Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cold cough or flu

• 02-01-2016 10:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭

Have Any of you got these?it seems like the whole country is coughing and spluttering in some way.
    Can we do a poll?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

We could, but you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,420 ✭✭✭corner of hells

crazygeryy wrote: »
    Have Any of you got these?it seems like the whole country is coughing and spluttering in some way.
    Can we do a poll?

Will a poll cure the cold cough or flu ?

I'd be curious to know how many people reading AH right now have the flu.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭starry_eyed

I have zero cold.
    Man the fck up peoples.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

How do you get a poll?do you have to be approved or something?application form?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,420 ✭✭✭corner of hells

crazygeryy wrote: »
    How do you get a poll?do you have to be approved or something?application form?

Pay your poll tax first.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Wait until the flu-nazis come along and you'll have to change your thread title

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭emersyn

I have zero cold.
    Man the fck up peoples.

If misogyny could cure viruses wouldn't we all be set

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

How do you get a poll on boards? Be part of the clique?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,734 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I'm just getting over a pretty bad cold, and still suffering from a right b@stard of a cough that shows no signs of going away. Been a fairly miserable last 5 days or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,281 ✭✭✭Valentina

I have a chest infection since Dec 23. Doctor was closed so didn't get an antibiotic. It's starting to break now so hoping to get back to normal by Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Where is this sick bit of the country, so we can avoid it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Ask me bollix, I'll die when I'm ready to

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I'm not sick for a change

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Lying on the cough here waiting for death's icy hand to cool my fevered brow

Is it a comfortable cough?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Is it a comfortable cough?

Wow that was some freudian slip!

Yeah :o Ginger is good for chests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

Cough.

Also hemorrhoids. I had too much Turkey over xmas :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Antar Bolaeisk

I was back in Ireland for two weeks and did nothing but sneeze and cough with a constant stream of tears coming from my eyes. I think I'm allergic to Ireland.

I'm not back here and I've brought a cold back with me so thanks for that :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

I always thought I was quite stoic, until a recent chest infection made me want to kill myself. Had I been in possession of a gun on Christmas Eve, it was goodbye world. I couldn't hack it. I couldn't hack the random alternating between an extreme chill and the sweats. I couldn't hack the fact I had no energy. I couldn't hack the fact I was coughing up phlegm and then I could feel little bits of it on my tongue. Horrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,665 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

I've had loads of colds, but I've never had the flu. I'm so lucky. I have friends who have never had a cold, but catch the flu twice a year. I'd hate to be them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

It has arrived in my home just in time for my return to work on Monday morning

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

I've got pneumonia :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Ciderswigger

Got the flu jab in November and haven't had a so much as a sniffle since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Caught something alright, I thought the flu jab was meant to prevent that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

P_1 wrote: »
    Caught something alright, I thought the flu jab was meant to prevent that

It's meant to prevent the one or two strains of Flu that World Health Authorities think are most likely to do the rounds that year. It does nothing for any of the 200+ strains of the cold virus that are doing the rounds at any given time. Flu is dangerous but very very rare compared to the 'common' cold. 999 out of 1000 people who say/think they have a Flu actually just have a cold. The terms Cold and Flu are not interchangeable.

I am a Flu Nazi. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Wait until the flu-nazis come along and you'll have to change your thread title
    Calibos wrote: »

Own up, who said Flu-Nazi three times into the mirror? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Many people waffle on about having the flu, but they don't have the flu. < They have a cold.

Believe me, if you have 'the flu' you are bedridden and totally absent of power. With weak legs, banging head, and the feeling (that you might well die) for about ten days! Flu is an awful auld thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

LordSutch wrote: »
    Many people waffle on about having the flu, but they don't have the flu. < They have a cold.

Believe me, if you have 'the flu' you are bedridden and totally absent of power. With weak legs, banging head, and the feeling (that you might well die) for about ten days! Flu is an awful auld thing.

The other thing is people saying they have the Flu coming on them for days. They don't. That's a cold. The Flu symptoms strike suddenly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭TG1

Ah why leave the poor old sinus infection out of the thread? I had a cold over Christmas that has now turned into a sinus infection...

It's particularly sore as I'm on crutches so every hop leads to thumping sinuses... Yes, I'm just a whole heap of self pity right now!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

Yep, absolutely smothered with a cold.

Yesterday was horrible, I lay on the couch all day feeling sorry for myself. Had a combination of cold, hangover, period pain and THE FEAR.
    The fear was probably the worst tbh.... Too much fun was had over the Christmas/New Year.

