Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shooters and Hunters

• 09-01-2016 10:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭

Some seem to not care and just shoot or hunt away as if they own the land.
    Just the other week 2 guys were seen crossing our land with guns dogs and spades, I assume digging out foxes but wouldn't mind if they had the decency to ask first. Think one of them is local though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,424 ✭✭✭Grueller

Gave a neighbour here permission as I felt it would be wrong not to. He then tore a hole in a ditch and fence. I fenced it back to a height of 5 foot. He got the message and now walks the 400 yards around. I debated withdrawal of the permission but this way has avoided bad blood and the problem is gone.
    If he had done it again he would have been out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,832 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Title could just as easy read "Cuunts and Fookers", no respect shown in too many cases. Keep them all at the road is the answer. I can enjoy watching the Pheasents and foxes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭barnaman

Put up No Shooting signs on all gates. I had alot of probs a few years ago with lads shooting with dogs and shooting in general. Had some heifers in calf driven wild and probs with sheep. What really annoys me is lads shooting foxes thinking they can do that anywhere and as if its doing a farmer a service. With signs I sorted it. I know the lads in the gunclub and some individual lads I used to give permission but this year I allow noone in and alot less hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭chezzie

Some climb over gates instead of opening it and climb over barb wire and loosen it, but they have a cheek digging out foxes on your land without asking first

As for signs the locals ignore them and its not easy either when neighbours say nothing

Grueller wrote: »
    Gave a neighbour here permission as I felt it would be wrong not to. He then tore a hole in a ditch and fence. I fenced it back to a height of 5 foot. He got the message and now walks the 400 yards around. I debated withdrawal of the permission but this way has avoided bad blood and the problem is gone.
    If he had done it again he would have been out.

well he did ask permission first anyway unlike some

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,940 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

I have a problem with giving permission. Local gun club has asked and I do not have an issue with that. Gun clubs have public liability and that is fair enough. If I see someone doing something that I consider misbehaving I pull them up on it.

However I would not give an individual permission as then he is an invited guest and he can claim off you if he is injured. If you do not give him permission then he is treated as a trespasser, you have no duty of care to a trespasser. As long as you do not intentionally endanger him then he cannot (as long as he is over 16 years of age) claim off you.

So I prefer if they do not ask.

Slava Ukrainii

Good point bass. I allowed lads in, knew them from years ago, but mother was never keen on it for the reason you gave. Also never sure if Gun Club guys had public liability insurance they had a compensation fund for personal injury but thats not public liability

I had to tell couple of locals off and not worried about it. If they want to buy a farm to shoot on off with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,573 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Respect is a two way street.
    I have fished, hunted and shot over land by kind permission from the owners since I was a youngster. Over the years, I/we have given shooting permissions and actively allow our local mounted hunt to cross our (family and oh's) land twice yearly but it depends on the weather. We also have local trencher hounds that hunt in our area every Sunday morning throughout the season.
    However I/we do not take to fellas hunting (or poaching) at night by the light of the silvery moon or lamping.
    Happened here a few times over the years and we only knew it was going on because on 2 occasions neighbours phoned us and on the other 3 or 4 occasions our dogs let rip in the middle of the night.
    In my experience the only way to deal with them is to confront them face to face with Smiley One & Smiley Two loaded accompanied by two growling Rotties. Always works and they are never to be seen again :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,868 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

The decent hunting folk will have their insurance sorted and be respectfull of all the landowners wishes, including obviously seeking permission before entering land to hunt. Thankfully the majority of shooters/hunters fit into this category. In contrast rogue elements illegally hunting without permission must of course must be dealt with like any other intruder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

I hate any and all uninvited parties on my farm. In years gone by, one individual would organise 2 bus loads of "hunters" down from Cork city. Was like a Russian invasion. Locals wouldn't stand for it and it stopped. Shooting is non existent here.
    Drag hunts are a scourge around here.
    Younger generation have no interest in it so it will die out in time hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,488 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Had a Lad arrived here one evening wanting to know could he shoot. Never introduced himself or anything I said no. Gun club are allowed in. In fairness there haven't been many shooting around here this last few years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

Birdnuts wrote: »
    The decent hunting folk will have their insurance sorted and be respectfull of all the landowners wishes, including obviously seeking permission before entering land to hunt. Thankfully the majority of shooters/hunters fit into this category. In contrast rogue elements illegally hunting without permission must of course must be dealt with like any other intruder.

we have been a bit unlucky with type of lads coming round here hunting and seems to be getting worse by the year, we had our phone line shot out by local gun club for not leaving them in shooting, poor mother meet lads up fields a few weeks ago with all their dogs loose, she asked them who gave them permission to be up there as we had animals out, they replied god gave them permission and told her where to go, wreaken half of them are using hunting as excuse to scope out houses for robbing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Cran

