Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish firemen

• 01-02-2016 12:38am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,457 ✭✭✭✭

Is being a fireman in Ireland an easy job??

There are very few major fires/disasters in Ireland thankfully so what else would these guys be doing ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭johnnysmack

They also go to car accidents. I doubt the job is as easy as you think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭dpofloinn

Yeah OP sure we only need emergency services for big disasters:rolleyes: These guys and girls go do a job that most people could not. Every day they the face life threatening situations, cut people out of wrecks, pull people from burning homes, but sure hey that's no biggie cos sure if it was important it'd be on the 6 o'clock news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭Rachiee

They pretty much run the entire Dublin ambulance service. Definitely not an easy job.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 187 ✭✭warpdrive

Sometimes, during Halloween and the like, it's not uncommon for the fire department to be called out and upon arrival realise they were pranked and get rocks thrown at them.

Even if there aren't many major incidents, they still have to at least occasionally go to crashes and cut dead and dying people out of cars. That alone makes the job very difficult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Removing bodies and body parts from the tracks after people jump in front of trains, it happens way more often than one might think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭CB19Kevo

Fire's,car accidents,water rescue's and medical assistance to name but a few,They see horrific things and have to maintain composure to effectively deal with incidents.
    Not a easy job at all,they never know what the next call will be and often put themselves at risk to save others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Piece of piss. They mostly hang out at the station sleeping and eating, waiting for a call to come in. They all do nixers on their time off because they get to do all their sleeping at work.

Or very possibly the complete opposite of that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭8 Bit Girl

PTH2009 wrote: »

There are very few major fires/disasters in Ireland thankfully so what else would these guys be doing ??

Not all of them are full time, they have other jobs, are students, whatever.

My sister went to college with a lad who was a fireman, every so often he would get a call in the middle of class and hed be up and out the door like lightening.

'Sorryfordisruptingclassivetogotheresafiiiiire!!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

Fire brigade, garda traffic corp and a paramedic are three jobs I would not like to do. I couldn't deal with the horrific car accidents and other such tragedies they have to attend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,058 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

I'm only familiar with full time Dublin fire. Not for the faint hearted. Aside from personal physical commitment in dangerous environments they have to deal with everything from mutilated to long dead bodies, horrendous injuries, infant death, tragic suicide along with desperate resuscitation and comforting traumatised on site bereavement.

And it's very very hands on.

They get paid well and there's a lot of down time where they focus on training according to a friend that's a Dublin Fire Fighter. But you'd want to have a strong body and a stronger mind. They seem to be very driven and accomplished people in their personal and work life. Sometimes family life can suffer due to the rigorous demands.

I've had dealings with Dublin Fire and they're all solid, strong individuals with backgrounds in engineering, mechanics, physics or similar. I think they're carefully chosen.

There's an emergency services forum on this site.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

They also go to car accidents. I doubt the job is as easy as you think.

Chicks love firemen.

• Site Banned Posts: 137 ✭✭MaryAntoinette

I would imagine you would need to be a good gamer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,457 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Nothing to do with firemen but being an undertaker would be a good/safe economic job but like firemen they would see some tough things. Undertaking profession is normally passed down from generation to generation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭mynameis905

I once sold a guitar to a very friendly fireman who told me they have a little band going on the station while they're waiting for call outs on the weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭8 Bit Girl

I would imagine you would need to be a good gamer.

Whys that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

carzony wrote: »

Very interesting AMA.

Doffs cap to any Fire guys and gals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

Don't know about Ireland, but my brother in law here in Barcelona is going through the application process to be a fireman, and it's tough.

They only take about 10% of the applicants and the physical tests are extremely demanding.

Plus regular tests with a high fail rate, and at the end of all that an interview, you could excel at the tests but if
    they don't like you in the interview - all for nothing.

I don't understand why he wants to do it, to be first on scene at car accidents, jesus, fair play, good there is people in the world that want to do it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,432 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

PTH2009 wrote:

Possibly one of the most difficult jobs ever anywhere in the world including Ireland! Have a chat with one or ten!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭cajonlardo

I'm ex fire service and I would point something out that some people miss.

