Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Danish teen fought off attacker using pepperspray - now facing charges

• 26-01-2016 10:05pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 333 ✭✭BigJackC

Danish teen fought off her attacker - now she'll face fine.

A 17-year-old girl who was physically and sexually attacked in Sønderborg will herself face charges for using pepper spray to fend off her assailant.
    The teenager told police that she was attacked in central Sønderborg on Wednesday at around 10pm by an English-speaking man in dark clothing. She said the man knocked her to the ground and then unbuttoned her pants and attempted to undress her. 

The girl was able to save herself from further assault by using pepper spray on the attacker, but now she may be the one who ends up in legal trouble. 

“It is illegal to possess and use pepper spray, so she will likely be charged for that,” local police spokesman Knud Kirsten told TV Syd. 

The case has sparked a backlash among some Danes who point toincreasing reports of sexual harassment in Sønderborg and other Danish cities at the same time that police say they are stretched too thin to properly carry out their duties. 

Numerous readers wrote in the comments section on TV Syd’s story about the incident that they would be willing to pay the girl’s fine, which will most likely be 500 kroner. 

The man who attacked the 17-year-old fled from the scene and has not been charged. 

Sexual assaults have been in the news in Sønderborg recently after several women in the town reported earlier this month that they sometimes feel harassed by the aggressive behaviour of some male asylum seekers and refugees at the local asylum centre. 

http://www.thelocal.dk/20160126/danish-teen-fought-off-her-attacker-with-pepper-spray-now-shell-face-fine

Possession and use of pepperspray is illegal in Denmark. This also means that less women will report sexual assault and incidents like this. She obviously reported it - the right thing to do - and then they charged her for using pepper spray. Now she faces a conviction and a fine.

She deserves a medal, not a fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

This is disgusting. She used it to defend herself when the police couldn't do their job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Fair play for highlighting the problems faced by women (and men) all over the world in reporting sexual assault OP.

That is what you're doing here, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

The fine equates to €67, but she should not be fined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Fair play for highlighting the problems faced by women (and men) all over the world in reporting sexual assault OP.

You seem to have the inside track here TBM, come on don't be shy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,942 ✭✭✭20Cent

The local newspaper in Denmark is the equivalent of the daily mail. Take it with a pinch of pepper spray.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Corpus Twisty

For a lad who "allegedly" cuts turf, you can be a right cissy. I highly doubt you've footed a sod in your life. I know I'm not alone. Your attitude to women is off. Way off.

If I go to the Gardai and say I was mugged and they made off with my stash of drugs, I would expect to be charged with possession of drugs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭user2011

Same in Ireland,
    YOU’D NEED A firearms licence to own pepper spray but you’re not allowed to get one, and there are no plans to change that.
    Justice Minister Frances Fitzgerald confirmed last week that there are no plans to allow members of the public use pepper spray for personal protection.

Pepper spray is banned under the 1925 Firearms Act which prohibits the manufacture, possession or sale of “weapons discharging noxious liquids”.
    Conviction for carrying pepper spray is considered a misdemeanour offence and could lead to five years in prison but a fine is the much more likely sentence.

http://www.thejournal.ie/pepper-spray-laws-1960351-Mar2015/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 333 ✭✭BigJackC

If I go to the Gardai and say I was mugged and they made off with my stash of drugs, I would expect to be charged with possession of drugs.

Absolutely absurd comparison.

You seem to have the inside track here TBM, come on don't be shy

I'm merely commending the OP on highlighting a serious issue, that many cases of sexual assault go unreported, and the victim's fear of prosecution for acting in self defence is just one of them.

BigJackC wrote: »
    Absolutely absurd comparison.

Why?

Possession is an offence.

I don't agree with the Irish laws on possession of drugs. But I can't demand that the Gardai ignore them

If you want an implement of defence how about if I used a knife to fight off a mugger? Possession of a knife is an offence, if I tell the Gardai I had one, why can I expect that they won't charge me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

WTF??

For a lad who "allegedly" cuts turf, you can be a right cissy. I highly doubt you've footed a sod in your life. I know I'm not alone. Your attitude to women is off. Way off.

Wow. That's me told.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,611 ✭✭✭Augme

I'm not sure why people are complaining. Carrying pepper spray is illegal, she carried pepper spray. Seems like a pretty clear cut case to charge and convict her. There's no point in having the law if you're just going to let her off because then it will just encourage people to carry pepper spray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Augme wrote: »
    I'm not sure why people are complaining. Carrying pepper spray is illegal, she carried pepper spray. Seems like a pretty clear cut case to charge and convict her. There's no point in having the law if you're just going to let her off because then it will just encourage people to carry pepper spray.

There's no point in enforcing a law that was based on the assumption that the police would maintain some level of order when they're obviously failing to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Wow. That's me told.

Now you go to the bold corner and think about what you did.

Bambi wrote: »
    There's no point in enforcing a law that was based on the assumption that the police would maintain some level of order when they're obviously failing to.

Who said the law was based on that assumption?

I presume the law is based on the fact that it can be used for criminal purposes. Like all possession based laws.

I can't carry a knife on the basis that the Gardai may fail to do their job and I might need it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Corpus Twisty

Wow. That's me told.

