Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'Pro-rape' meet-up to be held in Naas. Mod warning in op.

• 03-02-2016 1:26pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 726 ✭✭✭RIGHTisRIGHT

A controversial blogger who believes that "rape should be legalised on private property" has organised meet-ups for like-minded men in 43 countries on February 6.
    The full list can be viewed here.
    Anti-feminist blogger 'Roosh V', or Daryush Valizadeh, has named Naas as the location for the meet-up in Ireland on his site Return of Kings "in front of main entrance of Naas Courthouse".

The Irish meeting with be Naas – In front of main entrance of Naas Courthouse.

http://www.returnofkings.com/78021/full-city-listing-and-meeting-points-for-international-meetup-day

Am I the only person who thinks this meeting should be run out of town?

Mod- No matter how abhorrent you may find the subject or the organiser, advocating violence against anyone is not on. Please try to keep it civil. Thank you.

There's one plus for it; anyone that attends should hopefully be placed on a government and Gardaí watchlist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Well, judging from the threads regarding Sweden & Cologne etc, it will probably be well attended.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭sadie06

Nobody knows if he even has any followers here. I doubt anyone will turn up outside Naas Courthouse. The blogger won't be there...

• Why not attend the meeting, debate his arguments and show his arguments to be ridiculous?

Debate > Censorship

Censorship allows a myth / legend to pervade, but destroying someone's arguments can stop them in their tracks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,338 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

sadie06 wrote: »
    Nobody knows if he even has any followers here. I doubt anyone will turn up outside Naas Courthouse. The blogger won't be there...
    Yeah, can't imagine anyone turning up to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,760 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

To identify your fellow tribesmen, ask the following question to a man you suspect is there for the meetup: “Do you know where I can find a pet shop?” If you are asked this question, answer in the affirmative: “Yes, it’s right here.” You can then introduce yourself and get details about where to proceed at 8:20. If you ask someone for the pet shop and they appear confused or actually try to direct you to a real pet shop, they’re not there for the meetup.
    It would be funny if it wasn't so f**king delusional.

And what exactly are these 'like-minded men' going to do? Storm the courthouse? Lobby politicians?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

I read the article that everyone keeps referring to. The suggestion to legalise rape does not seem to be a genuine belief but more tongue in cheek. It's more a dig at the status quo where the male is always assumed to be the one in the wrong and the woman is always the damsel. I think this group is more caveman than pro-rape.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 726 ✭✭✭RIGHTisRIGHT

Cienciano wrote: »
    Yeah, can't imagine anyone turning up to it.

Will there be food and drinks?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭ibFoxer

I imagine that it will be a group of lads who ones leg would never get tired kicking. And possibly who have never seen a boob.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭The Randy Riverbeast

Is this a group that has the right to an opinion and the SJWs are going all nazi or is this the type of group that has no place in our tolerant western world?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Rega

osarusan wrote: »

And what exactly are these 'like-minded men' going to do? Storm the courthouse? Lobby politicians?

They're all going to start raping each other

Is this a group that has the right to an opinion and the SJWs are going all nazi or is this the type of group that has no place in our tolerant western world?

I started the thread and I am as anti politically correct as they come you can check my posting history.
    The line for me is calling for violence and rape is violence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

To identify your fellow tribesmen, ask the following question to a man you suspect is there for the meetup: “Do you know where I can find a pet shop?” If you are asked this question, answer in the affirmative: “Yes, it’s right here.” You can then introduce yourself and get details about where to proceed at 8:20. If you ask someone for the pet shop and they appear confused or actually try to direct you to a real pet shop, they’re not there for the meetup.
    Ah that's just batsh1t crazy.

Jimoslimos: Do you know where I can find a pet shop?
    Shifty-looking social misfit: Yes it's right here
    Jimoslimos: Great! See my dog here keeps attacking people - specifically targets men's testicles for some reason. Was wondering if I could get her a toy to chew on....would you mind looking after her for a moment while I pop off to feed the meter...
    Shifty-looking social misfit: Wait...nooo!!!!

