Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you take baths?

• 01-02-2016 12:46am
    Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,339 Mod ✭✭✭✭

It seems that everyone showers these days, but do any AHers take the time to draw a nice bath?

A great bath is so relaxing. When I was a kid, many moons ago, baths were the only option of getting clean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

I have a bath every once in a while, if I'm not feeling well it helps with joint pain/aches.

I also like to have a bath with the OH for a bit of foreplay :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,496 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

I LOVE the bath. Could easily spend 2+ hours in it.

No doubt someone will be along shortly with the "sitting in your own filth" chestnut but a) how dirty do these people allow themselves to get between washes and b) would it never occur to them to have a quick wash & rinse with the shower head as the water is draining???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

I don't have a bath-tub but I'd love one for a relaxing soak now and again. The shower is for washing, the bath is more for chilling (imo). Always have a bath when staying in a hotel. So nice.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,339 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I have a quick shower before the bath. I take the occasional bath to relax and unwind. A good bath is worth it's weight in gold.

I feel sorry for people who don't have baths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,479 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Women tend to be more into the baths all that relaxation craic.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,524 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

JupiterKid wrote: »
    I have a quick shower before the bath. I take the occasional bath to relax and unwind. A good bath is worth it's weight in gold.

I feel sorry for people who don't have baths.

Well if people would stop taking them and leave them where they are...

/gets dressing gown :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,501 ✭✭✭✭Slydice

Didn't ever have to share the bath water as a kid then I take it?

*twitch*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭TG1

Don't have a bath in my current rented house. It's something I really miss actually, there's something amazingly selfish about taking half an hour to do nothing but sit in a bath!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,602 ✭✭✭Stigura

" Do you take baths? "

No.

But, I've always been curious about the traditional, Japanese approach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,392 ✭✭✭✭unkel

I have about 400 showers a year and about 5-10 baths

Usually only have a bath after I've physically exhausted or hurt myself like after a massive mountain hike or a 16 hour painting session or something like that. Can't beat a bath for sorting you out!

Lotus Elan turbo for sale:

https://www.adverts.ie/vehicles/lotus-elan-turbo/35456469

My ads on adverts.ie:

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Medusa22 wrote: »
    I have a bath every once in a while, if I'm not feeling well it helps with joint pain/aches.

Is your OH not asleep by the time you're finished cleaning the bath though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Medusa22 wrote: »

Would love to try the same, but I've yet to see a bath that will fit us both... :o

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

unkel wrote: »
    I have about 400 showers a year and about 510 baths

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭Niemoj

I used to have a bath and shower in the bathroom but I got rid of the bath altogether in favour of a larger bathroom. I used to always equate having a bath to letting yourself simmer in your own filth which of course isnt true of you're washing regularly but regardless every so often I long for a nice hot soak in a bath.

Ho hum!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

I'm 6'4 so I'm not sure I'd fit into my bath anymore, but when I did, they were great. I had my first **** in a bath actually. I don't think much came out by way of semen. From what I remember, it was some sort of foamy matter, as if my willy was having a seizure. I suspect this was only released because I didn't know when to stop. I've got a **** anecdote for every occasion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Ciderswigger

Don't have a bath in my house but if I'm ever in a hotel I always have one. Even though hotel baths are always so shallow and crappy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Yearn for a hot bath.. in some houses I have rented but very few there have been back boilers so I could have a bath every day before bed.. sheer utter bliss and pain relief. Here the eejit did not connect the small range to the water system. And when he renovated he put in a huge long bath that fills to 3 inches from the immersion which costs a bomb to heat anyways, Tried it once and never again. WISH they still had public baths. Yearning on a cold day! I hate showers so rely on my childhood washing in a bowl before the fire. And heat the water in huge pans atop the range.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

No. We took the bath out about 5 years ago and put in a steam / shower cabinet.

Don't miss it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Only when my back is really playing up! Find lying in the bath very boring tbh

kfallon wrote: »
    Only when my back is really playing up! Find lying in the bath very boring tbh

Get some floating toys to pass the time. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,779 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Stigura wrote: »
    But, I've always been curious about the traditional, Japanese approach.
    Baths are purely for relaxation.