Only one guy has permission to hunt here for foxes, didn't come in for years until I offered. Things had tendency to walk such as fencers and my fox trap one day. Ever since I gave your man permission and have a full time labor, very few hunters here and things stopped walking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Carrigogunnell

we have been a bit unlucky with type of lads coming round here hunting and seems to be getting worse by the year, we had our phone line shot out by local gun club for not leaving them in shooting, poor mother meet lads up fields a few weeks ago with all their dogs loose, she asked them who gave them permission to be up there as we had animals out, they replied god gave them permission and told her where to go, wreaken half of them are using hunting as excuse to scope out houses for robbing

Common occurrence in parts of Limerick lads (from the Middle of the city )out walking dogs saying there hunting, there hunting alright but not for animals. I don't mind the pheasant shooting and the boys on foot after hounds but those showers on horse back. Imagine 40 horses going flat through a field this time of year they would do some damage. Neighbour met them about 2 years ago he hand a chainsaw in his hand started it up and told them do f**k off or he turn every horse into a Shetland tough it was quite funny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

There's only a few lads allowed in here. All shooters aren't bad and it's all too easy to tar them all with the one brush. There's just one lad I really hate coming around so have no shooting signs up for him. Three of the lads around come over shooting every so often and never any hassle but in fairness two of them are farmers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭jimini0

The local gun club are the only ones allowed in fields around here. Most of them come from farming backgrounds so they respect the land. We do have some chancers around at night with big lamps. They would leave gates open and damage fences, cut branches in hedges to get trough to other fields. A few of us got together one night and blocked a cul da sac road while they were up in a neighbours hill. When they tried to come back out we stopped them and kindly told them to f*** off back to where they came from. Have not seen them around since. In fairness one of them came to me in a pub in town one night and apologised. He thought they were doin no harm until I explained to him about the damage done and livestock worried.

If I was asked I wouldn't have minded but to have guys with spades and guns and dogs digging out foxes and not asking, is that not taking the piss altogether.
    I have 2 signs up but they be ignored

barnaman wrote: »
    Put up No Shooting signs on all gates. I had alot of probs a few years ago with lads shooting with dogs and shooting in general. Had some heifers in calf driven wild and probs with sheep. What really annoys me is lads shooting foxes thinking they can do that anywhere and as if its doing a farmer a service. With signs I sorted it. I know the lads in the gunclub and some individual lads I used to give permission but this year I allow noone in and alot less hassle.

so they took notice and obeyed your signs then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

The local stag hounds came through here this morning. Some spectacle when hounds are in song going full pelt after a stag.
    There were over 100 horses in the field plus hunt staff. Big affair with ground staff blocking roads and repairing fences.

I have some photos but can't post them...

By and large yes; my father had to prosecute lads before for shooting so lads (local) would know that we mean it when we say no shooting without permission; couple locals I met were blowins and not in gun club so not even know how got a licence. If I come across lads shooting I take their name and address and tell them see them on farm again will be a court day.

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/1976/act/39/section/44/enacted/en/html#sec44

For prosecution, also they having to give names and address and failure to do so an offence. IMO every holder of a gun should be made to carry his firearms card with him when using a gun. Good hunters have all permissions sorted as Birds says and they are not a prob but alot of cheeky chancers about its their cheek that annoys me most.

(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Capercaillie

chezzie wrote: »
    If I was asked I wouldn't have minded but to have guys with spades and guns and dogs digging out foxes and not asking, is that not taking the piss altogether.
    I have 2 signs up but they be ignored
    I asked the local gun club to shoot foxes for me. They wanted to shoot greylag geese, snipe, jack snipe as well on condition. They said they would shoot a few foxes if they had time. I said , no thanks. I get a few good lads to dig out fox dens for me. They tell me when they are coming. No damage and they fill the dens in after. I sort them out with a few bales.
    Dawggone wrote: »
    The local stag hounds came through here this morning. Some spectacle when hounds are in song going full pelt after a stag.
    There were over 100 horses in the field plus hunt staff. Big affair with ground staff blocking roads and repairing fences.

Would make some ****e of the place, Stag hunting illegal as well. Must be the Ward Union hunt. They think they own the place.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,046 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Capercaille, unless Dawggone is visiting, he lives in France.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

Dawgone is in France legal there; their hunts are impressive Youtube them.

It is some sight to see but in the case of stags rarely to be seen in these parts due to the ban on hunting stag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Dawg is in France...
    I have no time for hunts
    A few regular shooters and that's it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭RD10

That's funny, i was only discussing this with a neighbour of mine yesterday.
    I really hate it when i see the local gun club. next time i see them coming they'll be let know their not welcome anymore.
    Like ppl have said it's the fact that they think they have the right to just enter your land without even asking. Guns and dogs in tow.. they dont even have the decency to ask permission first, off they go down YOUR land shooting before they even check that there cud be livestock or ppl down the land. I feel sorry for the foxes its a disgusting 'sport'
    Few years back i watched as they were about to leave my land, an adolescent fox, scared out of his wits being chased by one of their dogs attempted to make a break for it through the gate across the road, BANG...shot dead, then f****d back in over the wall and off they went on their merry way. Disgusting behaviour.

