Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Abuse Aimed at Runners in Dublin

• 26-01-2016 5:36am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 975 ✭✭✭

Open to opinion on whether this is a problem other have experienced and how they deal with it when it's repeated.

I'm the guy who chooses to wear colourful maximalist running shoes (translation: Hoka One One) and compression tops and tights in hues that are bright and "out there" (no, I don't believe Irish runners of any gender can have any colour gear as long as it's black, navy or grey or in shades best left for conservative business suits), but the abuse thrown at me as a result comes easily. It ain't because of my times or running style.

Around Dublin 8 and Grand Cana Dock areas, a regular route, I have been yelled at about being a “male prostitute” (I'm a whore for work and running, but that's it), a “queer”, a “homo”, and more of this line of thought, usually with a colourful adjective or two thrown in in case I think someone's really just pulling my leg.

That this kind of vicious abuse mostly comes from young women in groups and not men is all the more depressing. Nobody of any gender should be abused when running (or anywhere else) by anyone.

Maybe this "street" recognition only confirms that I am finally out there in style. As David Bowie would say” “Boys Keep Swinging”. I will. And I'm not gonna pause my run and wreck my times to deal with it.

But for some this kind of stuff goes well beyond ribaldry and is deeply upsetting and can stop them getting out there.

I've thought of just recording the stuff on mobile phone and sending into the local cops on behalf of others, but then I move on. Maybe I should do it after all.

I've never been physically assaulted.

Anyone experienced this kind of stuff and insight on how they dealt with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭dublin runner

Firstly, easily said but don't let it bother you. The odd insult is hardly the end of the world. Yes it unfortunate but you build quite a thick skin being a runner.

Again easily said but never respond. Maybe I am luckily but the amount of insults I have gotten can be counted on one hand. Funningly enough it's never from the big bunch of lads or teenagers, they are usually the most encouraging!

Never let it stop you running (or wearing tights - real runners wear tights!). Learn to laugh it off and keep on runnin'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Wild Garlic

uvox wrote: »
    Open to opinion on whether this is a problem other have experienced and how they deal with it when it's repeated.

I'm the guy who chooses to wear colourful maximalist running shoes (translation: Hoka One One) and compression tops and tights in hues that are bright and "out there" (no, I don't believe Irish runners of any gender can have any colour gear as long as it's black, navy or grey or in shades best left for conservative business suits), but the abuse thrown at me as a result comes easily. It ain't because of my times or running style.

Around Dublin 8 and Grand Cana Dock areas, a regular route, I have been yelled at about being a “male prostitute” (I'm a whore for work and running, but that's it), a “queer”, a “homo”, and more of this line of thought, usually with a colourful adjective or two thrown in in case I think someone's really just pulling my leg.

That this kind of vicious abuse mostly comes from young women in groups and not men is all the more depressing. Nobody of any gender should be abused when running (or anywhere else) by anyone.

Maybe this "street" recognition only confirms that I am finally out there in style. As David Bowie would say” “Boys Keep Swinging”. I will. And I'm not gonna pause my run and wreck my times to deal with it.

But for some this kind of stuff goes well beyond ribaldry and is deeply upsetting and can stop them getting out there.

I've thought of just recording the stuff on mobile phone and sending into the local cops on behalf of others, but then I move on. Maybe I should do it after all.

Just stop, and after ten seconds turn and walk slowly up to them making sure you maintain eye contact the whole time, then whilst cupping your groin tell them in the deepest voice you can muster......"I am your father" ... then slowly turn around and away with ya.

That or just ignore them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

If someone is calling you a male prostitute then you must be in shape in their eyes. Take it as a complement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Just stop, and after ten seconds turn and walk slowly up to them making sure you maintain eye contact the whole time, then whilst cupping your groin tell them in the deepest voice you can muster......"I am your father" ... then slowly turn around and away with ya.

That or just ignore them.

WTF??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

Bowie, huh? *strokes chin*

I think you need to make changes to your running apparel if you want less abuse from all the young dudes. As for the Garda , you could go from station to station but the reality is there's little they can do; they're under pressure at the best of times. I know the abuse is enough to drive a lad insane, but a slight fashion update will make everything hunky dory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,634 ✭✭✭Hoboo

In fairness the image you've portrayed will probably raise a few eyebrows and hushed mutters from the nicest of people, never mind a few inner city young ones. Scum will be scum, ignore it, don't give them the reaction they crave. Once you like it and feel good about yourself then you go girl!

Mountain out of a molehill. If you dislike the attention then wear normal clothes. If you then miss the attention, then revert back.

Do not contact the Garda. They have enough actual problems to deal with.

