Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Raffle car on Facebook

• 22-02-2016 12:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭

Don't know if this is new or has been discussed before, but in the last few weeks I've seen at least 3 people trying to raffle off their car on Facebook. They offer 40 tickets at about €30 each and say the winner will be the lotto bonus ball on X date.
    All 3 times the cars were sh1t boxes worth a few hundred quid at most. Is this actually happening, are people really buying €30 tickets for a 1998 Toyota corolla?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

That's not an auction, it's a raffle.

And maybe you need to unfriend some people :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

biko wrote: »
    That's not an auction, it's a raffle.

And maybe you need to unfriend some people :D

Yep meant raffle, seen it on pages like buy and sell, local interest etc. Maybe it's not common, just 1 idiot here had a brainwave and 2 more followed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,795 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I hear its what they do now and they get plenty of interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,547 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

If you need to go down the raffle road your car is a basket case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭padjo5

Apparently a farmer who was in financial difficulty did that with his house, in order to clear bank loans about 20 yrs ago. Made a nice few quid. May have been 100pounds per ticket and he sold several thousand.....far outstripping the value of the house. Smart cookie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

padjo5 wrote: »
    Apparently a farmer who was in financial difficulty did that with his house, in order to clear bank loans about 20 yrs ago. Made a nice few quid. May have been 100pounds per ticket and he sold several thousand.....far outstripping the value of the house. Smart cookie.

I remember seeing a story from the height of the recession about a couple from Cavan that did the same, they had both lost their jobs, had built a big house and wanted to emigrate.

For some reason I have it in my head that they ran into some issues from a legality point of view and that capital gains type raffles were something of a grey area, requiring licencing.

I also could have completely imagined that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭Ant695

Loads doing it up here. Alot of the time they seem to make more than the car is worth as well so worth the effort on their part instead of just putting it in done deal etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭athtrasna

Illegal, the gaming and lotteries act is very clear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

See plenty of people doing it now alright.

No way would I hand over €50 for a one in forty sonething chance of winning someone elses problems.

Honestly, I often wonder how they find enough victims to get the plan off the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Apparently a farmer who was in financial difficulty did that with his house, in order to clear bank loans about 20 yrs ago. Made a nice few quid. May have been 100pounds per ticket and he sold several thousand.....far outstripping the value of the house. Smart cookie. He owns Tayto Park now....!
    I remember seeing a story from the height of the recession about a couple from Cavan that did the same, they had both lost their jobs, had built a big house and wanted to emigrate.

For some reason I have it in my head that they ran into some issues from a legality point of view and that capital gains type raffles were something of a grey area, requiring licencing.

I also could have completely imagined that!
    Baloney, there are strict rules with raffles, you can't just decide to sell as many tickets that you feel like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Screenshot_2016_02_22_08_27_46.jpg
    Screenshot_2016_02_22_08_32_28.jpg
    Screenshot_2016_02_22_08_28_02.jpg

I'm no gambler. But is 1 in 47 good odds? Nice looking car, but €180 is a lot to drop to be pretty much guarenteed not to win it even if it includes a donation to a good charity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

8.5k hes getting there if all tickets sell. Nice

You can win this avensis for 30 quid though

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/raffle-toyota-avensis/11238704

There was a twincam going for 300 a ticket a while back too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

athtrasna wrote: »

I didn't imagine it so, good to know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Notch000

there a lot of idiots out there will to chip in for this ! the total ticket price of most of these raffles far exceeds the ticket price.

These is absolutely no regulation on this and it wide open to abuse, there nothing stoping me setting up 20 facebook accounts and letting myself or one of my budddies win. there also a face book page carrafflesireland too

But is anyone actually getting all the tickets sold? Cant see many people willing to pay 180-300 even if the car is what they'd want, or 30 for some heap of dung

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭shietpilot

I'm no gambler. But is 1 in 47 good odds? Nice looking car, but €180 is a lot to drop to be pretty much guarenteed not to win it even if it includes a donation to a good charity.

It's absolutely crazy. Why would anyone even consider buying a ticket for €180! Also, what happens if the seller doesn't sell all 47 tickets? Do you lose your money? It's completely unregulated gambling.

