Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How old is old?

• 23-01-2016 12:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭janja

Happy Birthday to me ! I feel ancient , 45 how old am i 45 AND one hour now .Jaysus

• Site Banned Posts: 137 ✭✭MaryAntoinette

Are you able to get erections?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Just imagine in 5 years time you'll be 50!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭janja

Are you able to get erections?

I bloody hope not .... hubby might get a shock

Just imagine in 5 years time you'll be 50!!

Feeeeeck off dont do 50s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Well when you are you'll be old

• Site Banned Posts: 137 ✭✭MaryAntoinette

janja wrote: »

And landing in to the bed at 3am with lovehoney's best selling strap on doesn't?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Am 40 feel 23
    Felt 20 at 20 so I'm aging in dog years (give or take)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

Subjectively it varies. A 30-year-old is old to a 15-year-old.

More objectively these days: one's 70s. Or maybe 60s for people who aren't in good health.

45... it ain't young :pac: but it's not old.

Tigger wrote: »
    Well when you are you'll be old

Bet you are only a chisler trying to annoy an elder

And landing in to the bed at 3am with lovehoney's best selling strap on doesn't?

Could this be bought on amazon? Any oap discount?

Azalea wrote: »
    Subjectively it varies. A 30-year-old is old to a 15-year-old.

More objectively these days: one's 70s. Or maybe 60s for people who aren't in good health.

45... it ain't young :pac: but it's not old.

I am happy with your analysis (not old , not old , not old , not old) not young blah!

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

You're not old; you're middle-aged and only just.

Happy birthday, by the way :)

I am happy with your analysis (not old , not old , not old , not old) not young blah!
    It's subjectively (that word again) young!

Happy birthday by the way! ;)

Peregrine wrote: »

Cheers Thanks I love my Birthday so much x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Brilliant :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

You're middle aged by 45 but not old by any stretch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Well there's one stone cold truth about life and age :pac:
    .. So ask what your average 70 year old would do to be 50 again.
    ... Ask your average 50 year old what they would give to be 30 again.
    ... Finally, ask what both ages would do or give to be 20 again ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Do you make a noise when getting up from or sitting down in a chair?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 824 ✭✭✭sheep?

Internet gold, right there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭Archeron

Ruu wrote: »
    Do you make a noise when getting up from or sitting down in a chair?

Does farting count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,540 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Same age OP here OP, its weird 20 years ago we were just starting out in life as an adult with the world at our feet, in 20 years time we'll be almost pensioners... Jaysus, soon people will be saying isn't he a great man for xyz for stuff we did in our 20's as nothing!

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Well.. To answer the question in the title, how old is old? Old as balls. Now what is balls? Mine came as and remain a pair. So is that 2? As old as 2?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

45 isn't even Middle aged any more.

Old is a state of mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭TG1

I remember a few years ago talking to my granny about how old some of the others who were at the day centre she went to were... She was about 90 at the time so I think old is just a state of mind!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

45 is still young today. My stepmothers mother is 105.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭CFlat

My mum is 83 and she thinks I'm a young fella. My nieces and nephews don't think I should be let out on my own. It's all relative really.

But seeing as you're a few years younger than me, I'll say you're only a chisler!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭HughWotMVIII

Peregrine wrote: »

For some reason, I'd rather be old than middle-aged. Old sounds elegant to me while middle-aged sounds so...I don't know...bleh.

I'm overthinking this.