And please do not compare yourself to the brilliance that is David Bowie.

did you find that SILVER METALLIC running jacket in the end?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=98234624

It would go well with the green or orange pants from here.

http://es.aliexpress.com/item/mens-joggers-mens-sweatpants-mens-tracksuit-bottoms-mens-compression-tights-mens-track-pants-mens-trousers-bodybuilding/32351889940.html

Seriously - as said - if you're going out dressed to be gawked at you will get some comments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Just pretend you don't hear it? All anyone looks for is a reaction so if they think you didn't hear anything they'll just feel like the eejits they are.

I did have an odd one this week. Some eejit on a bike sees me coming up to a pedestrian crossing, slows up but only in order to get as close to my face as possible when I do cross to the point I had to stop so I wouldn't be clipped. I told him I'd push him off the bike next time. "Shut your face, fam", and he speeds off. Who the **** says "fam" in real life?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭davedanon

I don't know who says 'fam' in real life or otherwise, as I've never heard it, and don't know what it means.

As for the OP, I suspect a touch of peacock syndrome: which is all fine and dandy (haha), but you will get attention. Unfortunately there are dickheads out there, and it's your decision whether to brazen it out, or change your look. I don't believe in victim-blaming, so if you dress up and be damned then good on ya. Your comment about other runners is telling, though. I'm no fashion plate, but my technical tops are a wildly kaleidoscopic array of fluorescent colours - yellow, green, aquamarine, pink. These are all race-finisher tops, which everyone who races accumulates if they race regularly. So these dowdy runners in black, brown or grey you mention? I'm not familiar with them. I never receive abuse when out running, btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Have I had comments or abuse as a runner? Probably. Though I pretty exclusively wear earphones except during races. So I've never heard anyone say anything.

You can usually tell by the looks that they're giving you as you approach that they're planning on saying something. You can just pretend you've heard nothing or have earphones in and actually hear nothing. As ThisRegard says, if they're shouting abuse in public into a void, they'll feel like idiots.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

By your description you are more Rent boy than Deuce Bigalow maybe try posting on Grinder?

My similar experience but not running.

I wear a shoulder bag with my keys and phones and wallet and sun glasses. Some person shouted "queer" when they were passing in a car one day. I was a bit surprised and had no reply.

Then another day a man in a van shouted "queer" at me. I shouted "good for you! Be proud!"

I was ready to run because he stopped the van I thought he would be coming after me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭stas

Having moved from D8 to D18 about 15 years ago I try to avoid town in general. Recently while in town centre we've been confronted and shouted at by a teenage girl (one of a group of course) on Bachelor's Walk while walking with family and friends including a few young children. We just smiled and walked on. Where I am from originally the words and behaviour like the one she demonstrated could have earned her a smack across her face - at least, so no-one ever engages like that unless they mean business. I'm not sure what's gone wrong with some of the youths here in Dublin. </rant>

Back to the subject, I have never been shouted at while running up and down Enniskerry road and in the area. Then again I always have some sort of loud techno in my headphones so even if anyone did shout that'd be lost on me. So perhaps a change of route or audio equipment could be an answer? I wouldn't go and change my outfit just to please some imbecile scangers, like some here suggest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Move to the country, cows never give abuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Nobody of any gender should be abused when running (or anywhere else) by anyone.

This is the point. No matter what you're wearing or what you look like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

It's interesting to see the difference in reaction to salty abuse directed towards males and females. IIRC, there was a similar thread recently enough, but posted by a female and the reactions were entirely different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,876 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Your allowed to wear whatever you want, but if you go for something "thats out there", you got to expect some kind of response these days. There is alot of people out there with very little intelligence.

If it really annoys you, back off in what you wear, i know you shouldn't have to, but thats life.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Second Toughest in_the Freshers

PaulieC wrote: »
    It's interesting to see the difference in reaction to salty abuse directed towards males and females. IIRC, there was a similar thread recently enough, but posted by a female and the reactions were entirely different.
    Salty?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭RubyK

Thankfully, I don't get abuse too often, but the odd time I do, I just give the finger (very ladylike :pac:) and keep on running. It's usually teenage boys trying to act the "big man" in-front of their idiot friends. Wouldn't let it bother me, I couldn't care less what they think of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

haven't seen that post but if you get a femaie posting about something like this the common reaction would that it could be a situation of potential sexual danger or at least verbals to that effect so the response would be sympathetic.

all the same, if a girl/woman came on here saying that I like to go out running in a bikini with my new boob job and why are guys shouting / whistling at me (exaggerated example I know but for the sake of argument) there would be a similar reaction to some opinions here where the OP has freely admitted that he is "pea-cocking" in his attire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭Utdfan20titles

Just tell anyone who annoys you to **** off. Even though they wear tracksuits and sports clothing, chances are they won't be able to run after you.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

pconn062 wrote: »

Not true. Earlier in the year I was out for a cycle and stopped on the side of a road, opposite a cow field, to refuel. Not one, but four cows came over to have a nosey. One even mooed while standing at the gate staring me out of it.

