Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hip Hop Gigs 2016

• 12-01-2016 2:45pm
    Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭

This is the thread for this years listings:

14th Jan - Charlie Tuna - Sugar Club (de javu on support)
    31st Jan - Illa J - Button Factory - looks like there will be a J Dill atribute thing as well.

I'll try to keep this as updated as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

I might have a ticket for Action Bronson in Melbourne in March.

I know it's not in Ireland, but I'm posting to subscribe to this thread, so I can get notifications if anything is announced this year I want to see :)

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

12th March - Lady Leshurr - The Academy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,638 ✭✭✭phatkev

See Kendrick's been confirmed for longitude! bit disappointed with that, much rather see him in a solo show. Far too old for that festival sh1te!!

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Action Bronson, ASAP Ferg, Tyler and Rejjie Snow added as well.

I see there is already people jumping on the ban Tyler bandwagon as well because they are offended by his lyrics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

Hmm, if Kendrick and Action were on the same day I'd have to take a look at longitude. Anyone went before, what's it like?

20th Feb - Sugar Club - Slum Village. Support from De Javu I think.

20th April - Sugar Club - RA The Rugged Man & AFRO & Mr. Green

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,563 ✭✭✭✭peteeeed

de la soul tickets now on sale as of 10 am

weemcd wrote: »
    Hmm, if Kendrick and Action were on the same day I'd have to take a look at longitude. Anyone went before, what's it like?

last year i think the average age was about 15 , a very oxegen crowd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Mickolution

peteeeed wrote: »
    last year i think the average age was about 15 , a very oxegen crowd

Oh really? I was there for a day the first year and it wasn't like that at all. I guess it wouldn't be too bad with no camping, that's where Oxegen was at it's worst.

There's an album launch party going down for Rapthor x Alan Newman for The Advocates on the 5th March in the Opium Rooms.

12744138_10153679737179342_5801550275378802273_n.jpg?oh=9fd279d6510caa4886469b19a3dff792&oe=5761F6E3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 gollyn9

Murcury gig in Revolution, Waterford
    April 16th

Load a acts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 blukyt

Got tickets for Longitude Friday, just to see Kendrick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,970 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Class, RA playing in Dublin in April

12923224_10153504829682217_2606370502430786898_n.png?oh=ae0d7a8404c58ff52babb67409c30bc0&oe=57885153

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭LightsStillOn

Flatbush Zombies playing The Academy on September 20th. A$AP Twevlyy supporting.

Onyx are playing in a few weeks, i'll try get more details.

Pete Rock & CL Smooth - Sugar Club - 18th of August.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Pete Rock & CL Smooth - Sugar Club - 18th of August.

3 days after Louis C.K , it'll be a good week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭Muirshin Durkin

Got me tickets to Pete Rock and CL Smooth, what a booking from ChoiceCuts, probably the best one yet, BoomBap i think you are in with ChoiceCuts? If so can you call them a pack of legends from me, cannot wait for this one!

Nas & Joey Badass added to the EP lineup. Guess this rules out a solo Joey show over here this summer :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

Nas & Joey Badass added to the EP lineup. Guess this rules out a solo Joey show over here this summer

Sitting in hospital awaiting surgery and this has cheered me up massively. Took a chance buying the tickets months ago and I've lucked out. Can't wait for them both.

Kano added as well.

Best o luck with the surgery Jimmy

Denzel Curry playing the button factory on July 13th. Timing is an absolute bastard with Longitude starting two days after.

Flatbush Zombies playing The Academy on September 20th.

+1 bought a ticket a few weeks back cannot wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭Mcbumhole

Anyone go to Invisibl Skratch Piklz last weekend? Went on the Sunday night, it was amazing :eek:
    Have seen QBert before but never all 3, met all three of them afterwards too, I would say if they all stood on each others shoulders their combined height would be 6 foot :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,719 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Anyone going to Obie Trice in September?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

Just seen this on Facebook,pete rock to play the sugar club Dublin sept 6

Yup....I've got my ticket :)
    Not many left apparently

Yup....I've got my ticket :)
    Not many left apparently

Ditto, had one since the original gig was announced. Can't wait.

Di da di dah da dhu da dhu dah duh
    (TROY reference from last night)

Di da di dah da dhu da dhu dah duh
    (TROY reference from last night)

I was trying to think of a way to translate that into text earlier lol I think you are a shining example as to why i didn't bother : )

What did you make of it ? I thought the hit a little low mid but pulled it back big time. Great energy from Pete rock and flawless as you would expect, CL seemed to be enjoying himself also.

The T ROY build up was great, some good old fashioned hip hop pantomime loved it. It was my first time in the Sugarclub - wouldn't be mad about the place as a hip hop venue plus it was about 60 degrees lol

Good to catch up with some old heads, handsome paddy was tight too, great set from him.

Handsome Paddy recovered well from the technical hiccup, but got a good buzz going with the dancers.

As for Pete Rock & CL Smooth, it was great. But I thought it felt like they were performing the same set for the past few years and were coasting through it. I was also bothered that they didn't go past the second verse in each song except for TROY and the solo jam from Pete Rock....I was actually suprised that he was rapping so much.
    It also felt like it was all just a build up to TROY. But an enjoyable build up.

It was also great to see some of the older heads at a hip hop gig. Your mate OC was there as well, he was nattering to a few of the lads afterwards.

I quite like the Sugar Club for gigs just because it's a bit different. I was at Oddisee there a few months ago and it was lovely to sit down and watch a gig :)

Ya spent the evening with OC, Rez and P the emcee, all heads i hadn't seen in a while.

