Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Running shorts - quick\stupid question

• 08-01-2016 2:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭

OK, I got my first pair of 'proper' running shorts - Adidas Formotion. So, should I be wearing underwear with them? Let's just say that it's all a bit *bunched* down there...

Is this the same for all running shorts with lining? No underwear??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

No underwear under running shorts.
    There should be an inner mesh to keep everything where it belongs

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Go commando to prevent any chafing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭Barack Obama

Grand - thanks lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

I always wear underwear but I'm just a modest young fella from Tipp so don't listen to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

I always wear underwear but I'm just a modest young fella from Tipp so don't listen to me.

Must be a a country thing because I do too (then again I mostly wear gay ass spandex shorts or running tights!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

and do yis wear vests under your singlets too? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭Sacksian

I don't think this is a Dublin/country thing. I'm from Dublin and I don't see how you'd escape arrest wearing 7" split shorts without underwear.

However, I don't wear socks for xc or track. Is that divisive?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

But they have built in underwear? You wouldn't wear shorts over leggings would ya?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

7b0793a0-fd71-0132-f422-0e18518aac2f.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭Clearlier

Trial and error. If not wearing underwear works for you then go ahead. IME not wearing underwear leads to some pretty painful chafing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭kookiebrew

Always wear tight underwear, never needed Vaseline or anti chaffing creams down below with them. Look sexy as fxxk in them too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭Username here

Clearlier wrote: »
    IME not wearing underwear leads to some pretty painful chafing.

That's my experience too. I made the tragic mistake of not wearing underwear underneath a pair of running shorts (that bad built-in mesh) for my first ever 5K race some years ago, and I got the worst chaffing injury, in the worst possible place imaginable. I'm not exaggerating when I say I couldn't p**s properly for about a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

Clearlier wrote: »
    Trial and error. If not wearing underwear works for you then go ahead. IME not wearing underwear leads to some pretty painful chafing.

And I find the exact opposite. Wearing extra underwear gives me bad chafing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,468 ✭✭✭sconhome

Regardless of whether it is shorts or tights if I don't wear a pair of these:

comp_mens_shorts_black_lrg.jpg

it's chaff city.

Worst chaffing I ever got was wearing shorts with the built in mesh. There was a seam that rubbed the middle 1/3 raw and I didn't discover it until I was in the shower.

Not. Pleasant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭Clearlier

And I find the exact opposite. Wearing extra underwear gives me bad chafing.

The main thing for me is that it needs to be tight enough to prevent any movement. If I had a pair of shorts that could do that I'd be happy to wear them commando.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,047 ✭✭✭Itziger

Ok, report to follow!

Reading this thread, I didn't even know you COULD wear underwear with 5 inch shorts. Chafing can indeed be a problem with the lining so if it's a long Run or if it's raining I will apply a nice bit of Vaseline.

Anyway, in the interests of science I decided today to try a snug pair of jocks under the running shorts. Findings: Yes, eliminates potential chafing. 2) Bit too tight for my liking. For serious running I'll be back to 'without'.

Carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭kal7

just shows there are no stupid questions. I always go without underwear in run tights and/or shorts. No chafing issues, some shorts better for long distance than other though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

It depends on circumstances for me.

My preference is to race / run without in shorts with a built in brief, seamless and not mesh.
    However, I'm often found on the side of the road doing a quick change on the way home from work to go for a run, so whipping off the jocks isn't an option. I have several pairs of shorts with no inner brief and I also have several pairs of athletic briefs, so these work well together.

When racing a marathon I like to wear Skins shorts and team these up with a pair of briefless Kalenji Equarea shorts because I like pockets in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    However, I'm often found on the side of the road doing a quick change on the way home from work to go for a run, so whipping off the jocks isn't an option.
    Simple answer: Commando 24x7. Let the boys run free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭glacial_pace71

I'd usually give the running shorts a chance for a while, but if the inner briefs start to give any trouble at all then I don a pair of LineBreak or UnderArmour compression wear underneath.

Admittedly the layers look ridiculous but the family jewels need protection, and I don't want to appear on MaratonFoto with my hands in the wrong place trying to put something away.

Simple answer: Commando 24x7. Let the boys run free.

I'd usually give the running shorts a chance for a while, but if the inner briefs start to give any trouble at all then I don a pair of LineBreak or UnderArmour compression wear underneath.

Admittedly the layers look ridiculous but the family jewels need protection, and I don't want to appear on MaratonFoto with my hands in the wrong place trying to put something away.

Is this you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭glacial_pace71

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    Is this you?

No, but don't they say "run like the clappers", not run like you've got the clap?

Those race photos show that there are no quick/stupid questions when it comes to running, particularly with the gender that can't do the thigh gap.