Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

what would you do with 11 million Euro?

• 16-01-2016 9:40am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭

Lotto is 11million tonight. If you won what would you spend it on. Would pay off loans here and go on a holiday in America for a month to consider my options

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Farm away until it was gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,904 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

_Brian wrote: »
    Farm away until it was gone.

Beat me to it!!

It would take a fair while to change the way of thinking. That sort of wealth is hard to comprehend.

This isn't life changing money, this should change the lives of decendants for generations if it were managed properly. Or, it could have ya in the grave in six months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

First thing .... l'd keep hush about it so that l wouldn't have any of ye pming me for handouts!! :D:D:D

l'd give a million straight off to local charities. l'd manage with just the 10!! :)

I'd ring the boss and tell him was taking a few days off. They'd have to be unpaid as lve feck all leave left, but l think l'd manage! Oh ya l'd still keep the job, reckon would crack up without the routine.

I'd then go into the bank manager, thank him for the christmas card and hand him a big fat cheque to lodge to my account. Then I'd get him to pay off the mortgage! God if we didn't have mortgages lads would we need to win the lotto?!?

Then straight out and into a cafe with herself and little lad for a nice bit of grub. Wedge myself into a couch with a strong coffee to ponder my good fortune all the while looking out the window at people going about the daily grind!!

Then we'd go on a little mini break in Ireland in a right plush spot. No l wouldn't go abroad. l might have won the lotto but there's still a small
    child to consider!!

l'd organise a few lads then in the summer to sort a few jobs around the house that are on the long finger for want of funds. l'd sell the ride on and get whelans lad down to do the lawn when needs be !!

After that l'd tidy up a few bits on the farm just to make things a little bit easier. I'd have no aspirations to go full time. Too much grief!!

l probably would give a few thousand to each of the family members. Not too much to spoil them but rather to ease things for them.

God in a few weeks with interest sure I'd be back to 11million again!!! Feck! I don't know. I'd probably be better off without it!!!!!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Muckit wrote: »
    First thing .... l'd keep hush about it so that l wouldn't have any of ye pming me for handouts!! :D:D:D

l'd give a million straight off to local charities. l'd manage with just the 10!! :)

I'd ring the boss and tell him was taking a few days off. They'd have to be unpaid as lve feck all leave left, but l think l'd manage! Oh ya l'd still keep the job, reckon would crack up without the routine.

I'd then go into the bank manager, thank him for the christmas card and hand him a big fat cheque to lodge to my account. Then I'd get him to pay off the mortgage! God if we didn't have mortgages lads would we need to win the lotto?!?

Then straight out and into a cafe with herself and little lad for a nice bit of grub. Wedge myself into a couch with a strong coffee to ponder my good fortune all the while looking out the window at people going about the daily grind!!

Then we'd go on a little mini break in Ireland in a right plush spot. No l wouldn't go abroad. l might have won the lotto but there's still a small
    child to consider!!

l'd organise a few lads then in the summer to sort a few jobs around the house that are on the long finger for want of funds. l'd sell the ride on and get whelans lad down to do the lawn when needs be !!

After that l'd tidy up a few bits on the farm just to make things a little bit easier. I'd have no aspirations to go full time. Too much grief!!

l probably would give a few thousand to each of the family members. Not too much to spoil them but rather to ease things for them.

God in a few weeks with interest sure I'd be back to 11million again!!! Feck! I don't know. I'd probably be better off without it!!!!!! :)
    I'd imagine you'd get plenty to occupy your mind with 11 million sitting in your bank account without having to go to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭Disgruntled Badger

Buy a farm......or maybe a forest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Buy a plot in the grave yard I'd drink myselfs to death in 6 months lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,127 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I asked the Uncle once , what would he do if he won the lotto. 'Ah sure, you'd still eat the same loaf of bread in the morning'.
    I guess we just need to learn to be happy with what we've got. More wants more, as they say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Pay off all bills for myself & whats left of the mortgage, before getting the old house fully insulated and reroofed.
    Then I'd probably be terribly sensible and talk to a financial planner before going on a round the world trip, was actually looking at a volunteer place in Bolivia last night, could actually go there!
    Pretty sure my neighbour won it a few years back, it was announced that the winner worked where he does & a lot of new machinery and farm improvements and developments have been carried out since. Couldn't have happened to a nicer man if so.

child to consider!!

