Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Reporting stuff to the Gardai

• 14-01-2016 10:10am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭

In another thread I saw someone say they wouldn't ring the Gardai if their house was broken into which is obviously ridiculous but it got me thinking what should we report. I'm not actually sure where the line is.

I got jumped in the past but didn't say anything to the Gardai. My thinking was what is the point really? It's not as if anything is going to come from it. I know when friends have had their bikes stolen they did likewise. On the other hand, I know of a girl whom rang them up after someone made off with her Christmas wreath hanging on the front door!

Have you ever reported something trivial to them? What's the criteria for doing so for you? I really do't want to waste their time. I think serious injury, home break-in or the theft of a very valuable item (like a car) would be it for me.

I don't want this to turn into a Gardai bashing thread!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I live in a rural area and my dad had land. There was a well known dealer in our town out our road a lot at weird times, when one night I was driving home late (3am or there abouts) and this fella was parked across the road shining the lights of his car into the ditch of one of our fields, looking for something.

I reported that to gardai, and the gardai were out two days later with sniffer dogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

They can't do anything about a lot of things tbh. We have feral delinquent urchins around here who like to try and kick in the door to our building, I suppose it beats watching their parents drinking themselves to death at home. I've called the Gardai on many occasion, Kevin St station is 2 mins drive away, suffice to say they do not show up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

They can't do anything....
    particularly if lots of people dont give them information

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,193 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Why would you not report crime to the police?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Snitches get stitches yo
    Nobody likes a rat
    Etc etc

Personally, I just laugh at people who want to act like dicks and expect their victims to show some moral decency to not have them arrested

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I live in a rural area and my dad had land. There was a well known dealer in our town out our road a lot at weird times, when one night I was driving home late (3am or there abouts) and this fella was parked across the road shining the lights of his car into the ditch of one of our fields, looking for something.

I reported that to gardai, and the gardai were out two days later with sniffer dogs.
    Did they find anything? Where's the field? Them dogs are useless, I'll find the drugs for you and we can split them 50/50.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

jimgoose wrote: »
    Why would you not report crime to the police?

It's a good question. Well it's all about the scale of it, isn't it? Take the Christmas wreath example. Let's be honest, the Gardai aren't going to actually do anything about it. That means the reporting and paperwork is nothing but a waste of their (and the girl's) time. So what's the point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭scdublin

I guess this was trivial in comparison to break ins etc but I got a missed call one night and the person left a really worrying voice message. I didn't recognize the voice and I think it came up as a private number (it was a few years ago now so I can't remember), but the message was a very distraught man roaring crying about finding out his wife had been cheating on him. He went from sad to angry and back to sad and was most likely drunk as well and he started saying he was about to kill himself. He said it several times and then the message cut off after he said "f*ck it, I'm doing it"...I didn't really know what to do so I rang my local station who told me to come in. The gard listened and more or less said "ah that's probably someone joking with you". He checked the records of deaths from that night and it didn't seem anyone matched. I'm very confident whoever it was wasn't joking, I can still hear the distress and pain in his voice, but I couldn't really do anything else. I'm glad I rang them though even though nothing came of it.

c_man wrote: »
    In another thread I saw someone say they wouldn't ring the Gardai if their house was broken into which is obviously ridiculous but it got me thinking what should we report. I'm not actually sure where the line is.

I got jumped in the past but didn't say anything to the Gardai. My thinking was what is the point really? It's not as if anything is going to come from it. I know when friends have had their bikes stolen they did likewise. On the other hand, I know of a girl whom rang them up after someone made off with her Christmas wreath hanging on the front door!

Have you ever reported something trivial to them? What's the criteria for doing so for you? I really do't want to waste their time. I think serious injury, home break-in or the theft of a very valuable item (like a car) would be it for me.

I don't see how you can think one scenario is ridiculous and the other is not to be honest. You both had the same thoughts.. which is nothing will come from reporting it.

