Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Grand Theft Auto - Vice City

• 25-02-2016 9:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭

Ok shutup a second ok. This game was released on PS2 in 2002 and was set in the 1980's. I played this game as a teenager and loved it. I thought cool the 80's, wow olden times.

Ok shut up. That game was released 14 years ago now. When it was released, 1988 was 14 years ago....from 2002. You get it?

So that means they could release a game now set in 2002 and today's teenagers would have the same feeling of being transported back in time to a different world of olden times???

2002 was yesterday....what the f*ck brick d*ck is happening?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Prefer the medieval setting of Ocarina Of Time myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭valoren

That soundtrack. Brilliant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Any time before you were born seems long ago, any time after you were born seems like it was only yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

That is quite a thought. I was 12 at the time playing that, the 80s seemed so alien.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

valoren wrote: »
    That soundtrack. Brilliant.

Yeah I found the soundtrack was as much a part of the experience as any other part of the game if you get me, it was outstanding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

I know the exact answer to your post, but you told me to shut up!

Twice!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I liked it because I remembered all those songs.

This thread makes me feel old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Luiz Guzman was the star of that game. Ricardo Diaz, what a guy.

Outstanding soundtrack.

III, VC and SA were the peak of GTA imo (notable mention for VC stories). Just magic. Still play them the odd time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,917 ✭✭✭One More Toy

Time for the Lance vance dance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

TPD wrote: »
    That is quite a thought. I was 12 at the time playing that, the 80s seemed so alien.

I felt like that playing it also. I didn't like the feeling at all tbh, the terrible fashion and hairstyles and some of the music just really turned my stomach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Mint Aero wrote: »
    2002 was yesterday....what the f*ck brick d*ck is happening?

You're dying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,731 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

I felt like that playing it also. I didn't like the feeling at all tbh, the terrible fashion and hairstyles and some of the music just really turned my stomach.

Made you feel...

(2002)

GTA III was set in present time, that would be easier for someone who's 12 or whatever. But of course their target market was probably 18-30. I was 20 when VC came out, loved it. I remembered a lot of the music and loved the vibe. The whole Scarface/Miami Vice thing was great fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

TPD wrote: »

I lived through them and thought much the same. It was the hair and the day glo gloves, I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

terrible fashion and hairstyles and some of the music just really turned my stomach.

That can't be what teenagers think about the late 90's early 00's now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,508 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Gold by spandau ballet always reminds me of vice city. I don't really remember much about the game besides the music tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

I coach 14/15 year olds, yes it is! They think we were practically the Flintstones due to not having smartphones etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

Being chased with a 3* wanted level, mow down 20 pedestrians, 20 more with a drive by shooting, plough a couple of cops down while you're at it, eventually get pulled out and arrested by a Cop, and hear.....

"Tommy Versetti is an innocent man!"

GAAman wrote: »
    I coach 14/15 year olds, yes it is! They think we were practically the Flintstones due to not having smartphones etc
    One thing that ages Breaking Bad (season 1 released in 2008 ) is the distinct lack of smart phones. All flip phones!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

Being chased with a 3* wanted level, mow down 20 pedestrians, 20 more with a drive by shooting, plough a couple of cops down while you're at it, eventually get pulled out and arrested by a Cop, and hear.....

"Tommy Versetti is an innocent man!"

You got taken alive?? Wimp!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I think there was just something kitsch about the 80s culture that I didn't like, things like electro pop and big hair rock. I thought 1970s were cooler, there was something dark and edgy about that decade. I would love to see a GTA set in that time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Doing the ice cream route was good craic. :o Taking out the police helicopter with the rocket launcher, oh yas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,089 ✭✭✭duffman13

Laszlo on chatterbox radio was class, his phone in on vice city was hilarious. What a game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,438 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

Great game. Only played it for the first time a few weeks back. Bought a bundle of 5 GTA games on steam for E10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

GAAman wrote: »
    You got taken alive?? Wimp!

Sometimes you gotta take it on the chin.
    I was out the next day anyway..

I think there was just something kitsch about the 80s culture that I didn't like, things like electro pop and big hair rock. I thought 1970s were cooler, there was something dark and edgy about that decade. I would love to see a GTA set in that time.
    A 70s San Francisco (San Fierro) GTA would be amazing actually. Have a real Dirty Harry/Kojak vibe going on. But then are you a bad guy, a detective who goes by his own rules or a dirty corrupt cop on the take?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

KungPao wrote: »
    A 70s San Francisco (San Fierro) GTA would be amazing actually. Have a real Dirty Harry/Kojak vibe going on. But then are you a bad guy, a detective who goes by his own rules or a dirty corrupt cop on the take?

Why not all 3? They had 3 characters in the last game.

Shannon757 wrote: »
    Why not all 3? They had 3 characters in the last game.
    True!
    We should tell Rockstar. Would be a class game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Eutow

Nerd alert - Did anyone else deliberately wait till it was raining at nightime to complete the Juju Scramble mission? This was one of the Auntie Poulet missions to retreive three stashes of drugs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

True!
    We should tell Rockstar. Would be a class game.