This raffle thing seems to be going on every day on the Buy and Sell Cars Ireland Facebook page and people seem to be interested :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

8.5k hes getting there if all tickets sell. Nice

You can win this avensis for 30 quid though

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/raffle-toyota-avensis/11238704

There was a twincam going for 300 a ticket a while back too

It's worth around €250

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Seen a few yahoos attempting it up here lately, most of them stopped by the guards before they really get going though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

athtrasna wrote: »

Not to mention its a violation of Facebooks rules. One complaint and it'd be gone. It's one of the few things they act really quickly on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

Well would you back a horse at 47/1 with 180 euro???:D:D

If you go to the bookies a try picking the bonus ball they give you odds of 41/1 so if you managed it you'd have 7300 euro cash.

All of them are crazy ideas for the size of the stake in my opinion. Unless they give you your ticket number prior to the draw I call scam!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Notch000

Sam Kade wrote: »
    It's worth around €250

it got donegal plates too & hes already taken off the cheap alloys that its pictured with,

over 15yrs old too so pretty uninsurable on most new policies, who woudnet want it ! for 30euros

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I've seen it numerous times, none of them have ever successfully managed to get rid of their car (which are usually pieces of scrap) by raffling them. I never see any mention if what happens if not all numbers are sold or if by a certain date they haven't been sold the people who did buy numbers get their money back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭millington

Notch000 wrote: »
    there a lot of idiots out there will to chip in for this ! the total ticket price of most of these raffles far exceeds the ticket price.

These is absolutely no regulation on this and it wide open to abuse, there nothing stoping me setting up 20 facebook accounts and letting myself or one of my budddies win. there also a face book page carrafflesireland too
    Considering it's based on the National Lottery bonus ball, it can't possibly be fixed.

It's illegal and a lot of the time the cars are ****eboxes and barely worth the ticket price. Let it be someone elses problem if their caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I know of another chap doing it for a 745i, tickets were £100 each.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

Funny how he forgot to mention exactly how much is going to charity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Nah, he was a former seminarian turned gambler called barney Curley

He fleeced the bookies of Ireland one day, when his horse won at bellewstown. It was crappy horses that took part in the race so he had the horse perform badly in other races in order to give it a good handicap
    The only way for on site bookies to communicate with the outside world back then was through one telephone line, but this was down on the day.

There was a pay phone, but one of his mates was in the phone box pretending his aunt was dying.
    bets were placed around the country and because the bookies couldn't get in touch to reduce the odds, he ended up winning 300K on a 15K bet
    Nothing illegal with what he done either.

He then went and bought a mansion in Westmeath, but property prices collapsed so he raffled it off.
    However as it was an illegal lottery, he got jail, but this was overturned on a technicality or something

Smart cookie indeed:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,545 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I remember hearing the first part of that story in the radio a few months ago :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭collie0708

I used to think these were scams until a friend won a 98 skyline, it was a €100 ticket no idea home much the car is worth though.

collie0708 wrote: »
    I used to think these were scams until a friend won a 98 skyline, it was a €100 ticket no idea home much the car is worth though.

Just because someone won doesn't mean it was not a scam. €100 ticket for the chance to win a 98 Skyline, madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,545 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

It all comes down to how many tickets were sold.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,255 ✭✭✭✭beertons

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I remember hearing the first part of that story in the radio a few months ago :)

Didn't a horse of his win a big race recently too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

I've seen a few ads on Feb were if you like and share the picture of the car you too could win the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

beertons wrote: »
    Didn't a horse of his win a big race recently too.

Yep,a 4 horse accumulator. They hadn't ran for a year or something.
    Figure was in the millions

Not bad for a few days work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I don't see an issue with that, if it works for some and people willing to do it, why not.

I dontreally see how it is a scam, it's a gamble, that's it. At least With this gamble you got bigger chances then buying lotto tickets for same amount of money.

Saying this I would never raffle my car as it's just way too much work and cam go sideways for the one that organises it.
    I would not spend 100eu on car raffle, but I would spend 20-30 quid maybe on ticket just for **** of it. Its not big money and chance is big.

i don't understand how people say it is a scam of buyer himself buys half of tickets. Its still a gamble and he can't for see outcome of number coming in nights lotto. Essentially he might get his car back and get some money or he can have lost a car for half price after all work payed in.

I guess in my eyes it's live and let live situation. You want do it - do it. You don't - don't.

Lets say I put my car up on FB or Boards or Donedeal, etc. and raffle it.

Then I pull a Fr. Ted and, waddayano, I had the winning number!