Personally I believe it depends on the situation, for example I mentioned before that my granny's house was vandalized by two out and out scumbags. I knew who they were and could give the names to the Gardaí but they didn't even follow up on it. So all damages just had to be paid by my granny. I don't believe this was a trivial crime as a lump hammer was thrown to the window. So as far as reporting stuff to the gardaí in future I simply have no faith in their dedication/desire for solving/investigating these type of crimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭draiochtanois

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

Houses in my estate were getting broken into every other week so we set up a neighborhood watch. Went to a talk given by a local Garda and all. He instructed that we were to dial 999 if we saw anything suspicious in the estate. Up to then, I didn't think such a concern would be a valid 999 call. But there ya go

About 2 weeks later I was out for a run and coming back into the estate, I saw suspicious activity. Whipped out the phone. Did the 999 thing. The only time I have ever dialed it. Well it wasn't quite what I was expecting. I wouldn't want to have been getting assaulted coz by the time the operator took my name, address, number and the colour of the last **** I took, and got around to asking me what the actual problem was, I'd have been dead.

And by the time a squad car came around, they were well gone. No burglaries but I still think they were going to try it on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

We were walking home one night and there was a gang of young guys ahead of us, kind of shouting at each other, bit of pushing, etc. and then they started running. We heard a clanging noise and realised one of them had dropped a large knife. He ran back to get it, and we crossed the road and 5 minutes later walked straight into the garda station which was close to our house, and told them what we'd seen.

They reacted immediately. Went and got into a squad car, took my husband with them in case he'd recognise the guys again, and drove around the area for about 20 minutes looking for them, to no avail in the end though. We were very impressed with how seriously they took the report. I suppose it could have potentially prevented someone getting stabbed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

Years ago my sister got mugged in a laneway that's about 200 yards from Bray Garda Station.

She went to the station with my Mum and were told by the Gards that they had searched the area and found no sign of the guy etc etc...
    After they came home I took a walk down to the spot and found her bag, sitting smack bang in the middle of the footpath.
    Seems the guy only wanted cash, dumped everything else before he ran off, and the guards were too lazy to walk 200 yards to have a look around...

I'd always tell people to report things, but I wouldn't actually expect them to do anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭scdublin

I'm also remembering a time I was just about to leave for college and was getting into my car, when I noticed a man with a coat and woolly hat walking into my neighbours garden and hopping over their side gate into their back garden. I saw him come back out of that garden and proceed to do the same thing with the next house and so on, presumably because the doors/windows were locked and he was trying to find one open.

I rang the gards and they arrived fairly quickly and found him coming out of a back garden at a house further up the road. They came down the road to me still in the car, and told me he was actually going around house to house to read their electricity meters :o I wasn't to know that though.

The gards did say that he 100% shouldn't have been hopping over walls etc without house owners permission and that it was good I called. Thinking of it now that was awfully stupid of him - imagine if people had big dogs in their garden who didn't like some stranger climbing over their wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

only for insurances purposes don't expect them to actually solve many minor crimes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,873 ✭✭✭melissak

only for insurances purposes don't expect them to actually solve many minor crimes

I bet most people who report minor crimes have insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭allandanyways

I know of someone whose house was broken into - they took a chromecast and paraphenalia for smoking weed (grinder, skins etc) - all of which you'd only know where they were kept if you knew the house.

There was no cash taken, and because of the nature of the other items taken, that person felt they couldn't report the burglary to the guards because they would most likely get into trouble about the weed stuff (even though there was no weed in the house at the time) and the value of stuff taken barely came to €100.

They think they were robbed by a dodgy "friend" with some mental health issues who'd been casing the gaf for a few weeks and was pissed off at them, hence the very personal burglary.

I initially thought they were mad for not calling the guards but it got me thinking - the sad truth is that the guards would probably come down harder on the house occupant for having weed paraphenalia in the house rather than trying to get the stuff back/arrest the lad who robbed the house. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭talking_walnut

There's one major reason to report things to the Gardai that I can think of; they can't fix what they don't know about.

