Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pyjamas on the school run? Well this Head Teacher doesn't like it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,123 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

They're me goin' ou' pajamas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

What a plonker.

She obviously doesnt have kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I agree with her opinion but not her right to dictate what parents wear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Basically, stop being a skanger or your kids will be skanger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,806 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

People should at least make a bit of an effort when out in public. Most schoolkids have to wear a uniform in school so their parents should at least wear 'outside' clothes when dropping them off to the same place. I'd probably let them away with it if they stayed in the cars, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

What's she going to do about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭bbsrs

WGAF

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

She does have a point, at the same time, people are free to wear what they wish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 xannax

Well it's not going to look very good on the parents part if they are regularly showing up to school in pyjamas and slippers but it's none of the schools business unfortunately. As long as the children are in school as required, they have absolutely no right to dictate what parents are wearing. (Unless the parents are entering the school building in which case they can require them to dress appropriately)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,592 ✭✭✭elastico

I hope they start turning up in skimpy nightshirts next. Some of them anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Pajamas and slippers in public, how very white-trash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

She's right but she dosnt have jurisdiction over what parents wear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭dollyk

In fairness most of my pjs look like tracksuit/ lounge wear :D
    Lounge wear, ah jesus what next.:p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

I don't see what the problem is, as long as it's not the children who are going to school in their pyjamas. It's none of the schools business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭Noodles81

lertsnim wrote: »

Nothing but she was right to say it. The letter speaks about coming into the school not dressed but in pj's for meetings and assemblies. Shows a total disregard for their child, themselves and the school that they haven't the respect to at least wash and dress when presenting themselves to the public. It's a lazy attitude and not one to be instilling in your offspring.

If my parents did that back in the day I'd be so ashamed of them.

As a teacher now I know my children would be disappointed that their parent didn't bother to make an effort on their behalf to even get dressed before meeting people in their lives. It shows they don't really care about how the family are perceived in the community. Children have a sense of dignity and their parents should be dignified when engaging in their children's lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

When your day job involves watching 5 hours of back to back Jeremy Kyle episodes, comfort is essential.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Antar Bolaeisk

lertsnim wrote: »

Write a sternly worded letter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Someone should tell people Pyjamas are for wearing in Bed or just before. They are not suitable for walking around tesco. Just like it's not suitable wearing jocks and a shirt only around the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Superhorse

She should mind her own business. Some of the biggest gangsters and scumbags in this country wear suits in Dail Eireann every day im sure she doesnt complain about them when they drop their kids off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Pink Fairy

Superhorse wrote: »
    She should mind her own business. Some of the biggest gangsters and scumbags in this country wear suits in Dail Eireann every day im sure she doesnt complain about them when they drop their kids off.

Well, since its in England I'm pretty sure she couldn't give a fiddlers what they wear in the dáil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭TG1

Completely agree with the sentiment, and understand where she is probably coming from, but it's a bit out of her jurisdiction to impose a dress code on the parents.

I also think she's asking to be publicly undermined in front of her students as the few parents digging their heels in and making a point of wearing pjs was a predictable consequence of sending the letter.

And people blame the mods for sucking the life out of AH.

First page and someone uses a thread about wearing pyjamas to school in the UK, as a way of taking a pop at the oirish gubberment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Someone should tell people Pyjamas are for wearing in Bed or just before.

They're not for wearing at all imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭The Randy Riverbeast

I find it hard to believe its a problem. I would have thought wearing pyjamas outdoors and being involved in your children's education are 2 different lifestyles.

She's right but the parents can do whatever they want outside of the schools property once it's within the law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭The Randy Riverbeast

I find it hard to believe its a problem. I would have thought wearing pyjamas outdoors and being involved in your children's education are 2 different lifestyles.

She's right but the parents can do whatever they want outside of the schools property once it's within the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,211 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I generally don't care what people wear in public it doesn't really bother me to be honest generally. I often find there is a stigma towards tracksuits on boards. I never wear a tracksuit but I don't really care if somebody goes to Tesco in one.
    I do think tough you shouldn't turn up in your PJ'S to a parent teacher meeting tough. As for school drop off if your staying in the car it might be okay. I suspect tough that these parents probably hang around the school gate talking.
    Another thing I often notice is when somebody is wearing there pj's in public they've often spent ages doing there hair and makeup. So its not like they haven't time to get ready.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

It's about setting an example to not be a slob.

xannax wrote: »
    Well it's not going to look very good on the parents part if they are regularly showing up to school in pyjamas and slippers but it's none of the schools business unfortunately. As long as the children are in school as required, they have absolutely no right to dictate what parents are wearing. (Unless the parents are entering the school building in which case they can require them to dress appropriately)

It would appear that they are wearing them to in school events, PT meetings, shows, etc.

