Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My Log on the Run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,795 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

All the best, see you after hopefully!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Have a great run tomorrow Jake, and hope it all goes to plan for you. Super training block! Best of luck!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,229 ✭✭✭healy1835

Best of luck tomorrow morning......I'd be confident it'll all fall into place for you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭jake1970

Thursday
    5 miles @ 9:01 m/m with 6 x100m strides

Saturday
    3 miles @ 9:28 m/m recovery

A couple of handy days just to finish out this training cycle.
    So that's it now, the training is done and dusted, the marathon is finally here....BRING IT ON !!!!!

Thanks to everyone for all the well wishes and best of luck to anyone running tomorrow, see you all in McGrattans:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Very best of luck tomorrow L, hope you have a GREAT day and see you at some point/pint!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Best of luck tomorrow. Hope all goes to plan. ENJOY!!!

3:11:58 delighted with that but jaysus that was tough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Well done today L! There wasn't a bother on you in Clonskeagh (until you saw us :D:D) enjoy the celebrations!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭diego_b

Well done, that is some time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

jake1970 wrote: »
    3:11:58 delighted with that but jaysus that was tough

Great to see you after L, well done on that time!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Missed you at HQ J but that is a smashing time. Congrats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭hot buttered scones

Well done on a fantastic time. Twas tough out there today alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Cracking run Jake! Looking forward to hearing the details! Enjoy the rest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Impressive run L.
    Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chartsengrafs

Well done Jake, you did great work in the lead-up so glad to see it paying off. Excellent time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Well done yesterday, great result, you must be buzzing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Wow that's brilliant well done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,229 ✭✭✭healy1835

Congrats on the PB mate, looking forward to the report.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Delighted for you. Awesome!! great chatting to you Sunday.

Training
    Like last year I followed the P&D up to 55 miles 12 week plan, it served me well last year so I thought it would be worth doing again. When I started training my initial target was for a sub 3:15 which is around 7:27 pace but I like to set my training paces quicker than goal pace so I settled for 7:15 pace as my MP for training. When I ran the Athlone HM comfortably at 7:10 pace I decided then to change my Marathon target and aim for a sub 3:10. The rest of the training went well but after the taper I didnt feel as fresh as I did before last years DCM.

Pre Race
    I slept well Saturday night and got up at 6:30 on the road to Dublin at 6:50. I brought my usual pre race brekki of bagel and jam and a banana with me to eat on the way. I parked the car on Mespil road then i headed down to the start, dropped off my bag, queued for the toilet which took forever so no warm up and then I had a quick word with Snailsong and FBOT who were on pacing duty. It was all very tight around the pacing balloons and I managed to secure a spot behind the 3:10 pacers just ahead of the 3:20 pacers. The plan for the race was to keep the 3:10 pacers in sight for the first half and the if I could gradually push on and catch them in the second half for a sub 3:10.... Simple.

The Race

Miles 1-6. 7:27, 6:56, 7:14, 6:52, 7:19, 7:11
    And we are off. As usual the first mile was very congested and it was had to gain a good position but I wasnt too concerned for as long as I could see the green balloons of the 3:10 pacers I was happy. I found it quite warm and I vowed to take on water at every water station. We got to the Phoenix Park and onto Chesterfield avenue the congestion had eased considerably. All the while I had been keeping the same distance behind the pacers and at this stage we were down to just the one balloon. I took my first gel at around 5.5 miles and washed it down with some water and I also poured water over my head and down my back to keep myself cool. I wasnt really happy with how my race was progressing while I was keeping the pacers in sight I wasnt happy with the effort that it was taken at times and that if it continued like this there could be trouble ahead.

Miles 7-12. 7:13, 7:05, 7:00, 7:03, 7:23, 7:07
    Into Castleknock and the wonderful crowd and atmosphere there does give you a lift, back into the park and there were a few fast miles here and also the last remaining pacing balloon had burst somewhere along here, I suppose you could say that was the last id see of them. We had now left the park and were met we a few short climbs, between the few previous fast miles and the climbs I was really feeling that I was working way too hard, I had taken my second gel around the 10.5 miles and I was really hoping it would give me a boost. I think it was around mile 11 that I briefly met up with Singer who unfortunately was having a bad day. Mile 12 and I started feel a little more relaxed maybe it was the gel I took or maybe it was the fact that I was nearing the half way mark.

Miles 13-18. 7:02, 7:19, 7:16, 7:07, 7:16, 7:13
    The section of the race from Dolphins Barn to Walkinstown road is my least favorite part, its just feels like one long drag its only saving grace is that you reach half way along here which I went through in 1:34:41. The body was holding up well even though the effort level was still quite high. I took my third gel at mile 16 and it was around here that I felt my right hip get tight but not enough to impede my progress but it was something to keep an eye on. I was still taking on water at the water stations, I was only taking a small sip of water each time but I was a lot over my head to keep cool.

Miles 19-24. 7:16, 7:12, 7:19, 7:44, 7:40, 7:35
    By now I was finding it difficult to stay on pace so I decided to break it down mile by mile and this was going well for a while.I took my last gel at mile 20. I got a great shout out from Firedance and that lifted my spirits but I think that shortly after that I started climbing and climbing what seemed like forever,slight exaggeration but thats what it felt like, until I got over heartbreak hill which actually wasnt too bad but it took a lot out of me and I slowed considerably. I was hoping to pick back up the pace on the decline but the legs were having none of it. The plan now was try to maintain this pace, recover a bit and then kick on in the last few miles.

Miles 25-Finish. 7:41, 7:44, 7:12(.39 mile)
    Well I didnt recover or kick on in the last few miles. It was a really hard now to stay on pace but I knew that if I did stay on this pace that I could get a decent PB. There was a huge and very enthusiastic crowd on the run in but they were annoying me,there were runners passing me and they were annoying me, there were runners stopping, I was passing runners they were all annoying me would this bloody thing ever be over, where the hell is that finish line, never again. I see the finish line and I pick up the pace I think I am sprinting(not possible) all is right with the world again and I cross the finish line a very happy man in a time of 3:11:58.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭diego_b

Excellent stuff L, well done on the pb!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Delighted for you L, you worked hard for that in training & through the race, massive well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Great race J and a great time well done sorry I didn't get to see you in Mc Grattans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

Great running Jake, fair play for digging deep at the end. Can't even fathom running that pace for that long, really good going. Sub-3 is within your reach :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Well deserved after some great training.

Plenty more to come

Well done

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Great race and report L, and it was good seeing you on the day... in the pub afterwards that is, I don't have good memories of our encounter in Kilmainham :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Great racing, enjoyed reading race report, nice PB well done.

diego_b wrote: »
    Excellent stuff L, well done on the pb!
    Neady83 wrote: »
    Great running Jake, fair play for digging deep at the end. Can't even fathom running that pace for that long, really good going. Sub-3 is within your reach :)
    Well deserved after some great training.

Plenty more to come

Well done

TbL
    Kennyg71 wrote: »
    Great racing, enjoyed reading race report, nice PB well done.

Thanks folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭hot buttered scones

I enjoyed that report. To echo your own question, what's next on the list for yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭tailgunner

Only just read your report properly there. Belated congrats on the PB!