Rough example. You have a problem with a group of w@nkers hanging around your estate. They start petty nuisance stuff like messing up your flower bed and generally being annoying. But you don't bother reporting it because "sure the guards won't do anything anyway". Halloween rolls around and suddenly Mittens your beloved cat disappears, ending up a centre piece of the w@nkers bonfire. You're justifiable upset and ring the guards, ranting about how things have been getting worse for months and the guards did nothing. They check their records and have no/very little logged calls about a problem group in your estate.

Long story short, don't do nothing and then bitch that the Gardai are useless and never help. At least put the ball in their court. You might even be surprised by their response. I've had some very good experiences recently of the guards sorting out things they could easily have fobbed off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭swimming in a sea

I'd only call them if I needed to make an insurance claim if something was to happen to my car or house, as for calling them for something I'd see going on in the street, no chance...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

c_man wrote: »

Garda stations are full of recovered bikes that nobody bothered to report stolen. It's pretty frustrating because you have an offender and the property and there's nothing you can do with it. If you go on the Garda instagram you'll see lots of property recovered. All because someone told the victim there's no point in reporting it, nothing can be done. Even if you don't want to make a criminal complaint, you should still let Gardaí know what is going on in an area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

I've phoned them once when I was driving down a dark national road late at night and there were 3/4 loose horses on it. I felt it was too dangerous not to. Phoned my local station rather than 999 though.

Garda stations are full of recovered bikes that nobody bothered to report stolen. It's pretty frustrating because you have an offender and the property and there's nothing you can do with it. If you go on the Garda instagram you'll see lots of property recovered. All because someone told the victim there's no point in reporting it, nothing can be done. Even if you don't want to make a criminal complaint, you should still let Gardaí know what is going on in an area.
    How do you know the bikes were stolen if no-one reported them stolen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

melissak wrote: »
    How do you know the bikes were stolen if no-one reported them stolen?

Because the person riding it didn't own it.

How do you know? Would they say they stole it? Just curious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭dollyk

I think you have to use your own judgement as to what to report.
    Just before xmas an old lady was walking around my estate, its a cul de sac
    and I noticed her going around the same block a few times.
    Went and asked her if she was looking for someone and she said its ok my daughter lives here.
    So watched her for another 10 mins, and rang the guards.
    She seemed like she didnt know where she was, so I brought her in for tea
    and said i will ring my daughter to drop her home.
    They came and no one had reported her missing, but she was in a complete
    different area to what she thought, she had somehow got a bus from dublin
    to Drogheda ? I did ring them later, and they said she was back with her family ???????? So I suppose you have to report what you think needs to be reported and maybe not things that they really cant help with, like garden gnomes that my neighbour reported missing......I kid you not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

Is it a crime ie against a set criminal law. Not just against a law, theres plenty of laws nothing to do with Gardai.

Traffic issues generally so they can be cleared up.

Number one, report it with a view to having it solved, that means not ringing "just cause the insurance said to" a week afterwards and with no information, I cant find "My bike, its blue". Report straight away, give good details and dont interfere with scene, CCTV, etc.

the Gardai cant solve a lot of crimes because they are A, not reported or B, reported after weeks and all the possible evidence is gone

take bikes as a example. during the queens visit, hundreds of bikes were recovered from within the cordons and stored. 90% are still sitting there unclaimed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

Most murders are discovered by people out walking their dogs, and drug busts by grasses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭prinzeugen

aujopimur wrote: »
    Most murders are discovered by people out walking their dogs, and drug busts by grasses.

Or in the case of drugs, a massive heat signature when the chopper passes over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Even if nothing can be done, it's good for metrics, all this goverment care about is numbers and statistics, if there's a true reflection of the figures they are given, then even more extra Garda would be employed. It could also make for bad media, if for example reported burglaries are up 150% yet they have a 10% conviction rate. It may also make for a change in law, if for example the metrics state, 95% of burglaries are committed by previous incarcerated people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

I know of someone whose house was broken into - they took a chromecast and paraphenalia for smoking weed (grinder, skins etc) - all of which you'd only know where they were kept if you knew the house.

There was no cash taken, and because of the nature of the other items taken, that person felt they couldn't report the burglary to the guards because they would most likely get into trouble about the weed stuff (even though there was no weed in the house at the time) and the value of stuff taken barely came to €100.

