Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dundalk Traders Cup: 2016

• 16-02-2016 1:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,304 ✭✭✭

It looks like this will be the first race weekend of the season .
    Is the sign on the same place as last year?
    Same circuit as last year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭ptr_84

Yes exactly the same as last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭LCD

http://www.dundalkcycling.com/

All the details the same as last year. Race starts at 10am, handicapped event.

I would be shocked if weather wasn't crap for it!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Handicapped A1/2/3
    Separate Wimmins and freds races though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

Anyone else racing the Freds? I will either be out the front or out the back so say hello!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

lennymc wrote: »
    Anyone else racing the Freds? I will either be out the front or out the back so say hello!

I'll be riding with the Freds (as reigning king of the Freds, self appointed)

Someone from my club is trying to wuss out though, no names please

cough cough koutobia cough cough

Bravely brave koutoubia ran away away. I guess that's what happens when you join vcb.....

He ran away wearing the new VCB "rear entry" tri suit as well :)

I thought that was your rear entry suit?

He got one too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,304 ✭✭✭koutoubia

Oi......enough of that talk.only one weirdo in here into that rear entry try athleteing....and its not me.

koutoubia wrote: »
    One weirdo in here into that rear entry try athleteing....and its me :eek::eek::eek:

FYP

Now now...do I need to dog out pictures of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,429 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

RobFowl wrote:
    Handicapped A1/2/3 Separate Wimmins and freds races though

So much for the separate A1/2/3 races that cycling Ireland had said were going to be happening.

Now now...do I need to dog out pictures of you.

1781908_10151942717878317_799085367_n.jpg?oh=d2c6b8ee0ce06c1d60cd9f8e038a6cde&oe=57586990

^^^^^^^ koutoubia's screen saver.

No thats this one ;)

224590_527066750643440_666335566_n.jpg?oh=1dcf78f06eba472872f7a41c33247395&oe=5725991D

So much for the separate A1/2/3 races that cycling Ireland had said were going to be happening.

TBF thats what CI asked promoters to put on.
    They can only ask....

unsubscribing from this thread.
    Too many libellous allegegations going on

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

unsubscribing from this thread.
    Too many libellous allegegations going on
    Can rename the thread "rear-entry in Balrothery" if that tickles your (and indeed Rob's) fancy.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭wav1

In fairness,and I have no connections here at all,this one has always beem run as a C P.The stand alone separate category races will kick off next weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

In fairness to koub, this was one of the harshest races last year. It snowed on us at the start line, then sleet and freezing rain for the rest. We were all split up after a large chunk of the peleton took the wrong turn and then spent the next 20k chasing. The return leg was into strong cold winds and the rain never stopped. My shorts stuck to me so badly that I had a bleeding cut in the shape of my pad.

It was the least attended race if the year in A4 I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭12 sprocket

In fairness to koub, this was one of the harshest races last year. It snowed on us at the start line, then sleet and freezing rain for the rest. We were all split up after a large chunk of the peleton took the wrong turn and then spent the next 20k chasing. The return leg was into strong cold winds and the rain never stopped. My shorts stuck to me so badly that I had a bleeding cut in the shape of my pad.

It was the least attended race if the year in A4 I'd say.
    Other than those few minor details it sounds like you all had a great day out:)

It snowed last time I did this aswell.

Theres nothing like ''Ski Sunday''

Wet, cold and windy...

God I love cycling :)

Last year ....was ok when we were moving. On the way home in the car I started to shiver and couldn't stop. Had to pull into M1 services to get some hot food and drink into me and young Harry and another soul had the same idea.
    Looks like tomorrow will be a repeat of last year.

Last year ....was ok when we were moving. On the way home in the car I started to shiver and couldn't stop. Had to pull into M1 services to get some hot food and drink into me and young Harry and another soul had the same idea.
    Looks like tomorrow will be a repeat of last year.

I'll wear my tri suit and we can cuddle to get warm after ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭Lusk_Doyle

I might give this a go and see how my secret training has worked!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Lusk_Doyle wrote: »
    I might give this a go and see how my secret training has worked!

You'll be grand, hide and then bring it in the sprint!

Enjoyed madness. Glad to see RobFowl and koutoubia sorted out their rear entry issue....