Happy birthday OP.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Happy Birthday! :)

TBH I wouldn't call 45 young. It's nowhere near decrepitude or anything, but it's not young either. I'd personally put "young" as sub 25. 25 - 35 as "adult/mature". 35 onwards as "ageing". As a mate of mine once said, before 30 you're grass, after 30 you're silage. Still very useful, but you ain't grass anymore. :D

Mind you, it can vary a lot with individuals, even biologically. Some can be ten years older or younger biologically and that gap can increase a lot psychologically. Some are boring beige old farts at 20, patently waiting for their waistbands to increase while their mind contracts. I knew a guy like that when I was a kid. At 13 to 16 he was genuinely one of the coolest individuals I've ever met. Even looking back with the benefit of hindsight he was still "cool". He left school at 16 and we lost touch. Out of the blue he shows up to my house a few years later when he was 19, with his new fiancé in tow. I barely recognised him. Overweight dad bod, with dad haircut to match and his fiancé was dressed and looked 50. The conversation was like being stuck in the "good room" with aged relatives. If the pair of them had been any mousier I'd have put down traps. Bumped into them a few years later and they were a solid middle aged couple with kids(though they could have been mistaken for the grandkids). They seemed content enough so fair play to anyone who gets that, but bloody hell it was a shock.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

TBH I wouldn't call 45 young. It's nowhere near decrepitude or anything, but it's not young either. I'd personally put "young" as sub 25. 25 - 35 as "adult/mature". 35 onwards as "ageing". As a mate of mine once said, before 30 you're grass, after 30 you're silage. Still very useful, but you ain't grass anymore. :D

Mind you, it can vary a lot with individuals, even biologically. Some can be ten years older or younger biologically and that gap can increase a lot psychologically. Some are boring beige old farts at 20, patently waiting for their waistbands to increase while their mind contracts. I knew a guy like that when I was a kid. At 13 to 16 he was genuinely one of the coolest individuals I've ever met. Even looking back with the benefit of hindsight he was still "cool". He left school at 16 and we lost touch. Out of the blue he shows up to my house a few years later when he was 19, with his new fiancé in tow. I barely recognised him. Overweight dad bod, with dad haircut to match and his fiancé was dressed and looked 50. The conversation was like being stuck in the "good room" with aged relatives. If the pair of them had been any mousier I'd have put down traps. Bumped into them a few years later and they were a solid middle aged couple with kids(though they could have been mistaken for the grandkids). They seemed content enough so fair play to anyone who gets that, but bloody hell it was a shock.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

For some reason, I'd rather be old than middle-aged. Old sounds elegant to me while middle-aged sounds so...I don't know...bleh.

I'm overthinking this.
    I kinda see what you mean. It's like going bald. Fully bald is fine, can even look well, fully haired up is fine and looks well, the balding bit in the middle rarely does. So it might be with ageing.

I think it's the connotations of it too. "Middle aged" feels old fashioned, older without being old, not much of an achievement, a bit beige and cardigan and slacks playing golf complaining about mortgage rates. The young and the old are freer in many respects. Fewer responsibilities going on in general. Less socially judged too. You can get away with murder socially when you're a kid or a pensioner. Being middle aged, not so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭HughWotMVIII

Wibbs wrote: »
    I kinda see what you mean. It's like going bald. Fully bald is fine, can even look well, fully haired up is fine and looks well, the balding bit in the middle rarely does. So it might be with ageing.

I think it's the connotations of it too. "Middle aged" feels old fashioned, older without being old, not much of an achievement, a bit beige and cardigan and slacks playing golf complaining about mortgage rates. The young and the old are freer in many respects. Fewer responsibilities going on in general. Less socially judged too. You can get away with murder socially when you're a kid or a pensioner. Being middle aged, not so much.

Exactly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭CFlat

45 today is basically the same as 45 50 years ago, we aren't living much longer.

45 is not young, 5 is young 20 is young, 30 is still young, but 45 is not young.

I take it you don't make your living out of being a motivational speaker?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

As long as you're still causing them you'll be grand.

Wibbs wrote: »

Your friend is harsh on 30-year-olds! In an age when people are living until their 80s and 90s, 30 is pretty young!

I'd agree with him if he said 35 rather than 30.