They think they were robbed by a dodgy "friend" with some mental health issues who'd been casing the gaf for a few weeks and was pissed off at them, hence the very personal burglary.

I initially thought they were mad for not calling the guards but it got me thinking - the sad truth is that the guards would probably come down harder on the house occupant for having weed paraphenalia in the house rather than trying to get the stuff back/arrest the lad who robbed the house. :rolleyes:

Dunno

Few years ago I was renting a house with a housemate and the neighbours wife came banging at the door late one night as the husband was threatening to kill her and the kid with a knife. We let them in and the husband came knocking I rang the police my housemate punched the husband once or twice.

When Gardai came we let them in and housemate forgot he had some hash on the table. Gardai seen it and joked about it, arrested dude next door and off on their way.

to the OP mate was jumped before and I went to help, both of us battered. Never bothered ringing police for reasons above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

We had an incident here in the village tnight. There was a suspected paedophile in a van prepositioning a child. It was all innocent as it happened but ther were cars on the way ut from Sligo town. CCTV was being checked and I had 2 guards here for half an hour. The guards were on top of the game and made doublly sure everything was OK before they left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭trixychic

I've dealt with gardas and had both experiences.

When I was in college, someone was trying to break into the house. It was the wkd and I was alone. Terrified. Called 999 but it was 20 mins before they got to me.... I lived in the middle of town not 5 mins away. Turns out it was probably someone drunk. Nothing else happened but if it had of they would have been useless. Ie be kidnapped or murdered by the time they got there.

Then I had an incident with a personal matter and the police were as helpful and on the ball as you could imagine.

So I've had both sides. I always report stuff though. From noise pollution to robberies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭ibstar

Was out for a smoke late at night on my balcony and heard what sounded like someone calling for help (as well as distress shouting etc) from across the estate (across a railway).
    I rang the Gardai and the woman that answered the call kept asking me for exact address from where the calls were coming from. I told her there's no possible way I can give her address as I can't see any activity (people) from where I'm standing or that far in fact. I gave her my exact location and the exact direction I'm facing on the map in terms of compass, and a general area where the sounds came from.

She said they can't send anyone as she needs the exact address.....

I just said "OK, my duty was to report" and she said "thank you and bye bye"............

On separate note. I've had to call a fire brigade 3 times when we had a visible building site in front of our house (about 400 meters away), because the rubbish that was left there attracted a lot of neighboring "rats" who set it on fire.
    First 2 times I called I was surprised to find out I'm the first person to report, as this was about 5-10 minutes into the fire and the smoke was affecting a decent size apartment block in front of it, and there's a creche about 300 meters away from the fire.

TallGlass wrote: »
    Even if nothing can be done, it's good for metrics, all this goverment care about is numbers and statistics, if there's a true reflection of the figures they are given, then even more extra Garda would be employed. It could also make for bad media, if for example reported burglaries are up 150% yet they have a 10% conviction rate. It may also make for a change in law, if for example the metrics state, 95% of burglaries are committed by previous incarcerated people.

Well, considering the number of people who don't report crimes the statistics they are lovingly preparing for whatever purpose aren't worth a ****e. All the effort put into collecting statistics is wasted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭The_Captain

If you report a break in, assault or mugging to the Guards:

1: It increases the chances of the Guards stopping them before they rob someone else

2: If they're arrested and have your stolen goods on them, there's a chance you'll get your stuff back if you've informed the Gardai on what was taken

3: You may be asked to give a statement helping to put them in jail, you may be awarded damages.

Don't see why you wouldn't to be honest, I've always found the Gardai to be quite good at their jobs and the scrotes are caught sooner or later

If you report a break in, assault or mugging to the Guards:

1: It increases the chances of the Guards stopping them before they rob someone else

2: If they're arrested and have your stolen goods on them, there's a chance you'll get your stuff back if you've informed the Gardai on what was taken

3: You may be asked to give a statement helping to put them in jail, you may be awarded damages.

Don't see why you wouldn't to be honest, I've always found the Gardai to be quite good at their jobs and the scrotes are caught sooner or later

Unless you are from an area that labels you a probable "scrote" and you are treated badly regardless of your actions or character. What incentive would you have then to help?

