Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Tower Bar - Off Topic Chat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,470 ✭✭✭SolvableKnave

Ah I'll be sticking with console. We've built a bit of a community here and thats the bigger draw for me than 8K 4D graphics enhanced with quantum entangled physics engine's on PC.

Exactly my opinion. I don't have the PC choice (my laptop wouldn't be top end gaming spec or anywhere close) but I could go to Xbox - i may even buy a scorpio - but there was no hesitation in pre-booking on ps4. Destiny ain't the same without the sh1ttalk from the lads!
    Plus, there's a bigger community on Playstation than XBox, based on interaction on boards here anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭OptimusTractor

Back in my day 4K meant a trip to the water pump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,617 ✭✭✭Revoker88

Dont really care about the resolution but any shooter benefits from 60fps,i dont hold out much hope for it being 60fps on the vanilla PS4 though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

Ye'd be foolish NOT to pick up Tales from the Borderlands (free with PS Plus now) and play it if ye are on PS4. Top craic and nice and short too (maybe 6-7 hours)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,427 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

Kewl been waiting for this. Been looking at Darkest Dungeon as well as I see it comes highly recommended from the PS chat. Really don't think it's my kind of game and can see it frustrating the hell out of me but it's only a tenner till 11/05.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭jcd5971

gimli2112 wrote:
    Kewl been waiting for this. Been looking at Darkest Dungeon as well as I see it comes highly recommended from the PS chat. Really don't think it's my kind of game and can see it frustrating the hell out of me but it's only a tenner till 11/05.

As the philosopher Shia labeouf once proclaimed. JUST DO IT

jcd5971 wrote: »
    As the philosopher Shia labeouf once proclaimed. JUST DO IT

giphy.gif

gimli2112 wrote: »

Darkest Dungeon will break you :pac:

Something to whet Generics Shadow of Wardor appetite

on ps3
    mw2 online
    it hacked
    meh go
    explode Adriane
    it's awesome it's my game
    when I die i'm going to respawn in
    Rust with a P90

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭OptimusTractor

on ps3
    mw2 online
    it hacked
    meh go
    explode Adriane
    it's awesome it's my game
    when I die i'm going to respawn in
    Rust with a P90

There's a poet in you buried deep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,288 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

There's a poet in you buried deep.

eww

my earlier post was brought to you by Bulmers. It seemed like a good idea at the time.
    Most telling thing about Darkest Dungeon is I needed to play MW2 MP just to calm down.

Firth, I got an email from a Doctor at an undisclosed Bank:
    Good Day Friend;

My name is Dr. Mohammed Sani, A banker by Profession and Currently A Director of Finance Auditing and Accounting Unit in my Bank, Which the name will giving to you as soon as you respond for security reason. I got your email address in my search for a reputable and reliable person to help me claim the sum of Fifteen Million Six Hundred Thousand United State Dollars ($15,600,000.00) Deposited in our Bank by one of our customer Eng. Mueller who die with his wife and two children on the 21Th day of April 2001 in car clash along Aflao express road.

Since his death no one has come up as his next of kin and all our efforts to locate any member of his family immediate family has prove Abortive that was why I decided to see if I can get anybody who has the same surname or last name with him via Internet preferably some one of the same nationality with him which I believe you have all the qualities we need. Why I am contacting you is to present you to our bank as the next of Kin to the deceased customer. He was Drilling contractor with some Oil Companies here in west Africa. So it will be more acceptable and wiser to present you through paper work to the Bank for claim of the total fund.

I will give you all the necessary requirements that the bank may request from you and follow up the transfer of the fund into your account as an Insider. It will interest you to know that I and my partners has been keeping the account dormant to enable our plans for the funds to come through and this is the time and we are happy to locate you for the perfection of the transfer of the Fund into your nominated Bank Account to be given.

As soon as I get your positive response I will update you about the mode of disbursement and we will also need to know about investing in your Country as a way of helping your people who suppose are the original owner's of this Fund, I suggest you get back to me as soon as possible through my confidential email (drsani1@yandex.com) stating your wish in this deal.

Looking forward to your urgent response by updating me with direct telephone number for easy communication.

Yours Specially

And then one from the Prime Minister of Benin. Congratulations me:
    To your Attention,

I am the Prime Minister of Benin Republic. With reference to my effort to reach you via E-mail, I delighted to inform you that I am the last signatory to your UNRESOLVED fund. This fund supposes to be in your position long ago but you did not follow the normal process by obtaining the TC1 FORM from this office.

Consequently with out the presidential endorsement from the president of this country Dr. Patrice Talon no body will release your fund to you, that is
    the problem you have been having with all the people you are following.

Your payment file has been APPROVED authoritatively and the comment status here stated that you are a good person and supposed to receive your payment long ago but know one tell you the truth or the normal step to follow to receive your payment.

Now declare how you will like to receive your fund and arrange on how to obtain TC1-Form from the office of the presidency.

This TC1-Form is to enable the president of Benin Republic Dr. Patrice Talon
    endorse your payment file and your payment will be paid with immediate effect via any means of your choice.

Get back to me with your direct mobile phone to enable me proceeds with your payment file.

Meanwhile you are advice to stop any communication from whose ever is
    contacting you about your fund. Any email you received forward it to me for
    proper investigation.
    Congratulations.

You'd think Patrice Talon would know he's the President and not the Prime Minister of Benin?