Looked like about 200 signed on

Donkey Derby is the only way to describe that A4 race.
    Narrowly missed the crash a few km in ( clipoped the guys helmet when he was on the ground)
    Then got brought own in a pile up with circa 3k to go.
    Some damage to me and the bike bit a few other guys in bad shape.
    I believe a Swords guy broke his leg in the same crash.
    Another guy was knocked unconscious in another .
    So happy enough to be relatively ok.
    Looked like there were over 100 riders in A4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭dermabrasion

Well 2016 is on! Thanks to Cuchulainn for the race today. Cannot be nice standing on corners in windy drizzle.

I thought the A4 field was too big, and that crashes were going to be inevitable. The bunch was very nervy in the big wind and so there was no way I was going to go in for the sprint with a huge field of fresh legs that had sat-in for the entire race. So, I decided to empty the both tanks on a suicide break with RobFowl into the wind up towards Ardee. We got caught after a while and the bunch came around us and took off with the wind behind their backs at a blisteringly fast pace.
    Sure enough, I came across the human debris of a couple of nasty entanglements. I hope those involved heal well and are able to be back on the bike soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭timbel

Narrowly missed the crash a few km in ( clipoped the guys helmet when he was on the ground)

Was in the same crash. <snip>. Very big group. Only safe place was out the front or out the back..

Well 2016 is on! Thanks to Cuchulainn for the race today. Cannot be nice standing on corners in windy drizzle.

I thought the A4 field was too big, and that crashes were going to be inevitable. The bunch was very nervy in the big wind and so there was no way I was going to go in for the sprint with a huge field of fresh legs that had sat-in for the entire race. So, I decided to empty the both tanks on a suicide break with RobFowl into the wind up towards Ardee. We got caught after a while and the bunch came around us and took off with the wind behind their backs at a blisteringly fast pace.
    Sure enough, I came across the human debris of a couple of nasty entanglements. I hope those involved heal well and are able to be back on the bike soon.

That was fun, never going to stay away but good craic.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭DKmac

I was the lad who went down after about 8km. Guy beside me think from ardee threw a wobble tangled bars and took me out.
    Thanks for not rolling over my skull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 A4droppedalot

DKmac wrote: »
    I was the lad who went down after about 8km. Guy beside me think from ardee threw a wobble tangled bars and took me out.

You had the red bike and light blue top in A4?

Hope you're ok, I was second "on the scene" and crashed over you (I'm UCD). Then about 4 or 5 on me. All part of cycling no hard feelings! Tried to catch up but no luck. Perhaps it was just as well after hearing about that poor swords guy.

Chatted to some guys back at the club, one had broken the upper rear triangle of his frame (ouch!).

Also heard some poor guy slammed out after about 3km with his fork coming off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭SwissToni

Sounds like your standard early season fair, hope all are ok, at least the local bike shops will have a busy Monday morning ;)

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Guys

I am a personal friend of one of those involved in an accident today - I really don't want to be reading details about his injuries in here. I'm sure his family and other friends feel the same, so could we try and avoid commenting in any detail over potential injuries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭DKmac

You had the red bike and light blue top in A4?

Hope you're ok, I was second "on the scene" and crashed over you (I'm UCD). Then about 4 or 5 on me. All part of cycling no hard feelings! Tried to catch up but no luck. Perhaps it was just as well after hearing about that poor swords guy.

Chatted to some guys back at the club, one had broken the upper rear triangle of his frame (ouch!).

Also heard some poor guy slammed out after about 3km with his fork coming off.

Yeah that's me. Sure look there's always next week.

DKmac wrote: »
    No worries :P
    There was a line of lads queing up behind me to hit ya so I left it to them!

Hope your ok!

I asked at the sign-on, when it was obvious that the A4 line-up was huge, were they going to cap the numbers for A4? The lady at the sign-on did not know what I was getting at. C.I. commissaries were over her shoulder, but in fairness, they dd not hear my question. For me, today was obvious that there was going to be trouble. While the roads on this track are good, the conditions were not. That coupled with the 1st race of the season for 'beginners to racing', IMHO there should not have been more than 80 in the A4 peloton. 60 would have been ideal.
    (I realise that I signed-on too, and could have walked away, but I pretty much absented myself from the high-speed risk).
    I think that C.I. comms dropped the ball here.