I thought GTA 6 is to be set in London...

I always assumed it was common knowledge that that game was the catalyst for the huge nostalgia for 80s music people that people had from about 2003 onwards. When I was a teenager playing that game I used to love the soundtrack for Wave 103.. getting nostalgic memories now too for GTA san andreas in late 2004 .. good times!

Shannon757 wrote: »
    I thought GTA 6 is to be set in London...
    Didn't hear about it tbh. Rockstar are hard to second guess though, who knows really.

But I suppose a trip away from San Andreas state and Liberty City wouldn't be a bad idea. Freshen things up a bit.

I always assumed it was common knowledge that that game was the catalyst for the huge nostalgia for 80s music people that people had from about 2003 onwards. When I was a teenager playing that game I used to love the soundtrack for Wave 103.. getting nostalgic memories now too for GTA san andreas in late 2004 .. good times!

I don't think there was a bad station on Vice City. San Andreas, you could say was just as good in its on way. SF-UR and Radio Los Santos probably the standout.

Also OP, I think that part of the reason for what you are feeling (and I feel the same way as you) *actually is* because the jump in living standards, technology, peoples behaviour, the "culture", the social norms and expectations etc. of the day *actually did* change much more between 1988 and 2002, than between 2002 and 2016. Hell, even between say 1993 and 2000, things changed HUGELY with regard to each of the above, in Ireland anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Driving around on a Faggio with Michael Jackson's Billy Jean blaring shooting pedestrians and pulling stoppies.good times!

Eutow wrote: »
    I don't think there was a bad station on Vice City. San Andreas, you could say was just as good in its on way. SF-UR and Radio Los Santos probably the standout.
    K Rose was a favourite of mine...and I don't even like country music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,725 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

:cool::cool::cool::cool::cool::cool::cool::cool::cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭Bulbous Salutation

I'm not much of a computer game player. I will be buying the sequel to Red Dead Redemption though. That game was extraordinary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Ok shut up. That game was released 14 years ago now. When it was released, 1988 was 14 years ago....from 2002. You get it?

So that means they could release a game now set in 2002 and today's teenagers would have the same feeling of being transported back in time to a different world of olden times???

Yeah but the 80's had a very distinct look and vibe compared to the early 2000's. Miami Vice pastel suits, slip on shoes and that soundtrack were worlds apart from when the game was actually released.

2002 surely can't be that different from now though. There's been no massive fashion swing in those 14 years has there? The music is still shít now like it was back then. I have Tshirts from 2002 for god's sake. I refuse to believe this. No way.

K Rose was a favourite of mine...and I don't even like country music.

Ideal music for the truck missions, or driving the sh!tty farm vehicles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,725 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

The magic moment you jumped on a bike and it was the PCJ900. Sweet Baba Ganoosh it was a rocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Got to hand it to Rockstar, the moment in the first mission where you jump into your first car and Billy Jean is on the radio.... Just fantastic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Shut up a second ok. 4 pages and no nostalgia for the mini gun?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

Agricola wrote: »
    Got to hand it to Rockstar, the moment in the first mission where you jump into your first car and Billy Jean is on the radio.... Just fantastic.

Straight from one good tune to another - Self Control by Laura Branigan. "It is boiling in here". Used to just cruise around at night - with the odd drive by - to hear these come on the radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

What a game.

Sometimes I'd just drive around and listen to the radio. I'd stop at red lights and obey the rules of the road so the police wouldn't interrupt my cruising.

Agricola wrote: »
    Yeah but the 80's had a very distinct look and vibe compared to the early 2000's. Miami Vice pastel suits, slip on shoes and that soundtrack were worlds apart from when the game was actually released.

2002 surely can't be that different from now though. There's been no massive fashion swing in those 14 years has there? The music is still shít now like it was back then. I have Tshirts from 2002 for god's sake. I refuse to believe this. No way.
    I agree.

I blame the lack of music movements that influenced fashion. The last significant ones were probably Grunge and Britpop...(hipsters don't count).
    Since 2000 or so sh!t has got boring. When you look at videos of say 9/11, the people on the streets just look a little dated with baggier clothes, not hilariously different with massive sideburns or shoulder pads or something. Although they did like their 'taches in the US anyway, but still, not much different. Just crappier phones and Windows XP PCs with shag all RAM.

Shut up a second ok. 4 pages and no nostalgia for the mini gun?

The mini gun on the PC version was better than the XBox version for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

I agree.

I blame the lack of music movements that influenced fashion. The last significant ones were probably Grunge and Britpop...(hipsters don't count).
    Since 2000 or so sh!t has got boring. When you look at videos of say 9/11, the people on the streets just look a little dated with baggier clothes, not hilariously different with massive sideburns or shoulder pads or something. Although they did like their 'taches in the US anyway, but still, not much different. Just crappier phones and Windows XP PCs with shag all RAM.

Except they're all covered in ash.