Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Khan V Canelo May 7th

• 02-02-2016 5:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭

Holy crap! Did not see this one coming. Can't believe Khan has seemingly bypassed Brook for a shot at Canelo. The Brook fight would have earned him a lot more money and would in all likelihood be an easier night's work. This is definitely one to look forward to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭DylanAFC

Did not see this one coming, what weight will this take place at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,532 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Brave man is Khan. Canelo is a class above Kell Brook, the money involved must be insane for Khan to pass up a slightly easier fight which would've paid massively. Looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

DylanAFC wrote: »
    Did not see this one coming, what weight will this take place at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

Pighead wrote: »

If the middleweight title is being contested at 1lb over the limit of the division below, its an absolute joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,519 ✭✭✭Underground

Talk about out of left field, very surprising.

Quite annoyed that Khan has got the big payday he was obviously chasing whilst being totally undeserving of it.

Apart from one decent win against Alexander, he's done nothing to impress since stepping up to 147, and here he is moving up to 155. The catchweight is a joke, but it suits Khan and Canelo loves his catchweights too so it makes sense.

So now Khan has got the big payday he was chasing. He'll lose this one and be expected to do so, therefore his reputation won't be too badly damaged and he'll probably still be able to fall back on the Brook fight for another payday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,928 ✭✭✭Morrison J

Nobody can say anything about Khan dodging people after this. Takes some balls to fight Canelo. He's been trying to fight the big names and he's finally got one.

Its a smart fight for him too though. Nobody will expect him to win. He can lose, get a big pay day and still have the big Kell Brook fight waiting for him next summer (If Brook will play ball)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,928 ✭✭✭Morrison J

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

If Khan doesn't have his running shoes on he's going to sleep in this. Canelo is by far the biggest, strongest fighter Khan has come up against.

Canelo is slow and quite flat footed imo, but as soon as he clips Khan he's in serious trouble. I'll give Amir credit for taking this, takes serious balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Balls of steal from Khan, It's crap that a MW belt is being contested at a poxy 155, crazy fight can't see what Canelo has to possibly gain, if he smashes Khan he's just stopped a guy who was chinny at WW, if he struggles at all then his stock goes down. That being said i can't see how Khan wins, Canelo is so much bigger, stronger and more powerful then him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,315 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Great match up, very interesting, really looking forward to it. PPV?

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Tyson Fury wrote: »

Is it actually a great matchup though, take out the fact that it's Khan and what we have is A MW fighting a bloke moving up from WW and not even proven as an elite fighter at 147, Khan carries little power at 147, what the hell will it be like at 155, Canelo will probably outweigh him by 20 pounds in the ring. It's a terrible fight which is only being accepted by people because it's Khan, If Canelo was fighting Danny Garcia would that be a good matchup?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,818 ✭✭✭Chris_Bradley

Khan loses this & fights Brook after it.

He will be destroyed by Canelo.

Khan loses this & fights Brook after it.

He will be destroyed by Canelo.

Sky Box Office I'm sure

What weight would we expect khan to be at?

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Is it actually a great matchup though, take out the fact that it's Khan and what we have is A MW fighting a bloke moving up from WW and not even proven as an elite fighter at 147, Khan carries little power at 147, what the hell will it be like at 155, Canelo will probably outweigh him by 20 pounds in the ring. It's a terrible fight which is only being accepted by people because it's Khan, If Canelo was fighting Danny Garcia would that be a good matchup?

Bizarre as opposed to great I suppose, didn't see this one coming. Who's knows, maybe khan's speed could cause problems, stranger things have happened!

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭RayK0309

Ya but..Canelo had something like 16 pounds on Cotto and he did not look spectacular. He just looked bigger and could take Cotto's shots. There's now a recent pic of the two standing side by side over at The Ring Mag.. Like people are saying..Khan could feasibly run and pot shot all night. Or the same and just get caught. Also after the Maidana fight I don't know if 'chinny' is completely fair. He gets rocked and dropped cos he gets reckless...or used to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭ThunderCat

So if Khan wins does he then fight Golovkin? Looking forward to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

This fight is only going one way, Canelo by KO.