That line of work is what some people are suited for. People function differently under different circumstances. Personality and thought/logic process differ from one to another. For instance, if you asked me to do accounts or similar work I'd have a melt down whilst dealing with an emergency situation wouldn't upset or stress me. Horses for courses. If everyone was designed to tackle the same circumstances what would we do for Chemists or Plumbers or a decent pint ? :)
    Anyway, I did feel very priviliged to be given the chance and can honestly say I was very thankful for it. There are thousands who would love to do it and would make good firefighters but won't get a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,432 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

cajonlardo wrote: »

That line of work is what some people are suited for. People function differently under different circumstances. Personality and thought/logic process differ from one to another. For instance, if you asked me to do accounts or similar work I'd have a melt down whilst dealing with an emergency situation wouldn't upset or stress me. Horses for courses. If everyone was designed to tackle the same circumstances what would we do for Chemists or Plumbers or a decent pint ? :)
    Anyway, I did feel very priviliged to be given the chance and can honestly say I was very thankful for it. There are thousands who would love to do it and would make good firefighters but won't get a chance.

the only thing i can say is thank you. thank you for doing one of the most important jobs on the planet. all emergency services play one of the most important roles in society. you guys are like the glue that keeps society together. thank you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

I'm glad there are people like you who can do those sort of jobs, I wouldn't be able for it.
    I know the ones who came out to my parent's house when my brother died by suicide were very good and considerate.

In France, it's the firemen who deal with all the car accidents. Very tough job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

My brother is a volunteer firefighter (all the town has is a group of volunteers) and on call 24/7 and has seen his fair share of wrecks and mangled bodies, not an easy job.

I'm glad there are people like you who can do those sort of jobs, I wouldn't be able for it.
    I know the ones who came out to my parent's house when my brother died by suicide were very good and considerate.

In France, it's the firemen who deal with all the car accidents. Very tough job.
    Sorry to hear about the loss of you Brother.

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    the only thing i can say is thank you. thank you for doing one of the most important jobs on the planet. all emergency services play one of the most important roles in society. you guys are like the glue that keeps society together. thank you.

Nope. Not having that :)

Like I said, it was a fantastic job and I wouldn't swap the experience for any job. I remember getting the letter saying I was accepted and it was like winning the lottery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I wouldn't like to be the person that turns up to road accidents. It's worse when they show up on the scene and realise they know the person who's been in the accident. That happened to a volunteer firefighter I used to work with, when someone else at the company got killed in a road accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

warpdrive wrote: »
    Sometimes, during Halloween and the like, it's not uncommon for the fire department to be called out and upon arrival realise they were pranked and get rocks thrown at them.

Boils my blood that does. The fire crew should be allowed to turn the hose on those cretins and not face any consequences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭SterlingArcher

Sliding down polls. Awesome fun. Blaring the siren neeee nawww neee nawww. Don't need to use the hose to save a sexy woman from a burning building. just show her us Posing for calendars and watch her lady dam burst . purple rain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Sliding down polls.
    The Fireman Party won't get elected at this rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Sliding down polls.

That's more Jeb Bush than Fireman Sam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I'm a soldier with thirty years service both at home and abroad. Like the OP's view of firefighters people think we go oversea's for the sunshine & medals.

I've seen a lot of things in my time as a soldier.

My brother is in the ambulance service, and I've a few friends who are fighterfighters, guards and ambulance.

Tbh I haven't a clue how they can handle their workload day in day out, night after night.

Gimme an occasional war over their job any day, I reckon its far easier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

The emergency services are like magic, they're the promise the god from religion could never achieve. It's very comforting to know that no matter who you are, what you've done, where it happened, there's a group of people standing by waiting to rescue you and bring you back to health. I think emergency services, while not yet perfect yet, are the crowning glory of the modern world.

ScumLord wrote: »
    The emergency services are like magic, they're the promise the god from religion could never achieve. It's very comforting to know that no matter who you are, what you've done, where it happened, there's a group of people standing by waiting to rescue you and bring you back to health. I think emergency services, while not yet perfect yet, are the crowning glory of the modern world.

Something along those lines.

I'm always advising the younger lads in my job to take a medical aid course our basic one is a lot more intense than say an Occupational First Aid Course) with the line 'You can spend your whole life in the army learning the best ways to kill someone, do just one course in that time learning to save someone.

Learning to save a life is the best course I've ever done in the defense forces ~ saving a life..

Re. the above incident in the link, its also the most scared I've ever been!.

