Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why are dole bashing threads allowed?

• 23-02-2016 3:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭

Seriously fcuk these threads why are they not just locked straight away. Most of us on the dole are having a hard enough time and can be very down and isolated from being stuck in the house, struggling with bills, being looked down on, etc. I am not on the dole because I'm lazy, I'm on the dole because there is so little jobs in the Northwest where I live and I can't afford to get the money together to move to Dublin or out of Ireland where there is more work.

Any other condition that people couldn't control would not be deemed fair game for online abuse, why do boards allow constant dole bashing threads when many of us are not on the dole by choice?

And in fairness, it's not as if we are going to cover any new ground with these threads, they all go the same way. Even if I thought all dolies were lazy scum (and sure some are, but so are some people who have jobs!), I'd be bored of these threads. Though when I had work I never begrudged anyone their dole, even the lifers, because I know how crap of a life it is.

Does anyone else think maybe it's time we just stopped having these threads? It makes me not want to use boards any more at all when I see them all the time. Or if you still want to have them around so you can stick the cyber-boot into the Dutch Gold drinking bums, would you be okay with just having a separate forum all about dole bashing and leave it out of the other parts of the site?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Bio Mech

Why are angry rants allowed? I think we should ban everything we don't like. Because we are forced to read every thread you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,247 ✭✭✭Maguined

If you don't like the threads simply don't read them. There are plenty of threads I personally dislike so I don't venture into them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,516 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Welcome to After Hours, you know the entirety of Boards.ie isnt located in this one sub forum yeah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Cos it makes a lot of people feel smug about themselves. and there is a lot of those types on boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭JustShon

Ah here that's a bit much.

I'm pro-welfare, strongly so but we can't just ask that threads on topics we don't like be banned outright.

I don't like football, I think it's an awfully boring sport and can't stand it at all. I'm not asking that the football forum be removed from boards, I just don't go into it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭Flint Fredstone

Get off the Internet and get a job!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

You don't have to read them. Ignore or debate but don't censor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

I often wonder why people bitch about the dole, If it's so great jack in the job and go live on the €188 PW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭daveyeh

You've now just started a dole bashing thread.

Lazy parasites, rabble rabble, etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Hitler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Bob Dole. Prick. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

get a job hippy!!!

:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,516 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

DrumSteve wrote: »
    Hitler.

/thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

its frustrating watching your tax pay for some lazy fúcker to sit at home and complain about not getting enough free stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Don't worry, it'll be soon time for the hatred of smokers and then fat people before we revert back to people on the dole..........maybe a little detour at feminists if we have time.

It's the natural cycle of AH in-between threads like "Interview the person below you" and "Whats the first word that comes to mind"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,970 ✭✭✭6541

yeah - Down with this sort of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,970 ✭✭✭6541

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Don't worry, it'll be soon time for the hatred of smokers and then fat people before we revert back to people on the dole..........maybe a little detour at feminists if we have time.

It's the natural cycle of AH in-between threads like "Interview the person below you" and "Whats the first word that comes to mind"

And what about the British ? You forgot the British.

JustShon wrote: »
    I don't like football, I think it's an awfully boring sport and can't stand it at all. I'm not asking that the football forum be removed from boards, I just don't go into it.

Can't agree more. If the football forum was removed you would get little bits of it creeping up all over the place. By giving them their own area to indulge in their disgusting habit it keeps the rest of boards free from it's taint.

If we're lucky we might have something about vegans for a while until it gets moved to the Nutrition & Diet forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Iang87 wrote: »
    its frustrating watching your tax pay for some lazy fúcker to sit at home and complain about not getting enough free stuff

I thought they were all at the bookies ?

No no, they're all down the pub and going on holidays or shopping for massive televisions in Power City.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Spot on Duggy :pac:
    Actually.... when you think about it, kinda makes people jerks on here. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Is it dole bashing to expect people to eventually try and support themselves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,404 ✭✭✭✭sKeith

Maybe a bit off topic, but why do cyclists not pay 'road' tax?

sKeith wrote: »

Because there is no road tax?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Self employed people whose business goes bust do not qualify for the dole.