The not going past the first verse was annoying, it annoyed me most on Down with the king as we didn't get Pete rocks verse.

You might be right about one big long build up to TROY, there was kids there not as old as TROY shouting for it at the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭zoobizoo

First hip hop gig I've been to since Beastie Boys in the RDS in 1995.

Sugar Club is a decent venue- I had a seat so glad I got their early.

What time did they come on stage at 9:45?

I enjoyed it having only known one of their hits, TROY, so hadn't a clue if they were leaving verses out.

Actually enjoyed Pete Rock's verses more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭Muirshin Durkin

Thought it was great night, Handsome Paddy deserves his own DJ night, never disappoints. Loved the samples playing before some of the hits, CL Smooths voice sounds as smooth as it does live as it does on record, thought the Mic Pete rock was using wasn't the best, but didnt dampen his performance. Jealous of zoobizoo seeing beastie boys, were on my list of acts to see before MCA passed on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

anyone hear when more chance the rapper tickets being released?

still raging travis scott pulled his gig in Dublin

Thought it was great night, Handsome Paddy deserves his own DJ night, never disappoints. Loved the samples playing before some of the hits, CL Smooths voice sounds as smooth as it does live as it does on record, thought the Mic Pete rock was using wasn't the best, but didnt dampen his performance. Jealous of zoobizoo seeing beastie boys, were on my list of acts to see before MCA passed on.

The songs he played before the tracks were the ones he sampled for the song that he was leading into.

Pete Rocks mic was garbage, it had to have been red lining.

I think they came on about 10ish

Sitting in hospital awaiting surgery and this has cheered me up massively. Took a chance buying the tickets months ago and I've lucked out. Can't wait for them both.

That was so good.

Saw Nas on Friday night. He was brilliant. Owned the main stage and had everyone engaged. So many other acts looked swamped by the size of the main arena.

On Saturday we went to see Rusangano Family. I really enjoyed them. Knew a few songs and lost my **** when I heard this line catching up on them before EP and then lost it again at the gig. Such a clever line. Factually incorrect but amazing. The Game would be proud.
    “I landed in Ireland in 2001, about the same time that Dre dropped 2001.”

Joey was incredible. Left Rusangano Family to run to the bar and get over for Joey. My girlfriend wasn't that impressed with Rusangano Family live but liked their music.

She didn't like Joey before but is a fan now. His performance was stunning. Had the whole crowd pumped. Or maybe that was the happy pills they had taken before :p

Got chatting to a guy there who had never heard of Joey b4. He looked like he was a fan as well after.

In the middle of the gig I got a notification to say that Joey and Rejjie Snow were the special guests for the Other Voices stage later that night. I convinced my girlfriend to head along to that. Caught the end of Le Galaxie's gig which was quite good. Checking out more of them.

The Other Voices stage was in a tent holding about 500 people. Basically the dream stage to see top music.

Very impressed by Rejjie. Don't know any of his music. Really liked it though. Seeing Joey a second time was a dream come true.

Statik Selektah was on decks for him. Hilarious finally seeing him after years of listening to his beats.

I saw Kano for a few minutes on Sunday. Then caught another few minutes of Abandoman, a freestyle rapping comedian and DJ act. That was one of the highlights of the whole festival for me.

He asked people what is the weirdest 'rule' they have ever broken. He picked two people, the DJ dropped the beat and hilarity/the sickest rhymes ensued.

I was convulsing with laughter. It was so impressive. If you ever get a chance to see him, I would highly recommend it.

It was my first time at EP. I've bought my tickets for next already. Really hoping they have some quality hip hop back next year. I definitely think Rusangano Family are going to be bigger and way more popular this time next year. And rightfully so.

Next stop, hopefully Talib Kewli later in the year.

Slick Rick - 29th Nov - The Sugar Club.

Heck yes.

Heck yes.

Another old foggies night out! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭melted_face

does anyone know is there any possibility of more chance the rapper tickets being released ? i remember they sold out within a couple of hours only for half the feckin tickets to show up on seatwave and other legal scalping sites

Boom_Bap wrote:

What's the capacity? I'm going to have to nab tickets quickly.

It's not the biggest of venues, tickets have gone on sale this morning. As soon as it was announced I seen loads of activity of FB and on WhatsApp groups I'm in, so it'll probably be a fast seller.

Got my ticket for Slick Rick a while back now. I've been listening to "The Great Adventures of..." since then. First time in years listening to it properly. It's better than I can remember. I can't wait for this gig.

Edan next weekend in the sugar

I've seen Edan a few times now, I think this will be a DJ set rather than performing his own material....so I'm not entirely fussed about going.

Yeah it's an AV show

drake in dublin in february . tickets go on sale friday sigh

CuYw1TqXgAAFsrY.jpg:large

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭showpony1

tickets from 85e? surely cant be right i would think standing about 50 or so

showpony1 wrote: »
    tickets from 85e? surely cant be right i would think standing about 50 or so

drakes possibly the biggest name in music right now , 85e is a disgusting price tbf (altho itll prob end up over 90 wi charges etc) but dont think it wont sell out almost immediately

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Manutd_4life

I got my hands on some drake tickets today and yes the price is disgusting!!! I paid 90 for mine in return for seats in the back row but Ive been dying to see him live my entire life so i'll take it.

85 euro is the absolute bare minimum I'd say and if you want some good seats or even standing, you will be paying more than 130 for sure.

As ridiculous as it is, he is probably the biggest name in Hip Hop at the moment - hence why he'll sell out instantly and why I didn't think twice after finally loading the purchase tickets page on ticketmaster :p