Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"I don't know what they expected. There was no where for anyone to get sick."

• 26-02-2016 8:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭

This is literally the funniest thing I've read in a long time :D

Bunch of drunken eejits muppetise a train, leaving it in need of a deep clean due to embedded vomit and... "other fluids" (:eek:) - when confronted by the media over the aforementioned incident, they respond “We were locked in there with one toilet between 300 people - I don't know what they expected. There was nowhere for anyone to get sick.”

Article has plenty of other gems, I won't spoiler the whole thing.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/irish-rail-forced-to-pull-train-from-service-after-drunken-students-vomited-throughout-34485907.html

Vileness aside, I'm in two minds about whether this journey sounds like it would have been great craic or an absolute nightmare to partake in. Guess that means I'm truly straddling the line between the early and late twenties :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Students, ffs! :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

I was on a stag a couple of weeks ago Dublin to Tralee. Drank the whole way down. Nice big group having a good bit of banter but not bothering any one. Even offered the ticket checker a can as he was fairly sound (he politely refused).

If we can do it why cant these idiots do it? Light weights

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

I think Irish Rail have some nerve to blame the students. 1 toilet working on a whole train of 300 people is less than acceptable. They can't even run the Dublin-Belfast line without constant breakdowns and delays so I shouldn't be surprised.

The science and HEALTH society...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

godtabh wrote: »
    Even offered the ticket checker a can as he was fairly sound (he politely refused).

The foreign STT security guys on the DART are the best for this (interestingly it's the Irish ones who seem more likely to be dry sh!tes) - if they catch you with drink on the last DART of the night they'll take the can, wait until the train stops at a station, and then you basically have to shotgun the can as quickly as possible before they feck it out the door just as it's about to close :D

discus wrote: »
    I think Irish Rail have some nerve to blame the students. 1 toilet working on a whole train of 300 people is less than acceptable. They can't even run the Dublin-Belfast line without constant breakdowns and delays so I shouldn't be surprised.

Yeah Irish Rail are to blame for a load of pissed up students getting sick all over carriages! Nothing to do with the students at all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

I was on a stagg a couple of weeks ago Dublin to Tralee. Drank the whole way down. Nice big group having a good bit of banter but not bothering any one. Even offered the ticket checker a can as he was fairly sound (he politely refused).

If we can do why cant these idiots do it? Light weights
    I'd sy you bothered A LOT of people who were too polite to say anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭clairek6

Iwasfrozen wrote: »

This exactly almost every friday on packed dublin to galway train idiotic stag groups blaring music and shouting and drinking and not one bit aware of the annoyance they are

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

I doubt it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

At least DCU has stated to charge the cleanup to the societies responsible for the event....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

Some people love to get bothered by people enjoying themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

clairek6 wrote: »
    This exactly almost every friday on packed dublin to galway train idiotic stag groups blaring music and shouting and drinking and not one bit aware of the annoyance they are

"Y'all gon' make me LOSE MY MIND. UP IN HERE? UP IN HERE!" -- The last DART pretty much every Friday night :pac:

If you think the train is rambunctious, try taking the Nitelink ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Oh God, I wish I hadn't clicked that link. Did they have to have photos? And this line:
    Irish Rail said they found vomit and other fluids throughout the train

Way too much information.

Bleurrgh. (Not really, I am not a DCU student, I can restrain myself from vomiting inappropriately).

maudgonner wrote: »
    Oh God, I wish I hadn't clicked that link. Did they have to have photos?

Yeah looking at the photos at 8am this morning was not very nice :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

IR says that there were 5 toilets. I wouldn't be too surprised if 4 of them were rendered inoperable by the students though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

They are no better than pigs - bear in mind that this was going TO the event - and then the excuses come out, because none of them could have made it to a corner of the carriage perhaps? No, just vomit on a seat, it'll be grand - dirty bastards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,710 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

I wouldn't like to take a UV light to that train

There were 5 working cubicles at the start of the journey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Where was the Irish Rail Bucket? That's what I usually have to relieve myself in when on the train.