I asked at the sign-on, when it was obvious that the A4 line-up was huge, were they going to cap the numbers for A4? The lady at the sign-on did not know what I was getting at. C.I. commissaries were over her shoulder, but in fairness, they dd not hear my question. For me, today was obvious that there was going to be trouble. While the roads on this track are good, the conditions were not. That coupled with the 1st race of the season for 'beginners to racing', IMHO there should not have been more than 80 in the A4 peloton. 60 would have been ideal.
    (I realise that I signed-on too, and could have walked away, but I pretty much absented myself from the high-speed risk).
    And that is really the problem with A) a season that is loaded in Feb/March/April
    and B) with one race in Leinster on any given day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 724 ✭✭✭JK.BMC

This isn't the CI Comms fault: it is just the same old same old A4 racing scenario - riders falling all over the place, people getting injured, bikes broken, and the regular boards post-mortem afterwards. Been this way for about 6 season now - and it is only the first weekend of the 2016 season. And I reckon it will be the same again as before, since absolutely nothing has been done at official level to cap entries or have minimum riding standards enforced/accreditation of some sort etc., bar what Cycling Ulster do, as far as I can see. I fully understand why Beasty above, and others before him, don't really fancy poring over the gory details of some poor guy's injuries after these incidents occur.
    Most of the A4s in my club don't bother with many open A4 races. I don't blame them either. And they are well capable of being in the points.

I don't have the numbers that signed on for A4 but looking at peloton I would say 100ish.In fairness to the comm,there was no wrong doing from their end.The 140 max rider rule only comes in to play when the A4s are mixed with other cats,Not saying that this is right or wrong but they are the rules that are there.
    The winds played havoc today and were probably really problematic for new A4s on what was a fairly wide open circuit in places.Have to say I hate these big loop type of races particularly at this stage of the season.They are difficult to control and manage.Riders probably oblivious to it but there was traffic building up behind all the different groups on what are busy roads and a lot of drivers were getting into road rage mode by times.Motomarshalls are a must,and can really help keep riders safe.

Just a note:
    Some of the shocking handling and lack of came from riders in the 'big clubs'!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

When I started racing (I use the word advisedly) 30 years ago, I was advised to miss out the first couple of races of the season, because of the likelihood of crashes. The expression used to describe these races was Crasheteriums.

Yes, it is the same every year. It comes and goes. There are bad days, there are great days. Some races are great, some are disasters.Its all been said before, there is no epiphany to be found in this thread.
    It is just a great and exhilarating sport when it runs well. But, common sense has to prevail.

JK.BMC wrote: »
    And I reckon it will be the same again as before, since absolutely nothing has been done at official level to cap entries or have minimum riding standards enforced/accreditation of some sort etc., bar what Cycling Ulster do,
    Numbers may have had something to do with this, but there were only 40 or so in the race I in which I crashed just under 2 years ago (which was in Ulster). This time of season does seem to be a bit of a problem though as certainly "novice" riders were mentioned as possibly contributing to that accident. Big fields on relatively flat courses often stick together - A few years ago this race was on a circuit with a bit more climbing involved which tends to spread fields out a lot more.

Early season races are particularly problematical with lots of new racers in generally poor weather conditions, together with a load of guys who may not have raced for 6 months or more.

Spreading the load a bit and encouraging more racing later on in the season can only help. I would add though I think allowing club races over weekends this time of the season is also in my view a way forward - that allows newbies and indeed those returning after a long layoff the opportunity to try their hand in smaller fields. As it is we need to wait until the clocks change at the end of March before midweek club league racing can commence

Just a note:
    Some of the shocking handling and lack of came from riders in the 'big clubs'!
    Clubs really mean nothing at this level though. Yes they wear their club gear, but they are just as likely to be inexperienced as anyone in these races.

JK.BMC wrote: »
    I fully understand why Beasty above, and others before him, don't really fancy poring over the gory details of some poor guy's injuries after these incidents occur.
    Just on this specific point, as a lot of people around here are aware, I was more than happy to share lots of my own gory details on here a couple of years ago, but I was the person involved in that case. It's not for others to go into that level of detail though;)