Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is this guy the biggest tosser on a bike?

• 18-02-2016 7:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,640 ✭✭✭✭

I can't remember when I followed this guy on YouTube but he's an embarrassment to cyclists. These two in particular are just looking for trouble

http://youtu.be/hZ1Vpzp_Zy8

http://youtu.be/iOiSle-NrqM

The second he's the actual cause of the near miss while he is stopped or mooching as he calls it, in the bike lane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 GasBrakeHonk

Green&Red wrote: »
    I can't remember when I followed this guy on YouTube but he's an embarrassment to cyclists. These two in particular are just looking for trouble

http://youtu.be/hZ1Vpzp_Zy8

http://youtu.be/iOiSle-NrqM

The second he's the actual cause of the near miss while he is stopped or mooching as he calls it, in the bike lane.

There's far worse than Cycledub, for all his faults he's never abusive and he does usually have a point even if you don't agree with the approach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,640 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

There's far worse than Cycledub, for all his faults he's never abusive and he does usually have a point even if you don't agree with the approach.

I think he's looking for an infringement where it's not always there and there's no grey.
    His whiny holier than thou accent is grating also 😛

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

don't know if he's the biggest tosser or not but he's certainly in the running for it. It's that kind of attitude gets the others a bad name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭Fian

Hadn't seen this before. He is cycling same roads I do on my commute.

It seems to me he is looking to take offence in circumstances where it is entirely unwarranted. None of the incidents provoking him would have caused me a moments irritation.

Cyclists also have to share the road, we don't own the road any more than motorists do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

I'm presuming he doesn't drive himself going by his ridiculous attitude to what are barely even minor infringements.

In the first link, traffic is moving slowly and it's perfectly acceptable to 'nose' out to make progress and get onto the major road. He had ample time to act appropriately like what the rest of us would do. The fact that the silver car was allowing another car access from the other side seems to be lost with him.

In the second link, it's possible that the Audi driver needed to advance forward onto the cycle track for better visibility at the junction before there was any cyclist there and to be fair to him, he backed up immediately. I wouldn't expect any motorist to do that. How difficult is it to simply manoeuvre around the car?

The mind boggles. He's going to crap his pants when he encounters a real situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

i thought the guy in the Santa fe was genuinely apologetic and the cyclist should just have accepted his apology but tbh I think this guy just likes having the camera on for the next time he gets offended. he was in no danger at all.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j7kdWgvL44g

He seems to have no qualms about harassing a female motorist and holding up other motorists while complaining about being delayed. (...and that horrible nerdy voice!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

What an epic bell end.

Holy crap, he felt this was worthy of putting up on you tube.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zKOyobCLi9U

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭Doc07

I'm quite conservative and don't usually read never mind post on 'tabloid topics' like this but thank you for sharing the video. I don't wish him any harm and we are all vulnerable but he acts like a massive c&ck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Seems like the kind of person who wakes up every morning just looking for a row so he can prove he's right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭REXER

With that sort of behavior its likely that he will make the short list for a Darwin Award at some point.
    I don't wish him any harm but I will keep an eye on his clips and track his rise to the top of the list!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,640 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

Seems like the kind of person who wakes up every morning just looking for a row so he can prove he's right.
    That's the funniest thing, he's actually not super agressive then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,817 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

What a knob jockey.

He must have very little going on, to be getting bothered by little incidents like that.

Life is too short.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

Yes definitely a high caliber tosser right there.

Probably has a great laugh chuckling with the guys while down his pint of vitamin H in Kylies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

Jayop wrote: »

His illegal advertising videos are even better.

One man cleaning up the wrongs in this world :mad:

REXER wrote: »
    With that sort of behavior its likely that he will make the short list for a Darwin Award at some point.
    I don't wish him any harm but I will keep an eye on his clips and track his rise to the top of the list!

A lot of the video's have him as a bigger danger than most of those who he's moaning at. He's more likely to kill someone else as himself, but he'll probably whinge about that too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭Mastercolm

Hes obviously wants a really dramatic channel with motorists nearly killing him but instead he has videos with people with broken lights and illegal advertisement banners. You cant help but wonder....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

And he's putting himself in danger, cycling in the middle of the road so he can annoy a taxi driver about his light.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭ShaunC

You're back loight is not working, is it Ross O'Carroll Kelly:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭mollser

There's a great one on leopardstown road where he, refusing to use one of the better cycle lanes around for very righteous reasons that don't really apply to this particular bike lane , overtakes a long line of traffic by cycling on the wrong side of the road.