This line also got a laugh from me:
    It was carnage in Galway City but on the train, everyone was well behaved

Jeez, if that's well behaved, what the hell did they get up to in Galway? The city's only just got over Rag Week!

Eta: The Novena is on in the Cathedral this week, I think. That's probably the event they came down for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭ejabrod

I was on a stag a couple of weeks ago Dublin to Tralee. Drank the whole way down. Nice big group having a good bit of banter but not bothering any one. Even offered the ticket checker a can as he was fairly sound (he politely refused).

If we can do it why cant these idiots do it? Light weights

Tralee for a stag??????? :eek:

Jaysus, times are bad :D

maudgonner wrote: »
    Eta: The Novena is on in the Cathedral this week, I think. That's probably the event they came down for.

Ah that explains it so, they were sick with excitement :p

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

It must have been something they ate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

spew thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭DareGod

I heard that there were 3 toilets on the train and 2 of them were out of service, so there was only 1 toilet for 300 students.

If that's the truth, then what kinda of muppets invite 300 students onto a train.... AND only provide 1 toilet?

The students are entirely responsible for their actions, nobody else, but Irish Rail were extremely idiotic to do what they did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,734 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

DareGod wrote: »
    I heard that there were 3 toilets on the train and 2 of them were out of service, so there was only 1 toilet for 300 students.

If that's the truth, then what kinda of muppets invite 300 students onto a train.... AND only provide 1 toilet?

The students are entirely responsible for their actions, nobody else, but Irish Rail were extremely idiotic to do what they did.

Link in OP says there were 5 working toilets, down to 4 by the end of the journey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭DareGod

osarusan wrote: »
    Link in OP says there were 5 working toilets, down to 4 by the end of the journey.

Assuming that's true, I still think Irish Rail were ridiculously stupid to charter a train to 300 students. I wouldn't do that in a million years.

Obviously, nothing takes away from the fact that the students are entirely responsible for their actions.

DareGod wrote: »
    Assuming that's true, I still think Irish Rail were ridiculously stupid to charter a train to 300 students. I wouldn't do that in a million years.

Obviously, nothing takes away from the fact that the students are entirely responsible for their actions.

Not really that stupid, as said in the OP link they had often chartered trains for student groups and never had these sort of problems before.

We can't tar all students with the same brush just because one gang of them acted like immature assholes

And considering there are only a few vomit pics I doubt all 300 were equally responsible for what happened

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭jobbridge4life

Love that they got in a bit of Trinity snobbery.
    “We regularly have student charters from Trinity and have never had a problem with the condition that the train was left in,” the rail service added.
    They should tell that to the ski resort the Trinners nearly destroyed a few years ago...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

“We regularly have student charters from Trinity and have never had a problem with the condition that the train was left in,” the rail service added.
    They should tell that to the ski resort the Trinners nearly destroyed a few years ago...
    Trinners for keeping down their dinners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,238 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Joe Duffy covered this in depth yesterday if any of ye want to listen back for a laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Trinners for keeping down their dinners

Reminds me of the kickers, pitchers, maulers and growlers party back in the day. There were a few careers took a detour after that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

To be perfectly honest there needs to be a complete ban enforced on the consumption of alcohol on the Galway trains.
    I use it often enough to have run into more then my fair share of stag parties, students on a bender and middle aged cackling haradins kocking back bottles of white wine. None of which I have anything against, but at the same time, none of which I want to be trapped in an enclosed space with for several hours.
    If people can't behave like civilized respectful human beings for a couple of hours then the most of us I suspect would rather endure a ban on booze on that line rather then endure the parade of drunken muppets that frequent it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

"Muppetise". What a beautiful word OP, I'm stealing it.

