

Apologies to the intelligent people of Kerry, I retract my comment. But there is something truly disgusting about these gowls who keep getting voted in, Lowry and others like them. Shower of bastards the lot of them and those who vote them in.

There is no comparison whatsoever between Lowry and the Healy Raes. None. Are you seriously suggesting Lowrys wrongs were comparable with overusing the Dail phone?

You are just throwing out everything and anything now.

I don't like the Healy Raes, but I know intelligent people who vote for them. Because they work extremely hard to represent their constituents.

But there is no corruption to allege.

No more than there is in a story like this...

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/education/gilmores-wife-lands-136k-education-post-as-he-retires-34456507.html

Politicians family or family businesses are not precluded from obtaining work paid for by the public.

I was very careful not to allege corruption, as was the Examiner. But I will point out the...serendipity...of a political family that are famous for putting a priority on getting potholes fixed in their constituency also owning the road contractors that do a good proportion of the fixing.

Where is the line between cute hoorism and corruption? That's not for me to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭subpar

Would be better called
    The Realy Hay Party

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Childish post.

I don't like the Healy Raes, but I know intelligent people who vote for them. Because they work extremely hard to represent their constituents.

I agree with this, by the way. I posted elsewhere saying that they fully deserve those two seats, for their work ethic, their political machine, and for having the insight to spot the opportunity of the second seat when the big political organisations didn't take advantage of it.

But they do sail a little close to the wind ;)

I was very careful not to allege corruption, as was the Examiner. But I will point out the...serendipity...of a political family that are famous for putting a priority on getting potholes fixed in their constituency also owning the road contractors that do a good proportion of the fixing.

Where is the line between cute hoorism and corruption? That's not for me to say.

Again, it's as...serendipitous as the wife of the former leader of a party getting a well paid non advertised role.

But like the Healy Raes, I have no idea that she wasn't the best fit for the job.

And the line is very clear. Corruption is defined in legislation here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

Some men for getting stuff done in kerry, i know all my family and friends voted for them and if i was in kerry i would have done the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Some men for getting stuff done in kerry, i know all my family and friends voted for them and if i was in kerry i would have done the same.

What do they get done for people that people aren't legally entitled to anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Fleawuss wrote: »
    What do they get done for people that people aren't legally entitled to anyway?

People are legally entitled to just about everything bar drugs and bombs/guns but getting access to your entitlements is another days work. If you were stuck would you approach these boys or would you approach some lefty no mark from Dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Childish post.

I'm in Louth ffs.

We elected Grizzly Adams and what looks like one of his teddies

People are gonna call the Healy Ray's a lot worse than inbred hicks over the next few years

I'm sure they couldn't care less about it either. They've got far more leathier necks than most of their supporters do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Well, my own county inflicted Hirohito Haughey and that gowl Bertie Ahearn on the country for decades. So as easy as it is to mock and deride the Healy Raes and the people who voted for them, I'd feel a bit of hypocritical doing so. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Well my own county inflicted Hirohito Haughey and that gowl Bertie Ahearn on the country for decades. So as easy as it is to mock and deride the Healy Raes and the people who voted for them, I'd feel a bit of hypocritical doing so. :rolleyes:
    When you see the calibre of the politicians we elect, its difficult not to agree with the German professor who said that as a country we are not capable of governing ourselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

maryishere wrote: »
    When you see the calibre of the politicians we elect, its difficult not to agree with the German professor who said that as a country we are not capable of governing ourselves.

My parents told me that Charlie Haughey was one of the best & most progressive Ministers for Social Welfare we ever had. And that is high praise from them, as they couldn't stand the man or FF. He brought in the free travel pass and a lot of other reforms that made a big difference in the lives of elderly pensioners. As he was in a constituency with a lot of older voters, he had no trouble topping the poll on merit, not chicanery. But once he got higher up the FF food chain and got a taste of real power as Taoiseach, it corrupted him completely.

maryishere wrote: »

On the other hand we didn't try to take over the world, repeatedly and badly.