RD10 wrote: »
    I feel sorry for the foxes its a disgusting 'sport'
    Few years back i watched as they were about to leave my land, an adolescent fox, scared out of his wits being chased by one of their dogs attempted to make a break for it through the gate across the road, BANG...shot dead, then f****d back in over the wall and off they went on their merry way. Disgusting behaviour.

If it was an adolescent rat that they shot, would you be of the same mind?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭C0N0R

We have a few different lads that come in here to shoot rabbits, all have asked permission and I have no issues with them at all. Also have a lake on the farm and you would get people fishing without asking, have come across rubbish left behind which really bugs me. Problem is it's not often you would notice them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

A bigger scourge around here were the visiting gangs of travelling lurcher men. Come and go where they please with no regard to game, livestock or man.
    Somebody is gonna get hurt the way they're acting around here.
    I will say though that they're not as active this winter as last. The Gardai told me last year that they were coming from as far as Wexford and Limerick up to the Midlands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭coolshannagh28

I have a problem with hounds hunting hares on my land constantly both in and out of season ie twice a week .Ten years ago I had a half a dozen hares I haven't seen one for two years and the last one was cowering in a yard during a hunt . My neighbours are huntsmen but I have had a bellyful of it at this stage as Id rather rise a hare than indulge these guys hobby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭Bitten & Hisses

Had an incident here approx 20 years ago, back when we were still dairying. The neighbour on the next farm was more into shooting than farming. Anyway, I (15 or 16 years old at the time) was going up to see the cows one Saturday morning and saw the neighbour and his son who was a bit younger than me, at the bottom of a particular field, with the cows standing there looking at them. I don't know what he was doing, but it looked as if he was belting a jacket off the ground.

After a few minutes, he picked up his son onto his back and set out for their farmhouse. He had no idea I was watching. A few weeks later, we heard the young lad had got shot in the leg. The story doing the rounds was, that our bull had charged them and in the panic, the gun accidentally went off. This was utter fabrication, as the bull was standing there minding his own business in the middle of the cows. He concocted the story to cover up some carelessness on his part. My version of events was sent back via bush telegraph and no huntsman has set foot on this farm since then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭MIKEKC

I have a problem with giving permission. Local gun club has asked and I do not have an issue with that. Gun clubs have public liability and that is fair enough. If I see someone doing something that I consider misbehaving I pull them up on it.

However I would not give an individual permission as then he is an invited guest and he can claim off you if he is injured. If you do not give him permission then he is treated as a trespasser, you have no duty of care to a trespasser. As long as you do not intentionally endanger him then he cannot (as long as he is over 16 years of age) claim off you.

So I prefer if they do not ask.

are you sure gun clubs have public liability? My understanding is that they have a fund to which members contribute. This is totally different to insurance

Had an incident here approx 20 years ago, back when we were still dairying. The neighbour on the next farm was more into shooting than farming. Anyway, I (15 or 16 years old at the time) was going up to see the cows one Saturday morning and saw the neighbour and his son who was a bit younger than me, at the bottom of a particular field, with the cows standing there looking at them. I don't know what he was doing, but it looked as if he was belting a jacket off the ground.

After a few minutes, he picked up his son onto his back and set out for their farmhouse. He had no idea I was watching. A few weeks later, we heard the young lad had got shot in the leg. The story doing the rounds was, that our bull had charged them and in the panic, the gun accidentally went off. This was utter fabrication, as the bull was standing there minding his own business in the middle of the cows. He concocted the story to cover up some carelessness on his part. My version of events was sent back via bush telegraph and no huntsman has set foot on this farm since then.

first time i've heard that phrase

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

ganmo wrote: »
    first time i've heard that phrase

What ya never heard that statement

'bush telegraph'
    never heard that before

'bush telegraph'
    never heard that before

Old as the hills that saying is

I said wrote: »
    Old as the hills that saying is
    Always associate the expression with this
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_agtNKbgSfI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,582 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

'bush telegraph'
    never heard that before

What about the bamboo telegraph

Reggie. wrote: »
    What about the bamboo telegraph

She wants bamboo not chopsticks working for the Yankee dollar
    Words from a song I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Dozer1

just had a hunt in here unannounced, cut the wire in 2 places burst a hole in the ditch in 2 places about 30 horses....raging not the word... met them on the road and got the number of the hunt leader.
    what are my options now
    they burst out onto the public road sending mud everywhere, raging over it and not even the local hunt

report it as criminal damage?