The bath will have a shower beside it - you was yourself in the shower, rinse yourself off, and use the bath. Bath water stays clean and can be reused. There is a 'reheat' function on baths so it can be reused on different days. The baths are much deeper also.

Or you can pay a few euro to do much the same thing in public in a bigger public bath if that is your thing. Water will be very hot. The water will either be heated naturally, in which case it will be an onsen (and cost a bit more) or artificially heated, and it will be called a sentou.

To answer OP, since I stopped having baths with my youngest kid, I haven't had a bath. The relaxation aspect lasts about 2 minutes and then I'm bored, so it's not worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Shrap

Graces7 wrote: »
    some houses I have rented but very few there have been back boilers so I could have a bath every day before bed..

Mmm, I have that in my house! Have a lovely re-conditioned range that actually does heat the house now, and plumbed in an extra big immersion tank so we can get two full baths a night if needed and the radiators still ticking over! Just as well, as the shower would still break your heart with the water pressure :(

Shrap wrote: »
    Mmm, I have that in my house! Have a lovely re-conditioned range that actually does heat the house now, and plumbed in an extra big immersion tank so we can get two full baths a night if needed and the radiators still ticking over! Just as well, as the shower would still break your heart with the water pressure :(

High or low?

If its low, fit a pump*. Plus other high pressure fittings. We're at the end of the line for water and the mains is usually a piddle but it blasts out of the shower.

*Buona Fortuna is not qualified to provide plumbing or life coaching advice and no warranty is implied or intended.

High or low?

If its low, fit a pump*. Plus other high pressure fittings. We're at the end of the line for water and the mains is usually a piddle but it blasts out of the shower.

*Buona Fortuna is not qualified to provide plumbing or life coaching advice and no warranty is implied or intended.

Low. Can't fit a pump or a power-shower unless I rewire the house (happening this year, can't wait!).

This thread has actually persuaded me to keep the bath (which was going out in favour of a proper shower unit - can't fit both in the bathroom). I reckon I'd miss the bath too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

JupiterKid wrote: »
    It seems that everyone showers these days, but do any AHers take the time to draw a nice bath?

Why would anyone want to draw a bath? Is it not better to fill it with water and get into it? ;)
    Saying that I like a nice shower!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,898 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I have a bath at home but it's probably been years since I used it. Being a long awkward yoke, I barely fit in my bath just sitting up so it's hard to relax. I might get rid of it, and get a nice, fancy, very spacious shower instead.

Having said that, the last time I stayed in a hotel (a few months ago), I decided to have a bath. Don't know why, and it probably wasn't even one of those extended chill-out baths that people seem to like taking.

Low. Can't fit a pump or a power-shower unless I rewire the house (happening this year, can't wait!).

This thread has actually persuaded me to keep the bath (which was going out in favour of a proper shower unit - can't fit both in the bathroom). I reckon I'd miss the bath too much.

As I said above we took ours out about 5+ years ago and put in a cabinet.

It has a seat if you're tired / unwell.

If you're cold or have a cold the steam is the nutz.

And then standing under the monsoon or being blasted by the body jets.

Haven't regretted it.

I don't sell them btw. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Get some floating toys to pass the time. ;)

I was that relaxed in the bath once that I left something floating :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭TG1

When the parents were doing up the bathroom and a few other bits in the family home they mentioned to the architect that they would be selling within two years to downsize and she redid her whole plan for the bathroom to keep the bath.

Apparently the bath is a huge selling point in family homes as there are so few left and they're handy for small kiddies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The number of times I've been in a bath in the last ten years I can count on one hand. Though I take two showers most days, just to qualify that :p

No particular reason tbh except that I don't have the time and I tend to find them a bit boring. I'll generally only give it a go if we're away in a posh hotel room.

I tend to have a need to be doing something, whether that's reading or whatever. Never got the hang of doing that in the bath.

As I said above we took ours out about 5+ years ago and put in a cabinet.

It has a seat if you're tired / unwell.

If you're cold or have a cold the steam is the nutz.

And then standing under the monsoon or being blasted by the body jets.

Haven't regretted it.