When someone pulls out of the traffic and nearly kills him, it was mana from heaven for him.

Completely failing to see that

A. He was on the wrong side of the road, and
    B. He is the vulnerable road user, drivers to stupid things from time to time and, unfortunately, you really do need to preempt these. Perhaps this comes with experience. ..

How he gets so wound up over very usual (though I'm not saying correct) driving behaviour is beyond me

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

mollser wrote: »
    There's a great one on leopardstown road where he, refusing to use one of the better cycle lanes around for very righteous reasons that don't really apply to this particular bike lane , overtakes a long line of traffic by cycling on the wrong side of the road.

When someone pulls out of the traffic and nearly kills him, it was mana from heaven for him.

Completely failing to see that

A. He was on the wrong side of the road, and
    B. He is the vulnerable road user, drivers to stupid things from time to time and, unfortunately, you really do need to preempt these. Perhaps this comes with experience. ..

How he gets so wound up over very usual (though I'm not saying correct) driving behaviour is beyond me

I have not seen the video in question, however I have cycled that road a lot and I never, ever use the extremely poorly designed cycle lane on it.

Yer man is a bit of a tool in fairness, but he's not going to kill anyone. He's on a mission to raise his blood pressure!

gadetra wrote: »
    I have not seen the video in question, however I have cycled that road a lot and I never, ever use the extremely poorly designed cycle lane on it.

Yer man is a bit of a tool in fairness, but he's not going to kill anyone. He's on a mission to raise his blood pressure!

I dunno, some of the places he stops are forcing other bikers into oncoming traffic.

As I said I haven't seen the videos, I was just commenting not he cycle lanes on Leopardstown Road! I have seen videos of his in the past and have no desire to experience them again...

I don't know Dublin at all and only cycled in the city once as part of a large group with a Garda escort so I can't comment on how good or bad cycle lanes are. I cycle out West and the biggest danger we face is people overtaking us on narrow roads without really pulling out. I've almost been clipped so many times by these arseholes that I'm thinking of starting my own youtube channel.

Yer man would ****e himself if he went for a ride on the roads down here.

He doesn't seem to have any clips of actual dangerous manoeuvres that we all experience from time to time - punishment passes at speed, roundabout near-misses etc., aggressive motorists etc.

I don't know Dublin at all and only cycled in the city once as part of a large group with a Garda escort so I can't comment on how good or bad cycle lanes are. I cycle out West and the biggest danger we face is people overtaking us on narrow roads without really pulling out. I've almost been clipped so many times by these arseholes that I'm thinking of starting my own youtube channel.

Roads down home are a lot scarier than Dublin roads IMO, mainly cos drivers are not used to cyclists on the road, and the roads themselves are a) tiny, and b) a series of corners. Scenic, pretty, largely empty of traffic until they suddenly aren't (members of my own family fly around these roads :eek:) Dublin is much more restful!

Yep, maybe I'll buy a go-pro and take a few examples.

I'll second both of those. Cycling in Dublin is much easier than in rural areas and in provincial towns where many motorists don't seem to be accustomed to having cyclists around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,881 ✭✭✭terrydel

He will get his comeuppance one day, hes a self righteous tosser of the highest order.
    He will piss the wrong person off and reap the consequences, and I and Im sure most others will have absolutely no sympathy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

I'll second both of those. Cycling in Dublin is much easier than in rural areas and in provincial towns where many motorists don't seem to be accustomed to having cyclists around.

Interesting, I haven't had that experience at all. I started cycling when I was in college in Dublin, and found it fairly ok, bit annoying with the bad lane designs but really the problem was with taxi drivers and so many wandering pedestrians. I then moved to Wexford Town and it was a revelation, having no cycling lanes was a huge improvement in my cycling experience. Might depend a bit on what town exactly we're talking about. Wexford would have a fairly well known cycling presence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,363 ✭✭✭KingBrian2

The second video was misleading but yeah this guy is a class A asshole.