Khan has the tools to beat someone like Canelo but he doesn't have the boxing brain and Canelo is too big for him anyway.

This fight is only going one way, Canelo by KO.

Khan has the tools to beat someone like Canelo but he doesn't have the boxing brain and Canelo is too big for him anyway.

Bizarre as opposed to great I suppose, didn't see this one coming. Who's knows, maybe khan's speed could cause problems, stranger things have happened!

I expect it to cause problems for a round or two, Khan is a an excellent fighter but obviously his chin is suspect, when you have a chin that is a bit suspect you need a good ring IQ which he does not possess. It makes for him being in entertaining fights though and I'd much rather pay to see Khan fight than Brook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Chrissybhoy

Big surprise. It's Canelo KO no matter what way you put a case up for Khan I agree with lads it's Win win for Khan he'll still fight Brook two big pay days IMO money is Khans love not boxing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

I think you guys are underestimating Khans ability to get on his bike and outwork Canelo with potshots while moving in and out. His speed has won him fights before and he has the stamina to do it for 12 rounds. His head movement is average but his hands and footwork is very, very fast. Faster than Canelo will be used to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 786 ✭✭✭TheNap

Kirby wrote: »
    I think you guys are underestimating Khans ability to get on his bike and outwork Canelo with potshots while moving in and out. His speed has won him fights before and he has the stamina to do it for 12 rounds. His head movement is average but his hands and footwork is very, very fast. Faster than Canelo will be used to.

Yes you are right he is faster . But there is no way he goes 12 rounds without being tagged. He will put up a good fight for as long as it lasts but will ultimately end in him being ko'd imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Kirby wrote: »

He doesn't have the head movement or ring iq of a peak Roy Jones or Mayweather, so he will be caught at some point. Even Mayweather, as great as he is, has been caught on occasion - remember when Mosley rocked him? Mayweather in that moment proved he has a good chin, because most fighters would have been sparked by that punch, but Mayweather managed to hold on and spoil.

With this in mind Khan could well be a head on points in the early going, but once Canelo connects with a decent shot, Khan will be in serious trouble.

Khan has to fight the perfect outside fight in order to win this, any hint of a tear up and he will taste canvas 1000%

This should be very exciting, whatever way it goes. If he won it would be sensational.

Khan has to fight the perfect outside fight in order to win this, any hint of a tear up and he will taste canvas 1000%

This should be very exciting, whatever way it goes. If he won it would be sensational.

If Khan gets caught - OMFG it will be nasty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

There isn't even a rehydration clause in the fight. Canelo is going to come in over 170. Khan hasn't a prayer. Real piece of shít move from Canelo. Any respect I had for him is gone. I'd love to say I can't wait until GGG pastes him but who honestly thinks Canelo is going to fight him?

magma69 wrote: »
    There isn't even a rehydration clause in the fight. Canelo is going to come in over 170. Khan hasn't a prayer. Real piece of shít move from Canelo. Any respect I had for him is gone. I'd love to say I can't wait until GGG pastes him but who honestly thinks Canelo is going to fight him?

Khan reckons he'll weigh 160 on fight night. This is just a 'Hype-fight' for Canelo. It's just too easy to imagine Khan doing a chicken dance at some stage around the 8th. Alvarez has nothing to lose by fighting and losing (cos he will) to GGG. Golovkin will look north surely once he has punished Saul for his 'Caneloweight' insolence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

What does Khan normally weigh?

145lbs

RayK0309 wrote: »
    Alvarez has nothing to lose by fighting and losing (cos he will) to GGG. Golovkin will look north surely once he has punished Saul for his 'Caneloweight' insolence.

"cos he will"

I'm not so sure that fight is as easy as folk like you are making out for GGG.

Canelo is an unbelievable fighter and has more that a chance in that one.

"cos he will"

I'm not so sure that fight is as easy as folk like you are making out for GGG.