I don't sell them btw. :)

Mmmm! Damn. I don't know what to do anymore :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The number of times I've been in a bath in the last ten years I can count on one hand. Though I take two showers most days, just to qualify that :p

No particular reason tbh except that I don't have the time and I tend to find them a bit boring. I'll generally only give it a go if we're away in a posh hotel room.

I tend to have a need to be doing something, whether that's reading or whatever. Never got the hang of doing that in the bath.

seamus wrote: »

Yeah, it's a sad fact that neither books or kindles are compatible with baths. I get bored in them too, even when set up with a glass of wine and candles. I should maybe put a nice picture on the ceiling....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

When summer comes with the humidity I always have a bath in cold water as it's just really refreshing, come winter I have a shower in warm water.

I can upload the video here if you like.

I can not be responsible for my fat arse blocking the camera lens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

We took the bath out a few years ago. You get to a certain age and it's a safety hazard. I miss it occasionally but prefer a shower. Too many memories of shivering in a tin bath in front of the fire to have any great longing for a bath.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

I can not be responsible for my fat arse blocking the camera lens

Who is responsible for that? Were you kidnapped?

Not only do I not have baths were it up to me I would replace the bath and the stupid powerless shower with a standup shower stall and a power shower. One of the showers directly above your head.

yearning here! My feet rarely get warm these days.. the thought of hot deep water and a warm bathroom..The oil here ran out two years ago and no way will I fill it...e ah well! Have a bath for me please! And enjoy it :)

seamus wrote: »

When I had " free " hot water ie a backboiler and an open fire, I had a hot bath every evening before bed,, Looked forward to it all the day long. Hot bath, clean nightie.. bliss!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Pffff baths, give me a lake and bar of soap any day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I don't have a bath :(

If I did I'm not sure I'd use it- in my last apartment I had one and I think I only used it once in 2 years (when I was fairly ill and weak).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,739 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I took m bath out about 18 months ago and I do miss it occasionally; a hot bath with lots of bubbles, a glass of wine, some music, and a book I don't mind getting steamed. Total bliss. Had I had something to keep the water hot I'd never get out. However I did up the bathroom and got rid of it because a) I didn't actually use it that much and b) it was a pain in the hoop climbing in and out of it to have a shower. I have a lovely electric shower and a big enclosure now, which is much more practical.

I self built a large outdoor heated jacuzzi which serves when I feel the need for a bath or a foreplay location. I would like to remove the bath from the house therefore to increase the size of the bathroom in general. But I have a child and a baby - and play two more babies - and the bath just seems to work much better than showers for them.

But someday I will rip it out I guess.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 6,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭silvervixen84

I haven't had a bath since my parents installed the shower, when I was twelve.

I'm nearly 32 now :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

Who is responsible for that? Were you kidnapped?

Not only do I not have baths were it up to me I would replace the bath and the stupid powerless shower with a standup shower stall and a power shower. One of the showers directly above your head.

There is just a time in your life when you have to lay back and make waves in the tub with those little ww2 ships floating around all comfortable in warm relaxing suds and war bubbles watching the ships go down to the abyss. That is what brought down many a ship in the bermuda triangle, the methane bubbles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,496 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Yeah, it's a sad fact that neither books or kindles are compatible with baths.

Kindles no. Books, absolutely. I LOVE reading in the bath. Hardbacks can be a pain alright but a trade paperback that you can just dry out if it falls in (which has only happened me twice, I think, in many long years of regular baths)? Can't beat it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

I love baths. Have been known to spend 3+ hours in the bath before my daughter arived. Now it's down to a one hour bath every two weeks. Recent moved into a house with a jacuzzi, but the air pump is so loud that I dare not use it for fear of waking little Sleeping Beauty in the next room.

Ah the sacrifices of parenthood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

Last time I took a bath was after nearly dying from a hike down the Grand Canyon and back ....

showers since then ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,488 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

I don't. Gonna get the bathroom done soon and will likely get rid of the bath and just have a large shower.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I like baths to relax, usually with wine a bath bomb and some company. I like going away to hotels with big baths and will spend so much time in those baths I'll end up wrinkled up.

I don't like baths as means to washing myself. I'll soak in a nice warm
    Bath and then jump into the shower afterwards. I like my showers on the cold side of lukewarm, especially if the bath was roasting.