There is a Maxi Zoo in Naas I wonder if they will have a bumper day.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭NyOmnishambles

Punch and Pie?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,253 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

As I mused on another forum hereabouts… The guy's a troll surfing on the wave of outrage and making a few quid doing so. Ranting about him on Facebook, twitter et al feeds the guy. Especially if people scream "rape advocate". Those on the fence who dig deeper are more likely to be swayed by the idea he's being misrepresented, even if they find his musings uncomfortable. He is best ignored for the troll he is.

I've had an oul perusal of his forum and in overview it's interesting. There are some clearly bright, well read and well traveled posters there. I may not agree with many of their ideas, but they're not the eejits some would like them to be, or feel safer thinking they are. Needless to say politically the loudest voices range from hardline hard right Libertarians, all the way up to full on hard right racists, who are both patriotic and at the same time feel america is going down the poo pipe. Trump is their natural fit demigod. Talk of "no homo" and "cuck" and "alpha" and "beta" abounds. "Gamma" too. They're gonna fcukin run out of the Greek alphabet at this stage. Seriously guys, that shít's overcompensating for something, or really makes it look like it.

For all the talk by some of "Board's censorship!!", his place is laughingly restrictive and if even long term posters go off script they get banned. I'd bet that the majority of the guys who reckon Boards is censored by "loony lefties" wouldn't last long on that guys forum. Even they'd be too "liberal" and women can't even join up. Vigorous debate is only encouraged along very narrow criteria, again go off piste and bye bye. It's just as much an echo chamber as a Jezebel bloggist with scary hair is. Then again Irony can be a concept lost on some Americans.

The PUA stuff has lost its lustre and is oversold in the market, so these guys had to come up with new ways to cash in on the section of younger men looking for answers. It first spread out into ever more location and time specific stuff(day/night/club/street/zoo/grocery shop"game"), then it moved into travelogue with dusky maidens in exotic locales vicarious stuff. Now it seems to be going more into the political.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

I said no when I was asked but they said it wasn't a valid answer.

Wibbs wrote: »
    The guy's a troll surfing on the wave of outrage and making a few quid doing so.
    One of the ways somebody can get into the secret circle who receive emails from him is to confirm their 'rooshness' by sending him a screenshot of them purchasing one of his books online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,253 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

One of the ways somebody can get into the secret circle who receive emails from him is to confirm their 'rooshness' by sending him a screenshot of them purchasing one of his books online.
    No way? :pac:

These "worldwide" meetings sound like he's running out of ideas/ways to make money on his spiel. Fine if he gets protests at his seminars, that increases advertising for him and for free. Ditto for Facebook outrage at his and his fellow yahoos clickbait articles. But hoping for a bunch of strangers to just meet up outa the blue, in Naas of all places. No offence to Naasians(?), but W.T.actual.F. Whichever local suggested that location was surely trolling him :D

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

He has a series of books broadly along the lines of around the world in 80 shags. They go by the catchy title of "Bang [insert country here]. Can't wait to read "Bang Naas". :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,298 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Only if dressed as Bill Cosby.

No way? :pac:
    Yeah.
    The world is moving against us. I’ve gotten reports of over a dozen organized protests at our meeting points. Dozens more are being organized privately. Since this meetup was never intended as a confrontation with unattractive women and their enablers, I’m moving to save as many of these meetups as I can before Saturday so that men can still meet in private away from a loud, obnoxious, dishonest, and potentially violent mob.
    If you take a look at the full listing page, you’ll see that some meetups have had their location removed and have instead been replaced with an email address or two to contact. If you want to attend one of the newly private meetups, send an email to the address(es) proving that you’re one of us. These are the three ways that you’ll be about to do that:
    • If you’ve left a non-hater comment on ROK or RooshV.com using your Disqus account before January 15.
    • If you have an active account on RVF that is at least three months old.
    • If you can provide a screenshot receipt of one of my books (Amazon, iTunes, Kobo, Paypal, etc) that was purchased before January 15.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Shrap

He has a series of books broadly along the lines of around the world in 80 shags. They go by the catchy title of "Bang [insert country here]. Can't wait to read "Bang Naas". :pac:

In which case, troll should really have picked Muff as a meeting place.

