Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Public Figures.

• 04-02-2016 7:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,660 ✭✭✭✭

Given even Terry Wogan was the recipient of bile and hatred on the day of his death,I was wondering is there an Irish public figure that is universally liked?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Nope - now use your own thread ffs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Bosco.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Pink Fairy

Apart from Bono I can't think of any.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Pink Fairy wrote: »
    Apart from Bono I can't think of any.
    What?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Not on AH, that's for sure.

Now back in your box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

That Don Conroy that used to do the art on The Den. Can't see anybody disliking him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Mary Robinson... John Hume... only disliked by cunts whose opinions don't matter anyway.

kwestfan08 wrote: »
    That Don Conroy that used to do the art on The Den. Can't see anybody disliking him.

Well now, don't start me on him....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

me?

Who?That bollix with his fancy drawings and beige corduroy pants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Colm Murray. Joey Dunlop (ok, maybe not everybody would have known who Joey was, but those that do never have a bad word). Bill O'Herlihy.

Who?That bollix with his fancy drawings and beige corduroy pants.

kfallon? Not how I imagined him at all.

maudgonner wrote: »
    Colm Murray. Joey Dunlop (ok, maybe not everybody would have known who Joey was, but those that do never have a bad word). Bill O'Herlihy.

Personally I can't stand Bill. Colm was just an average reporter beatified by RTE.

edit; Then again, I'm no sports fan and think there's far too much of it on RTE.

So one must die before being universally liked then.

Hmmm, OK then, how about Gerald Fleming the winking weatherman? Surely everyone loves Gerald.

(Winking, I said winking!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,797 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

kwestfan08 wrote: »

Him and his b@starding owls can f*ck off and all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭8 Bit Girl

Micheàl O Mulllahhhuuuurrrrtiiiigggghh

John Giles

And who doesnt love Marty Whelan...

8 Bit Girl wrote: »
    Micheàl O Mulllahhhuuuurrrrtiiiigggghh

John Giles

And who doesnt love Marty Whelan...

No.

No.

And, Sweet Lord, NO.

Bill Bryson

David Attenborough

Ronnie Barker

My friend Liam.

kneemos wrote: »
    Given even Terry Wogan was the recipient of bile and hatred on the day of his death,I was wondering is there an Irish public figure that is universally liked?
    Bill Bryson

David Attenborough

Ronnie Barker

My friend Liam.

We might give you Liam, it depends :D

Yes, all my nice people, bar Liam, seem to be foreigners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,965 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

Brendan Gleeson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

kneemos wrote: »

Never saw any bile directed towards Wogan tbh and if there was I'd readily dismiss it. That said nobody is universally liked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Pink Fairy

Does Whoops count as a boards celeb?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 126 ✭✭Whyohwhy?

Pink Fairy wrote: »
    Does Whoops count as a boards celeb?

In certain circles... Yes.
    A nicer woman I have not met. (I've never met her mind you, but I'm sure she's lovely)

Also, +1 for joey Dunlop, by all accounts a genuine gent. Unbelievable on a motorcycle and generous humanitarian (off his own back I believe to boot... Sorely missed by those who knew him/knew of him)

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,267 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

John Giles

I've seen plenty of people refer to him as senile/an old fool on here and Twitter.

No matter how likeable someone comes across or how good at their job they are there will always be someone on the internet wishing them a slow painful death.

Yes, all my nice people, bar Liam, seem to be foreigners.

Have you considered a move to the UK?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Always taught Dave fanning seemed an overall sound bloke who loves his music

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭ShoulderChip

no

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

no

Not sound or deosnt like music??

No.

No.

And, Sweet Lord, NO.

Haha :D

Alright give me another go....

Francis Brennan...national treasure that he is...

Jack Charlton

Packie Bonner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Shrap

BP Fallon?

I have it! Paul McGrath.

(Right? Right? Please tell me everybody loves Paul McGrath...)

I've seen plenty of people refer to him as senile/an old fool on here and Twitter.

No matter how likeable someone comes across or how good at there job they are there will always be someone on the internet wishing them a slow painful death.

Really! I like him anyway. Himself and Bill would be the two you'd pick from the panel to go for a pint with. Those other two whingers though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

You're right on both counts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Never liked Bosco, whiny fcuker.

Packie Bonner is a bit of an I'mmeandwho'slikeme too.

Shrap wrote: »
    BP Fallon?

Ok, I'll try that again a bit louder....

BP FALLON??!

Sure, he's lovely! Pure gent, no?

Shrap wrote: »
    Ok, I'll try that again a bit louder....

BP FALLON??!

Sure, he's lovely! Pure gent, no?

I'll say nothing, but quietly point you in the direction of this thread...

Sigh. Bollix. Always liked his gentle voice. :(

Remind me not to shout the next time :o

Ok, I'll try again a little quieter then...

Christy Dignam??

Sure, he's an aul pet.....*

*awaits linkie to another thread throwing him to the lions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Bosco.

Cnut

Never liked Bosco, whiny fcuker.
    Fleawuss wrote: »
    Cnut

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 126 ✭✭Whyohwhy?

Haha :D

Alright give me another go....

Francis Brennan...national treasure that he is...

Jack Charlton

Packie Bonner

I'd agree with you on Francis brennan , he's annoyingly camp but ye can't help but smile at what he comes out with, especially on that coach trip bollix... He's a giggle to be sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Brindor

Me :^)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,835 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Fr Dougal Mc Guire. Now who could dislike Dougal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭mapaca

Ian Dempsey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

I've never heard a bad word about Michael D. Higgins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭thee glitz

David Norris

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Fr Dougal Mc Guire. Now who could dislike Dougal?

I like the character but I always found Ardal O'Hanlon to be a painfully unfunny comedian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭bullvine

Nobody hates Paul McGrath, nicest man you could ever meet.

What about Brian o driscoll, i dont even like rugby but he seems universally liked.