I think my attitude can be motivational, stop being obsessed with whether you are young or not, you can't change it either way, no matter how many people you convince, you can't cheat the aging process and you don't need to, just enjoy your life while you're here.
    I agree - although you can take really good care of your health and be in better physical shape at 40 than you were at 25 (entirely from a lifestyle perspective is what I mean). But otherwise, yeah it's silly of people to get upset over something they can't control.

I bet all the people thanking the 'Age is just a number!' type posts are over 45!

Most of your life is not spent young. Most of your life is spent either as a child or as a middle-aged or senior person, so I wonder why people treat it as something to dread. I recently wished I'd a few extra years as I lost out on a job because I was sub 30.

Old to me is about 20 years older than I am. And it always will be.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Candie wrote: »
    I bet all the people thanking the 'Age is just a number!' type posts are over 45!

Au contraire!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

How old is old? Happy Birthday to me ! I feel ancient, 45 how old am i 45 AND one hour now .Jaysus

I have met 40 year old men who are already old, and I know some men in their sixties who are still young men! Much of it is a frame of mind. Keep wearing jeans, (don't wear too much brown), carry on doing all the things you did ten years ago (within reason) and you'll stay young :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

I made my own father a grandfather when he was 45, i thought he was an old fella back then but fast forward 21 years and i am now 43 years old and still think i'm young enough, certainly don't feel old.
    But it's only now i realise what a shock i must have given the oul fella when i told him the girlfriend was pregnant! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

I'm coming up on 43 and I still snigger at the same inappropriate, immature stuff I did when I was a teenager. I feel a bit overwhelmed at times that I'm supposedly a grown up. Old to me is someone in their 80s or 90s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Patww79 wrote: »
    30 and you're finished. I gave up on most things when I hit it.

Bull! I'm a year away from 30 and I haven't even hit my stride yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Speedwell

I'll be 50 this year. My husband of three years is a few years younger than I am. We don't consider ourselves spring chickens, but we don't think of ourselves as old. In my 40s, I had a lot of friends in their 50s. Old hippies, mostly (I'm a Yank, hubby's Irish). I used to really envy them for their relaxed and free sort of attitude. Probably had a lot to do with the kids finally being out of the house, I'm sure. I'm told menopause has its advantages. I'll believe it when I see it.

If you told me you could make me 30 again, I'd be mildly interested. If you told me you could make me 20 again, I'd punch you right in the nose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Everyone knows you're old when there is a whole generation of people knocking around listening to music you detest and playing it at a volume which is far too high altogether!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭AppleBottle

Happy birthday OP :) I don't think you're old, only middle aged.

Patww79 wrote: »
    30 and you're finished.
    What in the name of Jeebus gave you that idea?
    I gave up on most things when I hit it; fitness, career prospects, etc.
    Ah... you just decided it yourself. Your choice to give up on everything because of some weird notion in your head, does not mean people are finished at 30. If you genuinely think people cannot get fit or get ahead in their career from 30 onwards, I dunno... are you deliberately ignoring all the evidence that contradicts this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭wilhelm roentgen

I really hate the effects of middle age.

I sort of expected the baldness, the sagging skin, the beer belly and the loss of libido, but I thought it would happen to me, not Mrs Roentgen :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Old is a state of mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Old depends on the age you are now I reckon.

So when you're 15 you think 25 is old
    When 25 you think 35 is old and so on and on and on.

I'm older than the lot of you here, but I think my mother at 82 is old. She thinks she's a spring chicken!

It's all in your attitude to life. Can't change it.

But one thing I'm grateful for now that I have ahem.... matured, is that I don't have to study for the LC ever again, nor do I have to cram (I was a lazy student) for Uni exams, nor do I have to do up a CV, nor do I have to prostitute myself for interviews.

And I took very early retirement after doing all the above, and I FECKING LOVE IT!!

Now where am I going on me next hollier? Oh, and I can walk and talk at the same time, enjoy a few drinks, eat for Ireland provided someone else cooks it for me, and when I go, I hope to leave nothing behind only enough to bury me and have a party.

Only one shot at it really.