Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How many times would you wear the same shirt without washing it?

• 09-01-2016 8:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Having a discussion with someone at the moment about how often they wear the same shirt.

I wear a T-shirt or shirt for one day before washing it. Wouldn't wear it again without washing it. They disagree.
    Failed to load the poll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Once.

I'm not an animal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Kenny Bania

Once, you knacker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Probably twice, unless it smelt or had a stain on. Only for normal things like going to the shops etc., not if I was properly going out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Once. Isn't this supposed to be a discussion forum?:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Twice in 24 hours at most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Once. Obviously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Ciderswigger

Eleventybillion times and then shove it in for a wash. I don't sweat, I glisten.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭steamengine

The beauty of black shirts - once a week. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,873 ✭✭✭melissak

I wear the same shirt until it falls off me from threadbareness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,400 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Varies but one or two days at the most.

I think at this stage I have enough t-shirts to wear a different one every day of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,229 ✭✭✭robman60

Only wear it once generally. I often wear the t-shirt I've been wearing to bed anyway so no way I'd wear it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

Once for anything I'd wear out the house. 3 days and over for anything I'm just wearing in the house assuming it passes the smell test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Whose voting 3 days. Smelly bastards. Haha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

Whose voting 3 days. Smelly bastards. Haha.

:o

2 days is standard, pure waste changing everyday. Sometimes three days, particularly say Thursday, Friday at work and then Saturday just doing bits around. Can't imagine changing a t-shirt or shirt every day.

I would often get a good few wears out of something I only wore for a while, say a shirt I wore on a night out would go back in the wardrobe once nothing was spilled on it for the next night and possibly do the same again after its next wear if is just worn for a few hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

The beauty of black shirts - once a week. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I always get mad stressed out reading some replies in threads like these.
    1 time. And if it comes off at any point throughout the day, it doesn't go back on.
    So, if I take a shower in the middle of the day, or if I get undressed for whatever reason, then when it's time to put clothes on again, they got to be fresh

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,658 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Depends. For work I'll wear it twice, usually day 1, and day 3, and another day 2 and day 4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

I always get mad stressed out reading some replies in threads like these.
    1 time. And if it comes off at any point throughout the day, it doesn't go back on.
    So, if I take a shower in the middle of the day, or if I get undressed for whatever reason, then when it's time to put clothes on again, they got to be fresh

I'd be the very same. I'd never wear the same T-shirt two days in a row, I wouldn't feel comfortable at all.

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    I'd be the very same. I'd never wear the same T-shirt two days in a row, I wouldn't feel comfortable at all.

Plus putting on freshly washed and dried clothes that have been sat on a hot radiator or heater feels amazing after a shower :D

You honestly can't beat the feeling of being clean. Fresh out of the shower, in fresh clothes. One of the nicest feelings ever. Have no idea why it's not more of the done thing!

Plus putting on freshly washed and dried clothes that have been sat on a hot radiator or heater feels amazing after a shower :D

Boxers on the rad every morning for when I get out of the shower. Toasty!

How many times would you wear your jocks in 24 hours

I don't wear jocks, I wear thongs or other women's underwear. But I'd change them at least twice in 24 hours.

7am when I wake up, fresh ones on. Fresh ones on again after a shower that evening. Fresh ones on again the next morning.

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    Boxers on the rad every morning for when I get out of the shower. Toasty!

I do it with my bra and top :pac: the undies aren't substantial enough to have an impact when heated :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 832 ✭✭✭HamsterFace

Depends on whether it needs to be washed ffs.

Most of you seem to be very sweaty bastards...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭jluv

Mena wrote: »
    Once for anything I'd wear out the house. 3 days and over for anything I'm just wearing in the house assuming it passes the smell test.
    lol on the smell test!:p

How many times would you wear your jocks in 24 hours

Same rule. If they come off, new pair. So they're changed at least twice in 24 hours. Usually get up, shower, get dressed, clean underwear, clean clothes.
    Come home, get into slobbing about the house clothes, lose the bra, clean underwear. Shower before bed, jammies, clean underwear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

2 days is standard, pure waste changing everyday. Sometimes three days, particularly say Thursday, Friday at work and then Saturday just doing bits around. Can't imagine changing a t-shirt or shirt every day.

