Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fashion Police, Sartorial outrages, and other faux pas.

• 25-02-2016 1:01am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭

Time for a national conversation: socks inside the tights. I won't brook any discussion on the issue, but if anyone needs clarification on an issue, I'd be happy to oblige.

This guy doing everything right in Ballincollig today, about to attack the white horse sprint segment. Until I saw the socks. Oh, it burned.
    Lights went red before I had the chance to correct him. If anyone knows him, they might have a word.

(Notwithstanding i was pure jealous of the fiend, scorchio, and only one of us on their bike)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭Glass Prison 1214

I think the real issue here is his choice of shorts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,561 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Man up and only wear shorts. The problem solves itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭nak

Socks over legwarmers can only be acceptable if doing cyclocross.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

The Guards should be issuing on-the-spot fines for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

This needs to be an election issue.

I have checked all the parties and it is not on any of their manifestos

Except the Green Party, of course...............................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

doh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭traprunner

I'm expecting to appear on this thread while commuting :eek:

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,456 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Probably a triathlete .....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

I think the real issue here is his choice of shorts.

I think all the regulars here have them, they were a bargain alert a couple of years ago, pretty cheap at the time. Actually just found it, €24.99 from M&M back in August, 2011.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Zyzz

The gloves..oh god the gloves..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭OleRodrigo

Sweet. After a lengthy hiatus, poking fun at freds and try-athletes is back on the agenda.

* primes camera for commute home *

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭rollingscone

I wonder if the Boardsie who posted on here about seeing a male in full An Post kit with the bib straps over the jersey a few years ago has recovered from the trauma yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,098 ✭✭✭NamelessPhil

I saw several fashion crimes in France last year. Over 1230km you have a lot of time to consider other nationalities clothing choices. Brazilians wearing compression knee socks! White leg warmers and arm warmers on a chunky lad making him look like the Michelin man. A Ukranian in cut-off denim shorts and a cycling jersey, three days later he was in the same kit. Socks with SPD sandals in 25C heat.

I need the return of the puking smilie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,813 ✭✭✭cython

ThisRegard wrote: »
    I think all the regulars here have them, they were a bargain alert a couple of years ago, pretty cheap at the time. Actually just found it, €24.99 from M&M back in August, 2011.

They were a much older set of Team Sky kit. They were still made by Adidas at the time, and didn't have 20th Century Fox on them. Doesn't change it if the issue is with Sky as a whole, but just highlighting that the pictured shorts are not the ones from that offer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭koutoubia

You ought to be subscribed to Rob Fowls Facebook feed.
    Some crimes against humanity there never mind cycling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Vincenzo Nibbly

Zyzz wrote: »
    The gloves..oh god the gloves..

My 6 euro Lidl ski gloves are the warmest gloves I own - as long as it doesn't rain :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,621 ✭✭✭Macy0161

Time for a national conversation: socks inside the tights. I won't brook any discussion on the issue, but if anyone needs clarification on an issue, I'd be happy to oblige.
    What about those oversock yolks that were on the bargain alerts thread the other day? Like overshoes, only sock material rather than neoprene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭daragh_

Can we just pause this thread until Raam arrives. He'll know what to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Vincenzo Nibbly

Macy0161 wrote: »
    What about those oversock yolks that were on the bargain alerts thread the other day? Like overshoes, only sock material rather than neoprene.

I'm fairly sure those are called Belgian booties, so they're bound to be euro-sanctioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭dazed+confused

I'm fairly sure those are called Belgian booties, so they're bound to be euro-sanctioned.

And they have to look a damn sight better than navy socks over black leggings!

Open to correction but those socks look like they're from the mens section in Penneys..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭stoplooklisten

This thread is very distasteful. People are making an effort to get out and be fit and healthy and all ye can do is rip the p out of what they are wearing

I find it pathetic and putting up a picture of someone going about their business so others can join in is very sad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭Hunterbiker

The Tidy Towns crowd are really active in in these parts. I'm surprised they allowed this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭dragratchet

there's definitely a trend in people buying expensive designer socks these days. look up #sockdoping on instagram. this might lead to some wanting to show off their gear over leggings. the socks pictured don't belong in that realm and indeed look like classic sports socks your mum got you for PE in school

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭Bloggsie

I saw several fashion crimes in France last year. Over 1230km you have a lot of time to consider other nationalities clothing choices. Brazilians wearing compression knee socks! White leg warmers and arm warmers on a chunky lad making him look like the Michelin man. A Ukranian in cut-off denim shorts and a cycling jersey, three days later he was in the same kit. Socks with SPD sandals in 25C heat.

I need the return of the puking smilie.
    Dont know if it competes in the same league as this guy, I saw a lad in full hurling gear (club not county) including the to short o'neills shorts AND HURLING HELMET going through the strawberry beds one morning on the way into work. Still makes me smile to think of him

This thread is very distasteful. People are making an effort to get out and be fit and healthy and all ye can do is rip the p out of what they are wearing

I find it pathetic and putting up a picture of someone going about their business so others can join in is very sad

Sir, perhaps you have committed a faux pas yourself?