People on the dole are the lucky ones if they lose their job, given we don't have an equal society. Risk takers are penalised.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Is this a dole bashing bashing thread?

Is it dole bashing to expect people to eventually try and support themselves

You heartless monster. You make me sick.

Is this a dole bashing bashing thread?

Nah, its a bashing people on the dole getting bashed thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

DrumSteve wrote: »
    Nah, its a bashing people on the dole getting bashed thread.

Ah.

Is that bashing dole bashing or bashing bashing dole?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭daveyeh

RobertKK wrote: »

People on the dole are the lucky ones if they lose their job, given we don't have an equal society. Risk takers are penalised.

Self employed people pay whatever tax they want. They're as bad as the dolorous deadbeats ©.

Ah.

Is that bashing dole bashing or bashing bashing dole?

Of all the seven dwarves, I hated bashful the most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

RobertKK wrote: »

as a self employed person i feel a bit jealous of people who can lose their job and get full dole the very next week no questions asked

the DSW waterboard the likes of us if we dare darken their door

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Clampdown

Fair enough points, I know it is my choice to read them. And other than maybe the first line I wouldn't describe my post as that much of an angry rant. Just questioning why being out of work qualifies a person for online insults when many of us can't help it at the moment due to the economy.

In terms of banning things we don't like, no, I'm not saying that. But certainly things like racism, sexism, ageism, are banned because people can't help what race they are and shouldn't be judged for it. The economy is still so bad here that many of us can't control not having full time work and I think we often are judged unfairly for it. Of course the difference is, I could get a job tomorrow whereas things like race or sex are not changed so easily. So it's not quite the same. I still think it is unfair to put people down for it though. We don't have enough work in this country, not by a long shot.

And I know the whole site isn't AH, but I posted it here because that's where the dole-bashers hang.

I suppose to ask for them being banned IS a bit much, as someone who believes in free speech. But I would venture to guess that I'm not the only one who is stuck on the dole despite being employable and having desire to work. Does seeing these threads put anyone else off using boards at all?

Does anyone think we really NEED to have them? Because realistically, I'd say the 'type' of dolies that people have such vitriol towards are not really on boards. You're missing your target audience for the most part.

Anyway, the suns after coming out, I'm away to drink a few cans in the park and bum smokes and spare change off passers-by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

sKeith wrote: »
    I have a feeling that fat, British, lesbian, dolehead smokers don't even pay the 'road' tax. Maybe it's because they're vegans...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Clampdown wrote: »
    Fair enough points, I know it is my choice to read them. And other than maybe the first line I wouldn't describe my post as that much of an angry rant. Just questioning why being out of work qualifies a person for online insults when many of us can't help it at the moment due to the economy.

In terms of banning things we don't like, no, I'm not saying that. But certainly things like racism, sexism, ageism, are banned because people can't help what race they are and shouldn't be judged for it. The economy is still so bad here that many of us can't control not having full time work and I think we often are judged unfairly for it. Of course the difference is, I could get a job tomorrow whereas things like race or sex are not changed so easily. So it's not quite the same. I still think it is unfair to put people down for it though. We don't have enough work in this country, not by a long shot.

And I know the whole site isn't AH, but I posted it here because that's where the dole-bashers hang.

I suppose to ask for them being banned IS a bit much, as someone who believes in free speech. But I would venture to guess that I'm not the only one who is stuck on the dole despite being employable and having desire to work. Does seeing these threads put anyone else off using boards at all?

Does anyone think we really NEED to have them? Because realistically, I'd say the 'type' of dolies that people have such vitriol towards are not really on boards. You're missing your target audience for the most part.

Anyway, the suns after coming out, I'm away to drink a few cans in the park and bum smokes and spare change off passers-by.

Here's a question OP. Would you be willing to do volunteer work to earn your dole? Say 3 days a week?