Nosey, abusive bitches. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,503 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Sounds like a bunch of arseholes, but it doesn't really sound like a running-specific thing either. They would likely feel the need to share their opinions/ridicule, whether you were running, cycling, roller-skating, walking, or shopping. Develop a thick skin and ignore. I tend to be a little hot tempered these days, and typically will confront most people who hurl abuse when I'm out running (depending on size and numbers!), and nearly all back down immediately and hopefully will be more reluctant to re-offend, but it's not a recommended approach. Celebrate the fact that it's winter - when spring/summer returns, like the midges, the wookies will be back out in force.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Wild Garlic

Not true. Earlier in the year I was out for a cycle and stopped on the side of a road, opposite a cow field, to refuel. Not one, but four cows came over to have a nosey. One even mooed while standing at the gate staring me out of it.

Nosey, abusive bitches. :mad:

That was me. Moooooooooooooooo😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,200 ✭✭✭Gavlor

I don't wear tights as it's nowhere near cold enough for them and as a result I avoid all abuse.

Seriously tho, I'll probably get slated for this but it's only the odd bit of slagging form a bunch of youngsters. Hardly anything to get worked up about. As for recording it and passing it to the gardai, they have enough to do without chasing every loudmouth away from joggers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Would be classified as free speech unless you were threatened verbally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Chivito550 wrote:
    Mountain out of a molehill. If you dislike the attention then wear normal clothes. If you then miss the attention, then revert back.

The op has every right to wear what he/she wants without ridicule. You imply that it is socially acceptable to mental abuse people based on looks, it is not. How rude to play down somebody's troubles.
    Chivito550 wrote:
    Do not contact the Garda. They have enough actual problems to deal with.

Ill advice, and again, trivialising the ops issue. If the aggressors are threatening, then report it to the Gardai. Always report it but don't always expect them to do anything. At least the complaint will be recorded if anything comes up in the future.

Chivito550 wrote:
    And please do not compare yourself to the brilliance that is David Bowie.

There were no comparisons, only a quote. What's with all the victim blaming?

Can you change your route op or just keep on running?

Biggest issue I faced when running in Dublin were groups of runners taking up the entire path and expecting everybody else to move onto the road. Gid forbid they have to pause their chatting for a few seconds.

That and dogs let run free.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Second Toughest in_the Freshers

Ah, that makes sense. I thought it was one of these new internet fad words like butthurt...

The op has every right to wear what he/she wants without ridicule. You imply that it is socially acceptable to mental abuse people based on looks, it is not. How rude to play down somebody's troubles.

Ill advice, and again, trivialising the ops issue. If the aggressors are threatening, then report it to the Gardai. Always report it but don't always expect them to do anything. At least the complaint will be recorded if anything comes up in the future.

There were no comparisons, only a quote. What's with all the victim blaming?

Can you change your route op or just keep on running?

Biggest issue I faced when running in Dublin were groups of runners taking up the entire path and expecting everybody else to move onto the road. Gid forbid they have to pause their chatting for a few seconds.

That and dogs let run free.

Nah, unfortunately you are not living on planet earth if you believe the above. Sure, I might feel like going out for a run dressed in a crayon costume if I felt like it, but chances are people will pass comments. Perhaps they should mind their own business, but in the end of the day we are all nosey b@stards in one way or another. If there is no threatening behavior, then there is nothing worthy of police time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

Meh, just get on with it, tell them to **** off if it makes you feel better. I wouldn't waste my own time ringing the guards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Caliden wrote: »
    Would be classified as free speech unless you were threatened verbally.
    Nope. Anything which undermines public order doesn't qualify as free speech in Ireland.

Certainly shouting abuse in the street would be a public order offence. Simply giving someone the finger in public can be actioned.

seamus wrote: »
    Nope. Anything which undermines public order doesn't qualify as free speech in Ireland.

Certainly shouting abuse in the street would be a public order offence. Simply giving someone the finger in public can be actioned.

Well then half the replies on this thread suggesting the OP to just tell them to f*ck off, or give them the finger, are also violating this code.

Easy solution, just ignore. Depending on your running speed, you will be past them in any time between 1 and 1.5 seconds. If this is too much to cope with, then wear different clothes.