Edit. I misread the mail. Maybe legit after all.

gimli2112 wrote:
    my earlier post was brought to you by Bulmers. It seemed like a good idea at the time. Most telling thing about Darkest Dungeon is I needed to play MW2 MP just to calm down.

The narrator is what drives me mental.
    Loose a great character and out with his witty one liners he comes.....bastard

I just want Gimli to live stream his 1st few Boss encounters going in blind. Would pay money for that :pac:

I read up on it before starting and it said don't become attached to your characters early on. Was trying this but I became somewhat attached to a healer who helped me out of some tricky situations. Then in week 9 was thinking this is the easiest run I've had and she got killed. From the back row. Was stunned, 24 hours later I was still upset over it.
    Think I'm on week 20 something now and still quite enjoying it, still early days.

I read up on it before starting and it said don't become attached to your characters early on. Was trying this but I became somewhat attached to a healer who helped me out of some tricky situations. Then in week 9 was thinking this is the easiest run I've had and she got killed. From the back row. Was stunned, 24 hours later I was still upset over it.
    Think I'm on week 20 something now and still quite enjoying it, still early days.

I rarely leave home without a Vestel tbh despite her not being "Meta" at later runs. I have like 4 of em at Rank 5

gimli2112 wrote:
    I read up on it before starting and it said don't become attached to your characters early on. Was trying this but I became somewhat attached to a healer who helped me out of some tricky situations. Then in week 9 was thinking this is the easiest run I've had and she got killed. From the back row. Was stunned, 24 hours later I was still upset over it. Think I'm on week 20 something now and still quite enjoying it, still early days.

I genuinely lol'd reading that, now people are looking at me funny.

At least you broke nothing I've smashed controllers over it.

gimli2112 wrote:
    I read up on it before starting and it said don't become attached to your characters early on. Was trying this but I became somewhat attached to a healer who helped me out of some tricky situations. Then in week 9 was thinking this is the easiest run I've had and she got killed. From the back row. Was stunned, 24 hours later I was still upset over it. Think I'm on week 20 something now and still quite enjoying it, still early days.

By the end of year 1 I had over a hundred dead characters.

I rarely leave home without a Vestel tbh despite her not being "Meta" at later runs. I have like 4 of em at Rank 5

Pfft vestals, jesters rule the world

jcd5971 wrote: »
    By the end of year 1 I had over a hundred dead characters.

Week 55 and I've have like 5 dead. Stay in your Lane! :pac:

I was thinking that too. You'd need to be losing two characters a run. That's just suicidal. TBH since my healer died (I visit the gravesite from time to time) I've become more reckless and just replace the characters that get killed. Was taking it too safely safely, backing out and healing stress was costing me a fortune. Starting to get a bit of foothold now, upgrading buildings/caravan and have a bit of money.

JCD and me are polar opposites.

He'd hire 4 lads fresh off the stage coach and just keep running em as far as he can into a dungeon (even at the expense of 3 of em dying), get as much gold as possible and then retreat when he has 1 last, weak, stressed person left. He'd go back to hamlet and fire that lone survivor then. Hire more Vestels or Occultists, those combined should always be like 25% of your Roster if you ask me.

Are you doing the Bosses yet? Have you researched them or are you doing them Blind?

Some of the characters get to be sooooo much better once you get certain trinkets. I've a Leper (accuracy) and Plague Doctor (blight chance) that are god-tier now. Simply select Leper -> click -> A DEVASTATING BLOW!!!!

I'm going through it quite slowly. Haven't done any bosses yet. Haven't even upgraded any of the characters. Was finding it difficult to progress as any money earned from the dungeons was going towards fixing up the nervous wrecks in my roster.
    I've only watched a couple of tips for noobs videos on youtube.

Era, time to kick on and Try the Necromancers Apprentice so lad

Post I made on Reddit at the time
    Started Playing this 2 days ago and just subbed here, my initial thoughts....

**** the Necromancers Apprentice!
    Can't believe I waited this long to play!
    The art style is amazing :)
    **** Abusive Party Members!
    Don't get attached to your only Level 2 Character :(
    I spent way too much trying to "Cure" and "De-stress" party members, next run, those ****ers get shown the door.
    I took way too long to realise I could use objects with Curios!

For anyone else interested on PS4, Darkest Dungeon is now down to the low, low price of €9.49 (with Cross play on Vita)

One of the best games I've played ever, period

https://store.playstation.com/#!/en-ie/games/darkest-dungeon/cid=EP2483-CUSA05967_00-RHSDDPS4BND00001

Short Review (IGN)

Vid where it gets #7 in TotalBiscuits top 10 of 2016 (skip ahead to 22:30)

Long Review

Cross play for the Vita? This I did not know.
    You're going to start hearing stories of a lunatic on a train screaming at his hands.
    That said the controls on the PS4 are far from intuitive and take a bit of getting used to and I heard the Vita controls are considerably worse.

Cross play for the Vita? This I did not know.
    You're going to start hearing stories of a lunatic on a train screaming at his hands.
    That said the controls on the PS4 are far from intuitive and take a bit of getting used to and I heard the Vita controls are considerably worse.

They're not great to be honest. And the text is so fupping small on the screen you'll end up with a creaked neck and strained eyes. Plus the combo of the dark visuals and sunny light makes it near impossible to play it comfortably if your in anyway in sight of the sun.