Shrap wrote: »

Or Nobber.

Yeah.
    :D Jaysus. Can his support base not see the amateur trolling he's up to? Like I said some are clearly not morons. I dunno, but if I was trying to build a movement of some sort I'd look to history and start under the bloody radar. EG create a separate private forum where only longstanding vouched guys are allowed in, organise meetings there for like minded individuals, grow from there. No drama, no protests, no hassle and if your cause whatever it is has legs it will grow. For someone who rails on drama queens, he sure comes across as one. A while back at one of his seminars some young wan dumped a drink on his head(well wig, he was wearing a disguise :pac:) and he screams assault? The hell? Then again this sells books, clicks, seminars with the sense of truth, community and the get the fook outa America cos it's lost its way, being under the radar doesn't.

Shrap wrote: »

Yes but Naas has the big ball.

Hackballscross?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Kilcock is only over the road...

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Blue balls might have been better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭valoren

Create a blog to make money.
    Create intentionally click-baiting offensive content that draws traffic to the site.
    Increased site traffic perpetuates an increase in income.
    Wash rinse repeat the offensive content to generate more income.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

I read the article that everyone keeps referring to. The suggestion to legalise rape does not seem to be a genuine belief but more tongue in cheek. It's more a dig at the status quo where the male is always assumed to be the one in the wrong and the woman is always the damsel. I think this group is more caveman than pro-rape.

i agree
    that article aside - I had a quick look at the "about" sector of "return of the kings"
    It wasn't that bad , some stuff was ok , some I didn't agree with but I saw nothing to warrant the "pro rape" hysteria. slightly off the range but nothing goebbels-esque.

I am amused at this hysteria especially comments on social media from people who clearly read a headline that a guy was "pro-rape"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Why Naas of all places? I can't see anyone other than the curious turning up. I don't see anything on his site advocating rape, using obvious click bait in media headlines that aren't true just feeds this guy's already massive victim complex.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

I am amused at the downplaying of Return of Kings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

I'm thinking it's not for real, some elaborate trolling site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

maudgonner wrote: »
    Kilcock is only over the road...

That's where the lesbians meet.

arayess wrote: »
    I am amused at this hysteria especially comments on social media from people who clearly read a headline that a guy was "pro-rape"
    He is pro-rape. Literally, he wants it legalised in certain cases, and here is the 'reasoning':
    make rape legal if done on private property. I propose that we make the violent taking of a woman not punishable by law when done off public grounds.

The exception for public rape is aimed at those seedy and deranged men who randomly select their rape victims on alleys and jogging trails, but not as a mechanism to prevent those rapes, since the verdict is still out if punishment stops a committed criminal mind, but to have a way to keep them off the streets. For all other rapes, however, especially if done in a dwelling or on private property, any and all rape that happens should be completely legal.

If rape becomes legal under my proposal, a girl will protect her body in the same manner that she protects her purse and smartphone.

If rape becomes legal, a girl will not enter an impaired state of mind where she can’t resist being dragged off to a bedroom with a man who she is unsure of—she’ll scream, yell, or kick at his attempt while bystanders are still around. If rape becomes legal, she will never be unchaperoned with a man she doesn’t want to sleep with.

After several months of advertising this law throughout the land, rape would be virtually eliminated on the first day it is applied.

Without daddy government to protect her, a girl would absolutely not enter a private room with a man she doesn’t know or trust unless she is absolutely sure she is ready to sleep with him. Consent is now achieved when she passes underneath the room’s door frame, because she knows that that man can legally do anything he wants to her when it comes to sex.