Hats off to the lads and ladies who do that for their entire career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Most firemen are volunteers, who probably work other jobs, who drop what they're doing when they get called in for an emergency.

It's one thing to do this full time but it's a big sacrifice to make as a volunteer, in terms of the job itself but also in relation to training and maintenance of fitness.

Link
    Fulltime firefighters in Ireland comprise about one third of the firefighters the rest being retained (on a retainer and paid per call) Only the major cities and some towns have fulltime brigades either on a 24/7 basis or day manning basis.
    Fulltime Brigades in Ireland

Any county which has a fulltime station also has retained stations although they may be run by the county fire authority such as Cork City and Cork County Fire Brigades
    Dublin (12 Stations and 2 retained)
    Cork City (2 stations)
    Limerick City (1 station)
    Galway City (1 Station)

Most firemen are volunteers, who probably work other jobs, who drop what they're doing when they get called in for an emergency.

It's one thing to do this full time but it's a big sacrifice to make as a volunteer, in terms of the job itself but also in relation to training and maintenance of fitness.

Link

One of the biggest challenges for retained Firefighters is actually getting to the station. If they get stuck in traffic in their own cars they are subject to normal road traffic law. Sitting behind some doddery driver is frustrating at normal times - imagine getting caught when someone is desperately needing your crew.

Something along those lines.

I'm always advising the younger lads in my job to take a medical aid course our basic one is a lot more intense than say an Occupational First Aid Course) with the line 'You can spend your whole life in the army learning the best ways to kill someone, do just one course in that time learning to save someone.

Learning to save a life is the best course I've ever done in the defense forces ~ saving a life..

Re. the above incident in the link, its also the most scared I've ever been!.

Hats off to the lads and ladies who do that for their entire career.

Good work there alright. Bet you were buzzing after :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Supernintento Chalmers

Like the OP's view of firefighters people think we go oversea's for the sunshine & medals.

You left out the big bonus payments that come out of the tax payers' pockets.

It's a joke, Irish army personnel get paid far more than their British army counterparts, who actually are in the line of fire, to go off on these jollies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭Dr. Mantis Toboggan

It's a joke, Irish army personnel get paid far more than their British army counterparts, who actually are in the line of fire, to go off on these jollies.

They need danger money for playing pretend army games in the Wicklow mountains and escorting securicor vans around the place. :D

I'm good buddies with an Irish Army officer and if he's anything to go by I'd say the riskiest place Irish soldiers find themselves is in the communal shower block :D

Bonus payments from tax payers? Are you referring to U.N payment that are paid by the U.N? The identical payments the Brits and anyone else get?

Actually in the line of fire?
    Heres a video where they went toe to toe in Syria.
    Watch the wheel get blown off the apc by a landmine and note the low ammo warning in the gun sight.

We're paid by the United Nations whilst on UN service.

We are better paid than the Brits. But many of us still qualify for FIS.

If you think we're not in the lines of fire I must have drempt up Lebanese civil war & the Israeli invasion of the south, and well ~ why don't you grow a pair & join the guys serving in Syria?.

Not bothered?, balls no big enough?.. Then at least lay a flower or prayer to our fallen at the UN memorial to our fallen (its located in Stoneybatter) or there's a memorial in Merrion Sq.

Have your balls dropped yet?.

Anyway this is a thread to the bravery and dedicated of the members of our emergency services so I won't waste too much time defending myself & my comrades to an annon internet troll.. I won't be answering you further, but don't be afraid to take your best shot ~ its the internet, 'tis the only free shot you'll ever be allowed take at me.

Bonus payments from tax payers? Are you referring to U.N payment that are paid by the U.N? The identical payments the Brits and anyone else get?

Actually in the line of fire?
    Heres a video where they went toe to toe in Syria.
    Watch the wheel get blown off the apc by a landmine and note the low ammo warning in the gun sight.

An older clip from Tibnin village during the Israeli onslaught 'Operation Grapes of Wrath'

I won't be answering you further, but don't be afraid to take your best shot ~ its the internet, 'tis the only free shot you'll ever be allowed take at me.

Maybe I will, then at least you can honestly say that you've been shot at :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭Irish Praetorian

We're paid by the United Nations whilst on UN service.

We are better paid than the Brits. But many of us still qualify for FIS.