Seeing as you reported the post, no, it was me told. ;) Lol. I'd comment, but I'd get a ban, you know yourself..maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,725 ✭✭✭seenitall

Such bs. I'd a zillion times rather pay a fine or even spend a few days in prison for owning a self defence device, than be duly raped but with a clear conscience about obeying the law, and I doubt there is a sane woman alive who wouldn't say the same.

I'm afraid the new incoming reality of living as a woman in the EU (some countries more than others to be fair) will eventually be making mince meat of this and other such ridiculous laws.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

Its absurd.. young girl tries to defend herself and gets prosecuted?

Seeing as you reported the post, no, it was me told. ;) Lol. I'd comment, but I'd get a ban, you know yourself..maybe.

Haha, turf men can take plenty of criticism, by the hokey they have to :)

Sorry to disappoint, but although I report plenty of posts, I never report any against me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭ponzook

Its absurd.. young girl tries to defend herself and gets prosecuted?

Its illegal. Would people be saying the same thing if she was carrying a gun. She deserves to be fined as she broke the law. She knew the law and she broke it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 143 ✭✭Stoned Since 2011

What has cutting turf to do with this thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

ponzook wrote: »
    Its illegal. Would people be saying the same thing if she was carrying a gun. She deserves to be fined as she broke the law. She knew the law and she broke it.

Lesson learned.

Next time she'll take her 'scolding' like a good girl.

Lesson learned.

Next time she'll take her 'scolding' like a good girl.

Can't break the law either! She'll just get a slap on the wrist anyway and no conviction anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Can't break the law either!

You are dead right.
    She should know to just take what's coming to her instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I'm merely commending the OP on highlighting a serious issue, that many cases of sexual assault go unreported, and the victim's fear of prosecution for acting in self defence is just one of them.

Me hole

• Closed Accounts Posts: 972 ✭✭✭WarZ

I read a study somewhere (can't remember where) stating turf cutters have the highest proportion of rapists than any other profession

Me hole
    Is that not what the thread is about?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,594 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

if you cut turf you are a tough bastid, a real man, who won;t have time for views that are seen as namby pampy. i used to cut turf, and foot it, but i am still a namby pampy

clearly the law should be upheld at all time, this girl should not have broken the law. she should have tried to defend herself within the remit of the law, and if that did not work, too bad for her. i know myself i'd prefer to be asssaulted, than have to live with the consequences of using pepper spray to defend myself from an assault. afterall pepper spray is far more lethal than a gun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

The police don't do themselves any favours in these cases. If she's reported an attempted rape and the use of the pepper spray to fight off the potential rapist a bit of cop on could ensue "well let's not mention that bit,eh?" It's not like the "victim" of the spray complained. What's left is a cop led prosecution of a potential rape victim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,675 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

i do think that this law needs to be upheld (or changed ) . she broke the law. end of

but it is a risk versus reward type situation. if I was in that situation I would carry the spray. the penalty is a fine but the reward is not getting raped. safety would win out every time in that equasion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,675 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

i do think that this law needs to be upheld (or changed ) . she broke the law. end of

but it is a risk versus reward type situation. if I was in that situation I would carry the spray. the penalty is a fine but the reward is not getting raped. safety would win out every time in that equasion

Turfcutters have no time for folk that can't call a turf spade a turf spade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

tell me what you would do if you were this girl, and were in the same situation and you have pepper spray / taser / gun.

I would fully understand if she had blown his head off.

You're saying she should have just rolled over and submitted... seriously?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

WarZ wrote: »
    I read a study somewhere (can't remember where) stating turf cutters have the highest proportion of rapists than any other profession

Might be psychotherapist(s):

Psycho
    The
    Rapist

tell me what you would do if you were this girl, and were in the same situation and you have pepper spray / taser / gun.

I think it's more a case of, say if I had someone break in here to me now and try to do harm to me and I shot them, I wouldn't really have any argument against due process being followed, that's the reality of the society we live in. I'd still have every right to be pissed if I was convicted of an offence though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Don't mind them. They see you turfin, they haytin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

I call a turf spade a slane, myself. And I make no apologies for that.

No harm in that.

Left or right? I'm left footed and right handed, a pure bastard for using one.

She shoudn't have had the pepper spray in her bag at all. And if there is attacks happening around where she lives she should not be walking alone. Bit of cop on was needed.

Poor girl. Terrifying experience

Savlon spray plaster has some ingredients that cause eye irritation and swelling.
    Decent alternative to pepper spray.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭Jan Laco

She should have known it's considered disrespectful to use pepper spray against a member of Muslim faith

No harm in that.

You need one of these tbh

Can I not attach pics anymore?

That's the fault of them mixed marriages.

You need one of these tbh

Can I not attach pics anymore?

Not since the EU restrictions on turfcutting, no.

Nodin wrote: »
    That's the fault of them mixed marriages.
    A mixed marriage in Donegal is a FFer marrying a Fger!:pac:

We don't go in for no religious bollocks up here.

Nodin wrote: »
    Not since the EU restrictions on turfcutting, no.

Wtf is ming up to over there? Didn't he stand on cutter's rights ticket!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

She shoudn't have had the pepper spray in her bag at all. And if there is attacks happening around where she lives she should not be walking alone. Bit of cop on was needed.

I suppose she should have covered up more too? Or not worn makeup? She's not the one who lacks cop on here.

A mixed marriage in Donegal is a FFer marrying a Fger!:pac:

That was in 1979. The maddest thing to happen the County since the McHugh one went off with that fella with the Ouija board, McBrearty.