Bad encounters are sure to occur, but these can be learning experiences for the poorly trained woman so she can better identify in the future the type of good man who will treat her like the delicate flower that she believes she is. After only one such sour experience, she will actually want to get fully acquainted with a man for longer than two hours—perhaps even demanding to meet his parents—instead of letting a beer chug prevent her from making the correct decisions to protect her body.

http://www.wehuntedthemammoth.com/2015/02/17/pickup-guru-roosh-v-end-rape-by-making-it-legal/

Easy to believe that he doesn't believe much of what he says, but I'd be worried about the deluded souls who he's peddling it to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭etoughguy

What a fckutard hillbilly idiot, maybe he should get a taste of his own medicine in someones house some night, see if that changes his mind

arayess wrote: »
    He knows how to cause outrage in some and knows how to milk it. I'd give him some kudos for that, but it's not that hard. Both sides of this imported from the US nonsense turf war are extremely quick to kick off and rev each other up and neither side have the self awareness to see this. The Roosh guys and their kind laugh at those that are "triggered" by what they see as the "patriarchy", but they themselves are just as easily "triggered" by what they see as the "matriarchy". Both are also extremely clannish and both keep within remarkably tight constraints on what is seen as "acceptable". There's an actual satire to be written on the phenomenon.

On the local level I don't see Irish guys being too into all this. As a very general rule we tend to be easy going, pretty meh can't be arsed kinda people almost to a fault. Stereotype it may be, but the fact it's not being held in a pub is a nail in the coffin right there. Hell, look at the centenary of the 1916 rising and look back at how many Dublin pubs ended up riddled with bullet holes... Doesn't know his market very well. :D If anything happens at all it will be far more protestors showing up. With placards and angst and selfies. Even then if there are more than five I'll be gobsmacked.
    eviltwin wrote:
    Why Naas of all places
    I'd say the simple answer is that one of his Irish members is from there and suggested it. Like I say we're meh can't be arsed, so he wasn't going to hump up to Dublin.
    Azalea wrote:
    I am amused at the downplaying of Return of Kings.
    Why? Eejit says clickbait nonsense on the interwebs, others flip out(many of whom are also peddling clickbait nonsense), he has a "following" of a couple of thousand worldwide tops, an actual we'll show up and support you following of maybe a couple of hundred and you think the sky is falling in and this is a major threat to Irish society? Seriously?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

He is pro-rape. Literally, he wants it legalised in certain cases, and here is the 'reasoning':

http://www.wehuntedthemammoth.com/2015/02/17/pickup-guru-roosh-v-end-rape-by-making-it-legal/

Tbh, that strikes me as being so ludicrously over the top & insane that I'd be skeptical whether anyone with their faculties intact would seriously call for such a change in the law. It reads to me more as a form of thought experiment - "imagine how things would change if X was the case rather than Y" or perhaps just a wind up/trolling exercise. Who knows though, maybe he's in earnest, like this pro-cannibalism advocate.

Custardpi wrote: »
    Tbh, that strikes me as being so ludicrously over the top & insane that I'd be skeptical whether anyone with their faculties intact would seriously call for such a change in the law. It reads to me more as a form of thought experiment - "imagine how things would change if X was the case rather than Y" or perhaps just a wind up/trolling exercise. Who knows though, maybe he's in earnest, like this pro-cannibalism advocate.
    I edited into my post, so you might have missed it, but this is what I said: Easy to believe that he doesn't believe much of what he says, but I'd be worried about the deluded souls who he's peddling it to.

No matter how utterly ludicrous something might be, you can easily imagine some deluded losers out there who cling to it as truth.

That said, there's every chance that these meetups will not go ahead and there was never any intention that they ever actually go ahead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Well, judging from the threads regarding Sweden & Cologne etc, it will probably be well attended.