The School is in the business of teaching children. Part of their education are lessons in life. It is a sad sign of the times that the Principal has to tell parents how to dress!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I totally agree with her. I know school has no jurisdiction but neither they have it for policing or fining where parents park (outside school grounds) yet parents mostly stick to school requests. Anyway it's no better way of telling the world and your own kids that you are a lazy slob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

People should wear whatever they damn well want. We need to move towards a more individual society where people's life choices are not dictated by peer pressure. The concept of "dress sense" is just another form of said peer pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,057 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

I was in my local grocery at about 7.30pm when some scanger oul wan came in stinking of smoke wearing PJs, dressing gown and slippers. Everyone was staring (respectable enough area). Some dude rocks up to her and says "DO THE DOCTORS KNOW WHERE YOU ARE" in a really loud voice! She started to get indignant but everyone was laughing including the staff. She marched out with what little dignity she had!

Sleep ware isn't for outside the house. Unless you're a scanger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

I don't think healthy development for a child hinges on whether their mother wears PJs when dropping them at school.

For the most part, mums are legends who have a lot of sh*t to do in the morning and sometimes time is a factor. They could be faced with the option: do I change into a hoodie and sweatpants - which is obviously so much classier than PJs - and run the risk of my children being late to school, or do I make sure my children are on time, which sets a much better example, even if I'm wearing PJs?

In an ideal world a mother could make time to get changed and have their kids to school on time, but it's not an ideal world.

I don't think healthy development for a child hinges on whether their mother wears PJs when dropping them at school.

For the most part, mums are legends who have a lot of sh*t to do in the morning and sometimes time is a factor. They could be faced with the option: do I change into a hoodie and sweatpants - which is obviously so much classier than PJs - and run the risk of my children being late to school, or do I make sure my children are on time, which sets a much better example, even if I'm wearing PJs?

In an ideal world a mother could make time to get changed and have their kids to school on time, but it's not an ideal world.

Hammer89 wrote: »

How come mums who aren't scangers can do stuff in the morning and still manage to get dressed, and probably shower too. And aside from that, the pj brigade don't even get dressed when they come home!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

at least they have enough respect for themselves and the establishment they are entering to dress themselves properly. some of the stuff one of them wears i wouldn't wear in the confines of my own home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I'd regard it as massively advantageous to the healthy development of a child if they learn from an early age to f*ck societal pressures and taboos, and live the life they want to live as they want to live it. Hence why I've always opposed school dress codes etc.

Actually I think it's mothers who have a lot to do who manage to get dressed in the morning.

People should wear whatever they damn well want. We need to move towards a more individual society where people's life choices are not dictated by peer pressure. The concept of "dress sense" is just another form of said peer pressure.

I hear it's White men behind this... Should we check our privilege ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

So I take it you don't believe any dress code is "right" then?

What next, no uniforms for the kids, teachers dressing like knackers too?

School needs to have a form of decency and its clear people don't.

So I take it you don't believe any dress code is "right" then?

What next, no uniforms for the kids, teachers dressing like knackers too?

School needs to have a form of decency and its clear people don't.

Jobs have a dress code, This nonsense needs to stop. Just like hipster kids being let wear superman costumes to school just because. People are not special snowflakes faster kids learn that the better they will be able to function in the workforce.

smash wrote: »
    How come mums who aren't scangers can do stuff in the morning and still manage to get dressed, and probably shower too. And aside from that, the pj brigade don't even get dressed when they come home!

Based on what mate? "Mums who aren't scangers" applies to millions and millions of mothers. Will I not find a middle-class mum who wears PJs on the school run?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

In an ideal world you get up 20 mins earlier and put on proper clothes.

Pj's are called nightwear for a reason....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭BreadnBuddha

She's absolutely right.

I can't help but think the people who suggest it's acceptable and make weak excuses for these disorganised eejits are just lazy wasters.

If you can't even dress yourself, what chance do your children have, really? Get up 5 minutes earlier, you lazy arsed gobsheites.

mfceiling wrote: »
    In an ideal world you get up 20 mins earlier and put on proper clothes.

Pj's are called nightwear for a reason....

That's not the point though is it? The point is that being a mother of young children is stressful in the morning and there's plenty of unforeseen sh*t which can set you back in terms of time.

Based on what mate? "Mums who aren't scangers" applies to millions and millions of mothers. Will I not find a middle-class mum who wears PJs on the school run?

Not if she has any shred of respect for herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Fully agree now imagine if fathers turned up wearing boxers and a robe or pajamas the mothers would freak .

On a side note one parent at this particular school had taken her two daughters out of the be school because the head was wearing heels and a skirt setting a bad example for young girls

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

It's their own business what they wear, that's true.

I drop my kid to school in the morning, it annoys me when I see the pyjama clad parents hanging about carefree and not in a rush to go anywhere.

I'm easily annoyed though.

smash wrote: »
    Not if she has any shred of respect for herself.

That's not fair pal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭BreadnBuddha

That's not the point though is it? The point is that being a mother of young children is stressful in the morning and there's plenty of unforeseen sh*t which can set you back in terms of time.

Get up and get dressed. It's not that difficult. Everyone else has to do it. Lazy slobs.

As mother of young kids I think this is bs. And so do the other mothers in our local school who manage incredible feat of getting dressed in the morning.