About the job.
    With €11m in the bank your job is sustaining and growing that money. Stop thinking the old way about having a job. Your self employed at being responsible for that gift and ensuring it serves you and your family well, now and for generations to come.

Truly wealthy people don't work at "stuff" or jobs, they focus on sustaining and improving their position.

This is a total mindset reprogramming for ordinary folk like ourselves. The only money worry you should ever have is "have I increased the wealth by enough" and lived and supported those that matter to you.

Don't start by throwing €1million to anyone. Start by investing a €1m so it supports the charities you like, but the capital is always yours.

Same for family, don't hand them money, being them into a business you own and pay them handsomely , but the business and capital are always yours, they are looked after and your investment should grow increasing your family security.

I couldn't work and have this money in the background, people say it wouldn't change them. How could it not change a person, but ensuring it changes you for the better is the challenge.

People say €11m is too much for them, I pity their lack of imagination and foresight.

I say "Bring it on, I'm ready now !"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭nkav86

Quit the job, put a nice chunk in the bank to gain interest, give a few quid to the family so I don't look like a miser, then feck off to all the countries I'd ever wanted to visit! Come back and live comfortably down the country somewhere, nothing flashy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,996 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

child to consider!!

I really hope you don't win it. The lotto is wasted on you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Think my luck is in today. Just won a box of chocolates on one of those hampers and roses scratch cards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

whelan2 wrote: »
    Think my luck is in today. Just won a box of chocolates on one of those hampers and roses scratch cards.

What is it with you and raffles and stuff. You made a killing at christmas

Reggie. wrote: »
    What is it with you and raffles and stuff. You made a killing at christmas
    Its my birthday today and the tickets were bought for me, asked man in shop could I have money instead of the sweets and he said no :cool: so we are now onto the second row of Butlers chocolates

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Its my birthday today and the tickets were bought for me, asked man in shop could I have money instead of the sweets and he said no :cool: so we are now onto the second row of Butlers chocolates

Congrats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,438 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Go back to work!

Happy birthday in the case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

_Brian wrote: »
    About the job.
    With €11m in the bank your job is sustaining and growing that money. Stop thinking the old way...

This is a total mindset reprogramming for ordinary folk like ourselves......

l hear what you're saying _Brian. You make a lot of good points.

'With great power comes great responsibility.' l don't know if I could handle the responsibility!!

If money has the power to change a person, is that person not a slave to it, in a way?

I'd want to change v little about my life, only live more comfortably. l'm not an entrepreneur. l don't want to spend my days investing my money and worrying about making the right choices and not losing it. There would be financial advisors swarming around like flies on a s**t and l couldn't be worrying about potential embezzlement!!!

Yes the notion of setting up a local business to provide employment for the local community would appeal to me. But again, like you said, l'd have to be on top of things and ensure it worked and supported my employees. Ahhh!!! My idea of hell!!

So tell us, would the caravan go? Would it be plush hotels from here on in if you scooped the big prize?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

child to consider!!

If you do win I think we're distant cousins ,I can pm u ac details so you can lodge my few thousand!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

I,d have to donate it to those poor folks running the IFA, who could survive on 400k nowadays

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

I'd get rid of the mobile ! It's a pain in the hoop and wouldn't need it for work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Firstly I cannot win as I won't have a ticket but if I was prepared to waste money on low odds gambling.....

I would get my siblings to sign the ticket and therefore share €1m between them tax free.

I would order a Range Rover Vogue and buy a Berkshire Hathaway share just to have one these would be my only extravagance.

I would ring fence €1m to educate my kids

I would buy land but only if I really liked it and could dairy farm profitably on it

I would make a donation to Crumlin and Temple St in gratitude for the good health my kids enjoy. There are so many others not so fortunate.