Canelo is an unbelievable fighter and has more that a chance in that one.
    I think most folk would say ''unbelievable'' is stretching it and he's not doing himself any favours by fighting a WW before he fights someone on a 16/17 K.O streak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

As Mike Tyson said "Everyone has a plan until they get a punched in the face" and that should be stuck on Khan's wall until the night of the fight and said to him every round during :D

He's been chomping at the bit for a high profile fight, its do or die for him. Definitely be watching it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

As Mike Tyson said "Everyone has a plan until they get a punched in the face" and that should be stuck on Khan's wall until the night of the fight and said to him every round during :D

He's been chomping at the bit for a high profile fight, its do or die for him. Definitely be watching it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Before I give my opinion on the fight,personality outside of the ring aside Ive a lot of respect for Amir as a fighter his speed and all the good stuff about his abilities but his heart when in trouble even when dazed ko'd or what ever he wants to fight on,always admired his heart,

He is getting KO'd in this unfortunately for him,if Julio Diaz can put him on queer street you best Believe Canelo will,ill enjoy him his speed and movement for them few rounds he last while Canelo walks em down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Andre 3000

I actually fancy Khan to win this :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭Diddley Squat

Canelo wins this by straight K.O in the 2nd Round.

I say the 2nd because Canelo is a slower starter.

At the same time Khan has some guts and bottle to take this on. He's attempting what the great fighters of the past did by jumping up weight classes and taking on the best in that division. Khan's fighting against the odds in the biggest risk of his life.

Khan had a choice, he could have taken an easier fight against Brook.
    Fair props to him !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

Golovkin's manager has said if the winner of this fight agrees to fight GGG then it will be at the proper limit of 160, he said GGG will not be giving in to these "diva" demands of fighting at catchweights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Andre 3000

Golovkin vs. Khan could the most embarrassing title unification fight of all time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭Henno30

The only thing in Khan's favour is that Canelo is lazy. He doesn't push the pace and is far from a hunter in the ring.

But literally everything else is against him. I don't think he has anywhere near the discipline or intelligence to stay out of trouble against Canelo. I think Canelo has a far better boxing brain and has really good timing. Unless Khan fights incredibly conservatively he will get caught.

I don't agree with Khan getting a lot of credit for taking this fight either, which is one of the narratives that that has emerged. This is a shot to nothing for Khan. Everyone expects him to lose, and every round he survives earns him more credit. A huge payday and no expectation. The Brook fight is a completely different story. That's a fight Khan can't afford to lose.

The Lara fight I think is a good one to watch in advance of May 7. Aside from the obvious things like the southpaw stance and he being an actual middleweight. Though Alvarez has two more years of development..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭DylanAFC

Winner of this mandated to fight GGG according to Tom Loeffler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭Rough Sleeper

pac_man wrote: »
    Imagine Khan v GGG. Decapitated comes to mind.
    True dat, though I'd imagine we'll never see it.

I like Khan as a boxer, he's pretty classy and entertaining to watch, but he's punching above his weight here in every sense. I don't think it's unreasonable to expect a spirited few rounds from him, but he's going to get sparked. And unfortunately for Khan, when he gets rocked he looks like a new-born foal trying to ice skate in high heels after ingesting half a gram of ketamine - a piteous KO in round 6 seems like a decent bet to me.

Having said that, after Klitschko vs. Fury last year, I don't know what's what anymore. If Khan beats Canelo I don't think I'll bother offering my opinion on the outcome of an uncertain event again in my lifetime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Canadel

Warrior heart with a weak chin. Fair play to Khan. I've always admired his fast hands and quick movement. He obviously believes he's in the same league as Mayweather and this is maybe him thinking he can emulate Mayweather. Talented boxer. Hope he wins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

DylanAFC wrote: »
    Winner of this mandated to fight GGG according to Tom Loeffler.

From the quote I read, it's not so straightforward. Winner of the fight is mandated to either agree a fight within 15 days, or walk away with no claims to a fight thereafter.

Khan definitely looks bulked up judging by his pictures posted on twitter. Weigh in should be interesting.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Canadel

Khan definitely looks bulked up judging by his pictures posted on twitter. Weigh in should be interesting.
    https://www.instagram.com/p/BCGNe2RAnrM/

He's a unit.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Could impact his speed.