Back to work tomorrow to wreck my colleagues heads with my sniffles. Woe is me

Did last week. Horrible chest infection and painful throat and cold. All cleared up now though.

Feel better soon sick people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭gazump123

Nope nothing. I rarely ever catch a cold or flu thank god.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Those who have a cold etc are suffering. Safe home, it will be ok in a few days.

Those who are OK are afraid to say anything in case KARMA will get them!

Certain posts excepted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Bit of a throat on me today but I think that could be caused from the last few days of drinking more than anything! No cough tho

TG1 wrote: »
    Ah why leave the poor old sinus infection out of the thread? I had a cold over Christmas that has now turned into a sinus infection...

It's particularly sore as I'm on crutches so every hop leads to thumping sinuses... Yes, I'm just a whole heap of self pity right now!!!

That stuff, Sterimar is brill for clearing out the sinuses.

Failing that, snort salt and water up yer nose. You will be grand. I am a sinus sufferer. Anti histamines over the counter are fab too.

Mind yourself now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Calibos wrote: »
    It's meant to prevent the one or two strains of Flu that World Health Authorities think are most likely to do the rounds that year. It does nothing for any of the 200+ strains of the cold virus that are doing the rounds at any given time. Flu is dangerous but very very rare compared to the 'common' cold. 999 out of 1000 people who say/think they have a Flu actually just have a cold. The terms Cold and Flu are not interchangeable.

Jawohl :p

Yeah it's a nasty bollox of a cold I've picked up, don't usually get them this bad mind

Late January and Feb are the worst months for this.

Get back to work, routines and all, and then when you relax and get sorted, BANG, in come the bugs.

I bet lots of people get bugs and stuff on holidays. I reckon it's because we relax, and the bugs know this!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

LordSutch wrote: »

The other problem is, because 90% of people seem to think a bad cold is the flu, so if you ring in sick with a 'bad cold' - which can actually be a dreadful experience if you get it really bad - you get this reaction of disgust as if you're calling in sick with a runny nose.

I'd be curious to know how many people reading AH right now have the flu.

None.. Had it when I was 12, so 16 years ago and still remember the horror of it.

I'm convinced the actual flu is rare because too many people say they have it and you see them out and about a couple of days later. Then you have people who know they've had it and they'll be dying of a bad cold but not say they've the flu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭TG1

I'm convinced the actual flu is rare because too many people say they have it and you see them out and about a couple of days later. Then you have people who know they've had it and they'll be dying of a bad cold but not say they've the flu.

Yeh, I had the flu about 3 years ago and I was in bed for 2.5 weeks and took another 4 weeks to feel right. It was totally different to a cold.

But for some reason it's not socially acceptable to take to the bed with a cold even if its a horrible one that you can't do anything but with, so people say they've the flu so people won't judge them I think!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 368 ✭✭xband

I think I just have a bad cold.
    Nose stuffed, sneezing, ears stuffed, slightly tickle throat and for some reason a sick stomach.

I might try sleeping.

Not looking for medical advice, just moaning!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

A cold? The flue? I wish... Feels like I've been fighting a sars/Ebola hybrid for the last week and a bit.

Well went asleep for 5 hours. Worked up feeling even worse.

This seems a bit more flu like than cold like.

Agh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Still have the touch of manflu, body will be aching in the morn but tomorrow evening I'm gonna have the gaff toasty and when I leave work just after 4 I'm gonna come home, get into me comfy clothes, give my couch a big hug and relax for the evening :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭thee glitz

I've a cold now and it's a loada balls, but not quite bad enough to keep me in bed all day. I had the flu and a chest infection a few years ago over Christmas. I'd see the time on the alarm clock and neither know nor care if it was am or pm, a nasty dose.

I'm just going to eat loads of garlic.

It may work, may not work but the main thing is that I can't smell at the moment and it will keep people away as a bit of a warning sign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Rocket19

I'm one of those annoying people who insist on the distinction between cold and flu.

Every other week, people in my work call in sick with 'flu', and are back right as rain 1-2 days later.

I get colds/coughs the odd time, but I got the flu once about 4 years ago, and I swear to god, it was hell on earth!
    It came on really suddenly (like within an hour) with chills and body aches, and I spent the next few days delirious and sweating, with literally not even the energy to get out of bed.
    Sitting up to take medicine was serious effort, and I had no interest in talking to anyone, watching tv, etc.

Horrendous...! I will not hear of anyone compare it a cold ever since.