a fella went round after them and tightened the wire but I'd paid a guy to put the fence up professionally last year, as for ditch what happen's if an accident happens from the mud should I ring the guards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭jimini0

Dozer1 wrote: »
    just had a hunt in here unannounced, cut the wire in 2 places burst a hole in the ditch in 2 places about 30 horses....raging not the word... met them on the road and got the number of the hunt leader.
    what are my options now
    they burst out onto the public road sending mud everywhere, raging over it and not even the local hunt
    If it was me I would ring the guards.
    If they came through my land or neighbours unannounced AND without permission. I would be out with the gun.
    There does be a hunt around here. Started by a few local people. They come around a couple of weeks in advance and ask land owners permission. Then they plan the route(its nearly the same route everytime). The day before the hunt they get things ready open gaps. Set up obstacles etc. The day after they come around fix gaps, mend fences, and level any broken ground the horses might have dug up.
    If these unannounced hunts don't get reported to the guards it will only encourage them to come back again or they will go to the next parish and do it there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭RD10

If it was an adolescent rat that they shot, would you be of the same mind?

Nope sure Who wants a dirty rat around the place!
    I suppose the main thing that annoy's me is the fact they just barge in without asking permission. If they had the courtesy to do that, i dont know, maybe i wouldnt be so against it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,267 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Had serious bother last year with lads from town walking dogs. We have a quarry on our farm so its a big attraction. The first time they arrived on we left them alone they had 3 dogs with them. The next sunday i was walking through the field to check in lamb ewes and i heard a pandemonium coming from the quarry. 5 lads and i counted and at least 20 dogs. Terriers, springers and a few black labradors. Ran through the sheep and sucklers and they went everywhere. Rang the father to come up immediately. Went down to the cars took reg's and said to them ye over stepped the mark and don't ever come back again. We gave the reg's to the guards just incase it happened again. 2 weeks passed, same thing happened so we had enough, went up to them and said "ye have 5 minutes to get ye're dogs out after that any dog we see will be shot on sight". They ran out the gate and never came back since.

RD10 wrote: »
    Nope sure Who wants a dirty rat around the place!

I rest my case.

I've a dislike for threads like this on F&F where there are no hunters/shooters to debate/discuss problems caused by a small minority. If people want to vent their spleen about hunters/shooters there are hunting and shooting fora on this site.

Hunting and shooting are part of the social fabric of the rural community, whether we like it or not...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭greenpetrol

I rest my case.

I've a dislike for threads like this on F&F where there are no hunters/shooters to debate/discuss problems caused by a small minority. If people want to vent their spleen about hunters/shooters there are hunting and shooting fora on this site.

Hunting and shooting are part of the social fabric of the rural community, whether we like it or not...

I'm neutral here but I think it's the lack of respect for the farmers property that's being debated in this thread not the act of hunting ! We always leave the hunt in as it's tradition around here but I'm running thin with them off late ! Guys on horses galloping past and not even the courtesy to salute makes me wonder who they think they are ! We never in all the years received a single thing from this hunt who are a very successful group stone harriers on television recently ! Not even a ticket to their annual ball ! Not that I'd go but its courtesy or lack of!

I've no problem with them hunting on their own land or where they are welcome the thing is the hunt I had were 20 miles from their base and made no effort to contact me or my neighbours.
    One farm they came through had their lands protected and in the paper so what's the point in even doing that.
    I don't have a horse but if I took my 3 year old PB LM bull for a run around their property I doubt I be given a good welcome.
    Its a respect thing plain and simple.
    I contacted the guards and he rang them to lodge a complaint which is about all they can do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,488 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I rest my case.

I ventured on to the hunting part of boards twice, I asked the question do shooters ask land owners permission to shoot their land, I ended up with an infraction:confused: Better to discuss our side of the arguement here:o I am not against hunting, if they dont bother me I wont bother them. Notification of hunt still comes to my dad 15 years after farm went in to my name, no contact number for them on it. Last year the guy who milks for me-he is also a fencing contractor- went fixing up after the hunt. He came across 4 or 5 lads beating the daylights out of a horse as it wouldnt jump a ditch, he tried to stop them and he was told "Do you know who we are" he said he never saw such barbaric treatment of an animal ever( where's the sport in that) He sent a letter to the hunt master and the reply was how else would the horse learn and that the guy whose horse it was wasnt a member of their club , although he was hunting with them. Other thing that bugs me is lads who think they have the God given right to shoot where ever or when ever they want and the fact they are holding a gun gives them some sort of power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

It's not a big thing to ask for permission first.
    If damage was done can you not lodge a claim with the small claims court for trespass and damage to property
    If you're cattle go through the hole they knocked in the ditch and cause an accident or damage someone's lawn you can be sure you will be made pay for it.
    If they knocked a hole in your ditch and tore up a field of grass needed for feeding in spring then so should they.