Never had a Garda asking for my post code or whether I went to a free school when I reported a crime tbh

There might be clues other than having to ask your post code. The police force would be expected to have some detecting skills. I imagine that's part of their training.

Have you had much dealings with the police?

No. Have you? Why would you ask?

I'm wondering what you're basing your opinions off

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

You know it's a waste of time reporting a theft to the Gardai, when the brother borrows your bike and forgets the lock, then leaves it in the local Garda station car park for safety, only to be robbed.

I'm wondering what you're basing your opinions off

What does anyone base their opinions on. Observations, conversation, reading and imagination I suppose. I have not a bad opinion of the Gardaí as such btw. They are for the most part doing a difficult job as well as they can considering the circumstances. The system needs reform and the polarised attitudes between law abiding citizens of certain areas and the police force is a major concern and it needs to be addressed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

There is more than a smidgeon of truth in melissak's statement above...

I live in an area of Tallaght that is pretty much a no-go zone for Garda at night I presume, either that or they just can't be arsed responding to call outs in my area.

I had intruders on my property at 3-4 in the morning, checking out my workshop in the back garden (I'm known for my workshop & motorcycles) .

I released the dogs & they took off like scalded cats...

Called the Garda, informed them I had CCTV footage & a reasonably clear facial shot of one of the perps.

They arrived out two days later & admonished me for releasing the dogs...

I asked them would they prefer if I confronted them with my shotgun & received the third degree as to whether I had a licence, gun safe etc., & what I need a shotgun for :confused:

FFS what's the point?

I find the problem is with the actual "999" helpline or whatever you call it.

Like someone said before by the time they ask you which service you need, address name number etc the crime could be over.

Also was reading a story on facebook (won't post link as I'm not sure if it's true or not) but it was basically a domestic violence call done anonymously. The caller was the victim and when she called she said she wanted to order a pizza and some how managed to alert the call taker that she was in trouble.

I don't think you could manage to do that here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭Ryan Mac Sweeney

Hi
    I have reported stuff to the Gardai many times. Last summer a gang of youths with golfclubs arrived in my estate ready to attack my brothers friend. My mother phoned 999 straight away and told them what had happened. They phoned back a minute later to confirm the address. Then two minutes 2 squad cars and a paddywagon arrived and they were taking down statements from my brother and his frienda. They were outstanding and prevented someone from being killed or seriously injured. Another time my mother and I were out for a walk and a fight broke out between two fellas so I called 999 and reported it. They sent someone out and took them away. I live in Cork City and the Gardai are brilliant. I had mostly good experiences and one or two bad experiences. I love Cork City because it is such a nice quiet safe city with very low crime rates

Hi
    I have reported stuff to the Gardai many times. Last summer a gang of youths with golfclubs arrived in my estate ready to attack my brothers friend. My mother phoned 999 straight away and told them what had happened. They phoned back a minute later to confirm the address. Then two minutes 2 squad cars and a paddywagon arrived and they were taking down statements from my brother and his frienda. They were outstanding and prevented someone from being killed or seriously injured. Another time my mother and I were out for a walk and a fight broke out between two fellas so I called 999 and reported it. They sent someone out and took them away. I live in Cork City and the Gardai are brilliant. I had mostly good experiences and one or two bad experiences. I love Cork City because it is such a nice quiet safe city with very low crime rates

That's a fantastic story but I do think its one of the other problems. Some counties/ towns have fantastic services where as others are crap. Why can't it be universal all over Ireland?? We ain't that big of a country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

The question that c_man asked really comes down to what crime has happened or potential crime. Say what you want about the Gardai, be that positive or negative, but they only have so many resources.

So if someone knicked your front-garden gnome and you want to call the police? don't. Just don't.
    But if someone is running around the neighbourhood carrying a knife and saying that "he is the voice of his own god" - then by all means do.

Just apply a little logic people.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

This time of the year the guards are very busy playing their new ps4 games they got from santa so their time is drastically reduced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

I don't need to as I am punisher