If you think we're not in the lines of fire I must have drempt up Lebanese civil war & the Israeli invasion of the south, and well ~ why don't you grow a pair & join the guys serving in Syria?.

Not bothered?, balls no big enough?.. Then at least lay a flower or prayer to our fallen at the UN memorial to our fallen (its located in Stoneybatter) or there's a memorial in Merrion Sq.

Have your balls dropped yet?.

Anyway this is a thread to the bravery and dedicated of the members of our emergency services so I won't waste too much time defending myself & my comrades to an annon internet troll.. I won't be answering you further, but don't be afraid to take your best shot ~ its the internet, 'tis the only free shot you'll ever be allowed take at me.

I don't know why, but there is is something about seeing someone shooting their mouth off about a topic they know nothing about being taken to task by the actual people in the know, that is just so very satisfying.

Much gratitude for your service btw (if you can pardon American that sounds)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Citygirl1

Can I suggest that whoever started this thread turn on RTE1.

There's a fairly interesting programme on at the moment about the reality of being a firefighter in Dublin. If you've missed it, go to RTE1 +1 at 9.30!

I don't know why, but there is is something about seeing someone shooting their mouth off about a topic they know nothing about being taken to task by the actual people in the know, that is just so very satisfying.

Much gratitude for your service btw (if you can pardon American that sounds)!

Thanks, its just a pity the guy detracted and derailed what could have been a great thread showing our respect to the emergency services just so he could take a cheap shot at me.. But that says more about him than anyone in the DF.

Right, I'm just in from training ~ thankfully no one needed an ambulance :D

One of the greatest shows of discipline, training and working as a professional body of men and women was last summer at the Skerries road races (motorcycle racing).

I was with my brother (I was a spectator) when news came through that one of their team had died from injuries suffered in a crash at the same track the previous day.

Despite their profound grief (I could identify with this as I was on a tour in Lebanon when we lost some lads) they never skipped a beat. It was awe inspiring to see their bravery and discipline at work and how they put aside their grief until the days ending.

I can't express it here, but it was incredible.. And these are the same caliber of people out working in the Ambulance Service, DFB and our hospitals ~ but working at the races in their own time as they dedicate their time and abilities to their sport.

Incredible, gives me goose bumps when I think back.

Rest in Peace Doctor John Hind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Just on a point that annoyed me, as a new entrant to the Defence Forces, I'm on less than my British counterparts by several thousand euro, so if you're going to bitch and moan, at least have the correct information.

And how did a thread wondering whether being a firefighter in Ireland is a tough job (really?) turn into bashing the defence forces anyway? Funnily enough, if it's such a handy and overpaid number, you'd wonder why people are leaving because they actually can't afford to pay their rent or mortgages, or why the people making those comments aren't lining up to apply, to say nothing of the problems with PTSD and social difficulties caused by experiences overseas.

I left a job that paid more to come and do this one because it was important to me. Clearly I'm not in it for the money. In fact, doing anything on civvy street would net me more money than I currently make. It's almost impossible to live in Dublin on what I make and run a car, so if it's so handy I invite any of the critics to step up and do it.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

I'm good buddies with an Irish Army officer and if he's anything to go by I'd say the riskiest place Irish soldiers find themselves is in the communal shower block :D
    Maybe I will, then at least you can honestly say that you've been shot at :D

Completely off-topic and borderline trolling. Stop it now.

Mod

Peregrine wrote: »
    Completely off-topic and borderline trolling. Stop it now.

Mod

Apologies.
    Truth be told I just sort of dived in and responded to that John J Rambo fella.
    Didn't even realise the thread was about the fire service, who's members I have the height of respect for and who shouldn't really be compared to defense forces personnel.

Apologies.
    Truth be told I just sort of dived in and responded to that John J Rambo fella.
    Didn't even realise the thread was about the fire service, who's members I have the height of respect for and who shouldn't really be compared to defense forces personnel.

There used to be a traditional cross-over from the PDF to the Fire Service.
    The ex PDF people were disciplined,physically fit, determined, great team workers, capable of being calm in distressing and demanding situations, able to make quick decisions, many of them were highly competent and experienced drivers. They were fastidious about caring for equipment. They also retained a hard to define or quantify Esprit de Corp - they were NEVER going to let the side down. All qualities that go into the making of Good Firefighters.