What can anyone do? Surely I've just made a few euro for doing feck all? I could put up a random car that has nothing to do with me, and list it on DoneDeal in a town I don't live in. Who'd make the connection? I'd be quids in via paypal or something and there'd never have been a car in the first place.

That's the reason I'd never do it, personally. That and you've little to no hope of getting anything but a bill out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

I dontreally see how it is a scam, it's a gamble, that's it. At least With this gamble you got bigger chances then buying lotto tickets for same amount of money.

Zero oversight or third party verification, means it's likely scam. Would you hand €100 to a stranger on the street? Someone that desperate to shift a car will not be your friend once they amass perhaps €5k in bets. Its also completely under the radar and illegal, and should be reported. It benefits no one and compromises the vulnerable in society.

Also, your second line is untrue. It's false to view the lottery as an gamble, it's not. Its an investment and actually a pretty good one. For your €2 investment, you could withdraw millions, no investment in the world offers that level of return however the risk (i.e. The chance of loss) is equally high. View the lottery like the stock market and play intelligently, you can actually cover your losses and turn a minor profit.

ironclaw wrote: »
    Zero oversight or third party verification, means it's likely scam. Would you hand €100 to a stranger on the street? Someone that desperate to shift a car will not be your friend once they amass perhaps €5k in bets. Its also completely under the radar and illegal, and should be reported. It benefits no one and compromises the vulnerable in society.

Also, your second line is untrue. It's false to view the lottery as an gamble, it's not. Its an investment and actually a pretty good one. For your €2 investment, you could withdraw millions, no investment in the world offers that level of return however the risk (i.e. The chance of loss) is equally high. View the lottery like the stock market and play intelligently, you can actually cover your losses and turn a minor profit.

Yeah, it's not legal and no over sight. true. Still possible to do some research on cars. Usually cars that are raffled are unique, I bet it would be easy to trace some of them in car clubs or forums. Find out if its legit or someone just using fake pics. I do agree, it can be scam like anything these days. Up to yourself decide of you want to be part of raffle.
    As I said, I would not pay 100eu for ticket. I would do it only for small sum, if I would even do it.
    While it's illegal right now, it would be a great idea if there would be some company, which could do it legally. Se business opportunity I guess.

Oh ffs m8. Lottery is an investment?! My point is, that you got more chances to win car in raffle, then buying lotto tickets for the rest of your life each week.
    Play lotto intelligently and make a profit? You do realise it's all about the luck?

I am not defending it as a legal way of selling your car, I am just saying I would better pay sometimes 30 quid with a chance 1 in 47 to win some car, that I could sell on or have fun with, then do lotto every week for the rest of the life and never win the thing as odds are just completely off the charts.

Lets say I put my car up on FB or Boards or Donedeal, etc. and raffle it.

Then I pull a Fr. Ted and, waddayano, I had the winning number!

What can anyone do? Surely I've just made a few euro for doing feck all? I could put up a random car that has nothing to do with me, and list it on DoneDeal in a town I don't live in. Who'd make the connection? I'd be quids in via paypal or something and there'd never have been a car in the first place.

That's the reason I'd never do it, personally. That and you've little to no hope of getting anything but a bill out of it.
    For the second time in this thread, it CAN'T be fixed .It's based on the National Lottery bonus ball, if someone can tell what the lotto numbers are going to be I doubt they'd be running a raffle. :rolleyes:

millington wrote: »
    For the second time in this thread, it CAN'T be fixed .It's based on the National Lottery bonus ball, if someone can tell what the lotto numbers are going to be I doubt they'd be running a raffle. :rolleyes:

Oh, okay.

If last week's Euro Millions 'lucky stars' were 3 and 9, you can have my car.

Now, as it happens, they were indeed 3 and 9. How do you propose you set out to claim my car? (Cos I'm not planning to sign it over to you).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭stoplooklisten

Ans still lives in the house! allegedly ;):D

I don't think the issue is people not getting the car if all the tickets are sold and they have the winning number.
    They usually put up numbers 1-45 and people pick a number when they pay for a ticket. As people pay, the seller puts up a list on Facebook with their name against that number.
    So in advance, everyone knows who has which number, the draw is the bonus ball on the lotto on a set date.
    The sellers delighted to give away the car, he's sold 45 tickets at €100 so made €4500 for a car that's not even worth €2000. That's the scam, payment is usually by paypal, so there would be recourse and proof if the seller reneged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭armaghlad

What if the guy raffling the car runs it off successfully; sells all the tickets and then when the winner comes forward he says to him "I have no intention of parting with my car; I know you paid €150 for your ticket. So here's half the money I made for you to keep quiet".

Likewise he could just straight up say to the winner, "I'm keeping the car you mug, now f*ck off"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,798 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

armaghlad wrote: »
    What if the guy raffling the car runs it off successfully; sells all the tickets and then when the winner comes forward he says to him "I have no intention of parting with my car; I know you paid €150 for your ticket. So here's half the money I made for you to keep quiet".

Likewise he could just straight up say to the winner, "I'm keeping the car you mug, now f*ck off"

because then that would be fraud or something similar. The act of holding a raffle in this manner without permission is an offence in itself.

Oh, okay.

If last week's Euro Millions 'lucky stars' were 3 and 9, you can have my car.

Now, as it happens, they were indeed 3 and 9. How do you propose you set out to claim my car? (Cos I'm not planning to sign it over to you).
    It's only worked off one number not two. Hence theres a limited amount of tickets (1-47) and a 1 in 47 chance of winning.

If someone does try and **** the winner over, then I'm sure Gards will get involved and the raffle host will actually be in the **** so probably safer to just give them the car than to attract even more attention.

I don't think it's right as such, just explaining how it works since people on here are just making assumptions.

Honestly. If seller manages to raffle off his car and get money he wanted, why he would put himself in ****storm by not giving a car to winner. He made a sale, he got wrid of car.

As I said, do it with caution, check raffle host and car.
    There is a good few cars raffled out that I know about from friends who are still in modified scene. Don't know any scams of yet, but 100% there will be one.

The thing is though... a lot of these facebook raffle cars are advertised on the other side of the border. How do you enforce the law when say a fella in the south raffles off a Toyota Supra but advertises it in the north? Or vice versa.

Honestly. If seller manages to raffle off his car and get money he wanted, why he would put himself in ****storm by not giving a car to winner. He made a sale, he got wrid of car.
    Because he might be a crook and fancies keeping the car as well as all the money he has made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Oh ffs m8. Lottery is an investment?! My point is, that you got more chances to win car in raffle, then buying lotto tickets for the rest of your life each week.
    Play lotto intelligently and make a profit? You do realise it's all about the luck?

I am not defending it as a legal way of selling your car, I am just saying I would better pay sometimes 30 quid with a chance 1 in 47 to win some car, that I could sell on or have fun with, then do lotto every week for the rest of the life and never win the thing as odds are just completely off the charts.

Lottery is nothing to do with luck. Any casino in the world operates on that principal. Everything comes down to math and statistics.

You have a 1:47 chance of winning the car which are decent odds all things considered fair. For your €30 investment, you may walk away with say a €5000 car. Your return factor for the €30 investment is about 165 times. Say you did the lotto for 10 years, every week, and spent €4 each week. You will spend about €2080 (Ignoring the 'time value' of money for the sake of simplicity). Now, say you won a modest jackpot of €5 million. You return is 2402 times your investment. Your risk is significantly higher playing the lotto, but your return is far greater. Also, after 10 years, you still haven't spent the value of the car. In fact, you could spend a lifetime playing the lotto and even a modest jackpot, ignoring any smaller wins, is still a better investment. There is a reason hedge funds invested millions in the US PowerBall when it hit a billion last month, the investment versus the return made it worthwhile even with massive risk. Have you ever wondered why there are so many balls in the lotto and why you can't play 24 hours a day? Its simply to prevent someone playing all (or a significant majority of) the numbers as the investment versus the reward is sufficient enough (Google: MIT lottery team / lottery cork)

If you want to play the lottery intelligently, play four sets of numbers: The most common, the least common and the most & least human adverse. The first set significantly increases your odds of a modest return every so often, the second reduces your risk of sharing the jackpot so you maximise your return, the third and fourth set assume the lottery is rigged, so you play with and against the rest of the player set (i.e. The lottery needs to pay out 'something' to maintain interest and create hype 'John from work won last week' etc )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

It was the fella that owns Tayto Park

http://www.independent.ie/business/irish/ray-coyle-from-struggling-farmer-to-being-mr-tayto-30354504.html

4000 tickets at £300