Interesting, I haven't had that experience at all. I started cycling when I was in college in Dublin, and found it fairly ok, bit annoying with the bad lane designs but really the problem was with taxi drivers and so many wandering pedestrians. I then moved to Wexford Town and it was a revelation, having no cycling lanes was a huge improvement in my cycling experience. Might depend a bit on what town exactly we're talking about. Wexford would have a fairly well known cycling presence.

I don't really have a problem in the mall towns, it's more the country roads that I find dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭D9Male

What a tool. I note he is on a crusade to highlight what he sees as illegal actions. He also recorded footage of a Bruce Springsteen concert and posted it. Is that legal?

I don't really have a problem in the mall towns, it's more the country roads that I find dangerous.

Varies a lot for me there. Busy R-roads are 100% to be avoided in Wexford, but I love narrow L-roads and quiet R-roads in the back of beyond. Bonus for grass growing up the middle. N-roads are very popular with the local clubs because there's spacious hard shoulders and a good surface, but they're a little boring for my tastes.

Ah yeah it's the R roads that are the worst. Around my neck of the woods they're mostly R. Even the N17 which I'm on is a disaster for 10+ miles either side of me. Full of traffic going both ways and barely room to fit two cars side by side let alone 2 cars and me.

I know exactly what you're talking about, I live just off a road like that and it can be quite hair-raising. People giving you ~30cm of space at 80kph is not fun cycling. I avoid it as much as possible, and thankfully have a decent selection of nice, quiet roads. Although I'm scared of the horses :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭stecleary

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

stecleary wrote: »

Oh dear God! :eek:
    He carries a red card? Seven cameras?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,363 ✭✭✭KingBrian2

That guy has got to seriously calm down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭Cessna_Pilot

Pathetic, absolutley pathetic and a pure bully to boot.

Weepsie wrote: »
    No it isn't but it probably makes up quite a percentage of youtube and its ilk. Another sign he's a bell-end though. People who record the entire concert, or most of it rather than just watch the concert are tossers. By all means take the odd picture, or video of a favourite, but that person behind you thinks you're knob.

Yep, concerts are about music first and foremost, so go and listen, not video and take fecking selfies.

"You just have to make a point"

Yeah, sometimes you do, but not a whole youtube channel a virtual career out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭cython

<snip>

Mod note: No speculation over the real ID of any Boards member is permitted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

I'm presuming he doesn't drive himself going by his ridiculous attitude to what are barely even minor infringements.

In the first link, traffic is moving slowly and it's perfectly acceptable to 'nose' out to make progress and get onto the major road. He had ample time to act appropriately like what the rest of us would do. The fact that the silver car was allowing another car access from the other side seems to be lost with him.

In the second link, it's possible that the Audi driver needed to advance forward onto the cycle track for better visibility at the junction before there was any cyclist there and to be fair to him, he backed up immediately. I wouldn't expect any motorist to do that. How difficult is it to simply manoeuvre around the car?

The mind boggles. He's going to crap his pants when he encounters a real situation.

I'd say his self righteous attitude to asserting 'his rights' represents the greatest risk to his safety.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

The guy clearly has mental problems. I would hate to carry around that level of hate.

He'll get what he's looking for someday. And he won't like it when it comes. And he'll regret every minute of this idiocy.

Also, his videos is filed under the category of "Non-profits and Activism". :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

I ended up in a scuffle with a more aggressive version of this guy a few weeks ago. A lady was stopped at a red light and had just gone past the line, one of those pedestrian/cycle crossings. Plenty of room but a cyclist starts kicking the **** out of the woman's car. I jumped off my bike and had to physically restrain him, he wasn't so brave when the 100kg man had a hold of him but he was all tough when the lady in the car was screaming in terror. One of these bullies is going to go too far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,967 ✭✭✭De Bhál

I cycle 14 km ew through Dublin city every day and those incidents are almost nothing.
    People nosing out with cars, sure that's what you have to do in a car to get on to a main road. Just cycle around the car or better still stop for 10secs and let them out (I never do that :-)).
    So much worse stuff than that happens. I feel sorry for him tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Jim Stynes

What a prick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭groovyg

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j7kdWgvL44g

He seems to have no qualms about harassing a female motorist and holding up other motorists while complaining about being delayed. (...and that horrible nerdy voice!)

What a moron ! Why couldn't he just go around the car. His objective seems to be going around looking for trouble.