Your problem is that you seem to care what people on AH think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

that's the spirit keep yourself busy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Seriously fcuk these threads why are they not just locked straight away. Most of us on the dole are having a hard enough time and can be very down and isolated from being stuck in the house, struggling with bills, being looked down on, etc. I am not on the dole because I'm lazy, I'm on the dole because there is so little jobs in the Northwest where I live and I can't afford to get the money together to move to Dublin or out of Ireland where there is more work.
    I mean in fairness there aren't zero options but I won't be so condescending as to point the vast majority of those out.

The most basic option is to not read the threads: nobody forces you, while living in what I assume is poverty, to pay for internet and then proceed to use it (and electricity) to entertain yourself in AH by reading threads where people are critical of you doing the thing that you are kinda doing at that time, sitting down on the computer browsing the internet for entertainment.

If there are few jobs there is probably low property values; I imagine you could look around for cheaper accommodations if you are struggling with bills. A smaller floorspace requires less energy to light and heat, in addition to having inherently cheaper rent. You can also audit or directly budget what you spend, cutting out all beverages except water and eating only what you require, cutting out sugars and dairy while also preparing large meals and eating leftovers for several days is very cost efficient. Unless you have ruined your credit somehow, you can always secure a loan to relocate, provided you land a job somewhere else (although a Credit Card will give you 4-6 weeks to pay it off, assuming you already have one and a healthy LOC of a grand or more, all you need is to pay it off within the cycle - which means 0% interest - and that's simple if you know you're going to land good employment after a short relocation). If you know there is work in your field a couple hours away, line up some interviews and plan a trip down.

In some cases, frankly, the public shaming is understandable: http://www.usatoday.com/story/news/nation-now/2015/12/16/iowa-panhandlers-shame-homeless/77409796/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Hey clampdown,
    The problem isn't boards... it's people.
    Alot of people love a good moan about others. What they get, what they have, etc. The dole is and always will be an easy go to subject and you are right it's a joke.

But of course when asked why dont these people quit their jobs to go on this great, free thing in which you can magically go on 4 holidays a year with... the answer is always "feck, i'd never go on the dole" - it's all horse-****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,981 ✭✭✭KomradeBishop

It is really just another form of bigotry alright, but one that's still socially acceptable. Good analysis of the mentality behind it here - based on the US, but partially applicable here:
    One of the most striking things about much culture in America is the simple meanness of it. The cruelty.

Most of this seems to come down to three feelings.
    * My life sucks. I have to work a terrible job I hate in order to survive. I have to bow and scrape and do shít I don’t want to do. You should have too as well.

* Anyone who doesn’t make it must not be willing to suffer as I do, therefore anyone who doesn’t make it deserves to be homeless, go without food and so on.

* Anybody who is against us needs to be hurt and humiliated, because that’s how I see my superiors deal with people who go against them.

“Life is shít, therefore your life should be shít”

“What you’ve got is what you deserve.”
    http://www.ianwelsh.net/the-culture-of-meanness/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Iang87 wrote: »

Do tell us about all the "free stuff"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

The only thing worse than Boards' incredible over-moderation is the extremely obvious double standard applied to it. For instance: take a stereotypical generalised slur against Muslims, Jews, or just about any other demographic which would normally mean an insta-ban and replace the demographic with "travellers" and your thread will have a long and fulfilling life. Dole bashing is just another example.

You are born into being brown, you aren't born into being unemployed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Whosthis

Why are dole scroungers allowed on boards?

Whosthis wrote: »
    Why are dole scroungers allowed?

Well and then you get posts like this which are the equivalent of asking why fatties are allowed: they offer no constructive discussion.

Overheal wrote: »
    Well and then you get posts like this which are the equivalent of asking why fatties are allowed: they offer no constructive discussion.

What about fat dole scroungers? Can we have a discussion about them?

Most people aren't taking this thread seriously at all and I'm happy to be part of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

Do tell us about all the "free stuff"

Rent, electric work, plumbing work, windows, doors, fireplaces. You name it they'll expect their local regen office to supply it.

Lets not forget medical care on top of that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Whosthis

Overheal wrote: »

Fat dole scroungers? They should definitely be banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

It isn't the Greeks, it's the Chinese he's after!