Please upload a recent training pic for analysis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭ragazzo

This guy doing everything right in Ballincollig today, about to attack the white horse sprint segment. Until I saw the socks. Oh, it burned.
    Lights went red before I had the chance to correct him. If anyone knows him, they might have a word.

(Notwithstanding i was pure jealous of the fiend, scorchio, and only one of us on their bike)

Most offensive thing about that photo is the smiling gimp on the poster attached to the railing.
    The cyclist seems to have everything under control. He even stopped at a red light. Putting cyclists out of the spotlight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭Irish Raven

I'm confused....the shorts are sky, and look like long leggings. ...but the yellow bit on the bottom of leg indicates the rapha winter bib tights.... so wtf....is he wearing the rapha bib tights which don't have a pad, under his sky shorts???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,230 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

I saw this at Lake Garda last August.

I'm not sure what rules apply to such a case.

wcz_Vf65_K4bgecl_Bzxubpv_Dyezb7l_Sm_FL7a_OS6b8_92_Aws_UQv.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

I felt uneasy all day today. Now I know why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Don't know what all the fuss is about. Those socks look like their the correct height to me! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

but he wasn't simply going about his business; he was cycling a bike. in public.
    with that comes sartorial responsibilities.

(the whole thing is piss take of cyclists ourselves. Jeez...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,064 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Raam wrote: »
    I felt uneasy all day today. Now I know why.
    Well, you are an exception - matching socks, gloves and helmet even when you're going to be heavily caked with mud at cyclocross!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭BH2008

Totally agree, very poor form thread, bit up its own a*** even if meant to be tongue in cheek...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Its cruel

like this fella

Reasonably Euro

1929953_10208895440847835_1756130708030112203_n.jpg?oh=9b8b9a65a6d5e99c6de4b186ad3e4c64&oe=5758EB2F

And this fella whos not...

224590_527066750643440_666335566_n.jpg?oh=1dcf78f06eba472872f7a41c33247395&oe=5725991D

Jesus just when I think the therapy is working you release that image into the world again!

[IMG][/img]12528608_176752146034141_164445606_o_zpsnvxwmbds.jpg
    Macy0161 wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,098 ✭✭✭NamelessPhil

Sometimes it's not what's been worn, it's what isn't been worn i.e. ill-fitting boxers displaying hairy builder's arse while commuting is certainly an incentive to cycle faster. See-through shorts on a wet day in a race ditto...

Off to find a sick bag...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭wuzziwig

I did a cycle recently where a male and female were in front of me wearing matching white shorts. It was a wet cycle. Her pink flowery knickers through the shorts were bad enough but his hairy arse left nothing to the imagination. It was just the spur on I needed to pedal faster. I still have nightmares.

10152610_234720306719929_3948789999912478345_n.jpg?oh=1e6eb05051ff26f70f07dab8a7b18c6e&oe=5763CACE&__gda__=1465302432_7b7b7cb9d9a4b00c81fd9b1e4b7cfdda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Rogue-Trooper

Saw something similar to the OP this morning except they were wearing what looked like green Irish rugby socks puddled around the ankles over black bib tights.

The offender was lucky the battery has just died in my Fly6, otherwise I would have been compelled obliged to 'out' him here.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,103 ✭✭✭✭neris

Lumen wrote: »
    I saw this at Lake Garda last August.

I'm not sure what rules apply to such a case.

wcz_Vf65_K4bgecl_Bzxubpv_Dyezb7l_Sm_FL7a_OS6b8_92_Aws_UQv.jpg

Italy has to be the capital for dodgy bike wear. saw a guy over there few years ago in early spring who looked like a penis on a bike. Pink leg warmers pink shorts and matching pink jersey and he even had pink gloves. there was a bit of light blue on the pink but not enough to distract you from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,064 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

neris wrote: »
    Italy has to be the capital for dodgy bike wear...
    :confused: Most of the cyclists I have encountered in Italy are immaculately turned out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

neris wrote: »
    Italy has to be the capital for dodgy bike wear. saw a guy over there few years ago in early spring who looked like a penis on a bike. Pink leg warmers pink shorts and matching pink jersey and he even had pink gloves. there was a bit of light blue on the pink but not enough to distract you from

Did it not look like a vein?

I'll get me coat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

Saw a guy recently somewhere in Dublin wearing a pair of those protective kneepads the mountain bikers wear. He was on a road bike. Unfortunately my wife was driving and wouldn't stop to let me throttle him!

FredHelmet.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭Bloggsie

WTF!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

He's not wearing it, he's carrying it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

Why is wearing pro kit acceptable amongst football fans but not in cycling circles?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭mossym

mathie wrote: »
    Why is wearing pro kit acceptable amongst football fans but not in cycling circles?

many would say grown men shouldn't wear football kit either