I would often get a good few wears out of something I only wore for a while, say a shirt I wore on a night out would go back in the wardrobe once nothing was spilled on it for the next night and possibly do the same again after its next wear if is just worn for a few hours.

It must be nice, always having a full seat to yourself on public transport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Icemancometh

I can't be the only person who opened this thread, and did a scroll for nox right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,279 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Wash a tee shirt????

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

Once. Especially if I'm working. As a waiter, if I'm doing a split shift, I'll have one shirt for the lunch and a new one for dinner. Absolutely necessary unless literally no customers have been in :pac:

For normal stuff, I might wear an outer top multiple times but the inner shirt/tank top is always one use only :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

I look like Tom Hanks in Castaway most days.

Hungry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭agent graves

He didn't have t-shirt to wash...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 832 ✭✭✭HamsterFace

RayM wrote: »
    It must be nice, always having a full seat to yourself on public transport.

It must be awful, leaving such a stench after being in contact with something for only a few hours

I know a couple of oul lads who change into dirty shirts going to the pub to make it look like they were hashing all day. :D

It must be awful, leaving such a stench after being in contact with something for only a few hours

You're losing skin cells.
    You're sweating.
    You probably end up standing somewhere near a smoker at some part of the day.
    There's lots of pollution in the air that'll cling to your clothes

I'd wear dresses more than once sometimes.

Tshirts would generally be of the gym kind do would only ever be worn once.

I only own one shirt and have only worn it once!

I rarely wear underwear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭steamengine

I know a couple of oul lads who change into dirty shirts going to the pub to make it look like they were hashing all day. :D

Do they take a builder's shower first, as in a liberal spraying of deodorant under the arms etc. ? ;)

Na, these guys are old school, a handful of flour in the hair to make it look dusty at most.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

I can't be the only person who opened this thread, and did a scroll for nox right?

What does that sentence mean? A scroll for nox? That means...self love, or scratching oneself or taking the dog for a walk?

Hashing all day?? What's going on? When did I become old and not able to understand the new lingo?

Underclothes, worn only once. Jumpers and trousers depends on whether they are dirty or not obviously.

By the way, the people who are disgusted by clothes worn a few times...at what temperature do you wash your clothes? Because if it's not at 90 degrees Celcius, your clothes will contain bacteria.

Hashing = working hard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

I hashed especially hard today.

When one is hashing then I find it is often appropos to take a nice warm relaxing bath with some Epsom salts.

A glass of vino, perhaps a rosé whilst hashing over some of these accounts would be ticketty boo right now.

Correct usage, yes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭agent graves

I rarely wear underwear.

Really ;)

By the way, the people who are disgusted by clothes worn a few times...at what temperature do you wash your clothes? Because if it's not at 90 degrees Celcius, your clothes will contain bacteria.

Not if you're using detergent, it's pretty good at killing bacteria, regardless of what those adverts for laundry sanitiser say.

I wear shirts, underwear and socks only once. I might wear a bra twice, only because I get them off the second I get in the door and don't wear one at all if I can get away with it so they're only on for a few hours.

I can't imagine getting out of the shower and putting worn clothes back on, it just feels wrong on many levels. I don't dry myself with a previously used towel either. Fresh towel, fresh clothes, always.

I'm the same with household stuff too, even cushion covers are washed regularly.

Sweaters, skirts, dresses and jeans might get two goes, never more. I don't put worn things back in the wardrobe, I leave them out airing until their second wear so they don't get musty smelling.

I can't imagine wearing something three times, putting it on repeatedly after a shower seems counterproductive.

I hashed especially hard today.

When one is hashing then I find it is often appropos to take a nice warm relaxing bath with some Epsom salts.

A glass of vino, perhaps a rosé whilst hashing over some of these accounts would be ticketty boo right now.

Correct usage, yes?
    Not really, more like this

Yes

Yes

Ye rightly?

Aye hashing away, yersel?

Aye, flat out

Really ;)

That's creepy. No offence.
    We need more hashing and candies in this thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

I wear the one shirt to work for the whole week. Change my vest everyday though.

That's creepy. No offence.
    We need more hashing and candies in this thread
    If I took Candie hashing in the bog she'd probably need one of these with her:pac: