Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nascar - Sprint Cup 2016

• 21-02-2016 7:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭

I saw there was no thread and not much on here for Nascar fans, so thought i'd make this thread. Watching a live stream right now of Daytona 500

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭jelutong

It's on Setanta Sport 1 ch 424 and SetantaHD 428. Free View.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,770 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I hope a Joe Gibbs Racing driver wins, preferably Denny Hamlin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Nodferatu

denny Hamlin is going strong this year. looking good so far, Martin Truex is my man, working his way from back of field up to 4th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

Hope Ky Busch wins today and the sprint cup again. If not Busch then i'd go for Hamlin.

A few years ago I was chatting to Denny Hamlin's mother on twitter, Mary Lou Hamlin, she was telling me they have Irish ancestry and she gave me the surname which I can't remember but they are from Cork.

waiting on logano to wreck someone..

How long's gone? Trying to decide if it's worth digging up a source.

L 133/200
    1. Hamlin
    2. Truex Jr
    3. Ky. Busch

L 163/200
    Kenseth
    Truex
    Ky Busch

All just after pit stops

and 35 to go

Can feel a big crash coming...

20 to go, race is getting abit dicey now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

I sense a big crash coming. It's getting very tight.

That_Guy wrote: »
    I sense a big crash coming. It's getting very tight.

I'd say by the way the front of the 19 is flapping around, he will be involved

What a finish

What a finish.

That is so close. Great race.

OMG that was a great finish.

So happy for Hamlin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,764 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Fair play for the guy Hamlin tangled with rescuing it there, a huge crash was in the offing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,573 ✭✭✭Harika

The last 30 laps were quite boring but the last two corners great racing.

Winning by 1/100th of a second...

Kenseth did great in trying to block but avoiding a disaster for his team.

Hamlin was not going to leave without that win, I thought Truex had won. Good to see Truex Jr carrying over last year's good form.

Coca Cola and champagne... such an odd mix.

cars are really loose on this track today

Lap 100/325
    1 M Kennseth
    2 Ku Busch
    3 J Johnson

94 to go
    1 Harvick
    2 Truex
    3 Johnson

Very boring spectacle in comparison to last week... Just as I type, car 31 has a blown tire with 4 laps to go.

yeah was very boring, i really dont like this new overtime rule

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,715 ✭✭✭Charlie-Bravo

Yeah the overtime rule sucks a bit as I preferred the Green-White-Checkered format. I suppose its a shorter version of the old format doing it over two laps than three. For today if the older system was in place they would have had to re-do a Green-White-Checkered.

-. . ...- . .-. / --. --- -. -. .- / --. .. ...- . / -.-- --- ..- / ..- .--.

Looks wet and windy in Vegas. Hopefully the rain stays away and the race gets the go ahead.

Race is starting now.

This could be a disaster of a race. That wind looks mental.

Bit boring so far

Nodferatu wrote: »
    Bit boring so far

Last week and this week have been non events. Not a great amount of drama other than Busch finding himself all the way back to the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,678 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

This sand storm looks extreme

wonder will it cause accident

Big pile up.

Not a team penske fan but ive never wanted them to win so much as now. I hate kyle busch

Fell asleep.

Went to watch it this morning as i recorded it and yh the recording stopped 100 laps in because of the race starting late.

As usual hoping one of the Gibbs drivers win tonight.

Be nice to see Carl win.

That finish. :eek:

What a finish at Phoenix for Harvick!

Yeah that was a great finish, making a habit of 0.01 winning margins this season.
    Two in four races.

RobertKK wrote: »
    Yeah that was a great finish, making a habit of 0.01 winning margins this season.
    Two in four races.

Could have easily been a huge crash in the process. He fairly shunted Harvick on the final turn in. Could have been nasty.

Didn't get to see the race due to the crappy live stream connection being rubbish. seems like it was a great race!!

That was a big crash by Kyle Larson, tyre blew and sent him flying into the safer barrier.
    Good thing car safety is good.

Cars are one thing, I'd put that down mostly to the SAFER barrier.

Unfortunately I'm now glitching like crazy. :P

That looked dirty by Kayne

Feck all in that really. One thing if it was green but don't see the big deal in yellow running.

I understand emotions can get the better of people, but they brought in that rule because of a fatality last year. She's a pro and should be setting a good example to the younger drivers.