I would continue to do exactly as I am doing as I'm really lucky to live the life I have

I would pay off no loans as it would put a greater tax burden on my business. That act would change a tax free lump sum into a taxable income

I would under no circumstances consult a financial advisor as they are nothing short of sales men and if they were so clever they'd be retired on the millions they promise

Edit: I would take the kids to Botswana on a Safari

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭furiousox

Vegas baby...Vegas!! :D

CPL 593H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭ABlur

furiousox wrote: »
    Vegas baby...Vegas!! :D

I watched Wolf of Wall Street last night plenty of tips there to help you blow a few millions!!

l hear what you're saying _Brian. You make a lot of good points.

'With great power comes great responsibility.' l don't know if I could handle the responsibility!!

If money has the power to change a person, is that person not a slave to it, in a way?

I'd want to change v little about my life, only live more comfortably. l'm not an entrepreneur. l don't want to spend my days investing my money and worrying about making the right choices and not losing it. There would be financial advisors swarming around like flies on a s**t and l couldn't be worrying about potential embezzlement!!!

Yes the notion of setting up a local business to provide employment for the local community would appeal to me. But again, like you said, l'd have to be on top of things and ensure it worked and supported my employees. Ahhh!!! My idea of hell!!

So tell us, would the caravan go? Would it be plush hotels from here on in if you scooped the big prize?

Oh god no.. an upgrade..
    Nice new model of my existing 2006 one, (£20k stg), the 2006 X-trail would probably be upgraded to a nice new X-trail too..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Apart from charities, siblings and their sprogs and a farm/car etc I would buy
    Whelan a top of the range pressure washer
    Kouv a fancy basket for one of her cats
    Bullocks a few pints
    Base price would get tickets to see son in oz
    Reggie a new John Deere with stipulations that he must use and can't swop it for a Massey.
    Rest of you will get bits as well

See, I do care about you all

Seriously though, it to much but that what generates interest. How many would swop all for good health for family and themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Not sure I'd like to win 11 million to be honest...
    It's too much money, I'd be afraid of it doing more harm than good... ;)

Wouldn't mind winning a few hundred thousand - pay off the mortgage, invest a small bit... Enough to make my life easier, but not change it that much. Am happy enough with life as tis...

Bullocks a few pints
    Reggie a new John Deere with stipulations that he must use and can't swop it for a Massey.

Seriously though, it to much but that what generates interest. How many would swop all for good health for family and themselves.

I wouldn't swap the deere....I'd just sell it :D
    Then buy a massey

I suppose the main question is would you continue farming. I would

Reggie. wrote: »
    I wouldn't swap the deere....I'd just sell it :D
    Then buy a massey

Lol.

"Stupid is as stupid does!"

Bullocks a few pints

Thanks Daisy , I'd say a few pints with you would be good craic . Hope ya win :D

Firstly I cannot win as I won't have a ticket but if I was prepared to waste money on low odds gambling.....

I would get my siblings to sign the ticket and therefore share €1m between them tax free.

I would order a Range Rover Vogue and buy a Berkshire Hathaway share just to have one these would be my only extravagance.

I would ring fence €1m to educate my kids

I would buy land but only if I really liked it and could dairy farm profitably on it

I would make a donation to Crumlin and Temple St in gratitude for the good health my kids enjoy. There are so many others not so fortunate.

I would continue to do exactly as I am doing as I'm really lucky to live the life I have

I would pay off no loans as it would put a greater tax burden on my business. That act would change a tax free lump sum into a taxable income

I would under no circumstances consult a financial advisor as they are nothing short of sales men and if they were so clever they'd be retired on the millions they promise

Edit: I would take the kids to Botswana on a Safari
    You didn't buy a ticket, sit down and shut up so :D

I very rarely buy a ticket but I splashed today, no harm in dreaming for a few hours :)

Not sure I'd like to win 11 million to be honest...
    It's too much money, I'd be afraid of it doing more harm than good... ;)