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I'm not unduly worried about this guy. If he was actually campaigning to make rape legal then maybe but he's not. From what I can see it's just talk appealing to a certain type of knuckle dragger. He's not worth wasting oxygen over.

Yes and no. He's more than a bit of an oddball with more than grudge about women that did done him bad(he shoulda taken up playing the blues or somesuch) and thinks the notion that men have all the responsibility where drunken sex is concerned is wrong headed(I have some issues with it myself*) and in full clickbait mode and in a really bad effort to write in a "satirical" way to make his "point" out comes that nonsense. He clearly has but a passing acquaintance with satire and what point he had was drowned by his own clumsy keystrokes and the support of his narrowly corralled echo chamber and that's what we read there.

Or if you understandably want to avoid my ramblings, what ET wrote.
    eviltwin wrote:
    I'm not unduly worried about this guy. If he was actually campaigning to make rape legal then maybe but he's not. From what I can see it's just talk appealing to a certain type of knuckle dragger. He's not worth wasting oxygen over.

*it does seem that in case where both the man and woman are drunk, the man has the responsibility to seek consent and that's game ball, but he also takes responsibility for the woman's actions. He magically retains agency when drunk, she magically loses hers. It's all very Victorian This kind of thinking is particularly evident in again, quelle fcukin surprise, American ivory tower college campuses. In reality any actual issues are vanishingly rare to nonexistent, but when there's any doubt involved the man is in a bind. This fear is easy to fan in men who've only seen a tit on their laptop screen and sections of the PUA types fan that paranoia with gusto. I thought I'd better explain in case I got accused of being "pro rape".

Easy to believe that he doesn't believe much of what he says, but I'd be worried about the deluded souls who he's peddling it to.

I disagree. I think he does believe what he says. I don't think he was genuinely suggesting rape should be legal, he was suggesting it as an extreme way to shift responsability from men to women when it comes to rape. Their main goal seems to be the denial of the existence of rape culture and shift of some degree of responsibility to victims when it comes people under the influence or people who put themselves in dangerous situations.

Who know how much of it he believes.

I'd be more inclined to think that he's following in the time-honoured tradition of manipulating gullible misfits, loners and losers into believing that all their woes are somebody else's fault, and all for his own personal benefit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,065 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

I disagree. I think he does believe what he says. I don't think he was genuinely suggesting rape should be legal, he was suggesting it as an extreme way to shift responsability from men to women when it comes to rape. Their main goal seems to be the denial of the existence of rape culture and shift of some degree of responsibility to victims when it comes people under the influence or people who put themselves in dangerous situations.

I'm on campus at the moment, so I don't want this showing up on my search history, but back in December an episode of Reggie Yates's "Extreme UK" focused on MRAs/redpillers, and Roosh was featured. Towards the end, Reggie read an extract from one of Roosh's "Bang" books, where Roosh pretty much boasted about having sex with a woman while she was saying, "No, Roosh, no!" I wouldn't put it beneath him to actually believe in what he was writing in that "legalise rape on private property" essay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,981 ✭✭✭KomradeBishop

Best response to this stuff, is just starvation of attention really - if they want to organize a circlejerk/cry in the middle of nowhere, who cares really? - the whole purpose of it seems less aimed at meeting up, more about getting attention.

From the meet page:
    To identify your fellow tribesmen, ask the following question to a man you suspect is there for the meetup: “Do you know where I can find a pet shop?” If you are asked this question, answer in the affirmative: “Yes, it’s right here.”
    Can imagine the confusion of anyone genuinely looking for a petshop on the day :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

True, the hysterical Chicken Licken response to what is almost certainly a trolling exercise (albeit a pretty financially lucrative one by the sounds of things given the extra attention he's received from it) is completely counter productive & indeed makes those leading the charge sound like the kind of idiots who lose their rag over Onion articles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Mod- No matter how abhorrent you may find the subject or the organiser, advocating violence against anyone is not on. Please try to keep it civil. Thank you.