If you feel threatened, then report the behavior. If you don’t feel threatened (the OP doesn’t seem threatened), then report it if you wish. Just don’t expect anything to be done about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,200 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Chivito550 wrote: »
    Nah, unfortunately you are not living on planet earth if you believe the above. Sure, I might feel like going out for a run dressed in a crayon costume if I felt like it, but chances are people will pass comments. Perhaps they should mind their own business, but in the end of the day we are all nosey b@stards in one way or another. If there is no threatening behavior, then there is nothing worthy of police time.

Dressed like a crayon?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,401 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

The OP can dress as he likes and run where he likes.

However a bit of common sense would tell you that if you're experiencing any feelings of unease on a particular route, then you should change route. Of course no one should have to hear abuse thrown at them but equally there's plenty of places to run that he won't hear this. Why not makes things as pleasant as possible for yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,401 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

The OP can dress as he likes and run where he likes.

However a bit of common sense would tell you that if you're experiencing any feelings of unease on a particular route, then you should change route. Of course no one should have to hear abuse thrown at them but equally there's plenty of places to run that he won't hear this. Why not makes things as pleasant as possible for yourself?

Gavlor wrote: »
    Dressed like a crayon?!

Yeh, a couple of years ago in Prague I encountered, in broad daylight right in the city centre, a group of British Lager Louts on a stag party, all dressed up as Crayola crayons, chanting "We're crayons, we do what we want." Tried to upload a picture of it here, but Boards.ie really seems crocked these days!

I'd rather run past a group of dodgy lookin' young wans than past a) people work those small sh1tty dogs (always a chance of the much feared 'invisible leash') b) 'owl wans out for their 'walk', with little or no path manners and c) the worst of all. People with golf umbrellas. They are just evil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭DubOnHoliday

I was out on the trails at night last Sunday, when I saw ahead of me two bright green eyes reflecting my headtorch and blocking the trail. Unfortunately I'd strayed into the territory of a fox, who was completely pissed off to see a tights, bandana and headtorch wearing idiot bundling through his forrest during his evening hunt.
    Sorry Mr Fox I said, and he allowed me pass.

I'd rather run past a group of dodgy lookin' young wans than past a) people work those small sh1tty dogs (always a chance of the much feared 'invisible leash')....

I walk two small dogs several times a day, on extendable leads, and they and I are awesome.

ThisRegard wrote:
    I walk two small dogs several times a day, on extendable leads, and they and I are awesome.

What's your secret?! Fantastic plyometrical agility? Haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chartsengrafs

I'm not sure this is a running thread at all. OP indicates that the abuse is generated based on what they're wearing. Abuse which they unfortunately receive on a regular basis.
    I've been running all over Dublin since moving here in 2007 and can't recall one instance of verbal abuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,892 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

pconn062 wrote: »

I've only ever gotten abuse in the countryside. Maybe not wearing GAA kit made me stand out.

I mainly run round d18, but when I lived in the IFSC the crowds of Sherrif St kids never seemed bothered with abusing any runners.

Yeh, a couple of years ago in Prague I encountered, in broad daylight right in the city centre, a group of British Lager Louts on a stag party, all dressed up as Crayola crayons, chanting "We're crayons, we do what we want." Tried to upload a picture of it here, but Boards.ie really seems crocked these days!

$_12.JPG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

To be honest it's this kind of begrudgery crap was one of the reasons I love living away from Ireland.

You'd only get that bull**** in Ireland or the UK ..

I used to get similar sh'it playing tennis, dopes would walk by grunting, yeah fair enough grunt away while you eat your fish and chips you pasty white fat skanger.

You don't in fairness. It's not begrudgery, it's just people being assholes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,519 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

To be honest it's this kind of begrudgery crap was one of the reasons I love living away from Ireland.

I used to get similar sh'it playing tennis, dopes would walk by grunting, yeah fair enough grunt away while you eat your fish and chips you pasty white fat skanger.

http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2014/09/23/typical-ireland-says-man-regardless-of-what-he-is-complaining-about/

Have you lived in all 200+ nations to know this? Kn0bs are everywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Well trying to degrade my point by implying I am a spacer is not exactly a sure way to get your point accross, and weaken mine. That bold part, it's irrelivant and it's only purpose is to derail the argument. Why bother?

It's not outlandish to expect peace and quiet when out for a run, cycle, or anything for that matter. Why are you implying that it's ok to be called a "queer" based on ones fashion choices? That mentality doesn't have a place in society. It only exists because people believe the right thing to do is tolerate it.

There's quite a difference in the way the OP dresses and a crayon.