Wouldn't mind winning a few hundred thousand - pay off the mortgage, invest a small bit... Enough to make my life easier, but not change it that much. Am happy enough with life as tis...
    Ah stop, you're way too sensible for your own good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Have never bought a ticket but won 2 pound once when I spotted an unscratched ticket on the road when I was drawing slurry:-).would hate to win as no one would ever be straight with you again I reckon it would f##k up our children, nothing like a bit of hunger to give them drive.any way im so long tearing and scrapping, it would play with my head if I had money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Have never bought a ticket but won 2 pound once when I spotted an unscratched ticket on the road when I was drawing slurry:-).would hate to win as no one would ever be straight with you again I reckon it would f##k up our children, nothing like a bit of hunger to give them drive.any way im so long tearing and scrapping, it would play with my head if I had money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

bought a quick pick this morning, if i got 11 mill, would pay the bills and then would be gone to france to buy a farm and would bring home some top char and lim heifers to start a new herd here, and build new slatted and straw bedded sheds, something a farmer never have enough of around the place.

Wasn't there a lottery in America in the last few weeks was a billion dollars split between 3. Now that would be too much. Ah the lotto plus 2 would be enough for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,127 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Years ago when the Irish Lotto came out first, I was sitting at home looking at the draw with ticket in hand. I had the first 4 numbers as they drawn. I tell you, I was well sitting up on the chair waiting for the 5th. No joy after that. I did win £17 though.:D

Id say there's a few on here worth well over the million already. Go on, admit it. A long way off myself.

Years ago when the Irish Lotto came out first, I was sitting at home looking at the draw with ticket in hand. I had the first 4 numbers as they drawn. I tell you, I was well sitting up on the chair waiting for the 5th. No joy after that. I did win £17 though.:D

Id say there's a few on here worth well over the million already. Go on, admit it. A long way off myself.

The prizes for 4 or 5 numbers are piss poor compared to 6 numbers

My daughter has a big (for her) showjumping competition tomorrow. Anyhow her pony needs to be clipped as weather has turned wintery of late....
    Clipping is my job but the two batteries of the clippers are goosed so I asked the daughter of a friend of mine that I'd heard was good.
    There was a problem with the temperature control in one of the sheds so I was busy with that while the girl was clipping the pony. When I got finished up fixing the problem, the young lady that clipped the pony was gone...but she had done some job on the pony...she had clipped a whole load of little lightening flashes on the pony....really artistically.
    The look on my daughters face? Priceless.

Its me Patsy , that's why i don't bother buying lotto tickets :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Dawggone wrote: »
    My daughter has a big (for her) showjumping competition tomorrow. Anyhow her pony needs to be clipped as weather has turned wintery of late....
    Clipping is my job but the two batteries of the clippers are goosed so I asked the daughter of a friend of mine that I'd heard was good.
    There was a problem with the temperature control in one of the sheds so I was busy with that while the girl was clipping the pony. When I got finished up fixing the problem, the young lady that clipped the pony was gone...but she had done some job on the pony...she had clipped a whole load of little lightening flashes on the pony....really artistically.

Aaaah! I'd love to see that. Can you get a pic of the pony tomorrow? GL to her in the competition too.

Lol.

"Stupid is as stupid does!"

Bite me :D

Had five 12 year old girls here for a sleepover last night. The laughs out of them were unreal. Again priceless. They were not long asleep at 6 when I got up. All wrecked today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

I'd have to say I'd probably go stone mad with it. But I'd have great craic buying up every sod I could within a mile and doing the whole lot up. A new car, tractor, jeep and a shot of machinery. The best of the best commercials I could buy and breed, a few sheds and I'd have damn all left.

Wasn't there a lottery in America in the last few weeks was a billion dollars split between 3. Now that would be too much. Ah the lotto plus 2 would be enough for me
    That would do just fine :)

The US lottery is taxed before you get it then you have a choice of a lump sum or have it paid out over 26 years most take the lump sum and a lot of them blow it in a few years. You also have to go on national television if you win whether you want to or not, not much chance of keeping it secret :mad:

Well, any winners :)

I just checked my lotto numbers won €10 up €5 :)

no winner tonight, so assume it will be 12 million on wednesday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

no winner tonight, so assume it will be 12 million on wednesday

Had 3 numbers. Probably win a scratch card