Ah leave them alone, they were on the piste!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

conorhal wrote: »
    To be perfectly honest there needs to be a complete ban enforced on the consumption of alcohol on the Galway trains.
    There already is such a ban.

Whether it's enforced or not, I don't know though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Breaking news - "Irish students get drunk, act the fool."

Joe Duffy's the right place for it.

cdeb wrote: »

I'm guessing not, that article is from 2014, clearly nobody told the hen party of 8 that left 16 empty bottles of wine on their tables when they staggered off when last I was on that train in October....

Not at all,

Myself and a buddy were going from Ballina to Dublin and were hiding our drinks under the table like little schoolboys, sneaking a mouthful here and there - then we saw a fella stroll the length of the carriage, squeezing past the conductor on route, with a bottle of Miller in his hand

Needless to say our drinks were soon on the table and not a word was said when our tickets were checked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Hands up who never puked while drinking as a student? What they did wasn't great behaviour, but lot of people on their high horse about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

conorhal wrote: »
    I use it often enough to have run into more then my fair share of stag parties, students on a bender and middle aged cackling haradins kocking back bottles of white wine. None of which I have anything against, but at the same time, none of which I want to be trapped in an enclosed space with for several hours.
    If people can't behave like civilized respectful human beings for a couple of hours then the most of us I suspect would rather endure a ban on booze on that line rather then endure the parade of drunken muppets that frequent it.

Would ya p1ss off! My GF and I often pop a bottle of Prosecco and a bag of crisps on the way down from Dublin after i've been up there for work. Bothering no one, having a chat (and often gave a glass to someone sitting next to us, who often joined in rambling conversation).

I've been interrupted much more by absolute loonies on that train before who insist on shouting across the carriage to you, who are perfectly sober. Maybe we should just ban the nut-jobs from boarding the train?

What SHOULD be enforced is the train conductor being present on the train and regular walks up and down the train to ensure there is no anti-social behavior. One complaint or obviously acting the muppet = drink confiscated.

I have absolutely no intention on taking a hit because of these muppets.

I don't think that's on all Galway trains though, just the ones they had specific problems with (Sunday afternoon I think?).

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

1pm from Galway on Sunday, and some Friday afternoon ones on other routes.

Which seems a sensible approach in fairness. Although would have thought action on the Friday train to Galway made more sense than on the Sunday train back to Dublin.

But if posters above have been on the exact trains and say there's drink, then...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Once you don't act the b0llox and annoy other passengers you should be able to drink whatever you want on a train

act up and you should have the garda waiting at the next station

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Ice Maiden

Cienciano wrote: »
    Hands up who never puked while drinking as a student? What they did wasn't great behaviour, but lot of people on their high horse about it.
    Is it not more the trashing of the train than mere getting drunk and puking by itself though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Ice Maiden wrote: »
    Is it not more the trashing of the train than mere getting drunk and puking by itself though?

I don't see seats getting thrown through windows and tear gas being let off

puke seems to be the "trashing"

I don't see seats getting thrown through windows and tear gas being let off

puke seems to be the "trashing"
    Well, dirtied up the train with vomit and "other fluids" to the point that it had to be taken out of service and deep cleaned. Criticising that is hardly the same as criticising students getting drunk and puking in the general sense!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Doylers

Why is alcohol even aloud on trains can people not go 2 hours without drinking or something?

Ice Maiden wrote: »
    Well, dirtied up the train with vomit and "other fluids" to the point that it had to be taken out of service and deep cleaned. Criticising that is hardly the same as criticising students getting drunk and puking in the general sense!

Vomit, other fluids and a used condom (according to the student newspaper report).

At least they were practising safe sex, I suppose?

Once you don't act the b0llox and annoy other passengers you should be able to drink whatever you want on a train

act up and you should have the garda waiting at the next station
    But if respectful passengers turn into b0llox acting headwrecks after a few drinks, the horse has bolted. Bar carriages (and no alcoholic drinks elsewhere on the train) seems the way around it in my opinion.