Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Used Cars in Donegal

• 13-02-2016 9:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭

I am currently looking for a car 4 or 5 years old.
    When I look on DD I search every county except Donegal as it seems full of dodgy imports.
    Is it only me? Am I all wrong to think this ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭c_meth

liam7831 wrote: »
    When I look on DD I search every county except Donegal as it seems full of dodgy imports.

The border would def encourage imports. Not necessarily dodgy though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

liam7831 wrote: »

It's only you and you are wrong (and ignorant)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭goochy

I assume donegal people only buy imports as alot of donegal cars seem to end up for sale elsewhere in country .think right price cars in dublin have DL connections . Alot of cars from there for sale.
    DL Cars have to go through nct like elsewhere so shouldn't be any different

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

People's misconceptions about Donegal cars is actually a good thing.

Keeps the price of them down for the rest of us. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Patww79 wrote: »
    Funny enough it's the one reg I'd automatically rule out too.

You'd rule out cars from the one county where people are totally reliant on their cars for transport and so have to maintain them to an above average standard?

Are clapped out Boras and Civics the only cars you buy? Because that's the only reason your attitude would make sense. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭madalig12

Funny enough it's the one reg I'd automatically rule out too.

Thats harsh. Whats the reasoning behind this tude?

It's just a preference and its an easy one to have as there are many other options out there. All that ever springs to mind is dodgy lowered ex northy RSTDI's that have never seen anything but red or kerosene even after crossing the border.
    To be honest everything motoring about Donegal always just screams dodgy, not sure why but probably as I always see it as an extension of NI. I'd imagine the good folk of Donegal would lose as much sleep over the fact as I do though.

Monaghan and Louth and even Dublin are where you get those dodgy capers, Donegal not so much. And you're right, we won't lose much sleep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

I too would never touch a DL reg car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

Ive got an fto in my front garden with a DL reg. Didn't think twice. Great car.

The only thing that has ever put me off a donegal car, is the journey to go view it. As i'm in dublin, i generally stay in leinster and mainly in dublin if picking up a car.

Merc e200 - Dublin. 2015. (Dub reg).
    Ford Mondeo - Louth. 2014. (Louth reg).
    Mitsi fto - Clare. 2011. (Donegal reg).
    Mitsi fto - Laois. 2011. (Dub reg).
    Ford Transit - Donegal. (Dub reg.
    Bmw 318 - Dublin. (Dub reg).
    Opel astra - dublin. (Dub reg).

Those were my personal cars.

County plates is just another form of plate snobbery.

I don't see Monaghan or Louth as as much of an extension of NI. Donegal is pretty much the 12th district.

Though it's a bit hypocritical to defend your own against an 'unfair' opinion and in turn label both of those.

I meant that's where all the dodgy fuel goings on take place, very little of that in Donegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I ignore donedeal cars on donedeal too, but not because they are worse or something as I wouldn't know.
    Reasons I do ignore them:
    80% of them are English regions.
    Its in the arse of no where and driving there is a pain in a hole, specially when people are not honest with their cars when they selling them. Spending a fortune on petrol and wasting my friends mechanics time is not worth it.

As for number plate... I never ever cared about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

There are loads of uk reg cars without vrt paid for sale in Donegal.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    There are loads of uk reg cars without vrt paid for sale in Donegal.

Haven't seen the colour of a number plate affect the reliability or performance of a motor yet, and I'm around a long time.

Yes, but when you're searching for a car in the republic for sale for a certain price, you don't want to see a load of uk cars that you have to add vrt onto the asking price. As an aside, it's illegal to sell a uk reg car here as a private individual. Vrt must be paid first. I wouldn't be lining these folks pockets, especially as they may already have been pulled in by customs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

What do you mean by 12th district?

Yes, but when you're searching for a car in the republic for sale for a certain price, you don't want to see a load of uk cars that you have to add vrt onto the asking price. As an aside, it's illegal to sell a uk reg car here as a private individual. Vrt must be paid first. I wouldn't be lining these folks pockets, especially as they may already have been pulled in by customs

Yeah, but you're talking about cars you wouldn't look at no matter what county they were in.

indeed. but there's no way to filter them out. by excluding Donegal in a search you remove loads of them. that's what the thread is about.

there is also the factor that Donegal has the worst roads in the country

Yeah they'd probably be the worst alright, apart from every other county:P

Road surfaces in Donegal in general would be the best non-motorway surfaces in Ireland. You get an odd bad one alright, but nowhere near as bad as they are elsewhere.

Used to visit Donegal alot when younger but since moving to cork too far. Unless people visit Donegal regularly don't think they should be making generalisations that roads are bad and that cars are badly kept up there. As said the largest used car dealer in country sells alot of DL cars If plp were small minded enough to be bothered by reg. Plates they would stop selling them.

Yeah they'd probably be the worst alright, apart from every other county:P

Road surfaces in Donegal in general would be the best non-motorway surfaces in Ireland. You get an odd bad one alright, but nowhere near as bad as they are elsewhere.

Donegal usually had the most fatalities, this is regularly blamed on the roads.

Most of the fatalities happen on the best roads.

Hilarious.

