Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish men the ugliest in the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,586 ✭✭✭Thundercats Ho

Ah, we are in fairness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

Ah the Indo, an absolute load of shite.

It really doesn't take much to make the news on there. Never mind the ever changing facts about a story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Fewer than one in 10 single Irish males who applied to put their profiles on elitist site beautifulpeople.com last year were accepted.

They sound like the kind of people who deserved the knock back for even considering using that site in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Ah yisser gorgeous!

I suspect the problem lies here:
    Fewer than one in 10 single Irish males who applied to put their profiles on elitist site beautifulpeople.com last year were accepted.

A particularly high proportion of applications from Ireland will be people submitting unflattering photos of their mates for the laugh.

They sound like the kind of people who deserved the knock back for even considering using that site in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

Is it wrong that I burst out laughing when reading the thread title :D:D:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Ah, we are in fairness

Only Limerick men though :pac:

• Moderators Posts: 51,922 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

If you can read this, you're too close!

I thought Cavan got voted for the worst looking people in Ireland?

I salute you sir!! beyond horsemans post, lock this thread up!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

We're fuking hideous. *puts bag on head*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 187 ✭✭warpdrive

Definitely not the ugliest but absolutely nowhere near the best either. Probably 1 or 2 out of 10 men here take care of themselves properly and look good because of it. But genetics obviously play a part as well. Similar could be said about Irish women. A lot of them are just makeup but there are that small few who know what they're doing and look good because of it.

People here just need to take more interest in themselves and their hygiene. It's a very simple fix really and then eventually it'll seem like the standard has increased. There needs to be a cure for baldness as well, but this isn't just isolated to Ireland, lads everywhere suffer with this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Sorry to all the men out there, it was my ugly mug that brought the score down :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

We are fair-to-middlin!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,695 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

warpdrive wrote: »
    Definitely not the ugliest but absolutely nowhere near the best either. Probably 1 or 2 out of 10 men here take care of themselves properly and look good because of it. But genetics obviously play a part as well. Similar could be said about Irish women. A lot of them are just makeup but there are that small few who know what they're doing and look good because of it.

People here just need to take more interest in themselves and their hygiene.

Just don't write an article on it. Bordering on WW3 territory there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭Deep Six

A website for vacuous airheads, who's only objective in life is to tickle the cock of peer approval from their fellow image obsessed cretins, brands us the ugliest men?

Remind me why we are supposed to care again?

Just don't write an article on it. Bordering on WW3 territory there.

Surely they're not that insecure that they can't take constructive criticism. Most of them don't, or at least shouldn't, care what men think anyway. Or at least so they claim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I'm such a ride that Brad Pitt starting going blind when he gazed upon my handsomeness.

.....probably.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Jay D wrote: »
    Never mind the ever changing facts about a story.
    In fairness the Indo are consistent when it comes to BeautifulPeople.com

Here they are reporting the exact same story in 2012

http://www.independent.ie/style/beauty/irish-men-bottom-of-beauty-league-26821101.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭wilhelm roentgen

I'm so ugly I'm thinking of having a sex change just so I can finally get my hands on some fanny..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

I try my hardest to bring the averages up but the rest of yas just bring it down.

Limerick men? Ugly? I won't hear a word of it.

http://m0.joe.ie/wp-content/uploads/2012/12/story_31492_clawdirty.jpg

Oh...

(*joke, the Claw is a fine stump of a man)

hairyslug wrote: »
    I try my hardest to bring the averages up but the rest of yas just bring it down.

^ Sorry my fault. I bring down the national average looks single handedly - like the effect on average IQ of throwing rapper B.o.B. into a mensa meeting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

It's all lies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

maudgonner wrote: »
    Ah yisser gorgeous!

I suspect the problem lies here:

A particularly high proportion of applications from Ireland will be people submitting unflattering photos of their mates for the laugh.
    Yep. Culturally we're prone to humility rather than arrogance. And we love taking the piss. So I would estimate at least half of the submissions to that site were complete piss-takes and were submitted during a one-month period when it became a "thing" to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Ah damn. To think we were super handsome only a few months ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,734 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

All of this can be explained by my returning to live in Ireland 9 months ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,931 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Fear not good citizens, I've sent them a picture of myself in the nip.
    Along with a 1forAll voucher worth 5smackers.
    I await their response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭BUBBLES1978

lads relax..yes there are some munters in fairness both male and female in Ireland but ye aren't that bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 368 ✭✭xband

Clickbait article and clickbait PR from that site.

I would suspect that it's down to the fact that very few people from Ireland actually use the site / those who are using it are using it because they're not having success via the normal methods.

They're not the ugliest in the world, by a long shot.

If the site released something like that in France, a country with self-confidence (unlike Ireland), you would find there'd be a backlash and business would fall off.

Irish people are always looking for reasons why they should be insecure with themselves. Some kind of postcolonial / post bullying mentality I think. We're way too fragile and self-conscious!

Correct response to this is the Irish version of the "gallic shrug" and ignore the publicity-hungry site!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,779 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Pierce Brosnan. I rest my case.

Panthro wrote: »
    Fear not good citizens, I've sent them a picture of myself in the nip.
    Along with a 1forAll voucher worth 5smackers.
    I await their response.

They've just updated their press release:
    Fewer than one in 11 single Irish males who applied to put their profiles on elitist site beautifulpeople.com this year were accepted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

c_man wrote: »
    We're fuking hideous. *puts bag on head*

*Bag gets sick. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 368 ✭✭xband

Seriously though, would you want to go out with anyone who registered themselves on a site for 'beautiful people'.
    I'd need a bucket to vomit into, not to put over my head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Ah we are ugly and a beard does nothing to hide that fact, sure the refugees dont even want to come here, and thats sayin something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Well if Jennifer Anniston is supposed to be the worlds sexist woman it proves that these surveys aren't worth jack schitt because she looks like a transvestite :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Well if Jennifer Anniston is supposed to be the worlds sexist woman it proves that these surveys aren't worth jack schitt because she looks like a transvestite :)

Out you go Sam. Quickly now.

Pac1Man wrote: »
    Out you go Sam. Quickly now.
    Please don't tell me you have the hots for her :mad: If she were a whore she wold be lucky to get $10 a pop :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

In fairness, I can say hand on heart, there's not a man in Ireland I find attractive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

We have sexiest accent though so looks obviously don't matter one iota. Now if you'll excuse me, Kate Upton won't ride herself.

gramar wrote: »
    In fairness, I can say hand on heart, there's not a man in Ireland I find attractive.

Sucks for you. Gonna go abroad to find a partner?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Going to get my face smashed in again so. :o:(

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Please don't tell me you have the hots for her :mad: If she were a whore she wold be lucky to get $10 a pop :D

Must be some very fcukin high standards where you are from. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,931 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

In fairness, I can say hand on heart, there's not a man in Ireland the finds you attractive either!

I love Irish men! :)

I thought the same until I met Delilah. :o She's the type of girl that the song Lola is about. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Ah its just we take a shocking picture lads, never does us justice

Bambi wrote: »
    Ah its just we take a shocking picture lads, never does us justice

It's impossible to take anything but a shocking photo of me. I guess I'm just not that photogenic. :(

On the positive side, I'm not too fussy either ladies. ;)

BattleCorp wrote: »
    Must be some very fcukin high standards where you are from. :eek:
    Not at all you wouldn't have to travel very far to see a better woman than Aniston, if she floats your boat I'm delighted for you