Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ardaire springs

• 09-01-2016 11:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭

I was fishing at Ardaire springs today with a friend. Its in Mooncoin Kilkenny close to the Waterford border. Lads finally we have a very good trout fishery to wet a line at. The fish are big, healthy and strong. We got rained of but I managed to hook 2 and land 1 first. The one I lost was about 3lbs and the one I landed was about 4lbs. Both fish were the best fish to fight for there size I ever hooked. There was a fair few more fish caught by others and you could see they all fought hard.

This fishery is by far the best stocked trout lake i'v fished and it's well worth a visit you won't be disappointed with the fish.
    Ned the owner is a gent and very helpful he's a true fisherman and it shows in his lake.
    I'm looking forward to the next trip already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭Perazzi

I fished there many times class place and the fis are very strong great place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭ALANC81

It really is a good place to fish. I'm looking forward to the summer for some dry fly fishing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭mikeweed

Early season when the damsels are out is great but when the trout start looking up try black klinkhammers or black beetles and the sport at Ardaire is unreal. Massive fish in the lake (20lbs +). Check them out on Facebook and see the size of trout caught. Ned is a great owner, knows his stuff and very helpful. He would hate to see someone have a blank day. He has helped me loads of times with flies or different techniques. Ardaire is how a fishery should be run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭The other fella

Im planning to go up there for the first time next week. Can anyone give me advice on what strength leader to use when fishing a lake with big trout like that? And would i need flurocarbon or will mono do?

Also, i only have a floating line at the moment, will using a longer leader than usual help me get down to the fish if they are down deep? Or is the lake shallow enough to not need a sinking line anyway?

Any help appreciated, thanks.

Im planning to go up there for the first time next week. Can anyone give me advice on what strength leader to use when fishing a lake with big trout like that? And would i need flurocarbon or will mono do?

Also, i only have a floating line at the moment, will using a longer leader than usual help me get down to the fish if they are down deep? Or is the lake shallow enough to not need a sinking line anyway?

Any help appreciated, thanks.

When the water is cold like it is now I'd use fluorocarbon to get down to the fish and Id be fishing Buzzers or blood worms or both. The lake is deep so a long leader is needed but you you have to test the depths to find out where the fish are feeding. A floating line is perfect for buzzer fishing because you can hang the fly where you want it. I'd also use a strike indicator because it insurers the fly line doesn't sink and it makes it very easy to see strikes. The fish can be big so I'd use a minimum of 7-8 lbs breaking strain.

Talk to Ned when you get there he'll give you the best advice on the day. Best of luck.

Thanks for that Alan, just the advice i was looking for. Does he have much of a selection of flies to buy up there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭popsy09

Heading up tomorrow and plan on giving my 10ft 5/6 wt a good work out

Probably my last stocked lake trip with the salmon season starting so let's hope it's a good one

Will update tomorrow hopefully with a picture or two

Thanks for that Alan, just the advice i was looking for. Does he have much of a selection of flies to buy up there?

Yes he all the flies you could need and more.

popsy09 wrote: »
    Heading up tomorrow and plan on giving my 10ft 5/6 wt a good work out

Probably my last stocked lake trip with the salmon season starting so let's hope it's a good one

Will update tomorrow hopefully with a picture or two

Best of luck. Looking forward to seeing the pictures.

It would take me to go on the slowest days fishing in weeks according to the owner ha

Still managed to poke out a few one was in 5-7lb class a very deep fish , gave a good account of himself

Lost a nice brown at the net , must have been close to double figures but wasn't ment to be

Overall very impressed with the setup and I'll definitely go back

I'll try attach a couple pics tomorrow I'm off to bed now

Heading down tomorrow weather permitting so hopefully I'll have a pic or 2 as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭realrebel

ALANC81 wrote: »
    Heading down tomorrow weather permitting so hopefully I'll have a pic or 2 as well.

The buddy had a brownie during the week 17.5 lbs he said it was

Yea ned said today that one was caught around the 17-18lbs mark. My mate caught a 10lbs brownie today I'll stick the pic up tomorrow it won't let me now. That fish your friend caught is on the Ardair Springs Facebook page.

Can't post a pic I'm not sure if it worked in the last post either.

10lbs Brownie.

Lads why can't I post pics?

Go onto photobucket and upload your picture

You will then see codes under or next to your photo , copy the {IMG} code and paste it on here

That should work

I'm not on photo bucket I can barely turn this thing on. I never had any trouble posting from my phone before.

10lbs Brownie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭Perazzi

Lovely fish there great place to fish

Yea it gave him a good scrap he was delighted with it.

Booked a day off work to head up forecast looked good

Now we have 50mph winds and rain but I like a challenge

Will report back later on tonight

Did you head up after? your a braver man than me if you did.

Yes what a tough day at the office it's bad when you see waves in a small lake ha ha

Nevertheless battled on landed some nice fish and lost a real good brown

A friend with me landed a brown around 12-15lb hard to put a weight on the bigger fish they are so thick

Fair play on sticking it out and some nice fish there. Its a pity you didn't get a snap of the big one.

He has a pic my younger brother is holding it I'll get it later and post it

Yea stick it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 FlyBoy1234

I have heard from reading that Ardaire springs is an excellent fishing venue. I love in Cork but is it worth the trip?

Mate caught another nice fish today.
    12lbs brownie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭MWforumfisher

Mate caught another nice fish today.
    12lbs brownie.

HOLY f**ck. That is a nice bloody fish

He's a cracker alright and just think of it there's fish twice that size in it to. There hard to catch but we'll worth the effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭MWforumfisher

He's a cracker alright and just think of it there's fish twice that size in it to. There hard to catch but we'll worth the effort.

Sure your wrist would be broken after a fish that size! You'd need feckin pike gear!

Ah no you'd be grand with the fly rod you just have to play them properly and not try to bully them. It's a fly only lake so you couldn't use the pike gear.