Colm mcm thought you had a bit of sense but wondering on this thread ! . Amount of road deaths is because of bad driving and not because of roads - when people blame roads for deaths they are not taking about pot holes they are talking about the fact that there's not as many motorways and main roads. I have no connections with DL but think this thread has run its course and is just DL Bashing

i don't think I'm Donegal bashing, my.main reason for filtering out the cars is the vrt thing.
    There have been threads about Donegal accident stats and the roads are usually blamed. is it the drivers then, perceived lack of garda enforcement leadin to more risk taking, lack of public transport leading to drink driving, or something else?

i don't think I'm Donegal bashing, my.main reason for filtering out the cars is the vrt thing.
    There have been threads about Donegal accident stats and the roads are usually blamed. is it the drivers then, perceived lack of garda enforcement leadin to more risk taking, lack of public transport leading to drink driving, or something else?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭bmwguy

There is a perception that Donegal roads are bad and the condition of the car will be compromised because of this. It may have been true years ago but I think they are ok now apart from country lanes (but the same would be true for every rural county). There was a boy racer mentality perceived in Donegal too, rightly or wrongly I am not sure. The actual reg wouldn't put me off but the drive to Donegal would unless it was something great value. As someone else said sellers are less than truthful and I could imagine driving there and seeing something not as described. If anything there could me more UK cars there of higher spec so could be some good cars there. In all honesty though, the perception would put me off because it might be more difficult to resell when the time came. Thats the only reason really though. I know many others that would not buy there or a one that had the DL reg plate

I too would avoid a DL reg car. I'm not entirely sure why it is, but there is something off-putting about it.

I'm not sure I care about condition of the roads as such, but for some reason I associate DL reg with a car that's been treated badly (or in many more obvious cases, has had the bollocks boy-raced out of it).

I too would avoid a DL reg car. I'm not entirely sure why it is, but there is something off-putting about it.

I'm not sure I care about condition of the roads as such, but for some reason I associate DL reg with a car that's been treated badly (or in many more obvious cases, has had the bollocks boy-raced out of it).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

I wouldn't be put off if it was the car i was looking for
    If I'm buying a 3 owner car, with a d reg, how am I to know that it didn't get sold to some chap in donegal after a year, he drove the ****e out of it for two years and sold it to someone in laois after that.

If the car is what I'm looking for, with the right spec and history then I couldn't give a toss where it's from

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

It's been a long time since I've been in Donegal but I don't recall the roads up there been that bad at all.
    Roads around Dublin north and south inner city have been let go to **** lately.

These days I probably wouldn't hesitate to buy a car up in Donegal tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

bmwguy wrote: »
    As someone else said sellers are less than truthful and I could imagine driving there and seeing something not as described.

Have you any evidence of this? I've seen it mentioned a couple of times in this thread, so can you prove you're not just making a sweeping generalisation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

fullstop wrote: »
    Have you any evidence of this? I've seen it mentioned a couple of times in this thread, so can you prove you're not just making a sweeping generalisation?

Sellers in general not just Donegal sellers.
    It's the time to get to places in Donegal that puts me off and the VRT issue mentioned by colm earlier, that's just a pain.

I try and stick to a 1 hour radius when looking at cars from private individuals to save wasting time, so many cars just aren't as advertised when you see them in the flesh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

It's a well known rite of passage among young dirt bags from Donegal to drive the shyte out of their cars,usually at 3am after 10 pints.

It's part of their culture.

You guys are assuming that the only cars for sale in DL are boy racer cars - which are all over the country I would add! - sure there's plenty of elderly peoples and priests cars there too !
    If plp continue to make silly remarks in this thread I will have to close it - even though I am not a moderator ??!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭johndaman66

goochy wrote: »
    If plp continue to make silly remarks in this thread I will have to close it - even though I am not a moderator ??!

Jeepers fair play to you if you pull that one off!
    biggrin.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Id sooner buy a DL car than a RN one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭Vowel Movement

There are very few boy racer's here these days, and sure why would anyone in their right mind buy an old riced civic/ felt spec passat with more owners than oil changes? most newer cars and even older ones are well looked after.
    Even the remotest roads have very few potholes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Veloce

Dupe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Veloce

Was up in DL for the May Bank holiday weekend a few years ago. From travelling the roads I noticed a lot of poor standard driving. Young lads in lowered boras and A4 TDIs tailgating and overtaking dangerously.

Of course I see poor driving down in Dublin too but I just wasn't expecting to see as much of it up the DL direction.

In terms of buying a car, lots of enthusiast owned cars up that direction that I'd definitely consider but I'd steer clear of most of the others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Kevwoody

Pkiernan wrote: »
    It's a well known rite of passage among young dirt bags from Donegal to drive the shyte out of their cars,usually at 3am after 10 pints.

It's part of their culture.

From just doing a quick search of your previous posts you sir are nothing but a troll

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭bmwguy

fullstop wrote: »

I was referring to car sellers not being truthful surely this is a very well known occurrence? It wasn't a Donegal thing, it is a car seller thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

the roads in donegal are worse than most other counties.
    Donegal is the worst county for road traffic accidents.
    drink driving is a lot more accepted there than it would be in some other counties
    theres a culture up there of young lads ripping round and driving the stones off cars for the craic.

regardless of maintenance and driving style, the wheels and suspension on a donegal car will be in a worse state compared to those in regions with better roads. But adding in all the other factors , you are left with a high chance that the car will be in a worse state.

if you were buying say a 3 year old avensis with 40k miles on it , then Id say fair enough , probably not a lot of damage , be grand. But I certainly wouldn't be buying anything high mileage, performance/sporty or anything that young lads have an interest in (golf / a4 / passat / honda's / subaru's / coupe's)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

Brian Scan wrote: »
    What do you mean by 12th district?

I thought you were going for a Hunger Games jibe there ;)